Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG now available – RM393k

Fahrveranstaltung CLA 45 AMG Edition 1

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has announced that the go-faster Mercedes-Benz CLA 45 AMG, previewed in late March, is now available, with a starting price of RM392,888 on the road without insurance. This is a slightly higher than the RM380k estimated price on the oto.my listing last month, and a premium of RM44,000 over the A 45 AMG on which it is based.

That wad of cash will buy you the limited-run Edition 1, which nets you an AMG Night Package, 19-inch matte black multi-spoke alloys, special red accents on the grille, wheels and door mirrors, matte grey striping along the sides of the car and an “Edition 1” plaque below the gearlever. What we don’t get is the throatier AMG Performance exhaust system that is standard on the Malaysian-spec A 45 AMG.

Fahrveranstaltung CLA 45 AMG Edition 1

As standard, the interior features light aluminium trim, but for an extra RM3,000 you can outfit your car with carbon fibre trim instead, bringing the price up to RM395,888.

Like the A 45, the CLA 45 is powered by a hand-built 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine that produces 355 hp at 6,000 rpm and 450 Nm from 2,250 to 5,000 rpm. Drive is sent to all four wheels (AMG 4MATIC all-wheel drive) via a seven-speed AMG Speedshift dual-clutch transmission. The 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 4.6 seconds, the same as the A 45, while the top speed is electronically-limited to 250 km/h.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• so cheap ? can book already. Thought it was going to be >400k.
    proton/p2 fanboy don’t be jealous ok….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 45
    • PayTollOpenDoor on May 09, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Better buy Preve R3 super duper Limited edition. Far cheaper.

Tuned by Lotus and life time warranty power window. Apa lagi macai mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 26
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Waste of money buying this car brand new. Wait one year, then you can buy it for RM180,000

you see, even the high in demand E250 brand new is RM420,000. Within one year, you can find people selling for RM240k to RM250k. Yes, at that price, you can get a good 2013 E250. That is a drop of RM180,000 in just one year. (RM420k-RM240k)

All BMW and all Mercedes cars usually drop more than 150k in a year.

This car, will drop even further because it is a performance car. If the much in demand E250 can drop in price like RM180k in a year, this car sure to drop more than 200k in just first year alone.

So, why buy now? Wait one year. You will see so many people selling. Somemore, this comes with the ever famous problematic dual clutch (same sins of Ford and VW DSG). All the Datuk and Datin will face many breakdowns and will get fed up with their new toy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 31
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Jealous? ? No lah.. you ve 400k please buy.. I support u.

Bukan senang nak tgk on the road this one.

• CLA is not available in Malaysia yet. It’s a big lie. If you book, you gotta wait 10 months till you get it. How you call this launch or availability? Ridiculous!

• spongewai on May 09, 2014 at 12:59 pm

WAH, SO CHEAP (NOT)

• Jamie on May 09, 2014 at 1:28 pm

I rather buy BMW than this shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
    • Stupid slogans on May 09, 2014 at 1:40 pm

BMW is not joy. BMW is pain. Buy and you will find out

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
      • Razibar on May 09, 2014 at 2:13 pm

What r u talking about?
        I bought bmw 328i m sport sep last year
        and until no problem what. So which bmw
        U bought? Dont just simply write and talk cock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 74
        • W204 C63 AMG on May 09, 2014 at 5:13 pm

This must be your first beemer. Anyway, tiny annoying problems would start to creep out after 3 years. The same with Audi and Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • Razibar on May 09, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Obviously u dont hv money when u buy your
            Continental car. Im driving also volvo s40 2.4i
            And merc c200 compressor.
            Yrs, they breakdown after a few years but get it
            Repaired at SC Lah. Just pay
            If no money, then dont buy these continental
            Cars in the first place. No need to wait after
            1 year because it will still breakdown and
            U hav to repair ir anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
        • Im also driving 328i F30 bro! You’re lucky.. Mine has soo many problems…. Im currently considering to sell it off.. The minor problems I’ve had with this car only appeared in my C class after 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
        • wajarays on May 10, 2014 at 4:45 am

tunggulah tahun kedua dan seterusnya …. if german , ill pick mercedes =)

• arrogant…

• haha bmw~ with only 2 years warranty. compare to mercedes benz which is 4 years.

• BMW – Banyak Makan Wang

• Anonymous on May 09, 2014 at 1:37 pm

I though 0-100 published around 4.6 for A45?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Aha, sorry for the error, it has been corrected (4.6 seconds). Thanks for pointing it out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • cendol (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 2:04 pm

What a beautiful car.
    It would have been more affordable if not for our ridiculously high excise tax duty.
    Loan 7 years, 3 years go to pay tax only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • teamsleepnine on May 09, 2014 at 3:01 pm

im a fanboy…a very big fanboy or mercedes…in fact i own 2 mercedes a w123 and a w220 s280…but this is just unmercedes…rather go for a45..this is like mercedes showing honda type r civic how it should be done…so this pretty much a very expensive honda civic type r…a very very expensive one.
    a45 is just mind blowing though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • hiakhiak on May 09, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Overpriced shit. Rm350 to 380k still acceptable. With this price tag close to RM400, would rather go for E250 or BMW528i. Who would actually buy this and race ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Nice car but quite tight for tall people! I think many wealthy Malaysians will buy this car.

