GALLERY: ASEAN NCAP Phase III – a closer look

SONY DSC

The results of the third and final phase of the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP) were released yesterday, but we were also given a quick look at the cars tested at the PC3 lab of the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) facility in Melaka. On display were the Honda CR-V, Proton Preve, VW Polo Sedan, Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8, Peugeot 208, Chevrolet Sonic and both Kia Picantos.

How were the cars tested?

To recap, the cars were subjected to an offset frontal collision test, which involves striking a deformable barrier with an overlap of 40% at 64 km/h. A UN R95 side impact test is new for this phase, and consists of a mobile deformable barrier striking the side of each car at 50 km/h.

To achieve a five-star rating, a car must feature at least two airbags, a stability control system and a seat belt reminder, while passing the side impact test is now required for four stars and up. Child occupant protection is now rated in stars, rather than in percentages like in the first two phases.

Phase III saw the Honda CR-V, Proton Preve, Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0 (with the Additional Safety Package) and Chevrolet Colorado all collecting five-star adult occupant protection ratings, with all but one of the rest achieving four stars.

How is ASEAN NCAP testing different from Euro NCAP?

The discussion surrounding the latest results mostly centred around discrepancies between the airbag count and the adult occupant protection rating, which is the one most people and manufacturers would quote. This is due to the scoring system only taking into account the frontal collision test result, with the side impact test only used to determine if the car passes UNECE regulations.

It’s the reason why the Honda CR-V (the first left-hand drive car the institute has tested, a Thai-built model destined for the Philippine market) bagged the highest score in the group with just two airbags to its name (our cars come with a minimum of four airbags), while certain cars with side and curtain airbags such as the Peugeot 208 – which scored five stars in Euro NCAP – and the Malaysian-spec Kia Picanto only managed four stars.

This differs from the more advanced Euro NCAP system, which combines frontal, side and pedestrian impact (as well as whiplash protection) scores into a single, more balanced rating. MIROS’ explanation for their decision is to give manufacturers a “soft landing” to ease themselves into providing better side impact protection.

The Malaysian-market Kia Picanto 1.25 Manual vs. the Thai-market model

So what’s next?

Nevertheless, the institute admits that the current rating system could confuse buyers into believing that a car with dual airbags is safer than one with four or even six, and plans to implement a proper scoring system for side impact tests that will influence the main rating by 2016.

One of the real eye-openers of the day was the stark difference in protection between two base-spec Kia Picantos – a Malaysian-market manual with six airbags and ESP, and a Thai-market manual with no safety systems whatsoever. Looking at the two cars in the metal side-by-side, it is almost eerie how similar the two cars look on the outside, with almost identical levels of deformation.

But the difference in results could not be more extreme – while the local car netted four stars for both adult and child protection, the sparse Thai car garnered no stars for adult occupant protection (it scored a dismal 0.40 points out of 16.00, versus the plusher model’s 12.67) and just one star for child protection. It is a grim reminder of how vital airbags are in a collision, shielding the occupants from the hard interior surfaces they would otherwise hit.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• heybadigol on May 06, 2014 at 10:06 am

I cant imagine doing crash tests for a limited run hypercar like the LaFerrari. Even looking at these mass market cars for the rakyat being destroyed makes me sad.

Now, they need to do the overlap or offset test as well, as its much harder to pass. Not all accidents are going to be 100% from front or 100% side. Some are angled, part front, part side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • AVH (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 10:45 am

Errr, it is an overlap and offset test. All NCAP test are. It’s just not the small overlap test of the IIHS done in the US. Now imagine my partner and companion, my beloved city or my brotherly Saga in that state, my eyes would be in tears. I love cars too much.

