BMW i3 tried in Cyberjaya, but not coming to Malaysia

bmw i3 malaysia 14

As it goes, we sometimes try out cars that never make it to this market, but this one was especially bittersweet because it happened right here in our own back yard. BMW Malaysia’s invitation to sample the BMW i3 electric car at its headquarters in Cyberjaya yesterday offered a tantalising glimpse of what could have been with Munich’s little EV.

Could have, because it’s not coming to Malaysia, despite it being here. It turned out that the sampling session was arranged after some of the motoring press fraternity shared photos of the mule via the social media route, leading to speculation that the car could be coming this way. To which BMW Malaysia’s CEO Dr Gerhard Pils stated, at the conclusion of the test session, that it was not.

A bit of an extended route taken to say that the i3 isn’t going to be launched here, yes, but there it is. No BMW i3 for us, period.

As to why the EV is in Cyberjaya, the reason is simple enough – the brand’s regional training centre is located within the premises, and the car (actually, two) is here for the purpose of training personnel. Markets like Singapore and Australia will be getting the car, the latter in November, hence the need to get familiar with it.

bmw i3 malaysia 5

Meanwhile, all we’re left with is this, a very brief impression of a car you can’t get your hands on. The short two-lap course inside the BMW office compound didn’t offer a comprehensive take on things, but the EV’s response and go is undeniable – it’s zippy, as you’d expect, and it’s silent, as you’d also expect.

More than decent push offered by the 170 hp and 250 Nm synchronous electric motor mounted in the rear. A couple of corners even offered the suggestion of crisp handling higher up the speed spectrum, despite that offered by the car’s physical bulk and visually-uninspiring thin tyres.

Of note is the active park assist feature – the fully-automated system, with both brake and throttle control, is operated by a single press of a push-button, and works a charm. The interior can best be described as novel; for sure, the material and trim is visually captivating, especially the organic stuff. Paul’s comprehensive report on the i3 from the Beijing part of the debut last August makes for thorough reading if you’re interested in the rest of the car.

Not that it matters, unless you’re an anorak interested in the i3. The ideas offered by the car are engaging, intriguing even, but all moot in the end, at least for Malaysians – the lack of incentives or tax exemption for EVs (and energy efficient vehicles), unless they’re built here, means that the i3 would simply not be competitive cost-wise, and thus a non-starter.

Build it here then, you say? Only one BMW plant is able to handle the manufacture of the i3 globally, and that’s in Leipzig, and the situation doesn’t look like it’s going to change anytime soon. Venturing the idea that an assembly plant here would solve that would be to ignore the fact that our market isn’t large enough to obtain the production volume needed to offset all that initial spend, which would be significant.

Shame about that missed chance then. Therein lies the irony brought about by the National Automotive Policy 2014, which is supposed to propagate energy efficient vehicles in a big way – here’s an energy efficient vehicle in the truest sense of the word, and it can’t find its way in through the door, at least commercially.

Granted, even with tax relief, the BMW i3 isn’t going to be a cheap proposition, and it isn’t a car for everyone, but the point is really about choice and the ability to make that. Actually, it’s not just with something like the i3, which is arguably niche – the lack of resolution on a topic like Euro IV is perhaps more pertinent in determining choices, or more rightfully choices that are determined for us in the end. And so the loop plays on.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• spongewai on May 08, 2014 at 1:47 pm

all thanks to G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 3:24 pm

this is similar to Thai and Indonesia policy…the car wanted to get special incentive must be built in their country…u like it or not that the way boleh, thai n indo poliy work. the onli diff is how they implement..u can thumb down if u cant accept the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
      • BLT Club (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Yes and whoever that’s not happy can leave right? That’s the problem with your mentality. We like to compare with the worst practice rather then the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • kzm buda bodo on May 09, 2014 at 10:35 am

aiseh buda bodo, always talk nonsense lah. Where got such thing?

Like that, if we want to eat apple and oranges, the Mat Salleh must come here and plant orange and apple trees is it?

The car cannot be made here because the majority running this country is bodo like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 11:37 am

BMW Malaysia should just stop wasting money bringing cars down which they dont launch. Instead give your current BMW customers 5 years warranty. Your 2 years is pathetic. Only car company giving 2 years warranty in the world because they got no confidence in their own products after 730 days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Hello on May 08, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Hi Anthony, Great article & good job for highlighting the deficiency of NAP2014. Pushing for EEV but demolish duty & tax free incentive on CBU hybrid/electric cars.

Great Gov policy, as always. *thumbs up*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Eddie on May 08, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Me no like i series car from BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • After Survey from Malaysian @ cyberjaya.

BMW realize nobody like BMW i-series.
      So, Result = dont bring in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
  • Problem solver on May 08, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Ask Naza to import it for them, then magically everything can be CKD

Issue solved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
  • thanks to jibby n Be eNd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Look at all these great things we cannot have. Look at all these good things we can have at a high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • If not going to sell, then what’s the point invite for test drive? For fun?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Joker on May 08, 2014 at 3:22 pm

all thanks to bijan!!!
    Even Sg has it.. wat a shame…

• Beca Bicycle Malaysia lookalike – Big Slim Wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • hafiz on May 08, 2014 at 3:42 pm

at a glance, front side looks like a hippo. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • IskDabal on May 08, 2014 at 6:08 pm

You mean your mother, Hafiz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • A pretty lame way of defending a car that looks like boiled back side. Be a fan, not a fanboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • victor tan on May 09, 2014 at 8:29 am

You mad bro?
        For me, he did telling the truth.
        If you don’t agree with him, please reply your opinion in a proper and polite way.

• hafiz on May 09, 2014 at 12:03 pm

read my words carefully – AT A GLANCE. now try look at the image of a hippo. if you didn’t recognize, it is your problem. go back to school or visit a zoo.

• DespicableMe on May 09, 2014 at 12:32 pm

At first glance, I thought it was a Perodua Kembara.

• Can only drive for 100-200km what’s the point. M’sia barely any recharge stations.

• Jebonr on May 08, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Stupid! If this model is not going to be offer here. Then don’t show it here. What is the reason behind all this? Bullshitting show?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
  • Halim h on May 08, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Jebonr- We are not the only market that sells BMW in large numbers, you know. Singapore and Australia sells more. So as regional centre in Cyberjaya, of course they have to do the necessary engagements. Not everything is to satisfy you and your ego only you know! Thats how global giants work, but I guess you are an ignorant katak bawah tempurung, so therefore your silly comments.

• BLT Club (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 9:27 pm

I’d like to point you to the following paragraph of article. Please read before commenting.

As to why the EV is in Cyberjaya, the reason is simple enough – the brand’s regional training centre is located within the premises, and the car (actually, two) is here for the purpose of training personnel. Markets like Singapore and Australia will be getting the car, the latter in November, hence the need to get familiar with it.

• Leafable on May 08, 2014 at 10:16 pm

What a shame! I’ll be the first one to put down the deposit. Drive it once in London its a brilliant city car.

• niterunner99 on May 09, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Nice car but don’t think it’s coming to Malaysia or Singapore anytime soon.
    Landed property owners may have easier way of charging since car is park just outside.
    But most of SG folks are living in flats, so charging points will be an issue.

Although this won’t be cheap, but I believe there will still be buyers as it’s an BMW.
    And i think the warranty may be even shorter as our Asian countries has more rain than others…water seeping into battery pack (below car) will happen more often.