Porsche Macan previewed in Malaysia – four variants including 4-cylinder turbo, launching in Q4 2014

Porsche Macan Preview- 2

Official distributor Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) previewed the Porsche Macan SUV to the media this morning at Porsche Centre Damansara.

The Macan, smaller sibling of the successful Cayenne SUV, made its world debut late last year at the LA Auto Show, so it hasn’t taken too long to arrive. The Macan will be launched in the fourth quarter of this year in Malaysia, possibly in September. First deliveries will start at the same time.

Four variants of the “first sportscar in the compact SUV segment” will be available in Malaysia, including the entry-level four-cylinder version announced last month. The 2.0 litre turbo four with 237 hp and 350 Nm (from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm) will do 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds and a top speed of 223 km/h. Not too shabby, and it returns 7.2 litres per 100 km in the NEDC combined cycle.

Porsche Macan Preview- 34

Based on our live pics from Auto China 2014, the base Macan doesn’t look very pared down compared to pricier versions, and it should prove popular with urbanites who want Porsche style but don’t need six-cylinder performance. In any case, there are plenty of options to dress it up. Estimated price is RM450k.

One level up and you’re looking at the Macan S and Macan S Diesel. The petrol 3.0 V6 biturbo does 340 hp/460 Nm, 0-100 km/h in 5.4 seconds (5.2 with Sport Chrono package) and 254 km/h max.

The 3.0 V6 single turbo diesel, on the other hand, boasts 245 hp/580 Nm, 0-100 km/h in 6.3 seconds (6.1 with Sport Chrono), 230 km/h max and NEDC fuel consumption of just 6.3 to 6.1 litres per 100 km, making it the most efficient Macan. Estimated prices are RM560k for the S and RM550k for the S Diesel.

Porsche Macan Preview- 17

For those who want the ultimate Macan, there’s the Macan Turbo, as seen here. The range topper is powered by a new 3.6 litre V6 biturbo engine, used in a Porsche for the first time here. It does 400 hp/550 Nm, the century sprint in 4.8 seconds (4.6 with the Sport Chrono) and 266 km/h max. The Macan Turbo is expected to be priced from RM780k. All variants come with a seven-speed dual-clutch PDK gearbox and all-wheel-drive.

Note that the car you see here is a left-hand-drive Macan Turbo that belongs to Porsche AG, so it won’t be identical to the cars SDAP have ordered.

Speaking of that, order books for the Macan have opened at both Damansara and Glenmarie Porsche Centres, and the latest Porsche will make a public appearance at Bangsar Shopping Centre from May 21-25. So, Evoque or Macan?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• longjaafar on May 07, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Cannot compare with Evoque, because the price difference is substantial. Of course if money is not the criteria, anyone would choose the Macan.
    In fact, Evoque is even going down market further with an only front drive transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 07, 2014 at 3:19 pm

In the year 2020, if P2 still in its business of rebadge & rename, is it possible for us to own this model by the name of Macai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 46
      • ToTeressaCockCNYClown on May 07, 2014 at 10:33 pm

You know what, I really like your name, you shall take care of your small cock rather than making stupid comment here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 56
        • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 08, 2014 at 1:35 pm

And you scared of telling your name not only showing that your cock is smaller but also have no balls at all. Useless, better give it to your dog lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
          • LOL. Good return in deed. BTW, it will be good if P1 or P2 can rebadge this as it is the same thing with CKD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
        • KLWong on May 08, 2014 at 3:55 pm

How about DaMaCai?

• Porsche Conjob - Penipu Betul on May 08, 2014 at 11:06 am

Porsche in Malaysia is a con job. The Cayenne in the US cost only US$49,000 but here it becomes RM580,000.

Porsche Malaysia (sime darby) probably gets it cheaper from the Principal in Germany. If US Porsche can be sold for US$49,000 and yet the US dealership can make a hefty profit, Sime Darby would be getting the Cayenne for maybe US35,000 straight from the factory in Stuttgart.

So how in Malaysia can become RM600,000? Our tax and duties max out at 130%.

So Sime Darby make a huge profit of few hundred thousand per car sold.

Now the Macan. The Macan S is US$49,000 and the Macan Turbo is Us$72,000.

What rip off pricing is Sime Darby giving us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
      • porsche – macan
        malay – makan
        jawa – mangan
        ;) :) ;0

• dr kerala on May 07, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Somebody keep telling rakyat to buy Proton but himself is No.1 fanboy Porsche…

Who is that hah????

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
    • Enthu on Jul 13, 2014 at 2:43 pm

You don’t know the Macan is priced similar to the Evoque at Europe?

Do your homework before posting ignorant comments please.

• neutral on May 07, 2014 at 1:45 pm

was expecting the 2.0 to be around evoque price..350-400k. disappointing pricing but then will still sell in the bucketloads in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • kelso on May 07, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Well, then it’ll eat into the Q5 market… can’t have siblings fighting over the same slice of pie now, can we?

Admittedly performance numbers look quite close as well. I suppose with Porsche tuning and brand cache, 120k ish over the Q5 is about right in terms of placement.

