Fuel prices at the pump in Malaysia significantly lower than many major developed economies, claims study

diesel-pix-wm

Fuel prices at the pump in Malaysia are low compared to that in many major world economies, according to a recent study by international accountancy network UHY.

Bernama reported on the findings of the study, which indicates that subsidisation at 30% for petrol and 40 % for diesel makes fuel prices in Malaysia considerably lower than many major developed economies, in particular European countries.

Comparatively, the UK, France and Germany all levy taxes of at least 60 % on petrol, and between 40 and 60% for diesel. As an example, filling up a tank on a Ford Transit van with diesel in Malaysia adds up to RM159, a third of what it would cost in the UK, where diesel prices are highest, the study states.

Environmentalists may argue that petrol taxes are important in cutting greenhouse gas emissions, but the transport lobby and SMEs say that keeping the costs down is vital for all businesses, the global accountancy network adds.

fuel-price-april-2014-wm

The study, UHY says, is a reminder of the importance of maintaining tight control on the levels of business taxation, especially as the recovery from recession starts to gather pace.

“Emerging market economies are much more focused on growth and providing assistance to businesses through lower taxation and subsidies where necessary,” said Alvin Tee, senior partner at UHY in Malaysia.

“Subsidising diesel prices is particularly beneficial for fast-growing small and medium businesses running fleets of commercial vehicles, especially in sectors like distribution and retail. These businesses can be key drivers of economic recovery,” he added.

Fuel subsidies in Malaysia are reported to cost the government an estimated RM46 billion per year. The subsidies have also led to issues with the smuggling of fuel into neighbouring China and Indonesia, which have a much higher cost of fuel, the Bernama report adds.

What do you think, do you agree with the study results?

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test-003

FOOTNOTE

Working on the basis of transcribing that reported in the original news piece, I didn’t put in an opinion on the matter, because it was news reporting, not an opinion piece. Obviously, the more astute reader will realise that the study and its findings is not definitive of things.

The price of petrol here may be cheaper than many developed economies in a direct conversion of fuel, and that of fuel alone. It is however not representative of the larger picture or scheme of things, and you don’t even have to look as far as the UK to do the math.

For example, the price of petrol per litre in Brisbane when I was there last week varied from AUD1.50 to 1.42, or RM4.54 to RM4.30 if you convert it, which is how most arguments are usually angled. We pay RM2.10 for RON 95, half on a direct conversion.

All good, at half the price, but if you’re going to convert one thing, then you convert the other, so a car like say the Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost (or the Fiesta Sport as it’s known there) goes for AUD22,595, which is RM68,180 when converted, and that’s RM25,708 cheaper than what we have to fork out for the same car here (before insurance). For a Focus ST, an Australian buyer pays AUD38,290, or RM116,288 – a Malaysian buyer has to add RM87,070 to get that same car. That’s almost a Fiesta in there.

In any case, conversion is a slippery slope and a poor indicator – the correct approach is to look at it specific to each market. You live in Australia, you earn AUD and pay 1.50 or so for each litre of fuel, and you also get to buy a Focus ST for AUD38,290. You live here, you earn RM and pay 2.10 for regulated, subsidised RON 95, but you have to pay RM203,358 for a Focus ST. Res ipsa loquitor, as that famous maxim goes.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Whoop dee doo big fcking DEAL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 7
    • Vader on May 06, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Again and again, spread this kind of stupid study result to brain wash people that petrol / diesel price is low?
      Can the study let us know what is the car price we have in bolehland compare to the Europe countries?
      Can the study let us know how much Petronas profit gain increase when the petrol price hike?
      Can the study telling us why the petrol supply country will suffer when the petrol price hike?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 302 Thumb down 14
      • alldisc on May 06, 2014 at 3:31 pm

one thing they always skip to mention is that cars are supercheap in other countries.

fuel and tax maybe high in UK. but a clerk earning 1,000 pounds sterling and a ford focus 1.6 manual (example of a standard spec) is about 13,000 pounts sterling (10 times salary)

a clerk here in malaysia earns anything between RM1,000-1,500 but the cheapest car is at 33k which is either a viva 850 MT or saga SV MT (30 times salary, requiring many years of bank loan)

now that is just not making sense.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 313 Thumb down 4
        • Same Loor on May 06, 2014 at 4:04 pm

1. Remove the fuel subsidy. Why we have to subsidy those rich with their 4.0 litre engines?
          2. Remove exercise duty and import tax. Every Malaysian get cheap and reliable car.
          3. Pour all the fuel money into public transport. Enable the poor to travel frequently.

If public transportation good, why we need a car? Without car loan, maintenance, car park fuel, road tax etc, we have more extra money to invest stock, fund, gold, bond, property. Malaysia economy grow even better.

For a few to live rich, every Malaysian has to die poor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 267 Thumb down 2
          • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 06, 2014 at 4:45 pm

That is how it suppose to be but fuel smugglers will always bash this kind of studies like hell. All they want is more subsidy on fuel, for a bigger margin when they sell it to industries or smuggle it to neighboring countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 34
          • And of cause they will dislike your comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • IdiotMalaysianBastard on Dec 03, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Don’t be naive. If they remove excise duty & important tax, where the money come from to fill government income and indirectly fill the wallet of the bastards in the government?

• juz came back from Hong Kong. cleaner salary in HK international airport is HKD12,000 per month !!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 10
          • ah leong on May 06, 2014 at 4:41 pm

so what are you waiting for?
            go HK la, work there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 96
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:12 pm

ah leong, even the massage girls prefer work there…..many of us like to move if not for working visa requirements etc

• penipu on Dec 03, 2014 at 10:22 pm

tipu la, pulis starting pay is hkd10000, since when cleaner make that much.

• kzm (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:24 pm

does 1k pound enough to pay food, house, water, electricity, diesel, internet/phone, 20% income tax (under 34k pound), tv license?in UK? + a car worth 34k pound

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 65
          • kzm (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:41 pm

mistake “+ a car worth 12k pound”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 35
          • normal_user on May 06, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Quite true. Standard of living in UK is so high. If u watch Sherlock tv series at AXN, the detective’s sidekick Dr Wilson (retired army doctor) even have to share apartment with him in London.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • 4G63T DSM on May 06, 2014 at 6:09 pm

1K quid a month is less than minimum wage. And yes, one can survive (barely) if you are prudent with your money.

Even with cars cheap, cars may not be affordable at that level but then you can get yourself an oyster card and bus around.

I doubt you get taxed much at that level (even if you do, you get back rebates/claims).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • truman6 on May 06, 2014 at 7:12 pm

do u know that uk have alot of free stuff? like internet. go & survey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • Vader on May 07, 2014 at 7:14 am

Typical BN supporter..
            Same question, is that RM1500 is enough to pay electricity, water, Internet, car loan, house loan, PTPTN, insurance, astro, toll fee and etc in bolehland?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
        • truman6 on May 06, 2014 at 6:54 pm

not to mention at UK, told by my friends at UK, cars over there, you can drive it for 3 months by just paying deposit before you need to buy it. if its unsatisfactory, you can give them back & not buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • guan eng jr. on May 06, 2014 at 7:23 pm

malaysian clerk salary equal to £181.45 only. Underpaid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
          • ha ha ha. Good one Guan eng. Malaysian government like to convert fuel prices from overseas and scare most Malaysians. But they should convert how much the Mat Salleh make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • James Brown on May 07, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Hey dudes, your RON 95 only £0.33 per liter to the British. Just buy Proton car which is cheap but reliable, comfort and safe and walla…you can save a lot of money. If life so easy back in UK, sure suicides were not an option.

