Proton Global Small Car P2-30A spied on Fed Highway

proton-gsc-spotted-fed-highway-2

Our colleague Azree managed to snap these photos of a solitary Proton Global Small Car (code-named P2-30A) on the Federal Highway – just about managed, as the car began to speed off after the driver realised it was being photographed.

We’ve showed you lots of spyshots (plus a spy video) of the GSC since November last year, both at home and abroad. We’ve seen the dashboard, touch-screen and head unit, as well as its tail lamps. We also know that LED DRLs and ESC will be available, and that a CVT is very likely.

proton-gsc-spotted-fed-highway-1

A name has already been picked from the Nama Siapa Hebat naming contest. Looks like we’ll have to get closer to the car’s launch, scheduled to happen later this year, before we know what to properly call it.

See our Proton P2-30A Global Small Car infohub for our full coverage on the upcoming Proton thus far.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Black Dog on May 05, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Not Savvy any more but more like a Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Bro, it’s more to Mercedes A-class standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 52
      • Smoking weed is illegal in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 7
        • Same Looor on May 05, 2014 at 5:12 pm

2014 version of Proton Tiara. Storyline will be so similar: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa Rosak, Sales Carnival (4S).

Whoever can pay more, will go for foreign car (Japanese the best, the worst at least kimchi). Whoever can’t pay more, will suffer the build quality, end up paying extra for garage and can’t afford to change car (like we see the old Wira, Iswara, Saga on the road).

No matter what, it is our taxpayer money they are burning.

To keep Proton cronies live rich, we all have to die poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 88
          • KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 8:07 pm

still dreaming ur bentley anyway same loor .. soon proton closed down together with cronies ..ur dream is reality..not for u only but for every Malaysian.. “1RAKYAT 1BENTLEY”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
          • kzm (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 12:03 am

How do u manage using so many id/username to comment in paultan just to bash p1?..kinda hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • Same Loor on May 06, 2014 at 12:22 am

You are still dreaming of Bentley while I am close there thanks to my hard work and good company performance.

Without Proton the bloodsucker, every hardworking Malaysian can afford and deserve a Bentley.

With Proton around, only the cronies can afford the Bentley.

So you are the one who work hard and get little?

Or the one goyang kaki and keep sucking everyone’s money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
          • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 9:28 am

Proton should just close down. For 30 years, 30 million people have been suffering so much because of the Proton project.

In the 80s, one can get a brand new Nissan for about RM20k. Car prices have not gone up the past 30 years as what BN and Proton would like you to think. Infact, car prices have gone down so much the past 30 years due to economies of scale and volume. That is why, in the US, you can get a brand new CBU Japan made top of the range Toyota Camry 2.5 with 8 airbags for a mere USD22,000. That is about RM60,000. At that price, the US government and the US Toyota dealership already made their margin and collected the relevant taxes and duties.

The real cost that UMW Toyota Malaysia gets the Toyota Camry which they sell for RM180,000 is about US$14,000 direct from the their principal in Japan. That is the true cost of the car.

So, for 30 years, 30 million people have to suffer and suffer because our BN government wants to protect the company that has been dying and dying but has been kept on the life support system despite being brain dead coma.

We all know one thing, MITI strictly tells all other car companies to price their cars no less than RM20,000 more than Proton just to protect Proton.

Adding to the misery of all Malaysians, the banks which are all Khazanah majority owned and EPF majority owned give higher interest rates loans for Proton.

So, our beloved government screws us double. for 30 years, giving us overpriced cars. And for 30 years, giving us overpriced bank interest rate loans to screw us.

Every wonders why other car brands interest rates are so low and Proton Interest rates are so high?

Please BN, please close down Proton. It is a disgrace and a joke. It is losing money like crazy and yet, we rakyat have to support this loss making company.

Proton CEO recently said Malaysians don’t support Proton and it only makes a mere RM500 per car. Do you know why it makes RM500 per car?

Proton is the ONLY car manufacturer in the world to get so much of privileges and market from the government. Got free market also, still can make RM500 per car?

The problem lies in your bumi crony vendors. They are all cronies who are overcharging Proton. But all these vendors are all Mahathirs buddies. Sell one car Mat also to Proton for RM100 each. (Brothers will sell RM5)

All supporting the crony vendors for Proton. Overcharging up to 10x the price of each item.

Stop supporting this crony practice, then Proton will make more than RM500 per car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 30
          • KettaVreakdoWn on May 06, 2014 at 11:03 am

I know u are a hard worker..thats is why i said u gonna own Bentley 1 day..anyway keep ur promise..u said that i will get 1 free Bentley from u..such a hard working guy..we all can see from his commenting in Paultan.org ..such a dedicated man

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 11:08 am

Tiara is a scrap project by the previous parental company. This is GSC we talking about. I think u r the who Sendiri cakap, Syok Sendiri, Sentiasa Rosak Akal..People using old Wira, Iswara and Saga because the car can last until today..haha..stupid moron! R u becoming poor because of PROTON cronies? In Malaysia, ironically, poor people won’t buy conti or japanese car! So silly talking without proof and fact..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • friendofiomatheprivateinvestigator on May 06, 2014 at 12:47 pm

@ Hyundai De La Junk : cars 1980 -$5,413.00,1981-$5,743.00,1982-$5,967.00, 1983-$6,116.00 and 1984-$6,294.00 and keep increasing each year in US (These are the average price paid, not specific to any brand) ..

• Same Loor on May 06, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Those who use the old Protons are:
            1. They bought the Proton long time ago and they hope for a new car.
            2. They keep on paying to replace this and that due to the “awesome” quality.
            3. They don’t bother on the paint, rust, dent coz previous repair cost them too much.
            4. You ask them if they want a new car? Yes! But a new Proton? NOWAY!!! New Toyota? No money.

There are differences between the old Proton and old Toyota on the road. Old Protons are meant to be rusted, dent, paint dropout, coz it is a Proton. Crap need to be looked like one.

The old Vios, Camry, Corolla (even the 80s version) are well maintained, repainted coz it is a reliable car that you simply don’t need to replace them.

The old Proton owners would not get a new Proton but Toyota owners mostly will stick to a new Toyota.

Simple fact.

And for KettaVreakdoWn, I can get you one Bentley on the day Proton close down. I knew you can’t afford it and Proton does p*ssed you off. I totally understand the feeling driving a crap. Most Malaysian have that experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
          • KettaVreakdoWn on May 06, 2014 at 2:38 pm

The old toyota(s) were repainted and maintained by malaysian who amazed by ancient thing ..same case with die hard vios fan boy..if they were given to speak their mind definitely they will say “we want back the 80s toyota..” “the old is the best..” ..thank u same loor ..I’ll wait for the bentley

• friendofiomatheprivateinvestigator on May 06, 2014 at 3:14 pm

ioma tell me that they were cases in vios owner state that they want malaysian gov to implement this rule in fed highway “4th gear per car ” to be the speed limit instead 110km/hr.. in worse case they were caught saying gov should given special lane to toyota car..the reason is they wont be bothers by proton car

• N Fazura on May 08, 2014 at 12:21 pm

If that is what you are thinking, then it is pretty confirmed that you have no trust and believe. If foreigners can contribute to Proton, I am pretty sure that we have ours cars pretty good.

