Ford opens 3S centre in Klang, 50 outlets by year end

Ford 3S Centre Klang

Ford, through its distribution partner, Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC), officially opened a new 3S centre in Klang today. Located along Persiaran Raja Muda Musa, the new facility is one of Semangat Anggun Auto’s three Ford dealerships.

The Klang 3S centre has a showroom that is open seven days a week, plus a lounge with free WiFi, TV and other amenities. The adjacent service centre, open six days a week, has three service bays and is equipped with the latest Ford diagnostic tools.

“We continue to further enhance our dealer network and customer service offerings to support the ongoing product-led transformation of our business in Malaysia. This upgraded facility will help support our efforts to provide the very best customer and ownership experience,” said David Westerman, MD of Malaysia and Asia Pacific Emerging Markets, FoMoCo.

With the new addition, the brand now has 47 dealerships nationwide that offer both sales and service, with plans to reach the 50 mark this year. Plenty of new cars from Ford this year too – the just-launched Fiesta 1.0L Ecoboost will be joined by the EcoSport SUV, Fiesta ST hot hatch and the Transit van.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• victor tan on May 09, 2014 at 6:32 pm

lelong lelong, 2013 Fiesta both 1.5 sport or sedan have RM14k discount~

What?! Mau discount lagikah… Please lar… U help me I help U lo…

Above is the actual situation that how bad the sales is for Fiesta 1.5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Good discount. . Unfortunately parts selling at premium. Sesah kaw2.. can confirm with my ford mechanic fren. But if drive decently.. avoid small accidents. . Should be fine. Ford focus very good.

• 3 Months Wait! on May 12, 2014 at 9:46 am

I had a 2013 Ford Focus before. I can tell you one thing, my dual clutch stalled and broke down a few times. And when it stalls, it locks the gear and tires. You are just stuck. I kena in the middle of Federal Highway peak hours. Everybody curse me. Cannot even push the car to emergency lane.

Another big problem about Ford, every single part is a 3 month wait. My front bumper got bang, AutoConnexion took 3 months to replace it. They said must order from Singapore.

For 3 whole months they held my car. For 3 months I had to take bus to work. I got no idea why. Singapore is so close to Malaysia. But Ford Malaysia make it seem like it is in Zimbabwe.

Yes, the car is nice to drive and got real Continental feel. As good as Mercedes. But Buyer Beware lah. You will cry in pain when you line up in the bus stand waiting for the Metrobus and when you pay for parts. It is in BMW region pricing.

My advice, stay away from Ford in Malaysia. Very good car but marred by

1) Super Expensive parts
      2) 3 months wait for anything
      3) Dual Clutch is as bad as DSG
      4) Bad resale value. Buy today 115k, next year want to get 60k also for your car, just be grateful and thankful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Actually. . I had booked focus last time.. but then I took effort to visit the service centre myself. . Ve a chat with supervisor. . Fortunately the guy was honest. . Told me all about the parts issues. . Later I cancelled the booking. . & get my deposit back. I bought a house instead. I believe what u share here.

• Same L0r on May 12, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Sorry to hear of your problem. I have a friend driving a focus too, within a year change clutch, gearbox, steering rack. Riding pleasure is good but very risky on the part reliability.

On the other hand, there is the reason Toyota offering 4 speed auto gear. Yes, it is outdated. But it is reliable, at least you don’t have to line up at bus stop waiting for metro bus.

Nothing is perfect. Technology advance and reliability, which would you go for?

• Steve Kok on May 12, 2014 at 7:36 pm

6 Speed DCT PowerSHIT :)

• Federic on May 09, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Sime Darby, please improve your after sales service and spares. It sucks currently. Also, the Powershift is as bad as DSG, always breaks down. Please stop using dual clutch gearbox in your cars, unless they are reliable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • lonelyobserve on May 09, 2014 at 9:45 pm

If there is no official news press on the improved Powershift gearbox then provide manual or conventional automatic transmission as alternate transmission option. Do not use monopoly way to force people to accept sole transmission for the vehicles.