• ilyjdm on May 07, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Go kill the evoques

• spongewai on May 08, 2014 at 12:06 am

to be honest la,

which is better??!

Evoque 9-speed auto or Macan 7-speed PDK??!

• kereta_lembu on May 07, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Handsome little SUV.Interior though, could have been better I believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • spongewai on May 07, 2014 at 1:54 pm

screw the Sime Darby for the price of Macan

ish LOL!!?

• Mustafa on May 07, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Sime Darby only offers Porsche mainly in the Klang Valley. For ppl like us who lives in East Malaysia(Sabah and sarawak) can only look see look see but cannot buy as there is no after sales back up here.

The $$$ distribution in this country is uneven. Most big $$$ is only circulated in the Klang Valley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • jooku1 on May 07, 2014 at 2:28 pm

But here in Sandakan I do see a few Cayennes running about (not to mentioned Evoques as well). Always wonder where they service their rides…

• Gegary on May 07, 2014 at 7:51 pm

And super big $$$$$ might be with your CM bro. Keep voting them in la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Mustafa on May 08, 2014 at 12:14 am

Those ppl who drives them in Sandakan most probably get their cars serviced in private workshops, which I will not recommend as most of them have no standard.

Those technicians are not properly trained to handle such cars and will most likely use a trial and error method to fix your car.

• Easy factor, that is because current G did not really look into the welfare of the citizen in East Malaysia. As most of the wealthy Cronies are located in Klang Valley, of coz the money the robbed from the rakyat in Sabah and Sarawak will also be circulating around Klang Valley. I as a peninsular Malaysian sometimes do feel pity as even cars are slight expensive overthere.

• just personal feeling, land rover looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • wood trim on dashboard look very cheap

• Black Dog on May 07, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Evoque for looks and style.

Macan for name and sportiness.

• Sam Dol on May 07, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Another question is, the Cayenne or this?

Most people buy Cayenne for style only, to have the Porsche badge… If u want utilitarian SUV, can buy Range ROver or Q7…

So, are we expecting a drop in sales of Cayenne?

• zeek (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 2:19 pm

If I’m in the market for a compact premium SUV/crossover I’d get the Evoque and save rm60k+ OR a recently used Cayenne. But that’s my opinion.

• Evoque!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • mmaker on May 07, 2014 at 2:24 pm

i think lexus NX 2.0 turbo will be cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Evoque all the way!

• Just curious

Dont you guys think the name can be “racist”? Cantonese speaking forumer will know what I mean. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Semi-Value (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 3:06 pm

i speak canto and i don get you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • “Ma_Chan” as in malay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
        • mim (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 5:55 pm

The correct pronounciation is “Ma-kan” as in the Malay word “makan” (eat). I don’t think that gives problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Thomas on May 07, 2014 at 7:53 pm

val: as a Chinese myself, F.U.
          Don’t know why you have to bring it up.
          Porsche obviously did not mean anything like that. Just reveals you are racist yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Legend on May 07, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Sime Darby Auto Performance , can you please set up Porsche 3S Center in Johor?
    There are more and more Porsche moving around the JB, and ALMOST every of them are from Porsche Kuala Lumpur!
    And i did ask my friend who own a Porsche, he said that he need to send his Porsche back to KL service in order not to void the warranty!
    Tebrau is a best place for Porsche to come in,as there are now more and more car showroom are located there.
    use your smart brain to earn money please
    Johor got many tauke are the big fan of Porsche!

• Porsche glenmarie on May 09, 2014 at 9:23 am

Whatever you said… There are many towkays in JOHOR but their purchasing power are lesser than folks in klang valley… One guy in PJ pay his taxes more than the whole state of JOHOR…. Imagine that… So if you got money just come to GLENMARIE..

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 3:15 pm

will wait for Lexus NX first….money havent come in from abang

• We shall see the Macan flooding the streets of Kuala Lumpur soon. RM 500K+ is nothing for the rich Malaysians!

• Yes..u r right. Not all are cronies. Many of them are actually honest business person. I can see Cayenne flooding Kl street. More than Singapore.

• dozy8888 on May 07, 2014 at 5:10 pm

How much will 1 year old recon cost ?

• mango on May 07, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Wife drive this, husband drive Cayanne,son drive Panamera, daughter drive Cayman.

• Boy Racer (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 7:16 pm

We “drive” Honda EX5.

• Thomas on May 07, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Dr. M would like to have a word with you why wife not drive Exora, husband drive Inspira, son drive Waja, daughter drive Suprima mah.
      Mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • Enthu on May 07, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Now even the Golf GTi mk7 engine is good enough for a Porsche?

This is definitely something new…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Thomas on May 07, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Are you trolling? Porsche’s 2.0 Turbo is 350Nm.

• Errr…you didn’t get it did u?? It’s the same engine as gti n tiguan laa. I’m telling u right now boy. Dohh

• Enthu on May 08, 2014 at 1:05 am

Check ur facts la bodoh before you wanna simply say in public site.

The new mk7 GTi has 220hp 350Nm. This is just tuned up slightly for a little bit more horsepower.

