Perodua launches new parts centre, lube packaging

Perodua Parts Centre- 1

Perodua officially opened its new parts centre this morning. The new facility, situated within the carmaker’s sprawling Sg Choh headquarters, cost RM28.2 million to build and equip. Perodua chairman Tan Sri Asmat Kamaludin and president/CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh did the honours.

Perodua vehicle parts sales have grown from RM163 million to RM243 million, a 50% increase from 2009 to 2013, and the new centre – 13,800 square metres in size and nearly 44% bigger than the previous warehouse – will improve parts warehouse and logistics operations.

Perodua Parts Centre- 2

“As our new vehicle sales business grows, our parts operations also increase in tandem. To this end, the construction of this new parts centre was announced in 2012 as part of our efforts to improve our after sales business in terms of storage and efficiency,” Aminar explained.

Perodua also took the opportunity to launch a new design for its engine lubricant products, which include engine oil (supplied by Petronas), brake fluid and radiator coolant. Last year, the company sold 5.9 million litres of Perodua Genuine Oil.

Bigger new things are coming from Malaysia’s auto market leader, chiefly a new factory and a new model.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Im not married yet :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Biasalah P1 on May 09, 2014 at 8:15 am

Perodua is very patriotic carmaker. Even the motor oil they get it from Petronas.

Meanwhile penasihat Proton himself let Petron Philippines to kacau Petronas business here. What a traitor! Maybe soon all Proton car service will use Petron motor oil too!

Syabas to Perodua! No wonder rakyat keep support you guys instead of Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 8:52 am

Thumbs up. But someone would say im talking to myself.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 11:21 am

Perodua is a disgrace. So long in the market, still rebadging Toyota and Daihatsu cars. Botak Aminar, please start to design our own cars. Make our own engines. Cannot go on rebadging cars forever. What are those donley engineers doing at Perodua? Just sit down and peel off the Perodua sticker and stick it on or over a Daihatsu sticker is it?

Memalukan. Spend billions on R & D and over 20 years, cannot see anything.

Even the Ah Beng shop, 3 storey shoplot and import Daihatsu and Toyota Passo cars and rebadge them. No need big factories, no need drama, no need launches with PM, no need glamour of being local made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
          • Starting own design & engine and getting the whole of Malaysian population into trouble is even more disgracing.

Ukurla baju sendiri. You like to syok sendiri doesn’t mean other will have to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
          • Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Are you retarded? Who are you to justify rebadge or stuffs is right or wrong? They ve agreements or royalties to pay.. & making profits. Kalau berani scrap la NAP.. I am confident P2 can survive. . Bole jual Passo.. Straight from Japan no need rebadge anymore. . P2 bawa masuk 86 pon I ll buy.. who cares rebadge or not. Pergi mampuih la lu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
          • same looor on May 10, 2014 at 1:23 am

The staff peel sticker but the company can open part centre, sales no 1 for so many years. Build quality reliable every customer don’t mind getting second or third perodua for their family.

Another company said no more rebagde and end up producing fuel hunger engine with low power and loud noise, poor build quality with forever power window problem. The CEO asked why people don’t buy his junk, the ex PM asked for more protection.The company beg here beg there for money. People open part centre to increase part supply but this company has to tour around Malaysia 2013 to clear 2012 stocks in sales carnival. The market actually wish for rebadged accord desperately but they don’t give sh*t and sales so bad, more carnival to come.

Who is winner? Who is loser? You know I know everyone know. Talk east talk west talk kock end up syok sendiri only.

• Pandan on May 09, 2014 at 9:34 am

Perodua sales man kah you?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 10:50 am

Are you from Mars? Or baru keluar from hutan? Im not P2 sales man.. & not interested to be a sales man.. P2 can’t afford to pay my salary now also..