• BN TIPU ORANG KAMPUNG on May 07, 2014 at 8:03 am

What a pack of lies mainly aimed at the kampung people of Malaysia. Petrol prices in Malaysia is sucha conjob.

FIRSTLY, there is nothing to subsidise. What you produce on your own, what is there to subsidise? This is the conjob they have been telling people for years. Only when you buy something from someone, then only you can subsidise. For example, if you grow your own vegetables at your backyard, you cannot go around and tell people that you are eating subsidised vegetables.

The Sultan of Brunei for example, gives his rakyat cheap petrol. Then the balance, he sells it to the world at market price. And mind you, Malaysia’s reserves is 100x more than Brunei’s reserves. Infact, few years ago, Petronas struck the largest oil field in the world, enough reserves for more than 50 years. Petronas confirmed it was the largest oil reserves in the world!. But the next day, the news was covered up. And no news ever since.

So, our oil is far more than what the Brunei Sultan has. But Brunei Sultan cares for his rakyat. Not like our government.

SECONDLY, cannot compare with Western Countries. You must see the GDP Per Capita of the country. For example, Singapore, petrol maybe RM5 per litre, but Singaporeans literally earn 5X more salray than Malsyains and their purchasing power is 5X more than our Ringgit.

I give you an example. Last year, for one year I was working in UK. What I spend a week for my weekly groceries was 40 pounds for the whole family. Now, I have returned to Malaysia, the exact same groceries, I spend RM500 per week at the supermarket. So, you do the maths. If I am earning in Malaysia RM5000, my groceries per month would be RM2000. A big chunk of my salary. But in UK, a person, one a one to one basis, earning 5000 pounds, his monthly grocery bill will be 160 pounds. See the difference?

Another example, my electric bill in Malaysia is RM400 per month. Same size house in the UK, my whole family just consumed about 30 pounds of Electricity per month. Internet at 30Mbps was 10 pounds per month as opposed to my Unifi which is RM200 per month for a mere 10 Mbps.

So, our Government is telling you bullshit. Western countries and developed countries, people earn more. So, fuel for them is not as heavy as what the Malaysian pays.

THIRDLY, another cock up by our failure government is Diesel. In Europe, everybody is encouraged to use Diesel. My company car, Honda Accord Diesel gave me close to 1000KM on a fuel tank. In Malaysia, I use the same Accord, I get 400KM on a fuel tank. Yes, the Malaysian government wants you to use more petrol and suffer more payments. Why? Because you can use more Petrol sold by Petronas. In the UK, I hardly filled up my tank. The diesel lasted forever. In Malaysia, every 3 days I am forking out RM100 to fill my Accord.

So Malaysian government, don’t bullshit lah. You like to say petrol is more expensive in Western Countries and in Singapore but you fail to tell the kampung folk that the residents there earn many times more than the Malasyian and their purchasing power of the SGD, Pound goes a much longer way that our weak Ringgit. Because of corruption, our Ringgit has become nothing globally. In the 80s, it was at par with SGD, now it is 2.7. It has become so small that we Malaysians not only cannot travel overseas for holidays, our purchasing power in Malaysai in so weak. Like I said, what I spend RM500 for groceries in Malaysia is only 40 pounds sterling in the UK. One a one to one basis, it is RM500 vs RM40

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 7
          • Hemi 426 on May 07, 2014 at 10:39 am

Fully agreed with you,you took the words right out of my mouth.I lived overseas for more than 25 years,when i had to come back late last year for family reasons i was totally shocked by the state of affairs in Malaysia currently.

And when i read backwater retarded reports like this it really riles me up.I love my country,i have not given my citizenship(i have diligently flown down every election to vote for the opposition),but the current and only screwed up,corrupted and plain greedy government are taking our rakyat for a ride.

All of the argument points tabled out here are exactly valid,true and factual.They can’t answer us gentlemen,my only point of argument is this-We are an CRUDE OIL PRODUCING NATION,there is NO NEED for any freakin SUBSIDY whatsoever.

Subsidization of your nation’s energy only arises when you depend solely on the importation of ALL of your energy needs.Full stop.

The rest is self explanatory or has been explained in clear,factual information by our intellectual professionals here.

Last but not least,the current government needs to go the next time it’s election time,and this time,i am very sure they will finally go.Our people have had enough with this bullshit.But at what expense to us is the biggest question mark.

As a proud Malaysian living abroad,it saddens me greatly when i see my country going to the dogs by twisted politicians.In this day and age,Malaysians i hope are not easily fooled by these idiots.

We the people have the right to change this rubbish going on currently,so please exercise your rights wisely the next time around.

And to even think these fools had the nerve to publish this report is embarrassing in itself.For now,it is what it is.Utter bullshit.

Cheers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
          • Auslaide on Dec 03, 2014 at 2:06 pm

itu sebab orang kampung terus sokong BN!!!

• Don’t forget also, their government cares for them. My friend just bought nissan Leaf brand new for 14,000 pounds. Government gave 5000 pounds incentive to buy it so that people can use less fuel.

In Malaysia, Nissan Leaf is close to RM200,000. Yes, a government who cares for the rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
          • Oh forgot to tell, my friend fresh graduate. Just come out of uni, can earn 3000 pounds a month. So his nissan Leaf, if he don’t makan and save, can pay fully in 5 months!

Malaysia, 9 years we hutang.

For those who are clever, in overseas, 2nd hand car value is so worth it. 5 year old Mercedes E250 can buy for less than 10,000 pounds.

5 year old BMW 520i F10, can get for about 10,000 pounds also.

So, fresh graduate can buy off these lucury cars in just 3 to 4 months!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • ApplePie on May 06, 2014 at 3:38 pm

“International accountancy network UHY” .. Now you all know who have shares in that company.. “Fuel subsidies in Malaysia are reported to cost the government an estimated RM46 billion per year.” But it didn’t state the amount earned by the cronies and the government when they sell off the high quality fuel produced by Malaysia to other countries and buying cheap, low-graded dirty fuels back to sell to the people here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
      • Acrix on May 06, 2014 at 5:57 pm

They also failed to mention that other countries are already using Euro 4 or even Euro 6 grade fuel which may be more expensive but also highly more efficient and less polluting. Here we are still using very cheap low quality Euro 2 fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
      • Azahari on May 07, 2014 at 11:37 am

Gas price should be revise up in Malaysia if it is too low. We need to catch up.

We always compare car price vs develop country. In develop country income tax is as high as 50%. My point is. You can’t compare gas price vs car price. It is just unfair to the government. RM42b for gas subsidy is something we should feel ashame of. While othe countries moving towards green lifestyle we arrogantly burning our money to pollute the earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • salambangi on May 06, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 238
      • truman6 on May 06, 2014 at 6:56 pm

lu ada faham lu bodo ka? ade buat survey sebelum panggial semua yang tak percaya article nie, RBA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • Hullo! We dont get wages like Developed Countries on May 06, 2014 at 3:14 pm

This is laughable… comparing against developed countries where ppl are earning 2-3 folds more than Malaysians and their cars are 2-3 folds cheaper than ours. Of course they can afford higher fuel price! Brainless. We all know who commissioned the study.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 4
      • My relatives in the UK, only work as clerical, but they live better than me. Eat better food than me, got 70 inch LED in the house and got a BMW and Mercedes outside their porch.

