Mazda Malaysia production capacity doubles – report

2013_Mazda_CX-5_ 002

An AmResearch report, referring to an interview The Edge Malaysia had with Berjaya Auto CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, states that Mazda Malaysia‘s production capacity has been doubled from 10,000 to 20,000 per annum.

The report ties it in with management’s earlier guidance that the commencement of a Mazda-dedicated trim and final shop by end-April would enhance the group’s capacity.

If this new shop has indeed been acquired, paint would be the only process remaining that Mazda outsources to Inokom, as it already owns its own body shop. Because of the outsourcing of processes to Inokom, capacity has to be shared with other makes that Inokom contract-assembles.

AmResearch expects a reduction in overall contract assembly fees paid to Inokom from the new plant (estimated at US$1,500-2,000 per car) as more processes are now undertaken by Mazda Malaysia’s own plants.

Of this 20,000 per annum, the group is looking to allocate 15,000 for the local market, which will help the long waiting list for the CX-5 (pictured), AmResearch quotes the report by The Edge. It adds that Berjaya Auto benefits more from domestic sales (which is captured under a wholly-owned subsidiary) than export sales, which is captured under 30%-owned Mazda Malaysia.

In line with earlier guidance, productions of the Mazda 3 CKD and Mazda 6 CKD are scheduled to start by the third quarter of 2014 and the second quarter of 2015 respectively. Berjaya Auto is targeting a sales volume of up to 15,000 next year.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• My apologies, this is not related to Mazda cars but more to the distributor.

Why are some people out there still supporting Barisan Nasional cronies’ company i.e. Bermaz Motor aka Berjaya Group?

I hope Mazda owners will not complain about GST, corruption, cronism, nepotism, etc. since they are indirectly “supporting” Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 85
    • W204 C63 AMG on May 06, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Then you might as well don’t buy any cars, all car brands are distributed by DRB Hicom, UMW, Some Darby and Naza. You better off taking public transport, but wait! You are indirectly paying the government too. You might as well just walk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
      • Hi W204 C63 AMG (awesome car btw),

There is always other options such as Toyota and Perodua cars because the majority shareholders for the respective companies are UMW Holdings Bhd, EPF and PNB.

Toyota dealer is UMW Holdings Bhd
        UMW Holdings Bhd majority shareholders are:
        48% Perbadanan Nasional Bhd
        16.8% EPF

Perodua dealer/manufacturer is Perodua Bhd
        Perodua Bhd majority shareholders are:
        38% UMW Corporation Sdn Bhd 38% stake
        20% Daihatsu Motor Co. Ltd. (20%)

PNB is the biggest fund mgmt company in Malaysia which they get their funds from Malaysian by means of issuing Amanah Saham Nasional, ASW 2020, etc. Indirectly it means, its the Rakyat’s money and we are the shareholder.

Some goes with EPF, its our money EPF is using to hold on to UMW.

Berjaya Auto majority shareholder is Berjaya Group i.e. Vincent Tan.

So, I would gladly support Toyota and Perodua.

Having said the above, I mean if you can buy other cars such as Honda, Toyota, etc. why not? I still go to 7-Eleven to buy things when I’m super desperate. I still drink Starbucks like once in every 6-mths. (Both 7-Eleven and Starbucks owned by Berjaya Group)

What I am trying to say is that, we should try our very best to give the least support to these cronies which is supporting our present 47% Government.

Let’s hope for a better Malaysia :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
        • W204 C63 AMG on May 06, 2014 at 4:14 pm

I’m speechless you know… I mean I have no idea what to reply to you. You stated it yourselves, the majority shareholder of UMW Holdings is PNS. Now what is PNS? UMW Holdings is just another Government-linked corporations. And I don’t have to explain to you why the hate for UMW in paultan, right?

• Hi bro, thanks for your reply. Please care to eleborate on PNB (instead of PNS ,i think it was typo from ur end).

If we can exchange notes, its a good way to grow ourselves. Please kindly correct me if I any of my statement/data is inaccurate, thank you :)

P/s Why the hate towards UMW? Hope you can share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • That’s quite a idiotic remark unless you are staying in the jungle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Abang, kita beli itu tepung, gula & many more juga goes to cronies. So mau berenti beli gula & tepung juga ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Bang, itu la… BN tak sepatutnya bagi satu pihak monopoli barang keperluan/asas. Sepatutnya ada competition utk pengeluar memberi perkhidmatan dan harga yg paling best!