• TeresaCockCNYClown on May 06, 2014 at 10:37 am

Moral of the story: Thai specs are cheaper compared to Malaysian specs because their safety features are lesser. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Hyundai De.La Junk on May 06, 2014 at 12:52 pm

So now Zero Star KIA Picanto officially new Milo Tin Car…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Not really Milo tin. The exterior is quite strong. But your body will crash into things inside the car that will kill you. This is actually also important for drivers of old cars that are very solid (or so they think). A solid structure is important. But how well your body is then protected from getting hurt in the slowing down process is important too. It’s like jumping off a bridge. It’s the landing that matters.

• Allen on May 07, 2014 at 1:18 am

zero star only for Thai specs. Malaysian spec get 4-star, no?

• kzm (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 1:23 pm

i always said that but some people still dont want to accept it…

• SAfrican on Dec 22, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Either way, ASEAN crash safety testing should be on par with the ever developing Euro NCAP. Once it gets there then you can say you are truly safe.

• normal_user on May 06, 2014 at 10:45 am

The front crash test is an overlap/offset test 50%. Hopefully they include small overlap test at 25%, which is more dangerous to the occupant (the late Jelutong Tiger’s Alphard crash at around 30% overlap with all passengers sitting at the left side demised).

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Can’t walk want to fly already? What is the point of doing small overlap tests if they don’t even do proper side impacts?

• this is just bullshit. your rating system should be comprehensive and there’s no tolerance to give manufacturers any “soft landing” shit. are you saying that people’s lives can be tolerated just so you want to make the bullshit manufacturers a good rating?

this is the very reason i don’t trust asean ncap. euroncap is the site i look at when i want to buy a car. don’t get me start talking about how some manufacturers like honda has been pumping loads of money into this asean ncap program. i wonder if that has anything to do with crv having 5 stars with just 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 12:14 pm

If you read carefully, no, them pumping money in doesn’t have anything to do with 5 stars for just 2 airbags. It’s just their currently imperfect rating system that’s at fault here that’s making their results quite confusing.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Are you sure? ASEAN NCAP could have used the same rating methods as the other NCAPs do. Instead they came up with a way to make 2 airbag cars look as safe as 6 airbag cars, which clearly they are not (IIHS or so did tests on that and the results are pretty clear). To me it clearly looks like someone got paid to make sure their cars don’t look too bad.

• Exactly my point kadajawi. The guy “Obviously” above need to learn to read between the lines. Don’t take things at face value. Whatever in the report is what they want you to read. You need to form your opinion on things.

• lonelyobserve on May 06, 2014 at 12:32 pm

farq, please include Euro NCAP. After all, it was Europeans who started this initiation.

• Coming soon to a half-cut shop near you.

• mastermind on May 06, 2014 at 10:56 am

I have look the picture and compare Preve and Picanto. I notice that Preve paint is rusted or marked more than Picanto in the area of flapped metal (bonnet). Is the quality of paint is questionable or the material to be blame?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • mim (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Wtf…this is crash test…you expect no scratches ah?

• scania on May 06, 2014 at 11:02 am

wonder about our beloved perodua viva rating….

• Why no Perodua model inside, or i miss out? Are those fail all the stars? Cause I see some small kia also being tested, but no perodua.

And thumbs up to Proton. CEO said Proton is not going to focus on Malaysia market, and gonna fly out of Malaysia for the world. Make Malaysia proud and bring back some trophy. Malaysia Boleh.

Next, stop selling Saga. This model only make a billion dollar corporation RM500 richer each unit sold but you have to headache with all the production schedule, supply chain and all the heaches. I think Proton is not making business but shiok sendiri.

Finally, any news of cost down on AP or anything price reduction from our beloved governement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Joker on May 06, 2014 at 11:18 am

I wonder why Pug 208 gets Euro NCAP 5 stars rating but gets ASEAN NCAP 4 stars???
    CKD issue??

