Perodua Axia ‘not the only name submitted’ – Aminar

perodua-viva-theophilus-chin-1

Is Axia the name of Perodua’s upcoming new model? Possibly, but it has not been confirmed by the carmaker. “Axia is not the only name we submitted,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh when quizzed by the media at the launch of a new parts centre this morning.

“We have not yet decided on the name. Wait for the announcement, which will be sometime in the second half of the year,” the P2 boss added.

Questions about the new model’s name arose after this website found a trademark filing by Perodua to the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO). The filing was for the mark ‘AXIA’ under car-related categories.

perodua-axia

What we know about the new model so far is that it is Perodua’s “first transformation model”, the first fruit of the company’s efforts to transform and adapt to the new automotive ecosystem, where competition is rising for local players. The Global Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) is a compact five-door hatchback that will exist alongside the Viva, giving Perodua a four-model lineup when it debuts later this year.

“The fuel efficiency [of the new model] is much much better than [in the] current models we have,” Aminar told the press last month, addding that the car will be “compact but very spacious” and cantik dan menarik, Malay for pretty and attractive. He also hopes that the new model will achieve the kind of impact the Myvi did when it was introduced in Malaysia back in 2005.

daihatsu-ayla-spotted-again-1

The new model will roll out from the Perodua Global Manufacturing plant, which is currently under construction at a plot next to P2’s existing factory. PGM, which is scheduled to start operating in the middle of the year, will mirror Daihatsu Kyushu’s best practices, technology and low defect rate – we’ve detailed some of those in a visit to DKC’s Nakatsu Plant 2 last year.

Axia or not, we’re looking forward to the new model. Proton’s Global Small Car, another five-door hatch, is also set to debut later this year, so it’s going to be a significant year for the Malaysian auto industry.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Chris (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Was personally hoping for a Daihatsu Tanto Exe rebadge. Compact, but can carry a lot of stuff.

• senpai on May 08, 2014 at 4:44 pm

box!

• Aiya & Ayoyo also submitted?

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 11:24 am

Perodua is a disgrace. So long in the market, still rebadging Toyota and Daihatsu cars. Botak Aminar, please start to design our own cars. Make our own engines. Cannot go on rebadging cars forever. What are those donley engineers doing at Perodua? Just sit down and peel off the Perodua sticker and stick it on or over a Daihatsu sticker is it?

Memalukan. Spend billions on R & D and over 20 years, cannot see anything.

Even the Ah Beng shop, 3 storey shoplot and import Daihatsu and Toyota Passo cars and rebadge them. No need big factories, no need drama, no need launches with PM, no need glamour of being local made. No need for guessing game also for new car and model. It will still be a rebadged car.

Nothing new. Same old thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Proton is anxious and shaking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • Silthice on May 08, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Kenari?

• Kris Jawa on May 08, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Perodua Axia = 20km per Liter

Proton GSC Iris = 15km per Liter

Dr M said people don’t care about Proton anymore.

Peduli apa sampah Proton, people should take care of own wallet buy fuel efficient car lah!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 25
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 5:45 pm

That’s rite.. save money like me.. enjoy on other stuffs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • VW_xyZzzzzzz on May 08, 2014 at 9:03 pm

u said u own 3 cars by 6k salary only..how much only u can save..? minus houses / good and other utilities

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 9:26 am

Well.. since u fllw me.. I ll tell anyway.. My vios finished loan dy.. my SE 1.3 few months left dy.. Myvi lg best auto.. give to My father in law & wife use.. they bare some costs. . I save as my cars don’t give headache. . & parts don’t cost me a limb.. I continue driving my SE to work.. mostly to finance two houses & stuffs. Hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • motobart on May 09, 2014 at 8:56 pm

You gave comments as if you have 10 cars in stable but myvi or viva? Puih

• victor tan on May 08, 2014 at 7:54 pm

How do you know the actual FC even before the car out? Can you tell me what is the coming 4D number?

• policeman on May 08, 2014 at 10:48 pm

I don’t know what’s coming, but I know what is not going to come out – 0199, 4001, 4401, 0010, and 7101. So don’t buy these numbers.