I ask him how much he earns, he said both his wife and him make 3000 pounds per month together.

So even after their so called high taxes, he still can afford BM and Merc! (both of course 2nd hand bought)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • In Brunei

Ron 97 Shell price = RM 1.40/liter….

In UAE

Ron 98 petrol price = RM 1.12/liter

How that?? Since we are petroleum producer and exporter….. We should have cheaper oil. Who made the study?? What motive…. only stupid people will trust the info…..wake up Malaysian. Our oil reserve are belong to the rakyat as Malaysian and we deserve cheap price…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 9
    • _xXx_ on May 06, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Straight to the point plz. Stop telling us all these craps wilya?

• monte cristo on May 06, 2014 at 10:59 pm

how much is the sulfur content in gasoline and engine fuels in Malaysia ?
      GREETINGS FROM BRAZIL

• Nigel Yap on May 07, 2014 at 9:38 am

Here…one shouldn’t just a myopic view when making comparisons without considering other factors such as
      affordability ( which is in turn impacted by interest rates, income, taxes etc…

• ha3…again and again

• protonsucks on May 06, 2014 at 2:03 pm

this is forced advertising by G ? or the studies done by politics ? have they compared with other oil producer country ? on top of that we are only using EURO 2 , other countries are already using EURO 4 and some even starting with EURO 6!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 4
  • cheap fuel is useless if our cars are so overpriced

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 3
  • peroduasucks on May 06, 2014 at 2:07 pm

such dumb studies ,y are they comparing with developed economies, shouldn’t they compare with oil producing economies ? heres an example of this stupid study is ” study says that sugar is sweeter than chilli padi “. if they want to make a study , they should compare sugar and honey. not sugar vs chili!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on May 06, 2014 at 2:38 pm

An indirect announcement/excuse for the price increase of RON 95 coming soon?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • tiadaid (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 2:46 pm

The UK actually produces & exports more barrels of oil than Malaysia actually, according to the CIA World Factbook.

In fact, Russia is the world’s biggest oil producer but their fuel prices per litre is much higher compared to us.

Source for Production: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2241rank.html?countryname=Malaysia&countrycode=my&regionCode=eas&rank=29#my

Source for Export: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2242rank.html?countryname=Malaysia&countrycode=my&regionCode=eas&rank=28#my

Source for Fuel Prices/Litre (2012): http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/EP.PMP.SGAS.CD?order=wbapi_data_value_2012+wbapi_data_value+wbapi_data_value-last&sort=asc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 34
      • protonsucks on May 06, 2014 at 4:30 pm

sir, thats a very good data you have proven with sources & evidence. the data also shows from CIA that Brunei, yemen, oman , bahrain and ecuador is ranking behind Malaysia in production and yet the price is cheaper compared to Malaysia.

Your research did made me think twice bout it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
        • Bro,
          Did you factor in production per capita when you consider the ranking? Obviously Brunei is ahead of us because their population is only 400k compared to ttheir production numbers.

Plus, not depending entirely on fossil fuel makes us a whole lot better than other fuel cheap countries.

• kzm (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:26 pm

the country u said not so many people live there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • truman6 on May 06, 2014 at 7:00 pm

lol! luckily they not compare sweetness of sugar with fuel taste..lol

• Some ppl always get bash for comparing wrong segment of cars (eg. segment B compared with C, etc)

Now, comparing Malaysia with developed countries. Even the comparison target is wrong, what a misleading studies conducted.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • seancorr on May 06, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Reported by Bernama…gov’t news agency propaganda working again. Makes no sense to compare with those countries when our country is progressing backwards. Our salary is on the opposite end of the scale when compared to the Europeans and then only you understand by we have a brain drain problem here in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Ghani on May 06, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 205
    • mango on May 06, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Retard spotted

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 15
    • Low Budget on May 06, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Bukan nak hentam negara kita, tapi hentam kerajaan yang korup.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 13
      • Vader on May 06, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Well say.. i love my country, Malaysia very much.
        But it not meaning that i am loving the corrupted government!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 9
      • ah leong on May 06, 2014 at 4:45 pm

yeah agree, state government are corrupted..look how they handle water resources and internal election. poor leadership..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
    • cybermaster98 on May 06, 2014 at 2:46 pm

You yg tak sedar la bro. Pikir sendiri dulu la sebelum telan je. Semua yg Gov cakap u telan je ke? Takde pikir dulu ka? Kat Jerman harga RON98 Euro 6 E$1.632. Kalu u kerja sana dan bayar harga cam tu kira mahal ke dr Malaysia yg harganya RM2.10. Dengan E$5,000 satu bulan u boleh hidup lagi baik di Jerman banding dgn RM5,000 kat Malaysia. Pikir dulu bro. Jgn gopoh percaya je!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 11
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 06, 2014 at 3:21 pm

That retard could be a crony, just ignore him… Like Sam Loo worrying about his declining sales, this Ghani bastard could just be worried about declining shoddy income…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
    • tikus on May 06, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Bro!! Kerajaan dan negara lain lar…tolong balik sekolah and belajar lagi. Jangan menyalak di sini.

• carnut on May 06, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Our diesel quality also significantly crappier.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 2
  • Who is this UHY? Got nothing to do? Were they born yesterday?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • Robert on May 06, 2014 at 2:19 pm

reduced car price first, then talk about comparing the fuel price with developed nation

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 5
    • senpai on May 06, 2014 at 3:38 pm

today in japan regular petrol is 158 yen per litet which is almost 4 ringgit. although the car price is cheap here but the ownership cost + spare part + service + insurance + shanken are ridiculous! plus, every car purchased here must come with parking. so, beside the car, you must also have parking. and every public parking will be charge. and everting u buy (or service) will be taxed by 8%. who said lower car price will be everything!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
      • seancorr on May 06, 2014 at 5:28 pm

There you go comparing a country whereby space is limited. Try looking at the US where parking is freeeeeeee plus GST is normal for them nations which have high income. We’re nowhere near developed nation status nor our salary is high and there the gov’t starts the whole GST thing saying everyone else is doing it so why not us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • jack0 on May 06, 2014 at 7:18 pm

in japan i’d rather take their super efficient public transport..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Hyundai De.La Junk on May 06, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Malaysia income also significant lower than all developed economies while our car price higher than almost all developed economies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
  • messi on May 06, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Are they comparing to imported country like Singapore/thailand…..etc.

Tell us which exported country sell higher than malaysia and..

Tell us which country need to pay high car tax as compared to Malaysia?(2nd highest in the world)

All malaysian has paid the fuel subsidies in advance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on May 06, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Indon sell slightly higher than Boleh Land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on May 06, 2014 at 2:46 pm

//** All malaysian has paid the fuel subsidies in advance. **//
      Touch and Go top up also pay in advance.
      Phone prepaid also pay in advance.
      The Grand Mother of paying in advance is the Income Tax installment plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
      • Anti CO2 on May 06, 2014 at 6:45 pm

//The Grand Mother of paying in advance is the Income Tax installment plan.// LOL!