• Dim Sum on May 06, 2014 at 2:41 pm

yaloh, 6 airbags some more. really confusing compare to honda crv having 5 stars with just 2 airbags.huhu

• ruffstuff on May 06, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Probably. Some CKD kits that send to malaysia, who knows the specs and quality. Since they know, the was no NCAP in this region, until now.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:11 pm

I doubt that. We can look at the exact results from EuroNCAP and ASEAN NCAP. That way it should be possible to see if the cars are different or if it was the way the results were analysed and rated.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:57 pm

I’d say the 208 is tested to the same standards as the CR-V (i.e. unlike in Europe it is not compared to other B segment cars but to all other cars too. Or perhaps it does very well for side impacts, but side impacts obviously don’t matter in ASEAN NCAP.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 10:45 am

ASEAN NCAP ratings are only based on the frontal impact tests. Euro NCAP ratings, on the other hand, also take into account side and pedestrian impact, as well as whiplash protection.

• t2357s on May 06, 2014 at 11:19 am

I wanted a Honda/Toyota with more airbags. Salesman told me if all airbags deploy, the car is considered total loss. No airbags means still can salvage.

I yelled at him saying without airbags, I am total loss! I cursed him for telling me to go die indirectly and walked out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • ta-mama on May 06, 2014 at 1:04 pm

The sales want all car owners to be a resposible captain, when the car wrecked (ship sinks), go with it X-D

• Dim Sum on May 06, 2014 at 2:42 pm

toyota/honda never get care abt your safety. they only care abt their selling products like hotcake without taking a cosideration the safety of the passengers.

• Kenot on May 06, 2014 at 11:22 am

It is a big move for ASEAN car industries. We cant simply use euroncap or ancap as our benchmark for car sell in this region because ASEAN always get different safety level and spec.

So, with ASEAN NCAP, the automotive maker can offer a safety spec at least on par for Europe, Australia or USA. We don’t want camry for ASEAN region only 2 airbags only, ESP optional.

Then, after ASEAN NCAP issues the result, hope the government in asean country can enforce new law or regulation.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Not sure I get you. Car makers are always free to offer more safety features (well, not in the US in the 70s…) and safer cars. ASEAN NCAP does a good job though at pretending certain cars are safe when they aren’t, at telling people that safety features are not needed. It is a huge step backwards, and it will kill Malaysians. Thank you!

• Ammar on May 06, 2014 at 11:32 am

Nice car. hahahaha

• Denaihati on May 06, 2014 at 11:34 am

Congratulation proton preve, this will make user more confident but again driver bad attitude is no.1 killer. 64 km h is city driving speed but if collision in opposite direction, the speed almost become double, same as highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • the crashing speed of 64kmph is reasonable. during frontal collision, for example, 2 cars which are travelling at 120kmph, both drivers are assumed to press the brake such a way that the actual velocity during impact is much lower.

• Blaze on May 06, 2014 at 11:38 am

Quote… “This differs from the more advanced Euro NCAP system, which combines frontal, side and pedestrian impact (as well as whiplash protection) scores into a single, more balanced rating. MIROS’ explanation for their decision is to give manufacturers a “soft landing” to ease themselves into providing better side impact . Nevertheless, the institute admits that the current rating system could confuse buyers into believing that a car with dual airbags is safer than one with four or even six, and plans to implement a proper scoring system for side impact tests that will influence the main rating by 2016.” So until 2016, its just a waste of time.. Yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • DrCooper on May 06, 2014 at 11:43 am

No inside pic on the Preve…like to see it

btw on the Picanto, with that kind of side impact at 50km/h, I don’t think anybody could survive if it’s impacted at 80km/h (that’s average my speed on highway at decelerating)

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Side impacts probably usually happen at junctions, so more like 50 km/h instead of 80. It makes sense to test at that speed.

• AVH (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 12:21 pm

A lot of rather emotional comments regarding safety and such. Personally, a huge bulk of cars below the RM200k price brackets will always have questionable safety standards and I think MIROS idea of providing ‘soft landing’ is a right solution. Forcing all manufacturers to up the standards or leave by 2016.