• policeman on May 08, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Is fuel so expensive?
        I drive Inspira, FC 14L/100KM.
        Petrol finish, I put in more petrol. Apa susah?

Mana mau? 5 star safe car with moderate FC or 3 star car with better FC?

3 star, bila accident, kaki patah or amputate. In the end will it be worth it just to save a few hundred RM a month? 5 star driver will come out, look at you, and say haha cripple!

Kerana minyak, kaki binasa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
  • taknak mengaku konon. hmmmph!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Not your atuk business anyway.. get a life.. or better work..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • TeresaCockCNYClown on May 08, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Your Poh Poh business instead?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 10:15 am

Yeah.. not my poh poh & your nenek business too.. so suka hati lah what name they want to put. Got it? Im just their regular customer.

• Motorbutt on May 09, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Better buy more..wagiwagibest.. they will upgrade u to the special / vip customer..2 aren’t enuff

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Butt sucker.. I would love too. . But my parking full dy.. but looking forward for new car near future.

PS. I ve been using my username since 2006.. never change others. . Cowards like you.. Soo idiot only know modify ppl username like some of you here.

• Motorbutt on May 09, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Full already..? 2 house mah..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 7:10 pm

My 2nd house is my weekend house (no plan to rent it out). . But yes, if I bot a 4th car I ll park my SE there.

• motobart on May 09, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Anyone here can claim having 10 housss, 20 cars but sometimes giving leak of his real life. 2 cars already garage full?

I think you dun have car at all just butthurt seeing others driving 5.0 litre engine car everyday and that’snot his only car!

Work hard kid. Dun act of what you are not. That’s so pathetic

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:18 am

Im not acting idiot.. glad you can be my butt sucker too. This guy question. . So I answer. . That’s it. Who the butthurt? Not me.. im enjoying my life. You? What’s yout problems? Looser? Two motorhead butt suckers. Good.

• motobart on May 10, 2014 at 6:55 am

I dun believe you have those cars, but if you have, keep praying it doesn’t go head to head with 5 star Australian (not ASEAN) NCAP car. Yours only pathetic milo tin which are useless cheap junks as you

• DrWho on May 10, 2014 at 11:00 am

Motorhead. Obviously you & ML are having a mental disorder! Stop all the nonsense stories. Come to me & have a big jab on your butt.

• Jamal on May 08, 2014 at 5:48 pm

lol. obviously kantol already. cannot admit but bulshitting somemore. just say no comment at least it isnt a lie.

• Albert Lee on May 08, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Perodua Ayoyo,Perodua Ace,Perodua Cinta,Perodua Gaya,Perodua Smart,Perodua Gung Ho,Perodua Boleh,Perodua Kao Kao,Perodua Aminar,but please….
    ……..please, CANNOT CALL IT PERODUA POTONG.
    Well,here we go again.Eventho it is a rebadge job,sales will come cos of Daihatsu’s stringent QC.
    Keep it up.MALAYSIA’S MOST SUCCESSFUL REBADGE SPECIALIST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • iluvmyvi on May 08, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Assia better than Axia. Thumbs up if agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • Silthice on May 08, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Axiata?

• Denaihati on May 08, 2014 at 5:43 pm

kancil, viva, axia(unconfirm), axia is good name.
    ‘not the only name submitted’, what others..

• pearjai on May 08, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Erm,make name contest ! 1st price get these new car!

• Motorbutt on May 09, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Anyone don’t dare.. pearjai has started naming it quite sometime ago with his inner buddyz “Motorhead”..his really eager getting this new car..

• Jaffa on May 08, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Perodua Comel

• bisakeris (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 7:37 pm

>apa2 nama saja la.. sure a lot people buy.. dun worry lor..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 7:38 pm

easy biz maa.. just rebadge.

• iskhalifah on May 08, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Doesn’t look cantik or menarik to me from the rear view. Sorry perodua. I think it will be somewhat sized like the Suzuki Alto. The Viva was originally based on old Mira Kei-car footprint, good time to size up their entry model.