Just ve good memories with P2.. since my first car Kancil.. serve me for years. . & I never stranded on the road.. never.. all of them serve me well.. kereta cari mkn. My girls also never complain. Yg penting abg byk duit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • leoRNado on May 09, 2014 at 9:12 pm

so do I motorhead. owned Kelisa since 2003 and never stranded on the road n never open the door to pay the toll..

• Dead Chicken Kick Pot on May 09, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Patriotic ??? Perodua is a rebadge of Daihatsu. Daihatsu Japan even owns 30% of Perodua Malaysia. Perodua engines and tranny are all Japanese. All your Malaysian money is going to Japanese pocket… I don’t see how is that Patriotic ? Get your facts right

• Kemut Power on May 09, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Perodua got KY Jelly huh? Wow, so good. Want to help the government achieve 1 billion population by 2015!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Meanwhile. . P1 launch nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Biasalah P1 on May 09, 2014 at 8:11 am

It’s because Proton owners no longer bothered to repair change spare parts…sudah fed up and let it rot till loan repayment finish before lelong it at scrap yard…that’s why Proton no need to open new parts centre

• theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 10:07 am

whatever ppl said (lotus handling..can smoke sampan myvi..bla3)..in the end profit matters. let the sales number speaks.

• AVH (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 7:40 pm

I read the title and thought it was NSFW.

• i hope perodua can open a parts centre for public to buy the original parts in klang valley..just like what proton has in glenmarie..sg. choh/rawang is just a bit far..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 08, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Bring in performance parts for Myvi.. lots of demand here.

• policeman on May 08, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Wouldn’t it be cheaper to import the parts directly from Daihatsu?

• leoRNado on May 09, 2014 at 1:40 am

usually imported parts are expensive than parts produce locally.

• Biasalah P1 on May 09, 2014 at 8:17 am

Wouldn’t it be cheaper to service Inspira at Mitsubishi service centre??

• theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 10:09 am

nope..most of the parts already local made. but still can find equivalent same parts from daihatsu slightly expensive and made in japan.

• justdoit on May 09, 2014 at 2:43 am

Heh, “lube packaging” ;)

• pearjai on May 09, 2014 at 2:43 am

Perodua will never bring performance part….avoid warranty….the good news we can buy genuine oil n part ….but the labour cost not so cheap….for person that used 5000km to 10000km permonth should better buy heavy duty oil in bulk etc(caltex delo 400 10/40or 15/40 that come with 18litre…my previous myvi use these oil with 20000km servive interval with toyota oil filter….no need labour for change oil lor…diy ! If u care about warranty not to follow ar !…i dont care about warranty cos daihatsu/perodua part ar so easily source

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 9:10 am

I don’t care about warranty also.. but don’t want engine failures. We need parts support for high performance engines.. if they can offer full set new kits I don’t mind paying. At least I can buy it from the source. P2 ve to consider this for those who wants more from their Peroduas & ve the money to do it.

• theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 10:14 am

they dont have performance department. in fact current daihatsu/toyota lineup equivalent for perodua didnt have any performance parts. and the labour cost not so expensive compared to proton.
      with out hot and humid weather i’ll stick with max 10000km service interval..just cost me less than rm200 every 6mths.

• Untung la P2 … they dont hv to find customer, customer find them!

• Susah la Proton….tarak sales, pegi marah-marah rakyat kenapa tak mau beli Proton…ini macam kah bikin bisnes halau customer!

• azrai on May 09, 2014 at 7:54 am

It’s cheaper to get from halfcut shops. Japan made also.

• perodua service is worst….every 5k km need to change plug that cost rm52? when they check on service book previously not tick on plug, they sure will charge you this time.

Until show the previous bill they just silent; when complaint to perodua and they just ask you send you car to other authorise service center…..malaysia boleh…..beli mahal only concept…

So who send car service, better keep all the bill everytime

• This part I have to agree & disagree. They try hard to keep customer happy. However their workmanship are really bad.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Every 5K change plug?? Haha.. what a joke. If not mistaken. . Since 3 years maintenance services for new cars interval service is now every 10K. Only first service 5K. Anyway you are complaining plugs that cost RM52??.. haha.. lu naik motor aje la mat.. guna satu plug aje.. poor guy..