Tapi Mazda nih, brg kemewahan.. ada banyak lagi pilihan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Brayokmok on May 06, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Only one thing not related to chronies…K-Jelly. Bengong…

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 2:31 pm

beribu ribu tahniah, semua kereta pun bn berjaya.

• If that’s the case you might as well don’t stay in malaysia. Even your underwear tax goes to the governent.

• salambangi on May 06, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Thinking of buying a CX 5 but fit and finish of locally assembled Mazdas is not quite good. Hoping that they will improve their quality.

• Confuse with ur statement. You just thinking on buying but how u know the quality??
      Belom pakai kereta itu, sudah tau quality?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 3:10 pm

How good is good? You really check all pieces inside out? Welding not right? Not put on properly? Wow u must ve superman eyes. Anyway… u ve options. . Buy CBU la.. prrfft.. ada duit kah?

• Yes! Hopefully Mazda CX-5 will reduce it’s price to RM130k in months to come!

• Arcee on May 07, 2014 at 12:43 am

Read an article here tat price is expected to be reduce further in d 4Q 2014. True? Or current price is already a reduction due to EEV? Anyone knows the answer?

• Vincent Choo on May 06, 2014 at 1:21 pm

The Mazda 6 is a perfectly designed car at such a good price. Better looking than a BMW except for one thing. The Front Grill got to somehow improve. The Honda Accord looks grander from the front. And what’s wrong with the front lights? The LED lights looks like 1/2 (half) an eyebrow instead of a FULL Eyebrow. the LED light should be more. NOT JUST HALF the front lamp. It makes it look as if 1/2 the eyebrow is gone. Imagine you shave off half your eyebrow on your face. You look funny.
    I am wanting to buy and waiting for the Mazda 6 CKD to arrive. So, I hope the LED lights and the front look is improved. Otherwise, the Honda still looks grander. Who knows what Camry will improve on its lousy looks now. The one generation older CAMRY was good looking. Not the current one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • solehin on May 06, 2014 at 3:10 pm

comments from current M6 2.5 owner…never regret buying the CBU…im actual want to wait until mazda launch ckd M6…im afraid the quality not as good as CBU unit…just like CBU CX-5…in order to cut the cost they reduce lot of feature in that car..the haedlamp for me it just nice…this car look sporty..suitable for young professional guy, finally i can rewards myself…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Roti Head on May 06, 2014 at 4:35 pm

True…reward yrself with 9 years loan….well done ah boy.

• roti bum on May 07, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Its ppl like u that hav to resort to borrow 9 yrs loan buy a proton. We can buy the car with cash alone in our safe box but willingly take loan to avoid the taxmen. So better work hard to service your rm30k hire purchase.

• ToBohLanRotiBum on May 07, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Budak, dont talk coxk sing soong here, i think the 9 year loan really hit you badly. I know you can afford paying cash for your BMX. Dont get so sour ah boy, work hard ok

• Rvking on May 07, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Take loan to avoid tax ????? It proved that you never/cannot buy car with cash, what a joke.

• solehin on May 09, 2014 at 6:44 pm

I work hard for past fews years…finally I manage to get almost 5 digit salary….this is my second car….my first car was persona…bought the car after 3 month works after graduate….I made full settlement for that persona and now give to my brother to use for his study….work hard… You can achieve what ever u want….

• Anti Crazy Car Tax on May 06, 2014 at 2:10 pm

This is how MITI should promote EEV eco green car policy:

Mazda 3 1.5Liter i-Eloop, 18km/Liter = 10% excise duty

Proton Preve 1.6Liter CFE, 10km/Liter = 100% excise duty

• Enthu on May 07, 2014 at 10:25 am

Beware, the Proton fanboys will be coming at you for accusing their ride being a fuel guzzler….

• Henry Ford the XII on May 07, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Proton = fuel guzzler
        American muscle car = fuel guzzler
        Ergo,
        Proton = American muscle car
        Hehehe…

• Enthu on May 07, 2014 at 10:26 am

wait a min, 10km/l for a Preve?

You are way too generous there…

• Aero (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Well done to Mazda MY. With a legend like D.S. Ben Yeoh at the helm, it’s honestly no surprise. He has managed to turn-around multiple different businesses in Malaysia, and Mazda MY is his latest.

Now, if only Proton could have hired D.S. Ben Yeoh instead… of course, we all know that won’t happen, at least, not until Proton is fully privatised and independent of government intervention. And that will depend almost entirely on the outcome of the next general election.

• Guilt79 on May 06, 2014 at 10:42 pm

How about Bermaz improve their service centre in Glenmarie? Sent my car to fix absorber sound.. Twice and still can’t fix it properly. Very poor quality service.