• MrNyx on May 06, 2014 at 2:23 pm

They also forgot to mention about our emission standard, also lower than many other countries!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • tikus on May 06, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Come on lar….Malaysia is a fuel export country n european is fuel import country. Malaysia Govt tax for car how much and european car tax how much. And we are using Euro 2 lar…wondering is monkey working in UHY international Accountancy Network?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • Pat San on May 06, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Firstly we are an oil producing country, so please do a study on all oil producing countries fuel pump prices. Second, we are no where near these developed countries status, so why are we comparing with them? I think the company or authorities of the day should not gauge us “The Rakyat” by their standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • cybermaster98 on May 06, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Why do people still keep making currency conversions when comparing prices with Europe? Are you earning in RM in Europe and paying in Euros? Are we importing fuel from European pumps? Then why the hell are we still getting these rubbish comparisons? Current fuel prices in Germany for RON98 Euro 6 is E$1.632. If ure earning E$5,000 a month, it would only cost you about E$90 to fill a full tank of fuel for a C segment car. Malaysians earning RM5,000 a month would need to pay RM 115 for the same full tank of fuel. And that for crap RON 95 Euro 2 fuel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
  • Fked d!! on May 06, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Yes Malaysia fuel is the cheapest!!! So does our salary among developed countries!!! All this thanks to who? Don’t come fking tell us your subsidies bursting why not tell us how much funds you have pocketed from all the mega projects and transferred overseas! Don’t come talk cock and who came out with this stupid statistic might need to consider go and redo kindergarten! We are already fking burden by your lucrative tax that not favor to us but to your own pond of jokers! Taking our money to cover your expenses instead of re-engineer the country! You fking cut subsidies and saved billions but still empty shell!! What fking cock are you talking here, giving us a hint you fkers wants to increase the fuel price?? The price of our gas has never been down even when Global hits low, our price will only goes up and maybe sometime down by 5 sen but up 25 sen!!! Brunei 14 years ago was selling 50sen/l and now still same! my time 14 years ago our price around RM1.10 now 2.10 still RUGI!!! sure la rugi you own fkers everyone wants to fill own pockets with our money!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 5:36 pm

my day job i get no raise second year in row..thank to X company..i do not need to say who is the X owner..u guess..that y i start my own biz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Time and again spreading this stupid study without considering other factors. For example, unleaded petrol in Aus is around Aud$1.60 per liter which is around Myr$4.60 per liter. But consider if working in Aus earning Aus dollar spending in Aus then the price of petrol is definitely more affordable than earning ringgit and spending ringgit in Malaysia. Please compare apple with apple, not apple with rambutan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • disease on May 06, 2014 at 3:37 pm

The blurdy moral of the story is brace yourself for the forthcoming, next episode would be how to save on fuel.

• Jobless 50something on May 06, 2014 at 2:37 pm

The international consultant surveys are just rubbish. The economies and purchasing power are so different elsewhere. Not forgetting salaries here are 1/5 comparing with developed countries i.e UK, Germany. Lastly, these reports are only published by government owned news feed as potilical propoganda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • totti on May 06, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Developed country selling Honda civic for USD 16K and Malaysia selling (RM 112K)= USD 34K.

Where is the USD 18K = RM 60K tax going? for cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • ah leong on May 06, 2014 at 4:51 pm

otak sempit.
      how about education, hospital, toll etc.
      see the forest for the trees

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • BArang Naik on May 06, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Agree, others countries avg income is 3-6 times higher than malaysian. Car is cheaper, fuel higher due to import. their tax is transparent.

Compare to boleh land.
      Salary low, income tax high, import tax high,
      excise duty high, national tax high, fuel price high (Compare to under developed oil exporter). AP price high (What AP for?). So many tax paid to gov, what citizen gets? you get better security? better hygien>?
      better education systems? better national security?

Well, u get more tax, GST, more ridiculous incidents…. everything could happen, everything could missing, even everything could blast off..

Everything is out of healthy ratio towards critical, crony tax systems, “own pocket policy”
      Change, we must change it!

Citizen of boleh land. how “boleh” we can survive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • amfin on May 06, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Bernama kindly do compare also the prices of fuels among oil producing country, just do not pull the wool over Malaysian eyes by SELECTIVE COMPARING to developed nations only. While its true that their fuel prices is high ,have Bernama compared their salaries and per capita income? BTW have Bernama really do studies about how much diesel used by vehicles as compared to those used by IPP (Independant Power Producer) to power their diesel powered station when later they charge the Rakyat full price for electricity used. Until Bernama really transparent with their so called studies, dear Paultan readers kindly read this article with care. This might just be a step towards GST-ying fuels in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Don’t talk rubbish! Y don’t tell us others country car price cheaper then us a lot lot !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Stupid study but regardless trying to secure some government long term auditing contracts. As long as you can sign off 1MDB accounts without questions, sure can get project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Is UK, France & Germany oil producer country?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Yes.. & our cars are most expensive in the world.. thanks to NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • xiper (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 3:06 pm

nope our neighbour country is the most expensive car in the world.

we should not compare directly to EU or US, but we should compare to fuel export countries. This study is not a fair case.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Before u open your mouth & lalat can go in your stinking mouth please don’t be an idiot & aware how small Singapore is. Take a few hours drive you ll finish travel the whole country. Any healthy mental people would understand why in the hell you do not need so many cars in Singapore. They don’t even have enough land to build houses.. parking? So expensive dy. Please give better example.

• zeek (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 3:10 pm

car price maybe but not car ownership cost in Malaysia. Have you even seen the cost of car ownership in other countries? Gas guzzler tax in the USA, congestion & emission tax in UK etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Facebook on May 06, 2014 at 3:02 pm

The problem is Malaysia is not a developed country dumbass…
    Since when Malaysia’s GDP is the same as developed country???
    Malaysia is a crude oil producing country, not an importing country… this study is full of rubbish…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • But cars are expensive and wages are low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • macromedia on May 06, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I see another increase soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • kangkong on May 06, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Fine, then increase the fuel price to same level and reduce the car price to same level as well.

You better go and teach my son for ABC then doing study on fuel price comparison!

• reader on May 06, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Okay fine.

Remove all subsidy on all fuel then. I’ll gladly pay full price for petrol on the condition: remove all tax and AP prices etc from imported cars.

Will you do that?

I guessed as much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on May 06, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Remove all fuel subsidies and all Hell will Break Loose all over Boleh Land, I am afraid there are not enough riot police to deal with the situation.

• No name on May 06, 2014 at 3:12 pm

in other countries there isn’t any toll system, and their cars are way cheaper than Malaysia! factor that in…I rather pay high price for high quality fuel

• Interesting. If fuel subsidies are RM46b then the below article shows something is wrong.
    http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Business-News/2013/03/04/Malaysias-import-duty-removal-plan-to-attract-new-original-equipment-manufacturers/

It says car taxes generate Rm7b in revenue. Assuming thats only for passenger vehicles and assuming commercial vehicle tax is another Rm3b, thats RM10b in total in all the various vehichle tax/duties/etc colected.

You dont even have to be half decent smart to realize by freeing the automotive market (no import duties/tax) and by stopping fuel subsidies you lose Rm7b but you gain Rm46b.

Some savings from the fuel subsidies can be used to generate a process to help the poor and those who really deserve it.