• How bad is the Powershift? You experience it? You own one faulty Powershift gearbox? Or merely hear say?
      I wonder by making those baseless accusation on the so-called “unrealiable” Powershift could make u feel more comfortable or even feel proud??
      My 2yrs Mondeo mileage has been clocking 30k km & my brother in law 1.5 yrs Fiesta has been recording 35k km, both are still running with zero failure except replacing the new wiper blades (1 yr later)which we got it FOC bcos under warrenty!!
      Yes, Ford Focus does demonstrates some negligible jerks during low speed but it doesn’t happen in Mondeo or Fiesta, anyway, this is the nature of DCT as it is a automated mechanically manual structured gearbox.
      Pls do not equalize Powershift to DSG, there are different and pls do not mislead people with the biased perception.
      DCT is great, once you used to it, u would love it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
      • BrianXYZ on May 10, 2014 at 8:25 pm

@CS, good for you that you had and having great experience with Ford. But that doesn’t mean you have to condemn other comments. You have your opinion and we have ours. At the end of the day, we can judge negative comments vs positives. It looks like the sentiment is more on the negatives now.

• My intention is not to condemn on others’ comments but just hoping to see more owner’s experience shared like Steve Kok at below that could assist others to make their own decision or judgement whether to buy the car.
          However, over here at Paultan, more n more biased & baseless comments without facts thrown out truely annoy and mislead the rest.
          Hopefully, here is a place we could share experience/info, learn form one another, like the comments from AVH, sodonano, Josh Ling……

• Powershift is as bad as DSG. Facebook is full of it.

• Joe salamanca on May 10, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Yes, i own one…. Try to GYMKHANA it… The damn clutch leaking all over the parking lot like a menses..wait till your warranty finished and try to any simple body part and youll be cussing … Why la wei … I dont BUY CAMRY…and… Who is sane to buy MONDEO mA?”?:$&@

• You are comparing Mondeo with Camry??
          It shows how IGNORANCE u are, another idiot here.
          Wasting my time talking to a little boy….go back your school b4 putting a naive comment here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • _xXx_ on May 11, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Why did u need to call other idiot? U meant IGNORANT in ur posting? Go brush up ur English a lil before speaking so loud here…

• Hector on May 11, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Whatever you said…. MONDEO IS IN THE WRONG MARKET… Everything in it is soo inferior for me… The bitterness i believe is due to your attachment to FORD… When my fiesta failed me after the warranty… I thought my world is ending…actually i sold it at a loss and brought ALMERA… Never regret it..

• Steve Kok on May 11, 2014 at 1:45 am

Mondeo is having a wet clutches and hydraulic actuation, totally diff from Fiesta.

Fiesta & Focus is having a Getrag 250 with dry clutches and electric motor/solenoid actuation.
        The main issue is oil leaked from gearbox oilseal that went into the dry clutch bellhouse, this will cause the clutch to slip and shuddering on 1st and 2nd gear.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVJnNPbjjjs

• Sorry to hear your 3 times bad experiences with the clutches replacement due to flywheel oil seal oil leak.
          In term of the 1st & 2nd gear shuddering issue, it really subjective to individual to justify it. I do agree there is still rooms for improvement on the Getrag 250 dry clutch engagement, but again we must aware of this is part of the nature of DCT as it is not conventional torque converter type which could delivered smoother drive but higher power lost.
          I am not sure whether you are still driving the Fiesta, but one thing for sure you would agree with me is that Fiesta is a nice car to drive and drill with, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Buying a car is a learning process where the decision made must be based on what u are expecting to get from a marque you have chosen. One must understand what he is buying, paying so much for a car without knowing it in detail should be something that we have missed out, right?
        Says like if u r expecting a basic car that could last you 10 yrs problem free & low maintenance cost, Toyota or Nissan is the right car for you. But, pls don’t complain on the overprice issue if u r hoping to get complete safety features spec.
        Exploring ourselves to some newer or unknown tech engine/gearbox/safety features certainly will exhilarate us in term of drivability, stabilty and safety, however the realibility might be an unknown factors here.
        That is what I mean by decision making which we can not have all in one hand.
        1)We ought to understand the character of the car we r going choose.
        2)We must plan beforehand on how long we would keep the car.
        3)Warranty period n how the warranty works.
        4)What r the major issue of the chosen car, service center, spare part availability and whether we can bear with it.
        5)What r u expecting to get from the car? Treat it as a commuter from point A to B or expect to enjoy its’ drivability?
        Life is not perfect, same does the car. Do some homework, surely could get a car in your liking as you have prepared for it.
        Hopefully everyone could have a suitable/right car for himself/herself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
        • Motorhead (Member) on May 11, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Yeah2. . We get it.. I hope you happy with your car & happy paying also.. it’s your money anyway. . Thx for sharing..

