VIDEO: Tommi Makinen tests the new Subaru WRX STI

Here’s a cool video of four-time WRC champion Tommi Makinen driving the latest rally-bred sports sedan, the 2015 Subaru WRX STI. Yes, the Flying Finn may have won his four titles behind the wheel of a Mitsubishi Evo, but he ended his rallying career with Subaru, hence the affiliation here.

Of the new WRX STI, Makinen is all praises: “It’s really a kind of a car which asks you to please go faster, go faster, because the confidence is so high. I can feel the wheels in my fingers. Generally it’s a much easier and more comfortable car to drive.” So yes, he approves, to say the least.

The 300 PS/407 Nm Subaru WRX STI and its less hardcore 268 PS/350 Nm WRX sibling only recently received their regional launch in Manila. Both models are expected to be available in Malaysia from July onwards, and have already been spotted at JPJ Putrajaya.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• jik jag on May 05, 2014 at 12:10 pm

proton please rebadge this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • KangKungMan on May 05, 2014 at 12:42 pm

jik jag – sorry to tell U the fact … This Won’t Happen … Subaru don’t want to pull them self into this Boleh Land’s World …

• ariff TIMATT. on May 05, 2014 at 3:15 pm

hahaha…later become front wheel drive.

• Aaron RoGz GTR (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 7:58 pm

WRX STI,hmm AWD
      Power to the ground
      Seems fast enough but problem is there’s no fun driving one in Malaysia

• Aaron RoGz GTR (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 8:02 pm

And oh,talking abt rebadging this?
      Ur simply crazy
      First,it’ll have a ridiculously stupid name and 2nd is Subaru won’t be able to sell the Impreza anyone
      So stick back to Subaru
      Rebadging a freaking bad idea.Proton can go close shop,no creativity at all

• “It’s really a kind of a girl which asks you to please go faster, go faster, because the confidence is so high. I can feel the puss in my finger.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • Look’s uncompleted and bulky, if Proton take Jebat to production and with Lotus handling sure this Soharu would just follow the tail of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
    • A Boxer on May 05, 2014 at 4:48 pm

OH YA?…Blue Samurai will slice your jebat undies before u can even blink halfway.

• 4G63T DSM on May 05, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Ah what Tommy isn’t answering is if this new Subie is as good or better than the Evo X.

Historically, the Subies have always been not as sharp as the Evo’s they follow.

• heybadigol on May 05, 2014 at 6:57 pm

At 56 secs, the Subie goes slightly airborne mid corner. Just breathtaking. But where are the drift videos or at least a Scandinavian Flick from Makinen? :)

• why in Mlaysia, we always get any car during its expired date…Even Thailand n Spore gets everything earlier than us. The excitement already fade away when the car reach malaysia..sighhhh…