• Datuk on May 05, 2014 at 3:38 pm

As a Datuk, i own the merc A250, i dont think this little proton will have the same standard with merc. Stop dreaming kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 60
        • Sorchai (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 6:16 pm

My datuk also told me do not be so arrogant when you are successful one day when I was still dreaming as a kid. Today I am successful. I never owned a Merc before. Just a simple Lexus. I still have my first Proton and many dear friends with all kinds of cars. But more importantly, I have many dear friends.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
        • Tan Sri Abu on May 05, 2014 at 6:30 pm

i am tansri but i still drive kancil

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
          • N Fazura on May 08, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Datuk driving Merc? Pretty good example for coming generation. Just saying. :)

• Datuk on May 05, 2014 at 3:44 pm

anyway my merc A250 are my fifth car. A good car to go to pasar, teh tarik at mamak stall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 47
        • Veneno on May 05, 2014 at 4:57 pm

dh2, jangan nk merepek, perasan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • who cares! on May 05, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Dont be so cocky la!

• OOEMGI on May 05, 2014 at 5:55 pm

atleast whose bought proton use it to send and take children from school/ holidays .. now I know ur Merc A250 are nothing more.. juz below standard of the proton cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • bujingyun on May 05, 2014 at 7:36 pm

haha…so funny…

• N Fazura on May 08, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Makes quite some sense actually. If you own a Merc but you can’t actually go out and spend time with your family in that car, you buy Vellfire also no use. Worthless.

• normal_user on May 05, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Aiyoo grammar salah macamana layak dapat statu datuk?

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 05, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Datuk semua mangkuk….

Not only grammar, semua benda pun salah……

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:31 am

Not all Datuk is smart. some of them only ‘SRP’ level. Itu Datuk Kinabatangan also dun know how to speak English… :)

• Amei (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Oi fella. If it’s in the internet can la cakap have a A250 Merc, Lamborghini Diablo or Bentley. atleast if you are a so called ‘Datuk’. You are the most cocky asshole datuk I have ever met.

• phuwekkk on May 06, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Datuk ka Nenek ka..mati esok naik kereta jenazah jugak..sudah2 la riak atok oi..

• Satu lagi project (gagal) dari Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
      • LimGE on May 05, 2014 at 11:37 pm

wow!

• YaakobMous on May 16, 2014 at 5:26 pm

It’s neither. It’s a Proton GSC ! :D

• YaakobMous on May 16, 2014 at 5:27 pm

It’s neither. It’s a Proton GSC lol

• VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 2:29 pm

look at the shape ..their almost look alike..

• OMG…Launch faster lah….what so special of this little car? The new H.City also already launched loh…still wanna test until when? puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • OOEMGI on May 05, 2014 at 5:44 pm

the malaysian gov should fine anyone who spit everywhere..anyway “launch faster” are u gonna buy it..? if u’re not juz wait then..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • LimGE on May 05, 2014 at 11:40 pm

i agree lah, faster la proton.. so damn slow!

• N Fazura on May 08, 2014 at 12:40 pm

I don’t think you guys will be waiting in from of the door to buy the car terus. Give it some time la. Later come our early but the quality no good u puih again? Logic !

• OMG…P2 said this will be another savvy sibling…hahahah…My myvi still the best here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Gee, i wonder why P2 is saying their Myvi is better and this P1 won’t be any good (eventhough its not even launched yet)? Maybe it’s because P2 is selling the Myvi (duh!) and the GSC represents the greatest threat to their best-seller yet.

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:12 am

Anon, we talked based on history. P1 never sucessful in building/selling compact cars. see what happen to their predecessor i.e Tiara and Savvy. All go to scrap yard. We dun have any trust!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Aniq_Affandi on May 08, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Heh! Bullshit. P2 can come up with clones of Japanese cars and no one makes a noice. And P1 is your typical victim. Such bias stereotypes.

• I wonder ho many years is required for MY standard to test a new model. What else parameter needed to be checked & rectified? Can they do it in one “outing”? Or they just love to watch Malaysian raise their phones and snap the pics?
    Or perhaps they intentionally want their “outing” is posted at paultan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 3:10 pm

i wonder how many minutes for boleh people to bash product flaw after launch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • Sammy Valley on May 05, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Kalau tiada warranty, kita bina warranty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Syameer (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 6:39 pm

They are doing a good job with such a thorough test and yet you are talking nonsense? If they do little test then you will say that it is off a mediocre quality and when they do extensive test, you said it is for a show! What on earth should they do?! Use you as crash test dummy perhaps?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
      • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 11:45 am

Syameer..the best comment i ever read in paultan..thoudsands of like!!

• Aniq_Affandi on May 08, 2014 at 12:48 pm

You sir. You have my respect. What he said is true. When they are having their quality test, you bash. But when they release the car, you still bash on quality.. Very the logic !

• Rubbish from malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 125
    • Nissan on May 05, 2014 at 1:13 pm

There will be 3 R version: rubbish recycle reuse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 69
    • Vader on May 05, 2014 at 1:27 pm

So this is so call the high level of engineering and design car that the potong claim?
      Committed to launch mid of 2014, right? Another 1-2 months, let’s wait and see..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
      • VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 4:13 pm

better u wait and see before u made the statement.., I do not fully support proton but just to bash thing that is not even launch yet ..its pure hatred

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
        • Potong on May 05, 2014 at 9:32 pm

With respect, but there’s a good reason why proton is being hated by the nation. As there’s a Chinese saying “we do not draw out the intestine when we draw a picture”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Vader on May 06, 2014 at 8:03 am

Haha, potong die hard fan?
          Dont be sensitive, which word is bashing your lovely car?

• Aniq_Affandi on May 08, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Haters will always be around. Chill. I mean, they don’t even read the updates. they come here to flame, hurt a few hearts and just chow.

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:14 am

I heard that they gonna delay the launching again to 3rd qtr this year..

• Danny on May 05, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Toyota fanboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Sawi Kangkong on May 05, 2014 at 1:35 pm

‘Global’ car but only sell to 7 countries like Preve…

No diesel engine, even petrol Campro drink petrol 10L/100km how to sell in Europe?

Put signal stalk on left steering side. Macam lah big sales in China, Europe, USA.