May be its too difficult for the G man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • kemosabe on May 06, 2014 at 3:55 pm

RM7b is profit to some, RM46b lost is paid by the people. In total the people lost RM53b.

• Facebook on May 06, 2014 at 4:05 pm

G will tell you, I don’t need to report out what are the hidden cost (masuk poket).

• Kangkong on May 06, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Seem like this is the first hence for fuel price increase again??

• skatax on May 06, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Sorry paultan.org, but this study is baseless. I do understand the real point of this report but the research comparison fails to highlight quality of fuel being used like most of us agrees. But yes – the fact that Malaysian automotive price is high is another story.

In future, I believe readers would appreciate if the editor can include his viewpoint on top of the local news reporting. Don’t be afraid if it turned out to be biased, after all it is just an opinion.

• holofanboi on May 06, 2014 at 4:04 pm

You’re going to be hardpressed to find the editors listening to any sort of sound suggestion from its readers though…

I once recommended them to lick an apple then chomp it with a satisfying crunch towards the camera in order to promote the Preve/Suprima, but it was shot down/ignored… ;_;

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 3:40 pm

skatax, I added a footnote into the story yesterday evening. Not everything needs to be an opinion, I would still venture, but the addendum is what I thought when writing the initial news report.

• Can the study tell us why Government choose to subsidies a lower grade Ron 95 instead of subsidies to Ron 97 (since it is almost the same price without subsidies) and let all the people use the lower grade petrol??

• lalengko on May 06, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Oh hey while we’re at it, why don’t we study why the excise tax for cars are soo freaking high when compared to other countries??

• W204 C63 AMG on May 06, 2014 at 3:32 pm

When it comes to fuel prices, they always tell half the story. They only tell you the story about how cheap our fuel is compared to other countries, but they conveniently leave out the part where they have collected years of import and excise duties and taxes imposed on new cars. So no, you did not subsidize fuel prices for free, car buyers actually paid for fuel subsidy, and some poor folks actually took 9-year loans to pay for your so called “free” fuel subsidy.

• NoName on May 07, 2014 at 11:02 am

THIS!

We subsidized our own fuel with our hard earned after TAX monies! Not to forget, we have to pay interest to finance our own subsidies too!

Absolutely rubbish study.

• Unker Lai on May 06, 2014 at 3:44 pm

What a simplistic and misleading article, designed to prep the populace for a rise in petrol prices.
    There are so many other factors that are involved and a simple comparison of pump prices is grossly inaccurate.
    Below is but one measure amongst many .
    Make your own conclusion.

Extracted from https://my.news.yahoo.com/petroleum-prices-oil-producing-countries-065854097.html

Malaysia
    Amount Produced: 630,500
    Price of Petrol: $0.61 / RM1.98
    Percentage of Income Spent: 2.37%

Germany
    Amount Produced: 144,800
    Price of Petrol: $2.12 / RM6.90
    Percentage of Income Spent: 1.57%

United Kingdom (Offshore)
    Amount Produced: 836,300
    Price of Petrol: $2.05 / RM6.67
    Percentage of Income Spent: 1.77%

Singapore
    Amount Produced: 20,200
    Price of Petrol: $1.67 / RM5.43
    Percentage of Income Spent: 0.76%

• Thomas Heng on May 06, 2014 at 5:19 pm

totally agree!!You point out the key point

• Enthu on May 07, 2014 at 10:04 am

Good facts Unker Lai.

They can twist all they want, at the end of the day we know who the bastards are.

• Wat the fishhhhhh… malaysia petrol price SHOULD compare with other oil supply countries NOT with many major world economies countries.

• PeteMobile on May 06, 2014 at 3:54 pm

G does not subsidies our petrol instead it is the car buyers who are subsidizing their own petrol by paying the high car tax. If you take these so-called “subsidies” amount and add it in to the petrol price, we have higher petrol price as compare with developed nation.

• Developed and Developing country shouldn’t categorize in the same category. It doesn’t mean they produce more they will have lower price. We do not even have a comprehensive public transportation (especially in Sabah and Sarawak). Not to mention the population & demand of these countries for exp their population itself: UK-63,896,071 (2012); France-63,660,000 (2013); Germany-82,020,578 (2012) and Malaysia-29,620,000 (2013). The Rakyat will stop complaining if u give them comprehensive public transportation which the developed country have right now.

• our income and currency are comparable with UK or Euro or ? …

our fuel quality is same with them? …

Such comparison is no different as you compare an orange with an apple.

if you comparing our case to saudi, they income is higher and fuel is lower than us.

• it just about Malaysian Ringgit tooo damn weak..because our leader like to borrow & spend too damn much..like it raining from the sky..

• Trinity on May 06, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Brace yourself. This is an indication that the fuel price will increase very soon!

• Joker on May 06, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Plz if u wanna compare fuel price with other countries at least be fair…
    Compare Euro 6 with Euro 6 not with Euro 2…
    These Euro 2 fuel is killing our beloved car engines hence the frequency of car breakdown..

• darren on May 06, 2014 at 4:53 pm

compare the quality of fuel while caompare the price with other country

• All embassy can buy car which is tax free and foreigner 2nd home in Malaysia also free car tax and we poor Malaysian pay 120 % tax for cars and we should thanks our gorverment. And they enjoy our cheap oil too becUse
    And we pay lots of tax and later GST

• raja lawak on May 06, 2014 at 4:56 pm

UHY – Useless Headless Yes-Man!

UK, France and Germany mostly using progressive efficiency / CO2 based car tax to justify car prices fairly with open market fuel price.

Do we have it here? Our car tax reflect fair system or not? Why not compare it too?

That’s why UHY study is BULLSHIT, BLIND, and HYPOCRITE. UHY only serves BN agenda, not rakyat agenda! A yes-man zombie to BN only!

UHY – Useless Headless Yes-Man!

• Thomas Heng on May 06, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Are we developed country? What is Malaysian average income? is it government should increase efficiency and decrease corruption, not decrease subsidies??

• SingSong on May 06, 2014 at 5:07 pm

I prefer market price for fuel and no excise duty for cars….it’s a win win situation. No one will smuggle diesel then. Less leakage.

• FindingNemo on May 06, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Please compare an apple to an apple.
    1) Compare pricing of the petrol between petrol producing nations, not just developed countries.

2) Compare the ratio of the petrol price to the average income of a person

Those figures in the above statements might be more convincing to us.

• mmaker on May 06, 2014 at 5:20 pm

G will definitely decrease subsidies to oil or sugar or anything this year. If not the gst effect will be worsen

• Fuel Price Debate on May 06, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Anwaar smoked Shabery Cheek in 2008 over fuel price debate about our rising cost of fuel in Malaysia and now in 2014 Gomen still trying to bluff the Rakyat with this stupid study !!!

Those who have not watch, please view them below, Anwaar explains it impeccably and how it should have been done if only our election results were different (Officially Won but in BolehLand) Gomen still rules !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eUEnTnN2jro
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pweEnD_ejr4
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8_pZlzQzsU
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ITEpy-KNx1s
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMz8vOcdOPM
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mq_VT0WNGnU

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • victor tan on May 06, 2014 at 5:38 pm

What a BS.