I know some believe that we should have an even more immediate solution, by tomorrow all cars should have VSC and 7-airbags as standard. But a rushed enforcement will result in bad planning, faulty airbags installation, chaos in the industry. I do however expect that all new cars launched from now to have stability control as standards and minimum of 6 airbags. From the city to the Sylphy the safety is steadily increasing.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:03 pm

I wholeheartedly disagree. Many cars are already offered with more safety in some specs or at least countries. Switching them all over is a matter of reducing profits only. Also if 2 airbag cars were exposed for what they are their resale value would go down.

What this soft landing does is reassure people that 2 airbag cars are perfectly safe, even safer than 6 airbag ones. It would have been better to not do side impacts at all, or to completely discontinue ASEAN NCAP.

People will die because of this. I hope all the money you corrupt … at ASEAN NCAP won’t be enough to let your souls rest in peace.

• AVH (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 9:41 pm

‘The institute admits that the current rating system could confuse buyers into believing that a car with dual airbags is safer than one with four or even six, and plans to implement a proper scoring system for side impact tests that will influence the main rating by 2016.’

Basically what they did wrong here is not clarifying to the public that this only includes the frontal crash worthiness of a car. Flip the IIHS and EURO-NCAP and this is basically the ‘frontal colission’ part of test, instead of being a full overall assestment of the car’s safety.

Now it maybe be arguable that some cars are offering better safety specs in other countries, but bear in mind this is forcing CKD companies and factories to change their manufecturing process ‘overnight’. It can be done, but also at a cost, an assembly process is a well organize, planned and time to ensure maximum efficiency and I do not believe we ‘just slot’ one extra process on top of it. Other than that, local workers have to be trained to how to install side airbags and such. Than theres the extra effort to ‘order’ or begin manufecturing side-airbags from outside the factories (I do not believe airbags are made by the manufecturers trhemselve) and stocked them for mass production. In can be done at fastest 2-3 months for cars that have side-airbags already design for other countries. But for others….The Ladder-framed Toyotas, Nissan’s Lavina series, most Protons and Peroduas(they have no history of side-airbags car) needs time. IIHS perform test on the small frontal overlap which is done first in 2012 and is demanding manufecturers for cars 2013 and beyond.

I do know when discussing car safety it can get highly emotional as to regards as to ones life. But please, althou I do understand these things are supposed to be done years earlier, Malaysian are only now beginning to realize how car safety. Give them time(for me at least 2015), and then we’ll judge.

Now about the 208 1.6 VTi , any difference has it with the European 1.4 Diesel? other than the fact that the 5-star NCAP pug 208 that was tested in 2012 is LHD and has a smaller engine?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Ok. Where to begin…

Yes, of course they should clarify it to the public, but then again, the point of this whole new creative system is to tell the public that 2 airbag cars are safe. They even test side impacts and mention that they test them, which means people are REALLY led to believe that the cars are also safe for side impacts. Only those who read closely MIGHT notice something is wrong.

Manufacturers have been knowing for more than a year now that side impact tests are going to be done by ASEAN NCAP. They have been very well aware of it and could easily have switched long ago. If your kid doesn’t learn for the exams he knows are going to come, will you accept it if on the day before the exam he tells you he can’t take it yet cause he hasn’t learned yet, and that he needs time to learn? No, of course not. He should have learned long ago, because he knew what was coming.

The Proton Waja was a 4 airbag car. Preve has 6. Upcoming Savvy/Saga replacement model has 6. It wouldn’t be that hard on Proton. For Perodua… the Myvi overseas has 6 airbags. Viva not sure, but that’s to be replaced soon. The Altis comes with 6 or 7 airbags IIRC, so does the Honda City. If you pay enough. So it’s not a big deal with retraining workers or anything.

And I’m sorry, I feel no pity at all for car manufacturers who think Malaysia is a third world country and lower safety standards are fine.

Let’s not mention small overlap tests. At this point we really need to catch up with safety standards from 10 years ago first. Then we can talk about going further than that.