Ptuii Proton. Stop fooling rakyat and syok sendiri yourself lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 76
    • Ibrahim on May 05, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Something like you la!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • sehnq on May 05, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Later if cant sell, gov will force taxi or police bla bla bla to buy it. Eventually it will become the best selking model in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 54
    • Sawi Kangkong on May 05, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Suitable for postmen car too. If lazy deliver letters, just claim power window rosak cannot wind down window to throw letter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 42
      • Ah Beng Support PROTON on May 05, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Have u ever use a PROTON cars nowadays. It comes with 10 years warranty for power window. Dont talk rubbish if u dont even own it yet ;p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
        • ah beng, now is lifetime warranty la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • akukaya on May 05, 2014 at 4:47 pm

thus lifetime supply from cronies vendor,FTW!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
          • Aniq_Affandi on May 08, 2014 at 1:00 pm

That’s why la. They don’t even read. This people come here want treash talk only. zzz

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:15 am

ah yoo ah beng.. so called support proton but do not know that new proton come with life warranty pwr wdw.. haiyaa.. bikin malu mehh

• VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 2:32 pm

so u’re the lazy postman..where were my letters?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • Ah Beng Support PROTON on May 05, 2014 at 3:03 pm

nowadays postman use VW..if they lazy to work they claim, TSI engine got problem..lol :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
          • Ah Beng But Smart on May 05, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Hey Ah Beng, dont simply click LIKE by your own fingers la, use it for something else la, like poking into somebody in proton’s a*s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Too small for taxi use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Their sales will be ‘whacked’ by the P2’s ‘GSC’ based on Toyota engine also to release in 3rd quarter this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 2:38 pm

toyota with their ancient engine ang gb ..only people who cares RV like sam loo/sam loor.. will buy it..there are many other options ..HONDA/NISSAN/FORD etc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • Savvy? on May 05, 2014 at 1:06 pm

what is the name ?

• Rubbish ?? Nobody force u to buy ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Whatever on May 05, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Ironically, our Malaysian market is not really a free market where manufacturers are fully allowed to price their cars competitively at will. Hence most of the people is indirectly forced it buy Proton. This has also been echoed by Dr M few days ago when he asked for Proton to be further protected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
      • Ibrahim on May 05, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Already give you 9 yrs installments ma!!! Still cheap for kiasu like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Still..nobody force u to buy proton eventhou it meant to be protected.., u want to own an import car but u cannot afford the tax..anyway even proton closed down..the tax will be there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Yup, he was very sore with P2 eating away the Proton’s pie. Luckily he is no more the P.M. otherwise P2 sure ‘kena from him one’.

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:37 am

Dun understand. P2 also his idea.. Melayu mudah lupa

• P2 also same as P1 junk and Tarakualeeti, due to higher tax for import cars rakyat also forced to buy “over priced” P2

• Same Loor on May 06, 2014 at 12:25 am

I wonder does him actually drive a Proton himself?

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 06, 2014 at 11:38 am

him with his perdana some years ago.. were u forgotten his ex prime minister..? u should try proton someday before u ride bentley..or would u like I say before proton closed down

• tkhengong on May 05, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Developed with government grants, and this means our Malaysian tax payers’ money! If the dashboard design is for production model, then it sure looks dated compared to the other makes; Honda, Toyota, Peugot, etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 4:22 pm

sounds like u paid the tax like a lot..mind if u share..

• Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Who cares about dashboard design? As long as the lower income group can afford it. They just want any cars that are affordable by them that can move…

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:36 am

Are you sure they can move?.. My neighbours’s juara no move at all..

• VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 06, 2014 at 7:24 pm

are ur neighbours still alive..?

• Aniq_Affandi on May 08, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Even if it is a Merc, if the car is not well managed, confirm won’t move one. Simple logic. Please comprehend.

• current saga just enough to get RM 500 net profit, i wonder what would be the price of this new model?

• pearjai on May 05, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Honda + proton = honton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • hitme on May 05, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Bunch of whiners.. go ahead and whine. No one care

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
  • Joke.Badumtsss on May 05, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Wow so luxurious and cheap! Would but this soon as it comes out rather than buying a S class.

• Another worse car in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
    • VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 4:19 pm

just before vios..

• Aniq_Affandi on May 08, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Yes correct another worse car.
      1. Work on your grammar
      2. Try to learn about cars before commenting.
      3. Spread love, not hatred.

• Watch Out Myvi.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:37 pm

P2 will counter Proton with a new Toyota re-badge, definitely not MyVi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:34 am

Myvi has proven its track record. Sold an average 6-8k units/month. GSC the one need to watch out whether can be at par with Myvi..

• ah beng on May 05, 2014 at 1:53 pm

New picanto is better than this lah, just that picanto is taxed like hell, if it doesn’t surely the sales will be like ‘pisang goreng panas’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 3:40 pm

thai picanto price range RM43-50k no airbag even no abs other thing most likely not available…boleh RM54-59k got 6 airbag got Electronic Stability Control (ESC), Anti-Lock Braking System (ABS), Brake Assist System (BAS), Traction Control System (TCS), Hill-Start Assist Control (HAC)…sos thai forum
      u prefer thai or boleh version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Now show on ASEAN NCAP im no empty talking

• ah beng on May 09, 2014 at 1:47 am

hello stupid KZM, we malaysian just want cheap foreign brand cars, you idiot. Don’t talk like you are smart comparing with engine displacements etc, we just want cheap new cars. The full-spec and low-spec cars must be offered, customers may choose which one they want. Low spec must be priced the same as in Thailand.

• Ibrahim on May 05, 2014 at 3:54 pm

If if? If installment is limited to 4 yrs and maximum loan is only 50%, many cannot afford to buy cars.

• Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:41 pm

If it happen, P1 and P2 will bankrupt because very few people can afford it. The reason they allow the loan up to 9 years is to keep Proton alive.

• VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 5:23 pm

they make it..so u will be alive with ur vios ..etc.. i believe the want who own jap/conti or even korean car they kept their loan up to 7 years and above..

• lololol on May 05, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Aldy so long…stillcant launch it…succesful carmaker like toyota honda or hyundai kia launch several models each yr…proton is just too SLOW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Nissan on May 05, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Do I think local market can absorp so many model? Proton will die faster.

• With due respect, take your sweet time testing it until all cows come home please. It looks dated before it is out even in the spied shot.
    Don’t agree? Look at the air con knob when the rest already gone digital… Yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • ruffstuff on May 05, 2014 at 2:37 pm

The recently launch fiesta ecoboost got digital aircond? The recent Honda city only high spec got. The rest? Vios got meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • If not mistaken, Mitsubishi Mirage and Attrage got auto digital aircon.