• Tiger on May 08, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Who cares?. Just anoter copykat from DieHardSold…P2 only designed the ” upper body”aka the bumpers, lights, grille hahahahaha

• Sam Loo (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Ms Aminah, did you register Perodua Loo?

• pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 3:57 am

Not all people afford inspira like mr policeman use ! What is ur montly mileage anyway ? Close to 5000km to 10000km ? So you claim ur inspira 14l/km100km…that 700litre -1400litre ….not all people afford to feed their 5 star car that rm1400 -rm3000.00 montly with their “own” money ! Not like gov servent that use “jabatan” car with free oil/claim…car that consume 22km/litre to 28 litre means 0.8cent/km will cost 5000km-1000kmmilage
    Rm400 to rm900 (plus rm 100 for “urban)….that means safe cost for rm1000 to rm2100.00…

• pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 4:04 am

Rm1000 -rm2100 fuel save cost = buy land / property / ad more wife /gold….whatever u want la !
    Are u agreed mr motorhead ? Hehehe….

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 10:02 am

Yes, agree.. actually I am in the process add more wives. .. hehe..

• Motorbutt on May 09, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Motorhead = pearjai… were u spoken to urself.. again..?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 2:11 pm

You are using your stinking butt to think again?

• Motorbutt on May 09, 2014 at 3:56 pm

ur mentality is on the equal level..thou.. its kind of hard to swallow that both of u were different people..

• motobart on May 09, 2014 at 9:08 pm

You can save money, but can you replace life/soul?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:20 pm

It is you who keep changing username. . But don’t expect people like you also.. only a few person keep changing names we can see it here.. & hes actually the same person. . But not me.. & I don’t care about attention. . Because I don’t go for your likes.. go to hel with you.. one or two used my name by changing capital letters. . But the real motorhead is bold, rough & hit back hard.. & don’t give a damn with your likes. Yes, I ll call idiots idiot. Especially those who attack me.. friends I ll talk nicely.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:30 am

My safety & soul not of your concern.. who are anyway? You are just the 2nd motorhead butt suckers. . & my identity is very clear to those who hate or like me.. no like u changing names.. cowards.. & you are telling im acting? Look at your pathetic username. . Glad so.many like to be my butt bart or whatsoever.

• Motorbutt on May 10, 2014 at 8:11 am

Motorhead..u’re not an actor but u’re indeed a terrible liar..u’re giving excuses at ur answer..what..2 house..no parking..??save money..buy land..enjoy life..6k pay..talk like u’re getting 60k salary/month.. I believe in real life..u’re just pathetic loser..but came hear..and act cool..calling people idiot..and I believe u’re juz attention seeker..coz nobody pay attention to u in real life

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Believe what you want my butt kisser.. I own what I own.. my life goes on as it does, earn the same salary. . Not like you.. Can’t even ve your own identity. . Hopefully there will be more want to be motorhead’s butt.. & please keep thinking with your butt…

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Believe what you want my butt kisser.. I own what I own.. my life goes on as it does, earn the same salary. . Not like you.. Can’t even ve your own identity. . Hopefully there will be more want to be motorhead’s butt.. & please keep thinking with your butt…

• Motorbutt on May 11, 2014 at 8:11 am

Believe what u wanted to believe..with ur buttbrain.., i’m no motobart.. I’m motorbutt..anyway if u dont really care what people think of u or like or dislike u..u never need to comment at first place..or even if u need to…no need those stupid comment..and ur blindly comment protecting p2 juz made u like their salesmen (if u’re truly dont)..anyway how do u feel when people calls u IDIOT .. u dont bother..? nah..u’ll get angry and attacking..

• Saya adalah isteri Motorhead on May 09, 2014 at 4:22 pm

jangan percaya cakap lelaki ini..dia pendusta!!! mula2 dulu abg kata..x akan duakn saya..sekarang..?? kerana abang..saya terima MYVI sebagai hantaran..kalau sy tau..sy mintak lebih2..

