VIDEO: ASEAN NCAP Phase III frontal impact tests

The ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP) has uploaded videos of the frontal impact crash tests of the third and final phase of the pilot stage on its YouTube channel.

11 models were tested this time – the Chevrolet Colorado and Sonic, the Honda CR-V, the Isuzu D-Max, two variants of the Kia Picanto (with and without airbags), the Peugeot 208, the Proton Preve, the Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8 and 2.0 (the latter with the Additional Safety Package) and the Volkswagen Polo Sedan.

Out of these, the CR-V, Preve, Corolla Altis 2.0 and the Colorado managed to attain a five-star adult occupant protection rating for frontal impact, with the CR-V garnering the highest score in the group (CR-V and Colorado variants without stability control are downgraded to a four-star rating). At the other end of the scale, the no-airbag Picanto scored no stars, the lowest in the programme’s history.

The cars were subjected to a 64 km/h offset frontal collision test with a 40% overlap, with all but one (the no-airbag Kia Picanto) also taking part in a 50 km/h side impact test in order to gain UN R95 approval. To attain five stars, a car must be fitted with at least two airbags, electronic stability control and a seat belt reminder, while passing the side impact test is now mandatory for a four-star rating and above.

Tests were mostly conducted at the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) PC3 lab in Melaka, while the Corolla Altis 2.0 and the Isuzu D-Max were tested at the Japan Automotive Research Institute (JARI) and the Colorado at the Korea Automotive Testing and Research Institute (KATRI).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Altis deployed all airbags even with frontal collision only.

• TeresaCockCNYClown on May 07, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Moral of the story II: Avoid the car that “is downgraded to so & so because of no so & so”. Also avoid the car with holding the record of the “lowest score (no stars) in the program history”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Acrix on May 09, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Its supposed to deploy. If it didn’t it means something is wrong. Have a look at EuroNCAP results and all their cars deploy the side and curtain airbags on front impact.

• bringmanualcars! on May 07, 2014 at 1:24 pm

preve pillar not affected during crash unlike altis but too bad child protection lower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • unforgiven on May 07, 2014 at 6:46 pm

I don’t have to care about PROTON / Preve / Saga anymore, most of the time just skipped or ignored anything from PROTON.

Just need to make sure the car is with international 5 stars will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 62
    • Ananz on May 08, 2014 at 10:13 am

Does Preve have standard 6 airbags across the range? I don’t see the side and curtain airbags being deployed in the test.

• it frontal impact test.
        did you see others model side airbag deployed….

• Ananz on May 09, 2014 at 12:30 pm

After going through all the pictures it looks like only the Altis 6 airbags deploy on frontal impact while others like Preve and Picanto only deploys the front airbags.
          Not sure if its done on purpose for Preve and Picanto to save cost or its part of their system where a frontal impact on deploys the front airbags.
          However as i know all airbags should deploy even just from a front collision. Just take a look at the Euro NCAP videos. Most of their cars are equipped with side and curtain airbags and they ALL deploy from frontal impact. So the preconception that front airbags only deploy from front impact is wrong as they should ALL deploy whether is front of side airbags.

• Proton is no more Tin milo. Only Perodua and vios still left.. hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 7
    • Are you sure proton in Malaysia market have the same quality as per tested?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 82
      • sam fisher on May 07, 2014 at 2:04 pm

malaysia spec preve is the same as those being shipped to oversea (etc. Australia which ANCAP rating was 5 stars). unless u r referring to those pre-ANCAP preve with 4 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
        • I’m talking about quality of the inspection for local market, not the spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
          • Then ask about quality if other ‘foreign’ cars. Why dun you ask?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • ruffstuff on May 07, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Are you sure Toyota in malaysian market have the same quality as per tested?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
        • Why Toyota? I’m not Toyota supporter, but as I know they have a good quality & QC inspection than proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
          • youbodok on May 07, 2014 at 5:13 pm

How do you know their quality? You bang every Toyota cars n road?