Proton should learn from Mitsubishi too.

• Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 4:46 pm

At the expense of steering controls, 4 airbags and ESP. I feel digital air-conditioning controls are a bit of a gimmick, especially those with touch controls. I’d rather have steering controls (Bluetooth and stereo) and the safety features over digital airconditioning.

Actually, I’d also forego the touchscreen radio since the GPS onboard those are usually pretty bad. Shame the design of the non-touchscreen head unit looks to be complicated and not as nuanced as Kia’s offerings.

• kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 3:47 pm

lol most all recent toyota, nissan, mitsu, honda car in ASEAN still use bulb for rear light…even saga sv uses LED (after poeple complaining p1 do not use LED rear light. for safety boleh people said. those comment i think still exist in paultan achieve).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I remembered.. now proton LED is outdated, basher said that they want AMOLED like in SAMSUNG.. malaysian basher said kia/hyundai and SAMSUNG has moved forward but proton..HOWEVER they still prefer jap’s bulb car

• Proton forever junk! go enjoy junk if u like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Just launch the car lah! As though it’s going to be the best selling small car :)

• Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Correct, they forget that Time to Market is very important for product launch, early bird-mah.

• totti on May 05, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Another fail product from malaysia boleh.

No reliability, high spare part cost (like savvy) for small budget car.

Yes, they keep on promoting the lotus suspension handling that can take the corner at 120km/hr.

Stop buying proton will help the poor rakyat to own a car rather than keeping those cronies become billionair at the expense of the rakyat’s money.

Say no OR “tak nak” to ” PROTON”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 38
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON on May 05, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Who are the cronies?? Have u ever work in PROTON before?? Again dont talk rubbish if u don hav fact and proof. Please read article few days before how PROTON dare to take profit RM500 for the sake of rakyat to own a small and cheap car. PROTON currently expanding their spare part market research to China. Can’t u imagine how many chinese vendors goin to be rich with this improvement project. Salute PROTON! 1Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
      • Ramly on May 05, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Jual burger tepi jalan can earn more than RM500.

So what Proton to show off do charity to rakyat with RM500 Saga profits?

Rakyat already support Proton for 30 years blindly, look what Proton give back to rakyat now? Sell fugly crap cars?

Stupid macai lah you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 4:44 pm

not everybody like u..can own J vios due to ur hot selling burger and BR1M money as a deposit.. some of malaysian are grateful juz to own a car ..and i think the car serve them well..

• SamsakitTeruk on May 05, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Joke, RM 500, u believe ? Dont lie lah.

• HelloAhBeng on May 05, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Hey Ah Beng,
        Google Delloyd industries. Supplier of the world famous Proton power window. Have a look at its excellent lineup of directors. Tell us here that the Dato Nizam Abd Razak and Tan Sri Hashim Ali have got nothing to do with a certain Jibby Razak and Tun M, and that they are just a figment of Delloyd’s imagination.

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Since at the time of writing, no one has reply on your comment, I shall take the liberty to entertain you (also since I’am down with a cold).

Firstly, profits of a manufecturer is difficult to justify; Toyota Motor Co. International earned about US$ 23.7bil (RM77.12bil in TER) but car manufecturers earn a bulk of them through service charges, parts replacement charges and also exchange rates(exp: weaker yen to dollar meant that export of cars to US makes better profits). Its a throughly headache-inducing way to understand how much a car manufecturers earn per car. Car manufecturers profit per car varies on the volume of cars they sell. Ferrari did made a statement that their 2002 Ferrari Enzo makes them US$550k per car(out of the 400 they made, one is still in Naza Italia), the car itself cost owners US$1.6mil in 2002 ER.The highest recorded statement was by Porsche which made an average of 18% profit PER car, so thanks Mahathir and co. articles in 2007(very long ago)shows that Toyota makes an average of 5% off every model they sell. I do stress that this is average profit, but it is predicted that even in Australia and US, they make anywhere from 3-12% per car.

So back to Proton, if Mr Chairman’s statement is correct, than a RM 33,438 Proton Saga SV is netting Proton a 1.5% profit. That is truly dismal numbers for a car manufecturer(hope Preves series and Exoras fares better). And before you think this is sacrifice by the company to ensure we Malaysians, a nation of relative low average profit per captita, gets bettter car, lets take a look at what happens when our taxation system is change to one adopted by foreign countries. A Yaris(USDM ver) cost US$14,430; Thats thats RM47k in TER. Yes, even Toyota’s lowest tax cut car is so much cheaper but WAIT! it has 1.5l 5-speed manual, standard NINE airbags and bluuetooth hands-free entertainment. No your Saga SV dosen’t comme with any of that, and your Saga SV dosent even come with ABS/EBD. OK lets go back to something more comparable, JAPAN and its Myvi, the Toyota Passo. The Toyota Passo is, like the Saga SV, is a small car with basic needs(thou 3 airbags and VSC/TRC + ABS/EBD is what Japanese classifies as basic needs). It cost fresh from factory, 1.099 million yens, Thats a nice RM35k for a car thats safer than your ‘value car’, and thats about the cheapest you get from a non-Kei-car in Japan.

Of course in Japan its tougher, buying non-kei car means showing a permit that you owened a land and in the land of the rising yen thats not goinng to good on yer wallet. A trip from Tokyo to Osaka by cars is F***** expensive as tolls caan reach above the hundreds. But thats not the point here. If Japan is earning 3% off the humble Passo while having better specs and better design, there is something truly wrong with proton’s suppliers an their parts cost, so much for insisting for local parts. When you insists locals, competition goes down and that will only results in foxes taking advantage of that and raising their cost of parts.

If you have any question on my little artical, i have the time to humbly admit my mistakes or correct you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 7:01 pm

massive production.. i believe there will much more discount by the supplier..to take sv as comparison ..how many thousands sv sold/proton sold..comparing to toyota..they will had their trustworthy supplier given them much discount since they get their profit increase more..everyyear..however i still believe proton supplier should try to reduce their price so that their cooperation will last and malaysian basher will not call them by the CRONIES..anymore

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 8:39 pm

True, the Passos sold in Japan already doubled of what Proton is moving Saga Svs out of their factories. And I do belive Passos are sold exclusively in Japan(Indonesia and Malaysia’s gets their Passo/Myvi from Rawang). I would have agree with you if this was at least 5 or more years ago or maybe even a few days ago.But….