As for the 208… given that all smaller cars performed poor I have the feeling that they were tested to the same standards as bigger cars, which gives them a disadvantage. EuroNCAP ratings are only valid for the same class of cars (+- 150 kg). In this sense the ASEAN NCAP tests do give some valuable information. Another thing that could be is that the front impact results of the 208 are only worthy of a high 4 star rating, but it did 5 stars for side impacts and pedestrian protection, so on average it manages to get into 5 star territory. We’ll have to look closely at the actual results to find out what exactly has happened there.

• AVH (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 2:00 am

‘Manufacturers have been knowing for more than a year now that side impact tests are going to be done by ASEAN NCAP’
          ….which they are, almost every new car in Malaysia has or can be had 6- airbags since January this year. Its true, ASEAN NCAP is failing to note that its test are only conducted in forward collisons only and the side is a mere scam.

My argument is not on the existing cars that are being launched, is the cars that haven’t and wont see replacement for the years to come….the Civic, XV, the Almera, Lavina, Elantra, Santa Fe. ASEAN NCAP was establish in 2012, and conducted their first testing in 2013. In a country where below RM90k wont get you VSC (and below RM50k ABS + EBD), the safety revamping needs to be underway and changes was first seen in mid-2013 with Kias and Ford upping the safety specs along with Proton. Honda followed suit with the City and so did Nissan with the Sylphy. Ford and Toyota disastrously came with car with none of that even as an option even after that date, worse still, VW and Toyota rip out what I considered is the basic safety system, the stability control in the CKD’s Polo and Corolla. The Myvi dont even get ABS for goodness sake, and if they want to up their airbags well…..read the above comments.

There are wholeheartedly disastrous companies, but there is change, and I do not expect such change to happne overnight. In a country where even ABS/EBD is not offered as standard theres lots of change.

• sepul on May 06, 2014 at 12:24 pm

The 208 looked safe enough to me. The dent is virtually minor.

• Few Bad Cars:

Accident, but Crashed Mirror:
    Bad Korean Kia Picanto is Weak:: No wonder got Zero Stars

http://paultan.org/2014/05/06/asean-ncap-phase-iii-crashed-cars/sony-dsc-739/

Bad Structure French Peugeot 208:
    Banged from the side only, but the Structure sudah bengkok.

http://paultan.org/2014/05/06/asean-ncap-phase-iii-crashed-cars/sony-dsc-743/

Bad Quality VW Polo :
    Banged at the side, Why does the bumper will drop off? Even the Bonnet get out of frame.

http://paultan.org/2014/05/06/asean-ncap-phase-iii-crashed-cars/sony-dsc-751/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • SpaghettiCarbonara on May 06, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Dude, on the VW Polo.. Don’t you see the mark at the bumper? Sure something also hit that are la. That’s why the bumper dropped a little. The bonnet didn’t get out of frame. Instead, it’s the fender la.. Pfft!

• JDMftw on May 06, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Moral of story : Buy Japanese cars

• Yeah. Buy a Vios. It’ll protect you from a side collision better thanks to its non-existent side air bag. (sarcasm)

• lembu jinni on May 06, 2014 at 12:51 pm

From what I have observed, even the safest drivers are guilty of one trait — the attitude that an accident would never happen with them at the wheel. With such an attitude of invincibility when driving, they usually think nothing of using their mobile phones to make calls or send text messages, looking for items in their glove compartment, switching playlists on their car stereo and, of course, believing that the speed they are driving at is safe.

• ta-mama on May 06, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Agreed. 5 stars for 64km/h doesn’t mean same for 120km/h. At that speed above, no car is safe including the Golf GTi mk7

• palgo47 on May 06, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Where is our beloved Myvi?

• Flat Black on May 06, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Takde pulak picture side impact Preve.

