ASEAN NCAP Phase III – what does Proton think?

SONY DSC

Shortly after the announcement of the ASEAN NCAP Phase III results, we sat down with Proton manufacturing and production COO, Khairudin Datuk Haji Yusoff, to discuss the local car company’s performance, and what he thinks of the way cars are being tested and rated.

As it happens, Khairudin was pleased with the performance of the Preve, which bagged a five-star rating and the second-highest score for adult occupant protection in frontal collisions (company officials were quick to point out that the Preve’s score is the highest in the C segment so far). He does, however, concede that the car’s child occupant protection, for which it scored a less-than-stellar three stars, could be better.

“Improvements are always welcome, and we plan to make them in future tests,” said Khairudin.

Khairudin had a few things to say about the programme’s testing and rating system – he feels that the inclusion of side impact scores into the main rating should be brought forward (the current roadmap targets a 2016 implementation), as there is currently no distinction between a car with good side impact protection and one without.

ASEAN NCAP P-3 Proton Preve-2

“Safety is very important and customers should know which car is safe and which is not,” said Khairudin. “ANCAP (the Australasian New Car Assessment Programme) differs [from ASEAN NCAP] as it takes everything into account, and we got five stars for that, so there is no issue for us.”

Khairudin also talked about the differences between assessment programmes throughout the world, and how that may confuse some customers.

“For ANCAP, you need a minimum of 12.5 points to achieve a five-star safety rating, but for ASEAN NCAP you need at least 14. However, ASEAN NCAP does not have a side impact score, just a pass or fail rating, so there are no [side impact] points incorporated into main rating. This is why the frontal impact requirements are more stringent [for ASEAN NCAP].”

“To improve the car’s rating [in ANCAP] it must have side and curtain airbags. ANCAP also has a pole test awarding an additional two points so that is another thing that we must consider as well.”

SONY DSC

Accidents featured in the papers involving the Preve, one of which crashed into a three-tonne lorry, were also brought up “[Some of the reports] showed the engine separated from the car, and people did not understand it, but it was actually designed that way [to minimise intrusion into the cabin],” said Khairudin.

“The occupants were safe. The body shells [of our cars] are very strong, and that also protected the occupants.”

In response to those who questioned the rating, Khairudin assured us that Proton has only one body specification for the Preve, and that it did not tweak the cars sent for testing to achieve a good rating. He also said that while the current testing and rating system can be improved, the fact that the safety of cars in the ASEAN region are being assessed at all should still be commended, and he hopes it will result in safer cars offered to the local public.

“I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 295 Thumb down 729
    • victor tan on May 13, 2014 at 7:11 pm

wow, why are there so many thumb down for this comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Smell something fishy? Pengundi hantu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • Saya Anak Datuk! on May 14, 2014 at 7:58 am

The COO cannot even get his name right, he wants to run a company?

His real name as per IC is is probably Khairudin Bin Yusof. How can there be Khairuddin Bin “Datuk” Yusof?

Once, people running GLCs and Proton get over facts like this and stop wanting to show their pangkat or status, then our GLCs, especially Proton, will prosper.

What is worse is one does not even have a pangkat but lives off the pangkat of their fathers and want to show it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 47
        • Judge on May 14, 2014 at 10:37 am

Irrelevant!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • Same L0r on May 14, 2014 at 11:36 am

Big – Exora
            Cheap – Saga
            Safety – Preve
            Handling – Satria
            Rebagde – Inspira
            Comfort – any??
            Build quality – any??
            Fuel saving – None
            Resale Value – None

Overall Satisfied – NONE

This is the first impression of Proton cars in different requirements. When it comes to overall satisfaction, none of the models meet the requirement. So stop asking why Malaysian don’t buy Proton cars.

Proton has way too many areas to improve in order to SURVIVE. So stop sendiri cakap, sendiri syok.

What is the point of having a 5 star safety car while the parts keep on break down here and there?

No need argue emotionally, everything on fact. Go check out the Preve owner self developed new car QC (https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=3655073) and see how many areas for possible defects on new Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 29
          • Toyota has massive recalls all over the world, it is far worse than Proton.

• Same L0r on May 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

When Proton recall their cars in Malaysia, you can call it “Proton has massive recall in the world” too! Malaysia market is the world for Proton. Who else using Proton in the world out of Malaysia?? lol

And then, you never do body check up, never go hospital doesn’t mean you won’t get cancer.

No recall = good build quality??

Don’t be naive, hahahahaha…

• Awak Anak Pungut Datuk! on May 14, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Amenda lu melalut ni?

• YaakobMous on May 16, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Biasalah. When something good is going on nobody seems to give their support. When someone hits the red button, everyone wants a piece of it. Haters gonna hate.

• Jaguh Kangkung on May 14, 2014 at 8:50 am

“Way to go Proton”

“Good move by Proton”

“Terbaikk lah Proton”

OK, now Proton go sell Preve, Suprima to USA market lah.