• normal_user on May 06, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Rakyat won’t mind to pay extra for petrol and perhaps tax subject to:
    1. Abolish absurd imported car tax/duties.
    2. Proper urban planning with safe pedestrian mobility & efficient transit lines (bus, rail, taxis).
    3. Government transparency on oil tax revenues. And clean from all types corruption and cronyism.
    4. Free quality education and healthcare, just like in Canada. (subject to point #3)

Corporations and Petronas combined make billions of tax contribution to government coffers. Too bad much of it has been siphoned by politicians through govt contracts and procurement. On the other hand, corporations bribed to much, or the directors are profiting themselves arbitrarily, that they have to pay employees less. If they can manage it with sincerity, ethics and responsibility from the start, our country’s GDP could be at the same level with Singapore and Korea by now, if not ahead. Seriously.

• iskhalifah on May 06, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Running a car aint cheap. A vehicle running costs are important as they involve petrol expenses, insurance, road tax, maintenance etc. Yes, other modern & developed countries pay a lot, but they earn a lot too. Our imported cars are one of the most insanely priced in the world. Assuming that affordability to buy cars depend on ability to service a ‘global standard’ 5 years loan, a comparison may look like this:

Lower-Middle income wager.
    US: drives Corolla or Civic, or take subway.
    UK: drives Golf or Focus, or take bus/train.
    Singapore: drives Korean entry level model. Affordable transit is nearly everywhere & effortless.
    Malaysia: Viva/Myvi/Saga/Persona. Public transit is too far and no feeder bus available.

Middle-middle income wager.
    US: drives Accord/Malibu
    UK: drives Mondeo/Passat/BMW 3-series
    Singapore: drives Altis/Civic
    Malaysia: Vios/City/Almera (rasa macam premium lah)

Higher-middle income wager
    US: drives Ford Taurus/F50/Mustang
    UK: drives Merc E-class/Jag
    Singapore: drives Camry/Teana
    Malaysia: Altis/Civic/Sylphy (wow sungguh mewahnye)

• MintBerryCrunch on May 07, 2014 at 5:51 am

Are you stupid? A low income earner in SG does *not* own a car. An COE costs around $90000 SGD. Yup. The right to own a car, not including the car price / insurance / registration etc, for ten years is that much….after which you’ll have to bid for it again.

I have many singaporean friends in Oz. None who returned to work in Sg own cars… and they are all white collar mid income grads.

You can talk about how damn good the public transport system is… bottom line it still takes over 40 mins for most of em to get to work. And pub transport will never be as comfortable as their own vehicle.

• AVH (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Its either stop subsidisng prices of fuel and lowering car price or Vice Versa like what we have now. I do not know how much influence Dr M has in the Malaysian car industry and MITI, but he already said that Proton still needs protection so car price won’t go down anytime soon(and yes they did promise that 20% cheaper cars, while you have the Polo 1.6, 20% cheaper, 20% less car, JANJI DITEPATI!).

Car ownership in world is usually not what it seem. Japan for example, unless you leave the locally dominated Kei-car market, you get taxed rather severely. Before you buy a non-Kei-car, you need to show proof you actually owned a place to park the damn thing and property cost in Japan are among the highest in the world.

Take a comparison between the most comparable car of japan and Malaysia, the Myvi and the Passo. The Passo cost ¥1,5mil (RM48k)for the 1.3l 2WD, leaving aside the mendatory proof of real estate (rental is anywhere up from ¥100k(RM3.2)/month depending on where you live), there is the aquisition tax and weight tax that must be paid when you purchase the car(since is no Kei-car), Aquisition tax is 5% of the car ¥75k and weight tax is ¥56k for cars below 2000cc, total ¥131k. So to get the car off the showroom, thats ¥1.631mil and thats before insurence which there are two, one of which is optional(which I have no idea how high is the optional). Yearly tax includes includes the May-tax, which is ¥5k(RM160)…..if its a Kei car. Cars like the Passo can cost about ¥30k(RM950) A year and thats before that ccompulsary insurence is included which is ¥30k per person . In a 3 year ownership thats ¥120k(nearly RM4k) or more.

Back to Malaysia, a Myvi of comparable spec cost RM48,400 and a 3 years ownership are road tax: RM210(RM70x3), yearly insurence differs on the individual sum inssured so it will not be counted. So Thats a ¥1.751mil(RM55,916) vs RM48,610…..and now on to running fee. Public transport in Japan is good enough so we move on to average distance just for the sake of it….I manage to clocked a rough estimate of 50k KM last year so we use that(no sane Japanese will drive their car that much yearly). A Myvi net 8.8l/100km average on Fuelly, I’am going to just assume the Passo is the same, so thats RM18/100km and RM19k a year for my kind of driving…..thats an expenditure of RM57k a YEAR!. Back to Japan and my counterpart in the Passo, ¥ 152.47/l is the current price and the Passo would have done with ¥670k(RM21k) in a year and ¥2.01mil(RM63k) in 3 years.

Overall thats a nice RM105,610 for the Myvi owner and ¥3.761mil(RM120k) for the Passo counterpart. Than we come to driving it, A simple 550km drive from tokyo to Osaka cost 12k yen….thats(wait for it)RM383. In comparison We pay RM71 for the 540km drive from Ipoh to Johor Bahru. Now we come to the deciding factor, the average selary. In 2012, Malaysia gets a rough average of RM5k/month(RM8k if you are in the KL), while Japan it is ¥317k/month(RN10k)average from 1970-2010. So how does this factor down? Well, in the 3 years of an average working Malaysian and Japanese, the Japanese would have to contribute 33.3% of his expenses to his car….the Malaysian? 59%(37% for an average KLites).

• AVH (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 6:45 pm

TL:DR: So in a 3 years of working owning what is essentially the same car, a Japanese have to spent 33.3% of his 3 years seleries on his automobile while his Malaysian counterpart? WTF 59%. And this is before we add in insurensce and tolls. Presumably the Japanese would’t pay that much as the public transport there is so bloody good, travel by car is not a necessity unlike here. It can be argued that Japanese tolls are amongst the most expensive, a Tokyo to Osaka(550km) toll fare
      will cost them ¥12k(RM383) while for the same distance(Johor Baharu to Ipoh, 540km) is about RM71.A furthur argument is that after 3 years you need to pay the car inspection(every two years) that starts at 120k yen(RM3k) and also the road tax for a white-plate(non Kei-car) is about 70k yen all together(RM2k)…..and thats for something like a Passo(Myvi in malaysia). Which is why you see recon 3-yr old Alphards coming here so often.

• Diss-illusions on May 07, 2014 at 12:14 am

Thanks for sharing the thorough analysis. While I do agree with the common observation of the govt being lackadaisical in alleviating the hardships of average Malaysians, I also think that the common analysis of this article is, to some extent, also erroneous.

In UK, for example, the poor gets hard pressed in car ownership. The insurance premium takes into account the location, age and sex of the driver. As such, the poorer you are, the higher the premium. While UK has a good public transport system, not all towns are as well networked as London nor are they as safe.

Situation in Malaysia is not ideal and things can definitely get better. Keep up the pressure and we are already starting to see some improvements if not much.

• AVH (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 1:01 am

Based on my frieds understanding ,who have lots of contacts in Japan. By the time you factor in house price, government taxes and so on, you are actually better of living in Kuala Lumpur with an above RM8k pay.