Few days ago Mahathir himself personally commented that Proton and is not only putting the blame on us the public….but also on its only competitor Perodua. Now I’am sorry, I’ve not known whats the stand on the BoD and marketing people on Proton are on this subject, but as the head of the company(or was), are they trying to imply that it is not our freedom to express our consumer rights and say that foreign company has a better product? and we should support our national products because we should be petriotic and Perodua, as an almost fully Malaysian product is not to be supported by patriotic Malaysian?[read my comment on the new CEO of proton few weeks back]

Of course a comment of one person is one thing but I am now struggling to accept that Proton is truly trying to be a competitive company. Mahathir, the father of it all, is saying that his child still needs to be spoon-fed after 29 years, and I’ve said before this is the time where other car company is beginning to look attractive to other car markets. Proton lacks all the qualities that make small underdog company grow, Ambition and competition, and the will to keep getting up and fight. Both Eastern Asian companies have done that, China IS doing that, but Proton…..

the Preve is a good car it truly is, but its only good because under all the sky-high price of foreign cars and even after that is questionable; It’s quality, It’s efficiency and It’s design. I just do not have the will and optimism to believe that anymore. I have been dissapointed for 10 years. Maybe and truly I do hope they picked up, but sorry Proton. To sum it up, its not the company I distrust but rather the head of it, I do not want Proton to win just because it gets special handicap, that is how I believe in patriotism, to see a strong company, not a something with a ‘made in Malaysia’ tag on it….I still have the Saga with me thou.

• VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 9:44 pm

I respect TUN however his statement.. I believe not represent everyone feeling in proton.. they had their improvement lately..especially preve/suprima and.. exora. Anyway I believe most malaysian had in their mind every..product from our own country is not as good as the rest world .. just not in the proton case but other product from our own country were always get condemned..this is our mentality.. this is probably MAHATHIR thinking as well, but to proof they are good as others ..like u said proton must get up by them self.. they had done wrong but they do have chance to rectify it..coz there were malaysian whose patriotic..oftenly called macai..who will support malaysian..this is a good thing anyway..

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 10:52 pm

I won’t condemn Proton supporters, but I just can’t bear myself looking at something I’ve supported for all these years, still being spoon-fed. If I were to represent Malaysia and promote Proton, sadly I would be borderlining emberressed to inform to the world that 30 years of Malaysian automotive knowledge and knowhow have produced…..this? And to furthur tell them how much the car cost and whats its up against with what specs. Sorry. Adding salt into injury, its only profitting in a market thats already so competition bias towards them.

Like I said, Dr Mahathir and Mr Chairman(forgot his name) statement is only reflecting to their own opinions, but I am truly worried weather any of Proton’s BoD still thinks the same, that Proton survival is truly dependent on the fact that our automotive market is so competitively slided towards them. If my worries are realized, there is truly no hope for either Proton or our automotive industry to ever be competitive until those mindsets are replaced, and how much damage would have done than?

I have said it before, I have the pride to eat these words and crawl back to proton. But as of now, as of all these 29 years, Those saying of a Global car, and export car, a international car remains just that, a word, a statement, with half-hearted action and none of the results.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 06, 2014 at 12:18 pm

in my perspective they still had some/few people in proton who had their vision and mission to make proton succeed in global market.. based on what the profit they get..they still able producing cars like preve/suprima and exora..even with gov help.. u can’t denied their willing to succeed..they had made wrong desicion before and maybe in future..let the proton supporter helping proton..if proton died it is cause of their own fault..nothing to do with malaysian be the back stabber..the rest of malaysian can have other option..this is free country with a limits anyway.. where ever u lives u will never had all what u want..(high tax..low insurance..cheap fuel but it could be otherwise in other countries)

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Since at the time of writing, no one has reply on your comment, I shall take the liberty to entertain you (also since I’am down with a cold).

Firstly, profits of a manufecturer is difficult to justify; Toyota Motor Co. International earned about US$ 23.7bil (RM77.12bil in TER) but car manufecturers earn a bulk of them through service charges, parts replacement charges and also exchange rates(exp: weaker yen to dollar meant that export of cars to US makes better profits). Its a throughly headache-inducing way to understand how much a car manufecturers earn per car. Car manufecturers profit per car varies on the volume of cars they sell. Ferrari did made a statement that their 2002 Ferrari Enzo makes them US$550k per car(out of the 400 they made, one is still in Naza Italia), the car itself cost owners US$1.6mil in 2002 ER.The highest recorded statement was by Porsche which made an average of 18% profit PER car, so thanks Mahathir and co. articles in 2007(very long ago)shows that Toyota makes an average of 5% off every model they sell. I do stress that this is average profit, but it is predicted that even in Australia and US, they make anywhere from 3-12% per car.

So back to Proton, if Mr Chairman’s statement is correct, than a RM 33,438 Proton Saga SV is netting Proton a 1.5% profit. That is truly dismal numbers for a car manufecturer(hope Preves series and Exoras fares better). And before you think this is sacrifice by the company to ensure we Malaysians, a nation of relative low average profit per captita, gets bettter car, lets take a look at what happens when our taxation system is change to one adopted by foreign countries. A Yaris(USDM ver) cost US$14,430; Thats thats RM47k in TER. Yes, even Toyota’s lowest tax cut car is so much cheaper but WAIT! it has 1.5l 5-speed manual, standard NINE airbags and bluuetooth hands-free entertainment. No your Saga SV dosen’t comme with any of that, and your Saga SV dosent even come with ABS/EBD. OK lets go back to something more comparable, JAPAN and its Myvi, the Toyota Passo. The Toyota Passo is, like the Saga SV, is a small car with basic needs(thou 3 airbags and VSC/TRC + ABS/EBD is what Japanese classifies as basic needs). It cost fresh from factory, 1.099 million yens, Thats a nice RM35k for a car thats safer than your ‘value car’, and thats about the cheapest you get from a non-Kei-car in Japan.

Of course in Japan its tougher, buying non-kei car means showing a permit that you owened a land and in the land of the rising yen thats not goinng to good on yer wallet. A trip from Tokyo to Osaka by cars is F***** expensive as tolls caan reach above the hundreds. But thats not the point here. If Japan is earning 3% off the humble Passo while having better specs and better design, there is something truly wrong with proton’s suppliers an their parts cost, so much for insisting for local parts. When you insists locals, competition goes down and that will only results in foxes taking advantage of that and raising their cost of parts.

If you have any question on my little artical, i have the time to humbly admit my mistakes or correct you.

• VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 7:02 pm

massive production.. i believe there will much more discount by the supplier..to take sv as comparison ..how many thousands sv sold/proton sold..comparing to toyota..they will had their trustworthy supplier given them much discount since they get their profit increase more..everyyear..however i still believe proton supplier should try to reduce their price so that their cooperation will last and malaysian basher will not call them by the name of CRONIES..anymore

• Ah Beng Support PROTON on May 05, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Another great car from PROTON with 100% designed by our local Engineers. I heard that it will be launch somewhere third quarter this year to provide competition for Perodua. Feedback from people inside, PROTON had benchmark cars like polo, mirage, picanto, brio and fiesta. We probably see some of the cars features in this new car. Thumbs up PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
    • Macai Bongok on May 05, 2014 at 2:50 pm

I will buy it if Proton give me 20 years warranty + 20 years Free service.

