Renault Twizy and Nissan Leaf spied in Putrajaya wearing COMOS logo – what is COMOS?

COMOS-EV

A reader sent in this photo last night of two Renault Twizy and a Nissan Leaf parked near one of the iconic bridges in Putrajaya. Both of these cars are electric vehicles, and they are wearing decals with the logo of a company called COMOS.

A quick check with Malaysia’s domain registry reveals that comos.com.my was registered earlier this month. A quick visit to the website reveals a ‘coming soon’ page with the same COMOS logo as found on the car.

The comos.com.my domain was registered by CMS Consortium Sdn Bhd C/O NADI Manufacturing. We know of course that NADI is controlled by Proton’s ex-chairman Datuk Seri Nadzmi Salleh. The last piece of puzzle is this Facebook post, where Proton’s ex-MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin is mentioned.

Could COMOS be some kind of EV charging initiative or perhaps even an EV car sharing business started up by Proton’s ex-chairman and ex-MD?

GALLERY: Renault Twizy

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• megatti on May 06, 2014 at 11:35 am

I can imagine myself driving an fully EV to and fro work.

• i WANT ONE!!!!!if it sell below 65k, i will buy it as a toy and drive it to yumcha.

• Renault Twizzy:

~10k USD ~~ RM35,000
      Specs:
      Max Speed = 80km/h
      Charging = 3.5hours for 100% charge
      Distance = 100km/100% charger
      Engine : 13hp

Kerb Weight = 474kg.

Drag Coefficient: 0.64Cd

No great technology here, maybe because no competitor in this segment.

• asran tolong jawab

• jeffrey on May 06, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Heard about this. It is a great initiative. It is actually started by this few group of general Malaysians (not Dato or Dato Sri whatever) goes by the name EMAL Mobiliti S/B. They are hiring people now..im sending my resume as well. Hehe. This company is gonna go big.

• Denaihati on May 06, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Renault Twizy is quite interesting urban car and plus 2 seater.
    I think comos might be the company provide EV charger….

• VoidDance on May 06, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Well Paultan, when the FB page clearly mentioned you in their post, you probably know more than this, right? :D

• smokey on May 06, 2014 at 12:56 pm

just saw these cars parked at roadside at bangsar south yesterday lunch time and having some photographing session…

• That’s just a single seater golf cart in a Renault badge

• Amarjie on May 06, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Since both are EV cars, may be COMOS is a charging station/terminal provider…?

• Jeffrey on May 06, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Yeah Amarjie. You’re right. They are gonna do something like Autolib’. This is a good market for Malaysia, hopefully. It will save a lot in sense of Ringgit and the environment. Check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MOrtP3UHyF0

• zeek (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 3:16 pm

renault twizzy here in Malaysia? It would be a fantastic city car in Europe but here in KL with a hot climate all year round? Hmmm.. Not to mention that it doesnt have windows.
    And in Europe it’s classified as a quadricycle.

• GreenWithEnvy on May 06, 2014 at 3:32 pm

An acquaintance from GreenTech Malaysia (www.greentechmalaysia.my) mentioned about their Electric Mobility initiative and I hope COMOS has something to do with that initiative.

I hope whatever they are revealing soon would indeed open more door to electric cars because I would love to purchase one!

• a.r.y. on May 06, 2014 at 5:02 pm

COMOS was mentioned in slide no 29 in this link:
      http://www.greentechmalaysia.my/file/download/YIM%20-Teh%20Tarik%20Session%20Slides%2017%20March%202014.pdf

• EnergyAnalyst on May 06, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Page 31 says it all:

COMOS stands for Cohesive Mobility Solution Program set to launch this year

It is partnership of CMS consortium SDN Bhd with MAI ( Malaysia Automotive institute

It is a EV car sharing programme –access to COMOS network is through annual membership mobility on demand