Why you always ask Proton?
            Why not other brands?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 4
          • How do you know their quality? You bang every Toyota cars n road?
            -I know because I bought one Toyota, no need to do stupid action to bang the car, they have QC inspection form for you to check!

Why you always ask Proton?
            -Because proton low quality

Why not other brands?
            -Other brand better than proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
          • youbodok on May 07, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Very naive. Other brands also have that kind of form. Toyota got no quality. Got massive recalls all over the world. Since you are stupid, why dun you bang your car to wall to prove it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
          • hi youbodok,why Toyota got so many recall? because they care about the quality ; why proton no recall at all since so many ppl complain? Because they never care about quality. Since you are so matured and clever, why not to consider to use your preve to bang one Toyota to prove it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
          • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 11:34 am

Stupid and bodo ML..He/She dont even read the news..Every year Toyota keep recalling their car because of quality issue. Toyota Msia got airbag problem! When bad accident, airbag won’t even come out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
          • Are you sure all proton airbag coming out during accident?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
      • MRTOGGLE on May 07, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Stupid comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
        • How you know my comment is stupid? Do you work for Proton? If yes, show me the QC inspection check list please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 59
          • Then other cars you should ask too. Why only Proton? Stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
          • kzm (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Show me toyota QC inspection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
          • Then other cars you should ask too. Why only Proton? Stupid.
            – Because other brand’s quality better than proton,intelligence desk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
          • Show me toyota QC inspection
            – You will get it if you buy a Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 37
          • Hahaha. This P2 fanboy got gangbanged from every corner for asking stupid questions. Wait till you can remove the ‘P’ from your Viva then only talk lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • And for giving stupid answers too. Poor ML.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
          • Hi Siva, why involved viva? Perodua’s quality always better than proton and I’m no comment on that. also giving negative comment to proton will become stupid? support proton will be clever?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
          • Budak Bodo on May 08, 2014 at 11:20 am

Budak Bodo, please, apa QC mau?

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 12:48 pm

I notice that this F**kin ML is SO ENVY and ANGER bout PROTON..WHy arr?? Maybe he failed to enter PROTON as vendor or maybe his job application rejected by PROTON..hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • My suggestion is: Read more! Nuff said

• Mozilla Chrome on May 07, 2014 at 1:48 pm

I wonder why they did the crash test in the dark. Shouldn’t they use flash during crash impact like other test conducted by international organizations to see better for research?

• Because the darkness can hide many things for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 77
      • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 07, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Are you saying that they can’t find any airbag in the Picanto because of the darkness?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 4
      • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 07, 2014 at 2:33 pm

And also cannot find SC in the CR-V & Colorado due to the darkness? What la you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
        • Just kidding!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
          • Just kidding or just trying to hide your MukaLancau face becoz of your stupidity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
          • Hi Siva, now I know proton support are clever but ‘rude’, rude words coming out to protect Proton. Its time to make a change bro, just like our…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
          • ML. Have u ever heard of ‘kettle calls a pot black’? That’s exactly described you.

• bahanaku on May 07, 2014 at 2:55 pm

yeahh..truly proton hater…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • You are right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
          • bengW on May 07, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Proton hater always gives stupid comments that show what he is.

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
          • Nieko on May 07, 2014 at 6:27 pm

but be warned Proton,s Problem is Quality but not Safety (since Preve)But your Toyota has a lot of Mechanical glitches that make proton look like sweetheart yes I know it stinks but its true check out every US car news you will know Toyota is Americas worst cars in terms of Safety …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
          • Proton supporter always protect their ‘intelligence’ comments that show what he is.

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 36
          • Hi Neiko, I like you comment, also your are gentle, not like Siva, btw I never say Toyota is good, I just want to express my opinion that proton quality control is need to be improved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • sam fisher on May 07, 2014 at 2:21 pm

kudos to proton preve in malaysia. since it has already got 5 stars rating in the stricter ANCAP requirements test, i dont think it will have much problem to get 5 star in the LESS STRINGENT Asean NCAP test, meant to give soft landing for others. as long as the car fulfill the pre-requisite for 5 stars, etc 2 airbags minimum, bla bla bla, the rest will depends on the crash score. (hopefully no one will comment again y 2 airbags can match 6 airbags, the keywords are “PREREQUISITE for 5 Stars”. a 2 airbag version will not earn 5 stars rating in ANCAP no matter how good the crash score is.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 07, 2014 at 2:31 pm

And also cannot find SC in the CR-V & Colorado due to the darkness? What la you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Undercoverpang on May 07, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Is that corolla altis 1.8 lower quality than 2.0v?? coz the door………..