Besides. . Not easy to see a Mondeo on the road also.. perhaps more people will buy.. no? Yes?

• kin0512 on May 14, 2014 at 11:53 am

yes, how a car drives is important in buying car, but reliability is another huge factor also. No everyone can have spare time, spare car & Spare cash for the unreliability. Dont forget that the monthly instalment still need to be paid!!!

• Kenny on May 02, 2015 at 2:10 pm

@CS, what is the point of your meaningless rant? That it’s buyers beware and if you buy a problematic brand it’s your fault? This may be partially true if you spend RM250K for your luxury car but ordinary middle class wage earners who spend their hard earned money on what they think is a normal family sedan deserves some protection. Are they expected to do extensive research on parts availability, gearbox and transmission problems and SC attitude before they put down their money? All the while they are bombarded with glitzy promotion and sweet promises and it is their fault for being suckers? Who are they expected to believe when honest comments by real owners of real problems are shot down by you as hearsay?

I’m not saying car buyers should just buy blindly but as consumers they have the right to expect that what they buy from an established manufacturer is fit for use. They should not be told it is their fault if their cars break down 3 or 4 times a year and require months to fix each time because they did not do enough research. It is totally beyond their expectation as ordinary consumers that they are buying into a nightmarish ownership experience.

Instead of imposing on the guilty companies to buck up and improve you are condemning honest reviews from owners as hearsay from people who do not own the cars they commented on. How you jump to the conclusion that they are sour grapes spouting fake reviews is beyond me. I assure you the average reader here is not running a car manufacturing business to compete with Ford.

• Low Budget on May 12, 2014 at 10:26 am

It does not mean every Ford car is of bad quality, same goes to our beloved Proton, in general there will be more good ones than the bad ones irrespective of car manufacturers, however those bad ones from the same manufacturer tend to exhibit a certain common problem.

• Low Budget on May 12, 2014 at 10:32 am

Sime Darby sucks big time when dealing with important replacement parts, they don’t seem to stock the parts in their store in Malaysia be it a ‘Mat Salleh’ brand or ‘Korean’ brand under their dealership. Waiting for weeks for parts to arrive is the norm. I already ‘kena’ twice from them.

• soon hiap on May 09, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Solve your DCT dual clutch problems first. Ford’s new motto should be,
    “Always Breakdown with Ford”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • derek on May 09, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Federic, last year I sent my ranger to be serviced, after changing the engine oil this Klang Semangat Aggun branch couldn’t replace my car’s faulty battery. I had to get it replaced at the PJ Ford 3S. S.Aggun did call me 3 days later to inform me that it’s available.

• lonelyobserve on May 09, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Lots of service centres does not equal to good/supreme quality of car services.

• Denaihati on May 09, 2014 at 9:47 pm

goods news for ford owner and it show so many ford car in our road now.

• frustrated on May 10, 2014 at 7:05 am

now another service centre where you can go and get the same ol’ “no parts” / “must wait 3 months” / “let us keep your car for 3 months while we do absolutely nothing while you take the bus” speech.

Sime Darby AutoConnexxion – now pissing you off in Klang!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Talking about parts availability. . If I ask you to buy P2 or japs milo tin next time.. some mindless idiots will become crazy.. & starting become my butt or bart etc..

• frustrated on May 11, 2014 at 6:08 am

i want to reply, but in all honesty i have no freaking idea what you’re saying.

my family has had a wide range of cars thankfully, and just counting from when i got my license, i have dealt with proton, perodua, toyota, honda and mitsubishi.

i think i know what i’m saying when i testify to other paultan readers that i haven’t been treated as badly as SDAC has since i started driving 12 years ago.

hope your “continental” car made in thailand is comfortable to sleep in, when it breaks down you’re gonna have to watch the stars from your windshield on the highway.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Well I don’t ve a conti… driving japs & P2 for decade.. travelling A to B..never give me a fuss,.. I don’t ve time & money to waste. . Spending on others..

Well people can buy what they like.. let them. May be this effort can improve thier after sales service.

• Steve Kok on May 10, 2014 at 1:33 pm

This is what you have to pay if your Fiesta / Focus is having transmission issues after warranty.

The 6 Speed DCT Clutch replacement cost is around RM5000.
    And the Transmission Control Module (TCM) is RM4000.00 excluding labour charge.

