Peugeot Malaysia teases new model – 5008 facelift

peugeot-fb-teaser

Peugeot Malaysia has just posted a teaser on its Facebook page, showing a headlamp with the caption: “Something new is coming to town. Peugeot fans, stay tuned!”

The headlamp in question looks pretty similar to the one found on the just-launched Peugeot 3008 Facelift (see our full report and live showroom gallery of the crossover) at first glance, but since that car is already out, our attention turned to the Peugeot 5008 Facelift, whcih has been spotted roaming the city.

Peugeot-5008-Spyshot

First seen last year, the 5008 MPV gets a facelift similar in style to the 3008, bringing the duo in-line with the current family look pioneered by the current 508. The new mug sports a large grille with the “Peugeot” script on the top border, plus long and sharp claw-like headlamp clusters.

The 5008 was launched in Malaysia at KLIMS 2010. It is powered by a 1.6 litre THP twin-scroll turbocharged direct-injection engine with 156 hp and 240 Nm of torque, mated to a six-speed automatic transmission. The seven-seater currently retails for RM159,888 OTR with insurance.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tawil on May 09, 2014 at 2:30 pm

I hope peugeot malaysia can offer FAP engine too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Europeans laugh at Peugeot. Anything cars from France are a joke to most Europeans. Most Europeans only respect British and German makes. Even Italian Fiat commands more respect.

In Britain, people laugh when you drive a Peugeot.

Here in Malaysia, corrupted Naza wants you to think it is a luxury car with so much of respect by people. Jeremy Clarkson also say French are only good at making baguettes and bread, dont indulge in cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 76
      • zeek (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 5:51 pm

what on earth are you on about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
        • kadajawe on May 09, 2014 at 8:20 pm

If you’re okay with your gear box getting kaput after some revs, your engine masuk carbon frequently and go in to kilang for weeks every time, extremely expensive maintenance fees, then go ahead and get a peugeot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
          • I’ve owned one for 6 years now and I don’t seem to have any problems. Stop living in the past

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
      • x-city on May 09, 2014 at 5:52 pm

We are not in europe right….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
      • Datuk on May 09, 2014 at 6:54 pm

There’s some fact to his arguments. That’s why Peugeot HQ is bankrupt and if they don’t receive the Dongfeng China bailout soon, we might not see many new models and limited availability of spares in the future. So anything Naza tells you that the brand is doing well around the world, is total nonsense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 13
        • EnergyAnalyst on May 11, 2014 at 8:50 am

Peugeot is not the only car maker that has faced bankruptcy risk and only rescued with government aid/bail out or even investment from other car maker. Go read up about how Renault has rescued Nissan,Chrysler rescued by Fiat, GM and VW both needed the aid of their respective Uncle SAM government and German government too at a few occassions . and then our own Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
          • Higher Authority on May 12, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Energy Analyst – So thats means you are admitting that Peugeot is facing bankruptcy RISK?

All the car companies you mentioned are now doing well, with the exception of GM and Chrysler. But, nobody knows whats going to happen to Peugeot after DongFeng comes aboard, as there are already tensions between the family that owns Peugeot shares, the French government and DongFeng, even before any purchase is done. Remember, this is a unique scenario as after the so called purchase, the family, the French Government and DongFeng will be holding equal shares. Thats not a very good situation for a car company, especially when critical decision making needs to be done. I guess thats why the earlier writer voiced his concern about Peugeot’s bankruptcy proceedings.

• EnergyAnalyst on May 13, 2014 at 7:30 am

Go read about ‘ too big to fail. ‘

Why do you think US government repeatedly rescue GM and the rest of Detroit 3.? Why do you think Germany has Volkswagen Law?
            How did Fiat and the Renault end up buying / investing in Chrysler / Nissan? Why Hyundai end up buying Kia? Or even Peugeot end up buying Citroen?

• Jeremy clarkson is the last person in the world to resort to for car reviews, he reviews cars completely based on his opinion, if its german/british its 10/10. if its everything else its rubbish.
        If you take your motoring facts from him, all i can say is everything you just said and are going to say is completely INVALID.
        And also if the brits laugh about peugeot, then why are they one of peugeot’s MAIN market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
      • Ahmad on May 09, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Brits always bias especially about their economy activities, such as cars.

Don’t forget that Bugatti is from French

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
        • simon lee on May 09, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Bugatti is French by name only. Underneath, it is plain Audi and Lambo (German and Italian)

• 5008 viewer on May 09, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Just wonder what car you are driving, proton preve?

• bisakeris (Member) on May 09, 2014 at 9:31 pm

LOL! obviously u r katak bwh tempurung! LOL!

• iamtheone on May 11, 2014 at 4:18 pm

hi, may i know do you own a peugeot? if not please be silent and back to your stone age car.

• theanswer on May 09, 2014 at 4:19 pm

508 got. hopefully new 308 will get one too.

• look similar like exora

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • Vader on May 09, 2014 at 3:42 pm

No offense to exora, but definitely this car is not look alike the exora for any view angle too.. except both got 4 wheels..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • 3rd seat row Exora is more spacious. Not to mentionnes books and mineral water compartments on left and right.

Eventhough 5008 has more powerful engine, Exora turbo has more than enough torque.

• Macai fanboi on May 09, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Support Proton lah. Buy Exora. If not penasihat marah-marah rakyat lagi. Huhuhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
  • Dear all potential Peugeot & Citroen future buyer,
    please visit the french car junk yard at
    Tmn Perusahaan Ringan Pulai,near Taman Anggerik Johor. Dumping is the only solution since the service & spare parts are hopeless.Let me know your view after seeing these 6 to 10 years old junk at that yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
    • Goh Henry on May 10, 2014 at 9:10 am

True la Joey. If you buy any French car, be prepared for high cost of parts and spares because of lack of economies of scale to produce the parts in this part of the world. As a result, you have a car which is very expensive to maintain and mechanics refuse to repair them.

As a comparison, the Germans are smarter. They develop their parts and service chains with the local mechanics and parts companies first before expanding their network in Asia. Thats why Mercedes spares and batteries are as cheap as Honda’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Ah just let them.. few people ve money & time to waste..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Denaihati on May 09, 2014 at 4:58 pm

very interesting on the passenger seat, middle, even front row can be fold completely, not many MPV have this feature. huge of space for big and long luggage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 10, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I support ppl buy Peugeot. Go ahead. Try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • rchoo on May 12, 2014 at 8:26 am

I support too as it is a car “VALUE FOR MONEY” especially the 508 and the upcoming 308.

• is RM36,999 in mudah on today.