After finish full loan 9 years, at least another 10 years can sleep well no worry about rosak or service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
      • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Haha..so pathetic! 20 year warranty? free service? Toyota every year recall their car even they dont give longer warranty for their product until today. U want 20 years u made ur own PROTON SORONG la. rebadge kereta sorong maa.u drive u sorong sorang2..haha..

• VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 05, 2014 at 4:28 pm

u open ur own company then..

• whatAcar on May 05, 2014 at 4:33 pm

JUZ STICK TO UR KAPCHAI!!

• gOOsh (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:03 pm

tongok lar kau nih…

• VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 7:06 pm

y don u ask for lifetime warranty anyway..? 20years warranty ..even reliable toyota not even dare to do that.. unless u pay ur vios like a million ringgit..maybe they will consider it

• bujingyun on May 05, 2014 at 7:43 pm

talk like sh*t

• Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Have to wait and see the product before thumb up, otherwise this equate to blind support. In the last couple of years Proton do not earn a thumb up nor thumb down, however it has earned ‘Thumb Horizontal’.

• leoRNado on May 06, 2014 at 1:29 am

No need to thumbs up now. The way u talked like u r proton’s staff. We need to see the product first then we talk!. I’ve been cheated few times by Proton beforehand. In fact My Savvy stuck in my garage with no spare parts.

• Denaihati on May 05, 2014 at 2:17 pm

look like so many test in all Malaysia road. should be a good car, good reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • I saw 2 of these cars driving in Kota Damansara before the toll at the traffic light. Looked kinda out of proportion from my view, could be wrong tho since they sped past me.

• scaled on May 05, 2014 at 2:36 pm

The odometer goes until 240, means should have considerable amount of power on this car?

• protonsucks on May 05, 2014 at 2:36 pm

proton employees are the only 1 giving thumbs up for any good comments praising proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
    • Sammy Valley on May 05, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Kalau tiada suka, kita bina suka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON on May 05, 2014 at 3:17 pm

No la..their big vendors will support them too..PATCO, AutoV, APM and so on..huhu..

• VW_XYZ on May 05, 2014 at 5:04 pm

in the meanwhile sam loo and the followers are giving thumbs down,refreshing and another thumbs down

• samlok on May 05, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Mana rekabentuk emas. I want that design!

• Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 3:39 pm

The EMAS design has been taken by VW when they purchased Italdesign. See: Volkswagen Up, Skoda Citigo and Seat Mii.

• mim (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Design EMAS dah “dicuri” oleh Volkswagen. VW tahu EMAS punya design masih bwh hak Italdesign.. so dorg beli Italdesign cepatcepat before Proton sempat beli design tu.. No need to design VW Up! from scratch..

• Im in the opinion that they should spend more money in doing RnD for developing new n effecient engine model rather than developing a new car model..

• Macai Bongok on May 05, 2014 at 2:52 pm

RM1 Billion bank loan gone hangus to Lotus.

Proton mana ada duit lagi bikin enjin baru 30km per Liter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Engine can buy from Mitsubishi or Honda, no need to develop.

• Ghani on May 05, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Banyaknya TAHI politik yang obses kat politik sampai hal kereta pun dipolitikkan. annoying.

BTW kesian kat kawan perodua tu.. myvi dah berbelas tahun, still jual model yang sama. adakah ini MYVI KILLER? mungkin….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • What if Perodua sells a sedan car?

Saga killer? Preve killer? Pesona killer?

One sedan Perodua = kill 3 Proton sedans ??

Huhuhuhu

• Motorhead (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Haha.. Myvi killer? Lu mabuk ke? Bukan ke dah ada Tiara? Savvy pon keluar tengah Myvi keluar.. siap yg mati? Lu ada sekolah ke? Civic.. City.. berapa puluh tahun dlm matket bro? Tu lah org P1 dan penyokong x guna akai.. Japs improve thier products become better.. not replace them. Pleasa la ask the owner of Gen2, Juara, Tiara etc what happened to thier cars now? Idiots mindless supporters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Sii Pai Gong on May 05, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Remember when the first Saga was launched , it was selling for about RM16K. Maybe they will sell this small car for RM26K. At this price , it will be a run away success and everyone will live happily ever after.

• kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 3:54 pm

in that y la car price with that price range in indi n thai…no or 1 airbag, no ABS+EBD+BA, no ESP+TC, no mp3+cd+radio player, no power windows, some even do not have rear seatbelt(ayla)…

• LimGE on May 05, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Lu mabuk ke?

• qwerty on May 05, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Looks more like a MyVi competitor. Good move from Proton, although it might not beat the MyVi in terms of sales.

Btw, Azree drives a Mini Cooper?

• Haha, another “good move” statement.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 7:37 pm

here u are Detective IOMA..u still counting how many salesmen in paultan.org thou.. work hard Mr. Detective..waiting the statistic form u..

• doink on May 06, 2014 at 8:20 am

Haha, another basher detected.

When Proton wanna enter the compact car market, rakyat marah. When Proton avoids the market, rakyat marah lagi.

What lah do we Malaysians want? How come we’re so good at complaining?

Wait till the car is launched then only you condemn also not late bah, brader!

• woot woot on May 05, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Not newsworthy! nexttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!

• Hopefully they can make more than RM500 selling this model or else Proton will blame Malaysian not support local make…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • i keep an open mind but, i cant understand why proton keeps using those interior plastics. The feel and look flimsy even if the car was well put together or engineered. Dear proton, thats where your paying customer sits 99% of the time.

• Joe Radzif on May 05, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Macam MyVi je dari belakang kan…

• Motorhead (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Want to compete with myvi? How long myvi in the market? Go to any shop under the tree.. u can get any of its part. Meanwhile P1 keep replacing models. No mature products in the market. Stupid & wrong move. Go & just die.

• OOEMGI on May 05, 2014 at 6:13 pm

perodua keep rebadging.. what is the mature of that.. tell us.. how long MYVI is in malaysia..? everylaunch is facelift

• Datuk on May 05, 2014 at 3:46 pm

looks like moving aquarium with a lots of nemo inside

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 05, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Why do I get the feeling that Proton copied (tiru) the Kia Picanto design here…? I thought their R&D is inclusive of car designs…?

No wonder that stupid chairman says no Malaysians wanna support Proton… Tell me guys, macam mana nak sokong barangan tiruan ni…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Why not? The Picanto is clearly the car to beat in this segment in terms of exterior design, interior design and feel, overall refinement, safety features and level of kit. Hell, despite being A-segment, its interior space utilization makes it feel as big as the B-segment Myvi, WITHOUT compromising on safety, comfort and equipment.

