New Peugeot 508 leaked, sitting on EMP2 platform?

peugeot-508-2015-leak

This solitary image is making the rounds in cyberspace, allegedly of the 2015 Peugeot 508. According to CarNewsChina, the new D-segment sedan will be based on PSA’s modular EMP2 platform, which already underpins the new 308, 408, C4 Picasso and Grand C4 Picasso.

The Chinese publication also reports that the 2015 Peugeot 508 could receive its global debut in the fourth quarter this year, before showing up at Auto Shanghai in almost exactly a year from now. Production should take place in China (under Dongfeng-PSA) and France.

You’ll recognise Peugeot’s current corporate face – the rather conservatively-shaped chrome grille with ‘PEUGEOT’ lettering, and headlamps with ‘incisions’ at the bottom; these you’ve seen even on the 208, 2008, 3008 facelift and 5008 facelift.

But of the new ’08’ crop of Pugs (current 508 aside), only the 408 and the vehicle pictured above place their Lion badges within the grille; the others place them on the bonnet. Maybe it’s going to be a sedan thing – even the four-door Exalt Concept puts its lion in a cage.

According to CarNewsChina, a new 1.8 litre turbo engine, in 200 and 240 hp states of tune, could join a 1.6 litre THP 163 unit in the powerplant menu.

Current-gen Malaysian-market Peugeot 508 GT 2.2 HDi FAP

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Arun 12b on May 09, 2014 at 10:33 am

Waiting for this news soo long. Faster come to malaysia ☺:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Vader on May 09, 2014 at 10:39 am

Looks like the whole car range get up to date for the family face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Hak Tanah on May 09, 2014 at 10:58 am

Still a lousy car with lots of problems and expensive spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 64
    • theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 12:15 pm

really? so far no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 29
    • Hisham 508 on May 09, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Agreed. I own the current 508. Its the first time I have spent almost RM500 on a car battery alone, as the Naza man said I cannot use standard batteries. Wtf?

The electronics of the car in the central unit always hangs. Have to get them rebooted very often. The engine management system is so complex, normal service centers refuse to repair or service them. So I end up going to Naza, that charges a premium ( about double market rate) to get them fixed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
      • theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 3:34 pm

yep cant use standard battery..but can always buy from outside instead of naza. still cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • fantasy1989 on May 10, 2014 at 12:15 am

battery u can get it outside ..but very rare ..mostly need to pre-order

for your electronics central unit ..if u are playing usb music and it hang , try to change other thumbdrive and format it as fat32 (my 508 have this problem but it solved once i change other pendrive. Probably due to bad sector of that thumbdrive)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • The Power Of Kentut on May 11, 2014 at 10:19 am

I tell you why you are going t regret buying Peugeot.

1. Parts are VERY expensive and not easily available at any outside parts shop, except at Naza, because they monopolise parts.

2. The maintenance of Peugeot cars are expensive, unless you benefit from their first 3 years Free service. However, even that is not entirely free as you will still have to pay for change of parts.

3. Naza is a monopolistic company that does not want to allow other parts companies to carry Peugeot parts. As a result, when your cars has a problem, you will be turned down by mechanics and you will have no choice but to go to Naza. This is when Naza vultures will fleece you with RM 500 batteries and RM 2500 discs etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
        • lowprofile on May 18, 2014 at 1:20 am

if you can’t afford the maintenance, you’re better off buying something that is at your level of affordability. yes peugeot’s parts are not cheap but neither are other brands as well if you care to research and see for yourself instead of listen to hearsay. my advice, ‘cut your clothes according to your cloth’ and you won’t be complaining. remember, if you must complain, you can’t afford it.

• iluvpiuje on May 09, 2014 at 11:32 am

Question is how many ppl are actually buying those cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Jaybond on May 09, 2014 at 11:36 am

What was Peugeot thinking? This supposedly 508 replacement looks quite horrible compared to current one. There’s too much blackened portion at the front end and the headlamp design is not that good either. Gone are the pure, simple and elegant lines of the current 508! This could potentially turn off Peugeot fans out there!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 11:39 am

Peugeot cars are so low in quality that even Europeans look down upon them. But in Malaysia, pariah Naza tries to market it as luxury

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 67
    • but i wonder why their 308 model can win awards when the brand itself is low quality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 12:15 pm

define luxury pls. the price is more or less honda/toyota with much more safety kit. u consider camry n accord as luxury?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Hyundai De.La.Junk on May 09, 2014 at 2:20 pm

So many parNAZA salesman here, no wonder when someone post the truth about parNAZA alway get thumb down…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
      • lowprofile on May 09, 2014 at 4:34 pm

and many competitor sales persons too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Jaguh on May 10, 2014 at 9:28 am

Notice that NAZA looks and sounds like NAZI. They even behave the same with their customers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • your statement is invalid. even the new peugeot 308 is voted as The European Car Of The Year 2014!
      http://paultan.org/2014/03/04/new-peugeot-308-2014-european-car-year/

• Hyundai De.La.Junk on May 09, 2014 at 11:45 am

Peugeot Lancer or Peugeot Inspira ? lol,,, :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
  • Joker on May 09, 2014 at 12:21 pm

yeah it’s on EMP2 platform but how bout the engine unit??
    The new hybrid turbo diesel???

• xcarpathia on May 09, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Hmn….im driving a 508 now and maybe im used to the looks of the current looks. cant tell much from just that one screenshot of the new 508FL.