Agreed I took into account that the Japanese counterpart in the Passo is averaging out 50k KM yearly, something which rarely happens in country with good public transport infastructure, not to say to a selaryman that earns around RM10k/month. I also fail to factor in that in japan, there are still taxes in fuel station, and parking spots and so-on and so-on, and the most important one, the insurence. But counting out all this and given that the insurence varies from one individual to the next, I still think that just for car ownership, the amount that a Japanese is paying for their car in relation to their salary is still lower than Malaysia, supporting all the argument over here. And furthur more this is a Passo, if you are a salaryman, earning the usual average salary, you should be buying a Kei car which taxes is significantly cheaper.

Of course, neigh-sayer will argue after you factor cost of living, food , houses and taxes, Japan living cost is higher than Malaysia even with relation to our average income which may be true. But as far as this article is concearn comparing Malaysian cost of automobile running fee to the world, unfortunately we are the 2nd highest, after our sothern neighbour. I was about to do my research of car ownership with Germany, UK and the US but my medication kicked in before hand, and the Japanese comparison is rather long.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 12:28 am

The longest tldr I’ve ever seen. Possibly the only tldr that needs a tldr. Tldrception.

• AVH (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 12:45 am

TL:DR of the TL:DR = An average Malaysian spents more on a car than an average Japanese.

Yo dawg I heard you like TL:DRs

• Kawan,i am now laugh out loud and wonder who is that idiot post this?malaysia cashier salary rm1000 salary.petrol rm2.10. Brunei,not a develop country.salary brunei dolar let say cashier stil same 500 dolar but you know their petrol oni 40sen per liter!use your brain and the right calculator.you compare develop country,yes petrol price is higher but you know their salary also very very high?stop treat us as budak.can not convince then cheat us.we are now very smart ok.

• Gave arm, now take leg on May 06, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Pls do a proper study which compares prices, salaries and relative purchasing power between us n other countries otherwise don’t jump to conclusions. It makes us look like we don’t know how to do research. No wonder no one trusts “anal” lysts n their research. Hahaha.

• howdy on May 06, 2014 at 7:31 pm

If RON95 unsubsidised cost Rm2.81/L, and gov sub Rm0.71/L, then why not use the sub Rm0.71/l to subsidised on RON97 which only cost RM2.90 float with market rate without subsidised, i think most people doesn’t mind to pay 10sen more, to pump RON97……

• Bro that Rm0.71l consists of price subsidy + tax.. RON 97 Rm2.90 without tax.. If I not mistaken our RON95 subsidy around Rm0.30l only & Rm0.41l is a Tax.. Last time they shown in detail, current one like picture above.

• Samad Jain on May 06, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Is that news should make me feel any better???!!!

Knowing that the Malaysia GOVT is most of the time half-past-six, coo-coo, lala, highly questionable, etc, I dont even believe abit of the study nor the result.

Please, the rakyat isn’t 3 year old kid, OK? Please dont insult the rakyat’s intelligence.

• old dog on May 06, 2014 at 11:30 pm

The Fking car price is 300% higher than other developed country and contribute to significant house hold debt, and enough to pump 10 years petrol in advance!!!

• old dog on May 06, 2014 at 11:32 pm

those who put up this report has no sense of economy, and when they factor in the PPP (purchase power parity), and you will realized how pity we are with high price locally in Rice, Car,…

• and now u know why govn dont want cheap and high speed internet in bolehland… to make sure as many as possible rakyat will continue read the newspaper controlled by govn

• Another syiouk sendiri study that to protect and justify the corrupted system. Doesn’t help anything. We are far from developed countries standard of living and good governance practices.

• MintBerryCrunch on May 07, 2014 at 5:46 am

Im paying RM4.50/L for RON91 petrol.
    And 35% income tax.
    And RM2100 for annual registration of a 2L car.
    – Australia.

As someone mentioned earlier, Malaysian petrol is indeed cheap given the production per capita statistics. Malaysia doesnt really make much petrol given the number of citizens.

Making prices artificially low does hurt the economy from fuel being smuggled out of the country… which has been going on for ages!

• cybermaster98 on May 07, 2014 at 8:38 am

MintBerryCrunch, why do you make currency conversions? Are you earning RM in Australia? Are you importing cars and fuel from Australian fuel pumps to make a conversion? Common man! Think before you comment! Ure living in Aus, earning in AUD and spending in AUD. Why do a currency conversion? If ure earning AUD5K per month, can you enjoy the same life that Australia affords you with a RM5,000 salary here in KL? Why do people still keep making currency conversions when comparing prices with other countries? Current fuel prices in Germany for RON98 Euro 6 is E$1.632. If ure earning E$5,000 a month, it would only cost you about E$90 to fill a full tank of fuel for a C segment car. Malaysians earning RM5,000 a month would need to pay RM 115 for the same full tank of fuel. And that for crap RON 95 Euro 2 fuel. The Malaysian Gov likes to claim that taxes are super high in Europe but very low in Malaysia. Use one of those tax calculators online and do the math. If ure earning E$5K in Germany for instance, your take home salary after all deductions and taxes is E$3,700. This deduction also includes health insurance at which half is borne by your employer. Whats your take home salary if ure earning RM5K a month here in Malaysia? Isnt it about the same? Yes Germany may have other taxes but they also provide much more for their citizens. How much are cars in Germany as compared to Malaysia? You can buy a brand new BMW 3 Series in Germany for E$38K. What can you buy for RM38K here in Malaysia? Even a Myvi 1.3GX1 is RM42K. So stop making currency conversions like ure some tourist and make dollar to dollar comparisons like you should!

• Yes, the study is right. The price is lower than majority of developed countries. Before compare to car price. Malaysia is only a developing country, not developed country (may be will become 3rd country one day). PLEASE compare to the same class!

• Concerned citizen on May 07, 2014 at 8:53 am

Fuel subsidies are bad for the 1) poor, 2) the people, 3) the country and 4) the environment.
    1) It helps the poor far less than it helps the rich – what cars do the rich drive and what cars do the poor drive or do they even own cars? How about stopping fuel subsidies and give more subsidies/ incentives; or improve public transport instead?
    2) It encourages vehicle ownership which leads to congestion. What if the subsidies were used instead to improve public transportation?
    Fuel subsidies also spoil the rakyat and make them dependent and expectant of continued fuel subsidies; and gives them a false sense of entitlement to them. Maybe this is just the crutch needing mentality fostered by the government that ails the people and country.
    3) Fuel subsidies have contributed to the governments budgetary woes. It is also often smuggled out of the country. The main beneficiaries of this subsidy are the neighbouring countries where fuel is more expensive.
    The subsidies take up valuable resources that can otherwise be used for other purposes.
    4) The cheap fuel encourages waste. They do not encourage efficiency. A pollution tax should be imposed on fuel. This would serve as an impetus to improve fuel efficiency and reduce waste.

• Concerned citizen on May 07, 2014 at 9:01 am

The argument that costs need to be kept low to help businesses is rubbish. Many businesses are not entitled to subsidised fuel. If businesses are so uncompetitive that they acnnot thrive without subsidies, maybe the shouldn’t even be in business in the first place. I truly believe that the people and country would be better served by efficient businesses rather than crutch dependent mediocrity.
    More expensive fuel may also help control human population of which increase has been the cause of many of our environmental problems.