• With monkey style of ASEAN people driving habit versus Europe people, ASEAN NCAP should be tougher logically. is it? haha…

• Ah Beng King on May 06, 2014 at 3:18 pm

proton preve alredy rusting significantly more than the other cars lololololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 4:26 pm

F*cking croonies being bought by the Japanese car industry. Soften the landing? Seriously? 2 airbag cars should be exposed for what they are. These results are worse at educating the public than not doing any crash tests at all! Absolutely misleading.

Now I’m not surprised that they had to postpone announcing the results after the tests. They must have realized that some Toyota’s look really bad, and needed to come up with a way to make them look good again.

I hope Global NCAP are seriously pissed off by the useless bought over idiots at ASEAN NCAP and have access to the data so they can release proper scores taking into account side impacts.

There is no scoring system that has to be developed for side impacts. It already exists, and the same should be used for all NCAP tests across the world.

• Do you know that Euro NCAP has begun to revise their rating structure and test methods? For side impact, they plan to use higher MDB weight (the crashing trolley) and more advanced side impact dummy in order to simulate the existing situation in Europe.

Don’t just talk freely that every NCAP can just adopt the same procedure just to satisfy YOUR NEEDS? Considerations need to be make for regional or local issues.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:27 pm

So side impacts don’t happen in Malaysia?

There is no reason why the side impacts (which are done, at high costs!) are not rated. Manufacturers got informed at least a year in advance, and shouldn’t have been in this pitiful state to begin with. When EuroNCAP was launched, they didn’t soften the blow. They hurt Rover badly. And back then, something like Euro NCAP was unheard of. When IIHS (IIRC) started doing small overlap tests, they published the disastrous results, along with catchy, sales destroying headlines, despite pretty much every car being mediocre.

ASEAN NCAP is like parents spoiling their kids. Letting them do whatever they want, not teaching them a lesson, and always saying they did well, even if they failed an exam.

• Jebonr on May 06, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Need more test before I can change my mind on our local cars.

• Soft_Landing on May 06, 2014 at 7:21 pm

“MIROS’ explanation for their decision is to give manufacturers a “soft landing” to ease themselves into providing better side impact protection.”

Wow…Instead of protecting the consumer and providing a safely that the ASEAN consumer could rely on, they decided to pander to the car manufacturer. You have just lost your credibility. You should have a no compromise hard stance when people’s life is involved here.

A CR-V with a 5-stars rating implies perfect protection. There’s no caveat published anywhere that side-impact does not for some reason factored into the score. I would really love to be in that meeting where the MIROS team say, “Hey why don’t we gimped the score so that it’ll give the manufacturer time to buck up. Meanwhile let post half-arse meaningless score that does not really reflect the complete safety rating of a car with no caveat anywhere to explain the gap.”

• Soft_Landing on May 06, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Meanwhile million have died due to ASEAN government insistent on selling half-arse cars gov. funded car with zero airbags and no ESC. ASEAN NCAP introduced after Proton stack putting airbags and ESC at least into some of the car a coincidence? The fact that Proton lower end fleet were never put into the gauntlet (FLX with no airbags anyone). Coincidence? I think not.

How many more need to die before you come into your senses and do the RIGHT thing? Geesh…

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Proton did move to safer cars long before ASEAN NCAP. The Exora was already a significantly safer car than the previous ones, and even the Saga BLM was an improvement over previous Protons. The Preve was launched before ASEAN NCAP started testing.

Of course you are right that the Saga was upgraded after shockingly bad results (keep in mind though that they sold the safer Sagas before already, the only problem was that they also offered less safe versions). That’s how it should be done. In turn what Toyota and Honda have done was not upgrade their cars, but pay ASEAN NCAP to lower the standards.

• AVH (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 2:10 am

Sorry kadajawi, i think you are being Proton bias here.

If you can diss Honda, which has upgraded all their cars with VSC bar el-cheapo City and offering the 3rd B-segment(now 4th after the 1.0l Ecoboost) to have 6-airbags. But forgetting that Proton still has a Saga 1.3 and Persona cant be had with ABS and EBD……and only their Preve series and Accord rebadage getting stability control(No even their Exoras and Inspira dosen’t have it).