• Guan Yin Maa on May 07, 2014 at 6:08 pm

4 cylinder turbo giving 7 litre / 100 km, not qualify for EEV tax rebate ? Even proton own 1.6 engine 10 litre / 100km

• Carbonman on May 07, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Soon we’ll have Porsche Meanum and Porsche Beraque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Sgt Scoop on May 07, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Porch Makan!

• heybadigol on May 07, 2014 at 7:06 pm

The turbo looks sweet!!! This is the probably one of the best all rounder cars around. Fast in a straight line, luxurious though slitghly firm ride (if you opt for air suspension & PASM set to comfort), nimble & neutral handling around corners, meaty & communicative steering (its a Porsche after all), grippy AWD and can probably do some lightweight offroading. Its like having an SUV, Cayman & 5 series (though with slightly less rear legroom) rolled into one. Dream car for sure.

• albag on May 07, 2014 at 7:30 pm

how to pronounce? ‘makan’???

• Dr zack on May 07, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Finally…. Gonna upgrade my PASSAT to this….will drive to KL this weekend… To take a look first…hope that im gonna be the first guy in the east coast that drive this .. Unless some tan sris beat me to it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Gegam on May 07, 2014 at 10:03 pm

“Being the first guy to drive” is like being “first comment” on any post. What a lamer. Your ego that fragile meh?

• Dr. Peter on May 08, 2014 at 10:25 am

Hi zack… Drop by at princourt man… Want to show my new sport rim on my MYVI…

• “The 2.0 litre turbo four with 237 hp and 350 Nm (from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm) will do 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds and a top speed of 223 km/h. Not too shabby, and it returns 7.2 litres per 100 km in the NEDC combined cycle.”

Meanwhile, Proton complain that we don’t buy their cars, while their sad Campro 1.6 turbo in the Suprima consumes 9.1 liters per 100 km. But nvm, they can always force the Taxi drivers to buy their Exoras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • annoy_namous on May 08, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Gary, next time kalau nak buat comparism, biar apple to apple. SUV type with SUV type, sedan type with sedan type. 2.0 litre turbo dgn 2.0 litre turbo. Kalau org lain cakap awak bodoh, awak marah. Tapi awak sendiri yg tunjuk kebodohan awak yg x tahu nak buat comparism dgn betul.

• They should rename it to Macai… HAHAHAHAHA

• Palm_Oil_King on May 08, 2014 at 12:20 am

Sime Darby Porsche, if you are listening, you should set up dealers in East Malaysia. There are lots of wealthy ppl over here in Borneo island who would also like to get an opportunity to own a brand new Porsche, and not recon cars.

• Sime people on May 08, 2014 at 7:49 pm

There are only a few peoples who are able to buy PORSCHE in BORNEO… Although most of them are even richer than SEMENANJUNG people… There are only a few… So its not financially good decision to bring it there…these towkays prefer PRADO/ LANDCRUISER..

• Palm_Oil_King on May 08, 2014 at 12:22 am

One of the downside of buying recon Porsche is most of them comes with tinted rear glass. The gov is ok for recon dealers to sell such items but when buyers drive them on the road the JPJ will saman u.

Stupid law!

• Maybe because if the name, it’s much pricier. I though it will be 400k for the base 2.0 turbo, so at rm450k, it’s really a lot for a small car. Maybe Sime Darby sold it more expensive. Well,Many other SUV can buy with that money.

• Azwan Mohamed on May 08, 2014 at 8:12 am

The legroom for front passenger side looks very tight. When converted to RHD the driver side legroom that will be very small

• hondaman on May 08, 2014 at 9:01 am

This porsche will macan the evogue for breakfast

• Joe Radzif on May 08, 2014 at 9:10 am

Macan?
    Cronies to drive it
    Macai will not get it

kbhaii..

• Porsche Macan Duit as i would like to call it. Nice to see, nice to hold…that’s the only thing I could do now :)

• The question at the end of the article will probably come from the mouth of the grey importer salesman if you are looking for a premium trendy compact SUV. The X4 is up next.

• The most important thing.. are this Macan came with warranty like Cayenne, 4 years Warranty + 4 years free service & maintenance…

• KLWong on May 08, 2014 at 3:53 pm

How about DaMaCai?

• Why such expensive car still no keyless start ?

• Italdesign on May 08, 2014 at 11:04 pm

It’s true that some luxury dealers will not ever make it big in Malaysia because they limit themselves into targeting mainly the KL and Selangor areas. If you look at Jaguar, Porsche and Lexus in New Zealand or Australia for example. Dealerships are found in almost every city. They don’t just limit their target to the capital city only.

In Malaysia, there’s the impression that everything only happens in the KL and the rest of the country can only be observers and left out of the action.

• Never use Aussie as an example… THINK FIRST… U know why…perth to melbourne 3000+km… More than one day of driving…RIDICULOUSLY RIDICULOUS..

• Mamasan on May 09, 2014 at 12:05 am

If not available in your city go buy recon lah.
    This is a bloody third world country where we keep picking up what the first world countries dump.

The most funny part is we Malaysians still have to pay a fortune to buy what is considered junks in the first world countries.

• makan on Sep 24, 2014 at 7:37 am

macan is Indon tiger