• The rock on May 09, 2014 at 10:22 am

Copy here and that nowadays japan no more idea like to copy korea technology and design. Hyundai i10.

• pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Perodua own by daihatsu own by toyota….the will no rnd just minor ad on from their previous model ! at least these rebadge more practical n have more rv than p1 that use billion n ask for billion more n more ! Why we need p1 if these company make us more suffer ? Let the realmarketplace make the deal ! Actually proton not a bad product n better than any korean made…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 12:25 pm

These perodua axia are form of toyota etios rebadge that sharing toyota yaris chasis ! Erm,660cc (kf-ve) can booking now n they have kf-vet (turbo) that consume 22km/litre..(660cc turbo market price= 2500 to rm3500.00).kf-fe n kf-vet sharing most their part….cvt na version consume almost 30km/litre…dont’t buy their 1.0 litre cos toyota will not their enhance 2013 1kr-fe that they put in 2013 toyota passo….old 1krfe/1krde consume 22km/litre but “enhance” 1kr-fe” use only 27.8 litre ….

• pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 12:52 pm

27.8km/litre !…kf-vet have limited with just 63hp due
    Kei car regulation…some minor (secret)modification will release more power….these 660 beast stock standard tork more than 100nm at lower rpm …can outperform even myvi 1.3 k3-ve at fuel consumption n pickup ! If u raise the boost with proper mod n proton preve turbo eat dust !
    Motorhead u better go songkhla and prepare rm4k including “denda mahkamah” for ur latest “project”…1 day done already n ur two house full already !…

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Mmg kaki kei kar la lu.. just found a shop with some Alza engines in stock to choose.. near my house.. yes.. cost around 4K.. need 3 days to complete. Legal issues.. I ll do it proper registration. Thx for the info.

• bootupjoe on May 09, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Perodua “Kangkung” look more suitable…since Proton already got “Savvy”..both are vegetables. People car mah…

• pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Market price for old used all in the bay for myvi 1.3 (k3-ve) are rm2000 to rm3000…(trde in maybe cheaper).these engine are hunted from kelisa n kenari owner ! Or u just save old engine cos they sharing almost 90% part with alza engine…even the piston have same size ! Etc aircond compressor daihatsu is’t cheap ! ,waterpump,distrubutor,radiator,gearbox,driveshaft,computer box,….old engine should be a sparepart !….back for the tread ! These perodua axia will sold like hot cake !….no need to wait proton gsc lor !

• pearjai on May 10, 2014 at 12:18 pm

I use pearjai username since 2005…..even before i buy 2005 myvi i read these blog with their info from the first myvi debut ! In 2004 p1 is the king but since myvi debut p1 lost hist fang !…. this is the fact n realmarketplace is the deal ! Myvi reach 381800 unit sale in just 5 year debut ….nowday more than 600000 in the road/parking ! There is the war made by proton by their savvy(renault badge) in that time but too clear who died that so soon….tiara(citroen rebadge) is a longgggg story but nowday p1 team upwith honda….gsc will have honda dna..another rebadge ?previous tiara n savvy have paid the lesson…bad reputation make a scar ! Great reputation make the deal !

• pearjai on May 10, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Some people said i ‘m too eager to wait these car ? Uiks ! Actually i’m more eager for hino wu710r or isuzu npr pro (elf)….i’m fan of perodua n other too !
    But not proton or kimchi made…actually perodua have their weakness…their safety spec not superior like their jdm sibling !… the thicknes of viva sheet metal are too tickness…perodua ! Please increase safety k !

• It will be good to have both Proton and Perodua offering hatchbacks. It will more choices among the local cars especially for the ladies. For colour choice and safety, I think Proton wins hands down but Perodua may win on beauty and economy.

• Wah… perodua is very boring

• wan j on Aug 17, 2014 at 10:46 pm

boh la nama sedap sikit yg menunjukkan wajah malaysia

macam la xda nama lain

senang2 ja aku boleh cadang nama perodua jati @ bayu

kalau nk nama ikan, aku cadang nama perodua puyu (4U)

baru la nampak makna skt