Or naik bas saje lah.. no need to pay for plugs.. x pon naik bicycles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Anti-Motorhead on May 09, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Perghh sembang mcm dah kaya benor asking other people to ride a motorcycle. Dah rasa bagus sgt lah tu ada 2-3 biji kete. Pooorahhh. Arrogant P2 lover guy detected.

• Low Budget on May 09, 2014 at 12:20 pm

You should always learn a thing or two about the replacement cycle of items such as plugs,filters, lubricants rather than letting the service centers fleecing you. The most guilty of practicing fleecing the customers are the 3rd party Autorized Service Centers and the Road side Ah Chong service centers.
      My experience is sometimes Perodua Service centers are cheaper than roadside Ah Chong.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 1:09 pm

This guy talk kork & load with bullsheet.. new P2 now comes with 3 year maintenance & service. . Parts & labour. . First 1k, 5k the 10k.. 10k so on till 100k. Just bought another Myvi last year.

Unless get screwed by the service ppl end up paying for plugs every 5k.. but sorry to say.. only idiots get screwed this way. Baru pakai kereta kah?

• Spark plugs are not included in the so-called FREE service. Nak tipu pun agak-agak.

• Anti-Motorhead on May 09, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Alah mamat Motorhead ni mmg mcm tu. Pencinta tegar P2. To him P2 has no wrong. Org kaya sembang lah kata kan.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Bangga dpt pengikut. . Lantak kau lah suke ke x.. know your nature dy. . Apa2 pon bole komplen. . Normally yg byk dislike lagi aku suka tgk.

• leoRNado on May 09, 2014 at 9:22 pm

ayoo anti-motorhead.. who said spark plug did not include in the free maintenance & service. all std svc parts include in the maintenance free package except labor cost.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Tipu hotak kamu.. bila last time kamu beli P2? Last year offer 3 years warranty Parts & Labour! Now my new Myvi 1.3 auto at my home town.. service xde kena byr pon? Tgk la lu beli bila. Promotion mana… dulu aku beli thn 2008 xde pon dpt gini.. every 5k tuka plug.. sapa yg kencing kuat?

• LabuLabi on May 10, 2014 at 9:54 am

But cummon la, who changes spark plugs every 5K? Even Perodua cannot do that. Its simply talking nonsense.

• leoRNado on May 09, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Tung, spark plug to be changed every 10k.. y u change every 5k?.. as alternative, u can bring your own spark plug for the services like what i am doing.

• Anonimercz on May 09, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Looks like Perodua is doing very very well as can be seen from the amount of myvis on the road. Myvi club everywhere huhuhuhu.

• was send car service at chan sow lin there. the guy never told need to change what and what to paid. He just mention “Major Service”. Lasttime was change the plug already but perodua forget to ‘tick’ on service book. And this time again charge for plug again.
    My question is they really open the plug and check on the head? or just refer to service book for previous service so that can charge on this time service?

call perodua complaint but they never take any action and just told me nexttime bring car to other service center. For your info my myvi was not come with 3 years warranty.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 7:23 am

You should be grateful not in VW service centre. Find good mechanic & service your car outside if the warranty is over.. ppl tends to make profits.. all of us.. but as consumers we ll ve to think on ourselves.. best for our money.. if don’t know, ask around.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 2:28 am

p2 keje manyak senang.. rebadge saja. but it is ok since we can hv cheaper “japanese” car.

• My concern is when P2 change the plug, there sure open it and can see the condition on the ‘plug head’ rite?
    or they just simple charge customer base on the previous record that on service book only?

When the time i show the previous Invoice, they just silent and re-print the current Invoice only without need to waiting re-unfix the new plug;
    so they really got change to new plug on the car or not?