BMW M4 Coupe DTM Safety Car joins the race cars

BMW M4 DTM Safety Car-06

BMW likes to provide safety cars – we’ve seen the MotoGP M4, and here’s another one, the BMW M4 Coupe DTM Safety Car for the 2014 Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters season.

This M4, making its safety car debut at the Nurburgring on August 17, won’t be the only BMW on the grid – Munich is fielding eight BMW M4 DTMs in the series. One of those, driven by RMG BMW’s Marco Wittmann, won yesterday’s season opener at Hockenheim.

The safety car is based on the production BMW M4 Coupe, which is powered by a 3.0 litre straight-six M TwinPower Turbo engine with 431 hp and 550 Nm of torque, available across a wide 1,800 to 5,390 rpm band. Zero to 100 km/h takes just 4.1 seconds with the M DCT’s Launch Control function.

Here, it’s been treated to a catalogue of BMW M Performance parts, which include an exhaust silencer system, front splitter, black front grille, mirror caps, rocker panel attachment and rear spoiler to the rear diffuser, all available as options to customers.

To make it track-ready, the M factory in Garching removed the M4 rear seats and installed a roll cage and Recaro racing seats with Schroth belts. Also equipped are LED lights on the front apron, a radio communication system, LED lights on the roof and a rather dull livery without the famous M stripes.

BMW M4 Coupe 2014 MotoGP Safety Car

2014 BMW M4 DTM Race Car

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 05, 2014 at 9:50 am

Safety cars?? Their normal new car also not safe still wanna provide safety car. My brand new F30 I bought from wheelcorp had door safety issues. Was driving with my family and suddenly rear door pops open loudly for no reasons. Brought back to BMW and they deny got such problem and refuse to provide any apologies. Response from BMW voice was also saddening. So arrogant they dont apologize for their mistakes. Please boycott new BMW in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • Unknown on May 05, 2014 at 11:51 am

Sir, that’s why Lexus in US giving customer lifetime warranty to it’s customer… the German premium are very arrogant type. Perhaps Infinity also another good option you should seriously consider too.

• Hi Mr Audi salesman, when are you going to stop whining? Can you not repeating the same thing over and over again? loser.

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 06, 2014 at 9:47 am

Hi Gary; “the got stuck cant sell BMW owner”; stop trying to console urself on the rubbish u own, probably a BMW toy model only. Im just trying to help others. Not like u trying to get people stuck in misery. Get a life… ben chut

• Audi's Boss on May 06, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Our Audi sales is bad, go back to work instead of whining here.

• Shion on May 06, 2014 at 3:26 pm

I have owned and driven various types of BMW in my life. E36, 49, f90. Sometimes they have certain small issues here and there. But it depends on your dealers. Some dealers are nice and will do their best to satisfy. Some are not. I also owned Lexus rh200 and merc c,e, s class. Trust me when I say that all cars from different manuf also has their own issues and problems. Thus, I guess you will have to bear with it and perhaps change new dealers. PS: I heard all Audi and Volkswagen customers are pissed off with their double clutch system. So, compared to them, I guess you are already better off.

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 07, 2014 at 12:19 am

Wow.. U should open a car showroom man. Naza or rahman brothers also kalah to ur car collection man

• Notasalesman on May 07, 2014 at 12:27 am

I have also driven almost all cars in d world. Agreed that most got some manufacturing issues but all can be fixed. Only with BMW malaysia they scratch their head and stick double sided tape all over ur brand new car to try solve the mysterious squeeking sound. After 2 rolls of tape sound still there if not louder. BM trouble U

• macai on May 05, 2014 at 10:36 am

SIC Sepang F1 should get Proton Putra coupe as safety car too!

Proton Putra = Asian BMW M4!!!

• nabill (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:49 am

Actually thrs a waja with petronas livery.. Open bonnet it has the E01 engine inside!.
      its manual oso….i stil dont kno wats da story behind that…bt most safety cars look drooling awesome n cool…specially paintwork

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 06, 2014 at 10:00 am

BM trouble you… thats how its suppose to be pronounce