• billionaire on May 07, 2014 at 3:12 pm

NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH.. NO TALK TALK…PLOTONG FOR POOR PEOPLE ONLY N SYOK SENDIRI.. Give FREE also i don want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
    • Billy on May 07, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Billionaire tapi bangang nak mampus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 11:56 am

Billionaire u should cut your ic or passport and go to other country. As a Malaysian, we should proud PROTON showing good result with other competitor in its segment..If u really rich, u should have sense that people who are less fortunate than u using PROTON to work for you silly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Undercoverpang on May 07, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Is that corolla altis 1.8 lower quality than a corolla altis 2.0v?? why the door …….

• It only 64 km/h, must careful what ever you drive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • How you think if corolla altis 1.8 bang a Proton preve front by front if both car running 64km/h? Which car safer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
      • Billy on May 07, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Another stupid question raised by ML. Head on lah, ngok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • bisakeris (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 10:43 pm

haiyaaaaa.. again n again stupid comments from this ML..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Dear all, if I’m stupid, then the ppl who answer me and talking rude to me will be more and more stupid rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • kzm (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 9:48 am

u said u no toyota supporter? but comment show opposite..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Hi Kzm, I’m definitely not Toyota supporter, actually I’m Honda supporter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • Geo man on May 15, 2014 at 7:30 pm

I’m with ML , who wants to argue come bah

• Budak Bodo on May 08, 2014 at 11:14 am

Budak Bodo, balik kampung atau tumpu perhatian terhadap online business anda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • This is typical proton supporter did, always ask us balik kampung if they can’t defend their point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
  • Bias. Myvi damage worse than i10 but gets 3 star vs i10 2 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • neckotynne on May 07, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Well, it’s all about mentality… Third-World mentality for sure… Hehehehehe… I thought everybody here are expert and knows everything about cars… And I thought the commenters here are working at Proton’s HQ and commented about it, but at the end they themselves asked for the report for Proton… Hahahahaha… What the hell…??? So funny… They just know talk loud but know nothing at all… Better silent than talk zero… ;B Peace…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
    • Tomcat on May 07, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Saying peace at the end doesn’t soften your foolish rambling. I’d love to get paid by proton if I do actually work for them, but I don’t. Open your mind stop getting stuck with this kind of mentality bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • youstpd on May 07, 2014 at 8:11 pm

You know every ingredients and weight of everythingyou eat? If no, then you suggest us to break in every food factory available to find out if there are poisonous materials in it?

That,s plain stupid

• tester on May 07, 2014 at 8:15 pm

That’s what the test is all about. Duh.

• neckotynne on May 08, 2014 at 9:40 am

tester : agreed… the test had been done but still argued about it, and asked for the reports… well, that’s the third-world class mind…

• Nieko on May 07, 2014 at 6:11 pm

hum something really wrong with the rating system in this ASEAN Ncap Because The Bloody CRV has only 2 Airbags yet still managed to get 5 Stars ok this just really pushing it Honda/DRB get your act together ..
    because it doesn’t take Genius to know this daylight cheats…just syaing

• Only frontal test is being counted. If side test goes in, preve score might be more than altis. Other scores will be different like crv and such.

and other stupid comments will be up from proton haters.

• keluangman on May 07, 2014 at 9:24 pm

is it just me but why is the test being conducted in the dark? I had to adjust my laptop screen brightness thinking it was probably too dim or something. More and brighter lights and illumination please. One more thing to improve in your test MIROS.

And I am still waiting for your moose test aka ESC test as well. Thanks!