• overpriced shit

• drebarbelon (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 4:13 pm

I wonder why the CLA45AMG is not equipped with the AMG Performance Exhaust??
    Could it be because MBM wants to sell it as an option?? & make more money… OR
    the system not allowed by JPJ??
    It is an Edition 1 after all…right??

• vee-oh on May 09, 2014 at 4:38 pm

If I buy it, I will just peel out the body sticker..so not elegance la the sticker..drive Mercedes also play around with sticker ah

• mana semua org ckp besar vios, city, preve, suprima, fiesta, focus etc yg boleh smoke semua kereta kt alam semesta ni?

• Tell your friends you drive a fast Mercedes they’ll be very impressed, tell them you spent nearly 400k on an A class, they will slap you in the face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • a class and cla is difference. now go slap your own face first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • LOL “Different” They share the exact same platform, exact same interior, exact same exterior. Only difference is that its extended back end and that this PARTICULAR model is AWD. Please talk more i like being entertained by ignorant people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
        • teamsleepnine on May 09, 2014 at 11:53 pm

whoooaaaaaa…tech talk….tech talk……it’s a cla….a cla…not a a class…but a cla…ok!….cla!!!!

• torque on May 10, 2014 at 9:16 am

A 45 AMG also a AWD bro…

• hazamiey on May 09, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Aiyyo why so much more expensive than a45? It underpinn the same architecture. Just add trunk and somehow sport exhaust has been omitted from the spec. Is it really that price or MBM just want to get extra cash? Bcoz judging by how well the a45 sells, this will follow the same as people can get near supercar performance for less than rm400k. So priced it a bit higher it will still sell like cupcakes.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 5:16 pm

pfftt….my vios faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • yzlum on May 10, 2014 at 2:09 am

Someone licking your balls when you are commenting this is it? Vios is one of the slowest car in its class d k? Even Honda city does the century sprint 2 seconds faster than thw God Damm 2 airbag no VSC Vios. Even a hybrid Prius C beats that useless junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Deyy thambi.. commonlah.. I ve a Vios too.. but u are talking kork.. nonsense. Not even the same category.

• kl fella on May 14, 2014 at 11:59 am

my bicycle is also faster than your vios

• bobot on May 09, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Nice car and powerfull engine. I own series 1 and thinking to buy this CLA45 for my second car. Excellent :-)

• AVH (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 6:42 pm

I forsee many would be TT, SLK and Z4 buyers getting this. You know the rich, young, above-ah beng-class . Ones that wheres Polo Tees with blutooth(Galaxy Gear now) transferring ladies to their ‘destinations’ .

Other than that, this honestly is very…..ricey. Its ride uncomfortable, looks in-yer-face and as a 4-door, the rear is no where practical as it is cramp. It is, all intends purpose(and Mercedes fans are loading their gewehre)a german quality and badged Mitsubishi Evo. And for that money, I would put it on a 2nd hand Nissan Skyline GTR (trying to find an R32).

Damn I just pissed so many Mercedes fans. load up the Flaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Mamasan on May 09, 2014 at 7:59 pm

It’s better to buy an apartment than to buy such a small car.

Foreigners would laugh at us Malaysians for paying such ridiculous prices for such cars.

But then again some wouldn’t mind paying just to show off.

• teamsleepnine on May 09, 2014 at 11:55 pm

some people just like cars….of course a lot buy it for the badge…but there’s still few out there that buy it for what it is!

• Hello on May 10, 2014 at 2:49 am

Question is, do you afford to buy this car before you proceed to your following questions as posted.

• some make millions on simple projects…how to blame them?

• macam bentuk nissan almera…yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Lookingaround on May 10, 2014 at 1:42 am

This pricing…. is insane

• bisakeris (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 2:09 am

>>>damn expensive!!!

• Tan Sri Isa punya jiran on May 10, 2014 at 8:38 am

Masih murah kalau dibanding di Zimbabwee dan Congo, syukur lah sikit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • pearjai on May 11, 2014 at 1:23 pm

2.0cc petrol that 450nm with flat curve tork from 2250rpm to 5000rpm….this is a beast ! ?225nm/1000cc n 177.7 hp/1000cc….

• Mohd Nasaruddin on May 12, 2014 at 11:54 am

spend your money wisely. global economy is very bad now and at least for the next 7 years. spend it for you children education and well being. invest wisely. dont be greedy. prepare for future

• feeman on May 13, 2014 at 12:08 am

jep car

• Mahwee on May 17, 2014 at 8:07 pm

My ploda mahwee is higher kelas than this.

• @kzm buda bodo You are blowing a lot of hot air….problematic dual clutch….same as vw and ford????? Get your facts right before blowing all your hot air on the internet for all the world to laugh at you!!! So you are telling the world that Porsche, Ferraris and the likes ALL have dual clutch problems???same as ford and VW???? I just could not resist replying to your TOTAL ignorance of FACTS……

• ahbeng on May 19, 2014 at 10:13 am

Talking rubbish does anybodies upstairs owned a sports car?

• JDMLMAO on May 20, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Better than the rubbish Subaru WRX STI.

• guitar lessons las vegas on Nov 24, 2015 at 4:01 am

Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this web site, and post is in fact fruitful for me, keep up posting such
    content.

• olive oil online on May 05, 2016 at 5:40 pm

There are a quantity of elements which can help establish the top quality of olive oil.