Think twice b4 u buy a Ford with DCT. Ford Kuga with conventional automatic transmission is OK .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Thx for the info.. but some of them never mind paying. . As they say japs milo tin ve no class.. let them 10k poorer.. sales girls from Ford need some sales too..

Later they ll say Im a ford sales man..

• Steve Kok on May 10, 2014 at 5:24 pm

My 2010 1st batch Fiesta 1.6. The clutch kit has been replaced 3 times.

1st time at 15,000KM – due to flywheel oilseal leaked.

2nd time at 55,000KM – bad jerking and shuddering. – Replaced clutch.

3rd time at 60,000KM – Car shuddering on 1st & 2nd gear during traffic jam or when the engine is running hot. Replaced the clutch again.

Each time it took 1 to 2 months to order the clutch kit.

If the car is not under warranty, it would cost me RM5000 for the clutch kit excluding the labour.

Parts for Fiesta are not cheap for a RM84K car either.
        Timing belt kit & air-con belt replacement + labour is around RM1400 at SDAC service center.
        Wiper replacement set is around RM170.

It would be a great little car minus the 6 speed DCT issues.
        Great handling and fun to drive.
        Much better than T&H of the same price range.

But think twice before u buy lah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
        • Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Man… still driving it.. or sold dy?

• Steve Kok on May 11, 2014 at 1:14 am

Sold the car after the 3rd clutch fix. Bought at RM84K, Sold at RM55K after 3 years.

Stay away from the 6 Speed DCT PowerSHIT!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • What do you expect from a thai-built gearbox?

They can assemble four-speeders for Toyota, but everything with more than four gears is simply too much for them.

• Joe salamanca on May 10, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Why la… Too late for me now…

• kangkong on May 12, 2014 at 1:04 am

Good try o hear that Kuga is safe from that gearbox issue. Now I can quite comfortable to put my booking.

• Steve Kok on May 12, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Kuga so far no known serious issue with the transmission. Good choice.

But dunno SDAC will keep any spare parts for the Kuga or not?

Think twice lah!

• Albert lee on May 10, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Can anyone enlighten us WHY IS SIME DARBY selling less than 20000 cars annually after being in Malaysia for donkey years?
    What is Datuk Aishah doing?
    Is it true they cant match Toyota,Honda,and Nissan in terms of QC,reliable service centres,pricing,outlets or what else ?Even Datuk Ben Yeoh’s Mazda is improving exponentially.
    Are they having the same rotten mindset like Protong?

• Francis on May 11, 2014 at 1:20 am

New technology not necessary good, many factors to consider such as climate. Taking Vios example, old engine with old outdated 4 speed gearbox but surprising there are not much problem and parts are quite affordable . My friend is driving first generation Vios and she has zero gearbox issue. IMO DCT or Powershift or DSG is not really suitable in hot climate area..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 11, 2014 at 10:07 am

Correct. Further more gear ratio play important role.. if ve suit ratio with the engine, even 4 speed auto is fine.. & if you are talk about 1.5 naturally aspired why u need 6,7 speed? Such little power nothing much to play with. My vios easily hit 180kmp.. so why change? Look at the old city 6 speed.. now 1 step backward to 5 speed. Furthermore. . I can replace the whole of my gear without cost me a limb. This why I chose Vios over city last time. Parts availability & cheap. Same goes with P2. Japs milo tin they say.

• It’s not about how many speed there is, the actual usage of DCT is to reduce energy lost in the torque converters (and improve the FC). Yes, it’s a bit unreliable (by looking at the results) but it’s giving the old torque converters a run for their money. Which is good as the old TC has improved significantly (Mazda skyactive) after DCT is introduced.

Eitherway, it’s good for the consumers as you will be getting a more efficient car.

The old city (has 7 speed actually) has rubberband gearbox (CVT). Not really sure why they went back to TC, AVH might have an answer for that. But guess what, the new city is back to CVT boxes again. :) The new hybrid City will be on DCT. Yippiyayay..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 2:38 pm

I lost count how many old city speed was.. seldom see on the road now.. but one of my fren using last time for three years. . Oneday I met him.. his face was like pale.. I asked what happened? He said his city gearbox got poblem.. & he said want to sell.. I asked why sell not repair. . He said Honda ask 20k for new gearbox.. I can’t verify this.. but this was an actual conversation. Few months later I bought a Vios.