• Denaihati on May 07, 2014 at 10:11 pm

so scary when seen in slow motion, more than 1 ton car in the air during the impact. please always wear seat belt at all the time even driving to kedai mamak.

• 4g18p on May 07, 2014 at 11:18 pm

wonder where are the other airbags gone in the Preve…. hmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • Almera on May 08, 2014 at 11:15 am

They probably removed it to save cost. Either that or its defective where only 2 out of 6 airbags deployed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Proton on May 08, 2014 at 1:23 pm

This is only front impact

Stop trolling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Almera on May 09, 2014 at 12:35 pm

I think you are the one that’s trolling. All airbags should deploy even if its a front impact collision. Look at the Altis 6 airbags they deployed. Then go have a look at Euro NCAP videos. All cars equipped with side and curtain airbags deploy from a frontal collision.
          Check your facts before stating someone is trolling or you would look like the ones that’s trolling without facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
          • Proton on May 09, 2014 at 2:38 pm

LOL you seriously do not know how air bags work dont you

Go cry at another corner almera fan LOL

• Proton on May 09, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Why are trolls so annoying

This is just a Crash test , real impact in accidents are different

Go read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airbag

Get your facts right kid

• Almera on Jul 11, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Says the troll that had the free time to give me post 15 dislikes and like your own post 15 times.

Wikipedia is not a liberal source of information due to many bias you know. I guess you didn’t know about it since its a well known fact to anyone that attended University before.

Yes car manufacturers have sensors to detect the impacts which determines if the side and curtain airbags should deploy or not. It only takes 17 mph impact to provide enough force to make the airbags deploy. As these tests are done at speeds higher than that, even a front impact will have enough generated force to activate even side and curtain airbags.

Have you ever even seen any of the EuroCAP videos of the cars tested? ALL their cars come standard with 6 or 7 airbags and on frontal impact test for ALL the cars, the side and curtain airbags were also deployed.
            So stop spouting nonsense and being a darn troll and go give me some facts dude and not from Wikipedia as even a 10 year old can do that. So i guess you are the one that does not know how airbags work i guess.
            Go check all of the EuroCap videos before making half assed comments boy.

• ILoveProton on May 08, 2014 at 7:53 am

East or West, Proton is the best. I will worship proton from now onwards :D

• Flat Black on May 08, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Only front impact video shown. Were is the side impact one? where are the Preve rival video? Is this an advertisement paid by Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Proton on May 08, 2014 at 1:22 pm

i dont get why some people hate proton so much

What did they do to upset you that much ?

• Tracks on May 09, 2014 at 8:09 am

Crash test results alone should not be used as alone as they are other factors when considering the safety of the vehicle in the event of a crash. For me besides looking at the rating alone, you should also look at the vehicle condition post crashed. You may have notice that some vehicle A-Pillar had bent. This is a clear indicator that the vehicle cabin structure had been compromised. Why this is important is because there may be incidents of a 2nd crashed immediately after the first one. Trust me as I was involved in one. Besides that, if the A-Pillar is bent, there is a tendancy that the driver door can’t be open. Imagine being trapped in the vehicle post crashed.

Another factor is the vehicle mass (weight). When two vehicle crashed head-on and both having similar safety rating but one vehicle is significantly heavier than the other, the one with the higher mass should have better protection as it was design to absorb a high force due to its heavier mass.

• Flat Black on May 10, 2014 at 4:56 am

Proton sold leaking, rattling, under powered and thirsty claimed to be Hi-Spec car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 20, 2014 at 9:06 am

Why do we need Asean NCAP & create a false sense of safety level. Just rate vehicles based on Euro NCAP. Are the lives of Asian different than that of Europeans? This is like creating a local degree that is sub par to UK degree standard. If Asean car manufacturers intend to export to EU countries, they still need to subject their products based on Euro NCAP.

• TheAnonymous on Jan 22, 2015 at 10:53 am

Seems like Polo Sedan has strong chassis and it able to receive more impact than other cars which same grade as Polo Sedan.
    Well.. I don’t understand why Kia Picanto doesn’t have airbags but it still able to go for the car test.