Oh to the guy saying that malaysian are buying into peugeot thinking its a luxury car……we aren’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • This brand is screwed for after sales service and spare parts. Great car to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 25
    • Pontiac on May 09, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Yeah. I will only buy if they have free services with 5 years unlimited warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • rchoo on May 09, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I bought Peugeot because it is Value For Money lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
    • Value Low on May 10, 2014 at 9:26 am

Value for who’s money? Yours or your Naza service centre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
      • rchoo on May 12, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Of course it is mine lah, u think i will use my RM 170K money to safeguard somebody else interest?

Immature you r really of NO Value.

• powershot on May 09, 2014 at 4:50 pm

European camry without the reliability of one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • what abt safety? got only 2 airbags for camry & accord? hahaha XD

• x-city on May 09, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Need more pic

• Anonimercz on May 09, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Lol my neighbour has this car and i can hear the aircond whoozing from 30 feet away. Not sure if Myvi or 508. What i heard is spare parts is expensive and 1.6 turbo pushing a big sedan? that’s stressing the engine. Fact is fact. Peugeot can fix this or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • Peugeot 508 on May 09, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Test drive the Peugeot 508 1.6 Turbo first then talk, it won’t lose out to Camry 2.5 or Accord 2.4. I have a Peugeot 508 and I like it, maintenance wise it’s every 10k km, maybe at the end the service is a little bit more expensive than an Accord or Camry (2x 5000km service) but if you can fork out 160k-170k for a car I doubt this is an issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
      • rchoo on May 10, 2014 at 12:55 am

Not only it won’t lose to Camry 2.5 and Accord 2.4, in fact it beats them both in power and torque from low to mid RPM (which applies even to highway use). I bear witness as I travel every weekly between KL and Ipoh.
        Road holding is superb with its 235/45 R18 tyre which comes standard, you will feel the exhilaration when doing high speed cornering, extremely firm and steady.
        Internal design and material is on par with entry level E series and Lexus ES 250. Features are superb.
        For a 170K car, what more can u ask? It is worth every penny, definitely better than the cheap plastic in Accord and Camry loh and on top of that with lots more features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
        • 508 Owner on May 10, 2014 at 9:24 am

Yes, you are right. It has Lexus and BMW cost of ownership. What it doesn’t have is their level of quality. Being realistic, the 508 is more in the league of the Camry and Accord.

• engine and handling i agree with you.. but common la brother, interior quality where can on par with E250..

• rchoo on May 12, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Lexus ES250 internal quality is not great and features r not any better in comparison to the 508, in fact any buyer of ES 250 i would consider them as ppl who does not do much study at all before embarking on this decision making. ES has one feature that 508 does not have which is the memory seat (but the 508 has lumber and also temperature seat, more than enough), furthermore 508 has HUD which ES 250 does not have and ES 250 is price at a slaughtering price of RM 260K (against 508 of 170K), oh, by the way, ES 250 only has 17″ wheel n 508 has 18″ wheel lah. So, u comment is heavily lop sided an dhas no merits.

• Smart on May 09, 2014 at 6:52 pm

This is not the replacement for 508 if I am not mistaken this is replacement for 408 or it could be 308 sedan

• Suren on May 09, 2014 at 6:54 pm

This is not the replacement for 508 , this is the replacement for 408 or it could simply be 308 sedan

• my colleague also hv this car.. VERY satisfied, give no problem at all, fuel saving, superb long distance car… but service a little expensive..

• Suren on May 09, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Around how much is the service price ?? My honda civic one time service rm700 to rm1000

• Suren : if you can fork out 160k-170k for a car I doubt this is an issue.. you are poorfag only drive honda & toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • it cost me between 450-600 for every 10.000 km services.
        the 60,000 km is the most expensive one(2,300) coz change of ATF(fully synthetic) for Aisin 6 speeds transmission.
        driving the 5008 for 3 years daily to work and no major issue so far

• steve on May 10, 2014 at 12:42 am

whatever it is..its still better than taking local brand logo put on japanese car and claim our “luxury VIP car” luxury or misery

• Autoexpert on May 10, 2014 at 2:09 am

There are bunch of irresponsible idiots making false comments regarding reliability of Peugeot cars and cost of spare parts. I own both a P407 & Honda Insight. As far as reliability is concerned, I’m very impressed with my P407 to-date & on par with my previous owned Toyotas & Nissans, if not better. If you think Peugeot spare parts are expensive, you should check out Hondas’, stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
  • TERRIble on May 10, 2014 at 9:36 am

How can you call yourself an auto expert, when you say that spare parts of Peugeot’s are cheap? You are definitely lying. I own a 308 Turbo and I can promise you that the parts are more expensive than my Honda CRV. Sometimes even double the price. Anyone who does not believe me can go down to any Peugeot dealer and check the price of brake disc, pads, wheels, tyres, batteries, pistons, ECUs etc and you will see that the Peugeot’s parts are sometimes from 2 to 3 times higher than an average D segment Japanese car. I rest my case!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
  • Murderer on May 10, 2014 at 8:07 pm

I like Peugeot very much especially the 508. Personally I think Peugeot better than a lot of Japanese cars but the service center is the worst among all car brands in Malaysia.

1. They’ll con you into changing parts especially when your warranty period just over.

2. When you set the appointment even you have the booking number they can claim you didn’t make any appointment at all.

3. When you want to make a complain to a senior staff there and then…good luck he/she can never be found.

Tempting to buy this new 508 but because of the after service…NO THANK U!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6