Although, to be honest, aside from the size, I don’t see how Proton has copied the exterior; they’re way too different.

• You mean you actually believe them designing? Tell that to LG Korea.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 7:40 pm

care to explain further detail..detective ioma..

• Anonymous Coward on May 06, 2014 at 9:44 am

I’ll take a stab at this.

While Proton does the broad strokes and guides the overall direction of any new car, they have subcontractors that are hired to get it to completion. I believe Savvy, Saga and Exora was designed with consultation input from LG’s vehicle outsourcing division. Preve (and maybe Suprima, I don’t know) was done under the consultation of some other company, German maybe.

It seems that LG is once again tapped for the development of the GSC, but I don’t know if this is true. I believe they were also involved in Naza Sutera (which was initially designed by Italdesign).

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 05, 2014 at 9:35 pm

How else would they come up with such ugly designs as the Preve and Suprima…?

Unless you wanna tell me YOU designed the car for them…?

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 10:15 pm

u’re proud with the spacecraft vios look..? other cars beside toyota are hideous

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Sam Jilat or S**cking Sam dont judge GSC as it wont launch till 3rd quarter this year. It’s a fresh design by Korean act undersupervision DRB-HICOM management. Rumors said that GSC delay because DRB don’t design by Khazanah 4 years ago thats why they urge R&D team to develop totally new cars benchmarking your beloved A$$*0LE Kia Picanto..Only benchmark not copy! Understand that term..In fact GSC benchmark with a lot conti and japanese cars worldwide..Support la sikit PROTON. Vendor mau untung juga..haha..

• btree (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Not keen on the covered looks
    Doubt if it looks better uncovered..

• ILoveProton on May 05, 2014 at 4:18 pm

They should put Campro CFE so that it can smoke Mercz Kompressor easily.

• kzm hates Proton on May 05, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Comparing CFE with Kompressor? What weed you smoking there dude

• Maseratits on May 05, 2014 at 4:31 pm

The centre stack actually looks quite decent. But the gear lever looks like of cheap.
    Hopefully they’ll improve on it with the final version..

• tokmoh support proton on May 05, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Those who hate proton are still live in past. Power window issue its long resolved when they offer lifetime warranty for power window. The quality also is improving. How do you expect cheap car with high italian quality? typical Malaysian mentality la. They need find a sweet spot between price and quality. All engineers in proton i am sure are trying very hard to build quality car but you know, the decision is not made by them. Final decision is by the board who will eventually approve the design. It is not fair, to bash Proton in general as it is one of our products. Critics, must be made to the top management who will direct Proton in future. I still have faith in Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Bot Admin on May 05, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Proton FB standard robot reply:

“Boleh sila konsikan butir-butiran di bawah melalui PM?

Name:
      Tel. No:
      Email:
      Car Reg No:
      Showroom/Service Centre:

Terima Kasih.”

• You mudah lupa la. Typical Malaysian mentality. The power window still got problem la even the latest Suprima model.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 7:46 pm

u got even the latest news.. please add it in ur report..detective.., i hope its not too long and flowery word like hafriz’s article..or not so harsh word..malaysian are very soft and delicate..put pictures together.. I love seeing pictures rather than words..

• LimGE on May 05, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Lu mabuk ke? LOL!

• OOEMGI on May 05, 2014 at 6:08 pm

they will still live in the past.. so they gonna amaze continuously in their own ancient toyota’s engine

• Motorhead (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Are an idiot? Pls check thier shareholders. . Daihatsu is there.. under Toyota.. of course they rebadge. All blue print is there… they ve the right to rebadge. It’s not your datuk company also.. suka hati merekalah nak rebadge. I suka rebadge, u apa masalah? Do you know what Smart partnership is? P1 was dying for smart partship before. . Unfortunately non work out. Any effort to bring Japs model minus excise duty.. I ll support. U ve problems with that? Go to hel. I don’t care also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 7:58 pm

that isn’t smart anyway..how many years MYVI in malaysia.. juz facelift..so u said they had daihatsu < toyota share ..so bring the latest model.. bring the latest technology.. why keep the same thing on and on..juz malaysian like u keep thinking it is worth.. i tell u they were 3 side here (perodua/daihatsu/toyota)..how much they want to gain profit per car..divided by 3 partner and I dont think they will go low till the same amount as ur BR1M money.. TOYOTA not even known to the LATEST in technology anyway

• To be honest, been using a 2006 satria neo for 7 years and the power windows were still solid and never failed me before. Works perfectly until the day i sold the car. It depends on the user more than the fault of the power windows itself.

• Hicam on May 05, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I’ve had two Protons in the past. The first was the 1st gen Waja with the 4G18 engine mated to a manual box. Bought it used for ridiculous amount of money. Drove it everywhere. Yeah the door handles and power windows are a joke. But apart from that it was absolutely brilliant taking into account how cheap and easy the maintenance was. Replaced it with the Inspira. Having been on both Lancer and Inspira, I must say the Inspira was better built. Quieter, more comfortable and easier to carve corners at high speed minus that lairy feel you get from the Lancer GT, the Inspira was value for money for a Proton.

I think my experience with these Protons had been defined by the common denominator that is the Mitsu powerplants. I have heard stories about how the Campro is a hit or miss with regards to reliability. It is a shame that the early GSC mules which had been using the Mitsu 3B block had been replaced by the Campro due to DRB taking over Proton. We will see how this decision will influence the GSC in its initial stages.

• “Having been on both Lancer and Inspira, I must say the Inspira was better built.”

Probably that explained why in Langkawi, 1.8 Inspira is more expensive than 2.0 Lancer. Better built konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Low Budget on May 05, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Most Proton bashers are ex Proton car owners and some also current owners. However we are beginning to see some support for Proton, but really when you get inside a low end Proton it has the cheapo look.

• 1. I wish someone come out and could explain why this doesnt look like ’emas’ concept.
    2. Why compete with Perodua only? Why not all?
    3. Why compete with Perodua when working together gives much more and greater benefits to the industry as a whole.
    4. Its time – Proton needs a re-branding exercise badly.

• Obviously (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:39 pm

“just about managed, as the car began to speed off after the driver realised it was being photographed.”

Cue in Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit soundtrack.