The only siant in the entire industry is Naza with their Kias and Peugeout. VSC+6-airbags for almost every model.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:30 pm

I agree, Honda is putting in some effort, and I applaud them for that (and recommend the V spec City). It’s a shame it is limited to those cars only though, but it’s an effort. Getting the Saga and Persona safe is going to be a much bigger task though, and a futile one at that. The Saga is due to replacement next year, and the Persona was replaced last year, they just have forgotten to stop producing it. Also, don’t forget that either car is much cheaper than the cheapest City, let alone the City that is actually safe.

• Seriously guys..too many negative comments. Lets see here, how many of you really know the journey of Euro or Australasian NCAP? They began with just a single test configuration, then extended the ratings into other configurations over the years. The ASEAN NCAP and also Latin NCAP which are just recently established start with the same approach but at faster rate.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 11:20 pm

The difference is that ASEAN NCAP and Latin NCAP have the help of Euro NCAP and ANCAP, they don’t have to reinvent the wheels. All the procedures, standards etc. have already been developed and can/should be used by ASEAN NCAP.

Proton didn’t have to go through cars like the Model A, Model T etc. when they started making cars. They started with a more or less up to date car (back then).

The only reason why ASEAN NCAP is not applying the same standards as Euro NCAP is because they want to protect Toyota and Honda from getting bad ratings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Different NCAPs have their own criteria, Kadajawi. Take Japan NCAP for example. Their frontal test involves frontal adult dummies and female dummy at the back. This is based on their crash statistics. I think, ASEAN NCAP also will move the same way. They need to prioritize which type of crash configuration to follow. In fact, not all configurations in Euro NCAP is adopted in Australasian NCAP. They do have their own criteria.

Do you think pedestrian safety the main issue here in ASEAN?

Don’t just make blunt comments. Go read some more.

• kadajawi (Member) on Sep 01, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Yes, adjustments need to be made. I agree. But the reasoning behind not publishing side impact results is to PROTECT CAR MAKERS. That is plain wrong. If they’d show statistics saying side impacts don’t happen in ASEAN countries, fine. Leave away the test. But that is not the case.

• sompua on May 06, 2014 at 10:40 pm

who recognised this AseanNCAP? South East Asian countries only? what a pity

• I love the prevé but is it just me or only the prevé have more rust then the other cars? =/

• Allen on May 07, 2014 at 1:26 am

The crash test can be done several days or weeks ago, when paint peel off and expose to humidity, it will rust.

It might be the sequence issue and time given for corrosion to occur, somehow Proton bashers can put a lot effort in discussing about the particular rust?

Which bare metal without corrosion protection will not rust?

• SamKL on May 07, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Many just said ‘should do this, should do that’; please come-up with your own standard. Bear in mind that their report will be publish somewhere so they are obligated to support their conclusion with facts. And whatever finding is always questionable from what angle they’re viewed. There is no perfection in life.

• Biggles on Mar 16, 2018 at 10:23 pm

AuNCap, EuroNCap, Asean NCap whatever. Cultural and regional differences are BS. After 30 years in and out of the vehicle industry I know a crash is a crash. As long as manufacturers make the same vehicle the same way globally (A MUST THAT MUST BE AUDITED), the standard should be identical worldwide and audited by reps from all countries. A little R&D shows that Kia Cars are made in Korea, USA, and Eastern Europe, so this suggests the Thai and Malaysian Kias came from Korea, (as its most close), who are currently giving Japan a headache in the car industry. Its fairly obvious whats going on here, its like the US Car industry in the 60’s or 70’s. Kia is an outsider, Honda and Toyota are huge in SE Asia, and provide many jobs. Kia is the whipping boy. Look at Euro and Australian NCap, the Asean car must logically be from Korea. Its all on the nose.