• Steve Kok on May 12, 2014 at 7:42 pm

http://paultan.org/2014/02/11/honda-dct-recall/

• Motorhead (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Sometimes better back to basic.. why classic cars still around? Because they work, simple, reliable & last.

• Right, Vios technology is based on a reliable pre-WW2 design. Why change if there are not much problem?

• Because there’s something call “improving”. Else we’d be all still living in caves.

Yes, breakdowns on new tech is common. It’s seldom to get things right on the first try. They will get it right and the japs will follow suite after (see Honda’s earthdream DCT. :))

• Urban Forest on May 11, 2014 at 7:01 am

Well Done SDAC! I appreciate your Service team who continuously strive to improve.

• Car_fan on May 11, 2014 at 11:58 am

Those living in denial can choose to buy or continue to own cars with dsg or powershift gearboxes, it’s their right, it create jobs in the automotive after sales sector :)

• SAA Msia on May 11, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Car_fan – The problem is, every car company now (including the Japanese) are switching to dual clutch auto. Look at the latest Honda’s, Toyota’s and even Subaru is shifting to dual clutch auto. Mitsubishi and Isuzu will be joining the bandwagon as well.

Only Nissan and Mazda is remaining true to their word, by sticking to their own technologies.

• Chris (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 9:18 am

I don’t get what’s all the fuss is about. Sure sometime DCT is painful because it’s like driving a manual car without manual control over the clutch, making it feel like bad clutch control sometime especially going through tricky situation. I personally don’t like how it chooses gears when I want to overtake/going up hill, and the Sport mode isn’t very intuitive.

But I don’t get all the “DCT will fail very fast/tow truck’s best friend” thing. All the complaints I’ve heard of is online, and nobody around me that actually owns DCT cars complains. Sometime it makes me wonder if it’s those “people with problem complains the loudest” thing that makes issues looks worse than it really is.

That said, personal opinion:
      Manual: Best, but tiring in jam.
      Torque Con.: Don’t like the mushy feeling, I felt sick in automatic transmission cars until I was an adult.
      DCT: Ford one at least, felt like kopi o license shift gear everytime not driving on smooth road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Steve Kok on May 12, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Hi Chris,
        You have mentioned “Sport mode”. I take it as your Fiesta is a new 2013 or 2014 1.5L model.

Hehehehe.. u never kena yet :)

• ThePolygon on May 12, 2014 at 9:54 am

Wah after hearing from the above comments.. I guess I will wait for the manual Fiesta ST. :D

• cendol (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Crony = Not Good.
    Monopoly in any business = Not Good
    No incentive to be competitive, breeds complacency. \
    Laid-back lifestyle,

• ford is good to drive,very enjoy of driving ford car,but bear in mind,sdac provide poor parts replacement service,i had experienced it,so before u buy ford car,think twiece..

• evelyn on May 12, 2014 at 5:22 pm

My fiesta s had its oil seal replaced at 50k mileage. Up to that point it was all jerky. And noisy. Now it has improved by leaps and bounds. Looks like the problem may only be due to one or two simple things, i.e the oil seal which leads to clutch failure. But I had to wait for 3 months. Another 2 of my colleagues with the same car had the exact same problem and experience. I love the car nevertheless and the way it drives. But once the warranty expires I may have to push it off. Sorry ford. You’ve got to try harder.

• my 2012 ford focus is still good to me. so far no problem. i really enjoy driving this car. crusing at 150km/h on the highway feel so smooth. Fc is very good..full tank is usually rm95 and if i drive from bangi to Jb, maintaining at 130km the fuel meter will end at the middle. focus is a good car.

• Working Lad on Oct 22, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Guys,
    i was just about to place my order for the Fiesta 1.5L~ Should i steer away from it & go for a Honda City? i know that there good deals for Fiesta but i’m more worried about the maintenance cost~ Help me~~~

• Amazed at SDAC on May 02, 2015 at 3:24 pm

I can’t imagine why owners have to wait 3 months for parts. In the first place how can you run a car business and refuse to stock up on spare parts? In the second place it doesn’t take 3 months to transport parts from anywhere in the world.

• Buyers Beware on May 03, 2015 at 8:29 am

It does not take 3 months for parts to arrive. Most of the time is wasted in administrative paperwork but it still should not take 3 months. I assume SDAC has no motivation to speed up the process or they will be replacing more frequently during the warranty period. They are basically selling defective cars and they know it. The customers’ suffering in losing the use of their cars is none of their business.