• Albert Lee on May 05, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Proton Tiara,Proton savvy,Proton mini mpv(forgot the name)…..sound familiar? FAILURES.
    Proton boasted Preve will be a global seller before launching.NOW? Where,even in overseas it is heavily discounted ,with no significant volume.
    This GSC is just for show only.Just watch its sales 6 months down the road.
    Perodua will be launching replacement for Viva next month.The competition is getting PRETTY INTENSE very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Syameer (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Proton Preve and Suprima which are the manifestation to Proton commendable efforts to improve its image and quality are definitely not a failure. Those who keep condemning the effort obviously have other ulterior motives and just too coward to admit that Proton have actually improve much beyond their expectation. It might not be comparable to other leading manufacturer, but it is a rising force that deserve the support and constructive criticism of the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Albert lee on May 05, 2014 at 8:51 pm

“it is a rising force” sir,you don’t know what you are writing.
        We are not Proton bashers.We wish Proton well,but it is not happening.
        Proton will lose Rm450-500 this year due to parasitic and bleeding Lotus and a host of other factors.
        How can it be a rising force if it requires FREQUENT BAILOUTS and lately they even ask for TAXPAYERS(GOMEN ) Grants…Sir,your taxes have been partially financing Proton all these years and you call it A RISING FORCE?
        In fact proton should be renamed BANKRUPTON and Perodua renamed PERTAMA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Funny la u..not p1 basher..but every p1 article u bash like there is no tomoro..u even want p1 to close down..funny comment nonetheless

• Albert lee on May 05, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Sorry,it should read RM450-500 million.(losses by Proton this year,if there are no drastic changes)

• LimGE on May 05, 2014 at 11:37 pm

albert albert.. i pity u bro.. LOL!

• Jrmriffin on May 05, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Is it just me or this car looks nothing like ‘Emas’ concept 2010? such a waste!

• Sas13 on May 05, 2014 at 7:49 pm

This car really looks out of proportion if u see it in front of ur eyes, really weird man. It looks like no real precision engineering in it. And i really hate those exora lamp, mcm bahlol je.

Suprima’s sales speaks the volume la brader, kejadah menda nya manifestation of proton. Let proton die peacefully la.

• die..la.. on May 05, 2014 at 8:58 pm

u dont like ..doesnt mean others are too..but u free to express ur feeling..juz curious are u a car designer? u sound like u are..

• I’ve seen this car on the road (in it’s prototype disguise). Nothing to shout about but not ugly as well. This model will have a tough time competing with ‘real’ global cars such as the 208, fiesta, rio, yaris, jazz, i10 or even the picanto.The only advantage it will have is only price. The interior looks dated and plasticky, fit and finish is another issue but the handling and powerplant should be reliable enough. Will end up another jaguh kampung. If suprima S is Proton’s best effort, what can we really expect from this GSC? Good Luck!

• Your car interior is like a Bentley?

• Anonymous Coward on May 06, 2014 at 9:52 am

C’mon, that’s just uncalled for. Is it too hard to ask for Proton interior to be on par with Kia, at least?

To be honest though, the Fiesta’s interior is nothing to shout about either; too busy and the build quality seems a bit shoddy, at least compared to Kia.

• I agree with you sir. To be fair, at this budget/mid range A/B segment, don’t expect premium quality interior. Just decent and durable inteiror is best. Ergonomics and durability is equally important too. Some might like the Fiesta interior, looks more fancy and some would prefer the conventional VW Polo interior.

• Well, i have relatives that own protons. Even myself owned a Neo before and i don’t believe the ‘power window rosak’ story as my neo power windows were ‘extremely’ reliabe till the day i sold it. I have no biased view towards Proton, but if it took them many years to produce interior like this, it’s disappointing. For instance, my aunt’s preve had a problem with the gear shifter that got stuck for a few month old car. Even the air conditioner vents were badly designed as rear passengers can barely feel it. These are nitty gritty things that the interior engineers have to consider when producing the car whatmore the engine and drivetrain. Why not concentrate on building a proper not to say perfect car rather than busy producing more new models that end up a waste of time. The day Proton close shop it can reflect only how much right it has achieved in the past.

• qarnill on May 05, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Lama btol tunggu p1 nk launch gsc?…p2 plak bile nk launch new viva?

• inderaloka on May 05, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Proton’s design getting worse. Hey! Wake up! Hire someone who can design a car than can make profit!

• Car_fan on May 05, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Better save up and buy this wonderful car or you’ll be accused of being unpatriotic, or worse, be told by some dude who calls himself Ah Tee to migrate if you don’t like Malaysia. The irony is when Honda recently launched the new City, the Proton executive chairman was happily posing for pictures next to the car as the top representative of DRB, which happens to be the second largest shareholder in Honda Malaysia. So which company are you rooting for, our Audi chauffered Tan Sri?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 10:10 pm

At the end.. I would love to see all each & one of u P1 supporters go, book & buy the so called Crap global car.. we are here the same ppl wait for you.. go ahead. . Pls let me know after u ve made your order.. don’t just talk kok.. we know the kork dy.. I ve friends bot Tiaras & Savvy..

Please make my day.. go buy, order.. please.. or u folk just a bunch of P1 sales men all out to cheat people again & again. .

• LimGE on May 05, 2014 at 11:40 pm

when???

• old dog on May 05, 2014 at 11:42 pm

more expensive than Saga?

• Puteri Kota POH on May 06, 2014 at 10:23 am

i think a lot of commentators here are against P1 and the gov of the day but please remember that majority of the employees are hardcore supporter of opposition too….i heard their attitude are not as good as the japanese or even the thais counterpart..

• puteri kota poh (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 10:47 am

proton need new engine

• Flat Black on May 06, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Dah lapuk la Proton. P2 dah menang category neh…bertahun2. Launch la lowered basic coupe with focus on merely performance and safety.

• Nieko on May 06, 2014 at 7:01 pm

well what ever it is iam still intrigue to know what the spec are like if it come’s with 4Airbags,ABS,EBD,BC,ESC and Traction Control than iam all for it and I’ve heard that Proton/DRB are working with Bouch to make The new Electronic.LaneChange(Not Real name)and also Some new Self Breaking Technology because in order for Proton to enter the EU market all cars from 2015 should have this Tech upgrade ..so its not a have to but a Must

GoodLuck Proton Cheers….

• Nieko on May 06, 2014 at 7:15 pm

ok iam going to defend Proton here if guys think that this New Proton is ugly than what do you call The Mitsu Mirage and lets not forget the New Yaris(Indo Spec) now these two cars are the real ugly ,If I remember correctly even Caradvice and Autocar Canada finds The Proton easy on eyes …..

• Samad Jain on May 06, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Whatever la, Proton…..
    but I definitely wont drive another Proton.

• motohead on May 07, 2014 at 10:50 am

Hope they are not using the timing belt Campro engine.
    The motor industry have gone back to timing chain engine technology. More durable and less maintenance.
    Easy on the pocket.

• I just wish Proton is being consistent in all aspects..

• Redsestren on Jul 21, 2014 at 8:05 pm

same junk, only in a different car…