• FarizY (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

Why don’t we look from the PURCHASING POWER perspective, shall we?
    And what’s the percapita income of our nation compared to these developed nations? I thought so.

• complaint complaint complaint…… that`s the only thing U know… condemn your own country.. you tell me where you can get a lower fuel price???? USA? UK? Italy? Singapore??? Thailand? China?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • STEVE on May 08, 2014 at 10:17 am

COUNTRY NOT EQUAL GOVERNMENT. YOU ONLY KNOW BERSYUKUR WHEN OTHERS TAKE AWAY YOUR BELONGINGS?

• bongeks on May 12, 2014 at 8:14 am

Jo, ko ni bodoh ke apa? Baca la komen2 dari mula sampai last. It is not about your cheap2 fuel only, more on our life in bolehland. Jgn nak syukur2 bodo aje. Fikir la dan bercampur la dgn byk jenis org.

• cybermaster98 on May 12, 2014 at 10:03 am

Jo, are you stupid or what? Are you that naive that you blindly believe every damn shit the Gov feeds you with?

Today’s fuel price in Germany is E$1.645 per litre. So if ure earning E$5,000 a month, you will pay E$82.25 to fill up a standard full tank for a C segment car. If ure in Malaysia and earning RM5,000 a month, you would need to pay RM105 to fill that same full tank for the same car. See the difference? Plus another hidden difference is that the fuel price quoted for Germany above is for the world’s highest grade of fuel: RON98 Euro 6 while Malaysian prices of RM 2.10/L is for rubbish RON95 Euro 2 fuel. So we Malaysians are actually paying more for our inferior quality fuel. Did the Gov reveal this to us?

The Government has conveniently hidden the fact that when comparing cost of living, you should NEVER make a currency conversion. You live in a foreign country, earn in a foreign currency and pay in a foreign currency so what the heck would you need to do a currency conversion?

Please think before you blindly believe EVERYTHING the Gov tells you. You have a God given brain. USE IT!

• isuzuki on May 07, 2014 at 12:15 pm

I guess middle east, south america are 3rd world countries; and we are developed country..

• I wont mindpaying EU fuel prices if u sell me a rm100k civic type R

• cybermaster98 on May 12, 2014 at 10:06 am

What really irks me is the continuous comparison the Government makes about our fuel prices and cost of living expenses with Western countries . It’s this continuous brain washing which has taken place for decades which has resulted in many Malaysians (me included prevously) to believe that Malaysia is a much cheaper place to live and we should all be grateful for everything the Gov has provided for us. But sadly the reality leaves much to be desired.

The Government has conveniently hidden the fact that when comparing cost of living, you should NEVER make a currency conversion. You live in a foreign country, earn in a foreign currency and pay in a foreign currency so what the heck would you need to do a currency conversion?

FUEL PRICES

Today’s fuel price in Germany is E$1.645 per litre. So if ure earning E$5,000 a month, you will pay E$82.25 to fill up a standard full tank for a C segment car. If ure in Malaysia and earning RM5,000 a month, you would need to pay RM105 to fill that same full tank for the same car. See the difference? Plus another hidden difference is that the fuel price quoted for Germany above is for the world’s highest grade of fuel: RON98 Euro 6 while Malaysian prices of RM 2.10/L is for rubbish RON95 Euro 2 fuel. So we Malaysians are actually paying more for our inferior quality fuel. Did the Gov reveal this to us?

CAR PRICES

Goes without saying that car prices are much cheaper overseas. You can buy a 2014 BMW 3 Series for E$37,000 (including registrations). In Malaysia you would need to pay RM42,000 for a Myvi 1.3L. So if ure earning 5K in their respective currencies, which would be more affordable?

PRICES OF DAILY ESSENTIALS

These latest prices are taken for Frankfurt (which is the most expensive German city):

Daily meal in the business district – €11
    Combo meal in fast food restaurant (Big Mac Meal or similar) – €7
    1/2 Kg boneless chicken breast – €3.90
    1 liter of whole fat milk – €0.78
    12 eggs, large – €2.11
    1 kg of tomatoes – €2.48
    500 gr German cheese – €3.34
    1 kg of apples – €2.47
    2 kg of potatoes – €2.06
    0.5 l German beer in the supermarket – €0.75
    1 bottle of red table wine, good quality – €5.41

Monthly rent for 85 m2 (900 Sqft) furnished accommodation in EXPENSIVE area – €1,438
    Utilities 1 month (heating, electricity, gas) for 2 people in 900sqft flat – €230

Tube of toothpaste – €1.45
    Standard men’s haircut in expat area of the city – €18

Basic dinner out for two in neighborhood pub – €38
    2 tickets to the movies – €20
    Dinner out for two in Italian restaurant with wine and dessert – €57

TAXES

This is the common excuse used by our Gov to discourage comparisons with Western countries. But whats the reality? Europe doesn’t practice taxation based on graduated rates like Malaysia which results in higher taxes.

If ure earning Euro$7K per month in Germany, your annual taxable income is Euro$ 76,000 which would attract an tax of 31.76% or Euro$ 24,138 (before other deductions during filing). Compared to Malaysia, if ure earning RM7K per month, your annual taxable income is RM 79,000 which would attract an annual tax of RM 8,810 or 11.1% only.

So yes taxes are higher in Western countries but although you pay about 2.7X more taxes in Germany, you get the following advantages as part of your taxation:

1) German tax includes deductions for health insurance payments while in Malaysia you make separate payments for private medical insurance which you take on your own
    2) German employers bear 50% of your public / private health insurance premium. In Malaysia you bear the full amount
    3) German tax includes deductions for long term nursing care insurance payments (due to disability / illness) in which employers bear 50%. Malaysia has no such scheme.
    4) All employees (Gov and private sector) earning <E$4,350 per month, go under Public Healthcare not private. Under Public Healthcare, even existing illnesses are treated and all your dependants (wife & kids) are covered equally including basic dental and vision.
    5) Tax deductions include unemployment insurance which means that you get very good insurance payouts if you lose your job. And pension insurance is also borne 50% by your employer.

If your monthly salary is E$7,000, your take home salary after deductions for solidarity surcharge, church tax, salary tax, pension insurance, unemployment insurance, health insurance & long term nursing care insurance is E$4,963 which is actually quite good considering the benefits you get.

OTHER BENEFITS IN GENERAL

1) Toll free highways
    2) No road tax
    3) World class education system
    4) Very low crime & higher levels of personal safety
    5) Efficient government machinery
    6) Better quality of life in general
    7) Higher purchasing power due to stronger currency
    8) Cheaper flights back to Malaysia. Return ticket on Etihad to KL is about E$750 (all inclusive)

So in short, yes you pay more taxes in Europe, but what you get back in return (monetary, benefits, quality of life) is worth much much more. And you can be sure the Malaysian government would never tell you this.

• Thunder Cat on Dec 03, 2014 at 4:05 pm

April price for Ron95 is RM2.81(refer to picture in article above) with USD104.27 per barrel(refer to http://www.opec.org/opec_web/en/data_graphs/40.htm and click monthly) but now is USD66.44, the calculation should 66.44/104.27 * 2.81 = RM1.79, why now is RM2.26?

• 咔咔 on Dec 03, 2014 at 6:56 pm

they tough Malaysian are brainless and uneducated…so what to do