Proven global quality, apa mau takut sell it there??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 18
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:04 am

You do realize that it takes more than a good car to get decent sales, right? They’d have to invest massively into a dealership network, service centers, spare parts need to be there, mechanics trained, …

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 172
    • magpie on May 12, 2014 at 9:23 pm

You should take pelampung and tampal all around yur car. Instant airbag, looks nicer, chick magnet. Believe me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 4
      • Saya Anak Datuk! on May 14, 2014 at 8:25 am

Most deaths in Malaysia, the past 30 years is because of Proton. Proton only introduced airbags recently, couple of years now. Before this, they resisted putting airbags because in their eyes, Malaysian lives are shit and not important.

International community legislated airbags being compulsory about 20 years ago. But in Malaysia, even after being proven that airbags save lives, Proton resisted. “We do whatever we want” attitude because they were King. Mahathir also was God and God was backing Proton. So, nothing to be scared.

Even after Honda, Toyota and Nisssan put just 2 airbags in the cars, Proton still resisted. For more than 10 years they resisted. Don’t care attitude.

In the meantime, hundreds of thousands of people died. From inception in 1984 to now 2014, Proton has killed about 1 million lives because they wanted to save on cost and make more untung.

It is proven that airbags really save lives. Can Proton still live with a conscience knwoing they have killed at least 1 million people in Malaysia ALL because they wanted to make untung lebih?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 107
        • Judge on May 14, 2014 at 10:39 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 228
          • MrAnonymous on May 14, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Bro dia kate MOST (Kebanyakkan) bukan ALL (Semua). Kalo tak faham bahasa takyah komen le. Leave the late Yang Berhormat Karpal Singh out of this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 71
          • o0o Judge on May 14, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Please show some respect! He has nothing to do with Proton. If you don’t even understand what ‘respect’ is, go and stand in the middle of the road and get hit by a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 72
          • Judge on May 14, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Sebab MOST lah aku tanya. Kalau ALL aku taulah. Salah ke bertanya? Kalau kau tak faham bahasa orang putih, jgn menyampuk, nanti nampak pulak kau yg bengap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 155
          • Judge Bodoh on May 14, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Judge, you are a badly brought up child. Learn to respect the demised. If you cannot understand English, let me tell you, you are kurang ajar.

Bodoh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
          • Bodoh punya Judge on May 14, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Hello si bodoh! Hormat la orang sikit! Mana awak punya otak? Tak tau hormat orang ka? Dan kalau tak tau cakap English, pi sembahyang! Jangan buat malu di sini! Pi sembahyang sekarang!

• Judge on May 14, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Tak sangka pulak ramai yg menyampuk. Ni mesti geng sebengap MrA ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 34
          • YaakobMous on May 16, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Maybe you might wanna reconsider your statement, this time maybe with a little bit of respect for the dead.

• LLLee on May 14, 2014 at 3:09 pm

1 million? Those died in Protons in Iraq coz of car bomb also counted?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
        • kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:06 am

And what about Toyota? Still insisting on 2 airbags. Or Nissan not long ago launching a 1 airbag car. And Toyota Malaysia insisting that stability control isn’t important, and customers don’t need it (despite saving more lives than airbags).

• squall_shinoda on May 13, 2014 at 9:15 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 247
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 4:19 pm

They ll complaint on anything anyway. . Typical mind set.. want best.. well equipped. . & cheap.. kids are like that.. want this, want that.. duit xde.. so barking aroundlah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
        • OsmanBaku on May 14, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Kamu ni macam ludah ke langit je.

• USDfan on May 14, 2014 at 5:40 pm

tu la ko…typical malaysian…manusia bijak mesti mahu barang terbaik dengan harga paling murah…sebab tu ko asik kene tipu…dumb!!

• USDfan on May 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

tu la ko…typical malaysian…manusia bijak mesti mahu barang terbaik dengan harga paling murah…sebab tu ko asik kene tipu…dumb!!

• Kamarulzaman on May 12, 2014 at 6:44 pm

I doubt the statement that the powertrain is designed to decouple from the body structure in the event of serious accident! The powertrain is designed to either “move underneath” the platform

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 70
  • “I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised.”
    You said this yourself, but why only six airbags?
    Hey! Please don’t remove my comment, just let people comment and share their ideas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 88
    • Subframe on May 12, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 182
    • Obviously (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 8:35 pm

No one deleted your comment. It takes the admins of this site some time for your comment to be approved and made visible. Grats on double posting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Bathers in 3, 2,1…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Kamarulzaman on May 12, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Or “move sideways” to defray the forces. Imagine what would happen if the powertrain decouple from the vehicle. What a missile it would become.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Obviously (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Do a bit of searching around on the Internetz and you do come across incidents where cars from other car companies have their engines decoupled from the car in the event of a horrendous crash.

Gasp! Missiles!

Yes, they do become missiles. One of the engine blocks hit another car as it left its home but no one was seriously hurt (even though the crash was very bad) and, in most cases observed, the engine didn’t end up hitting stuff.

However, if the engine didn’t come out, it would have become a battering ram, instead. A battering ram that breaks into its car’s cabin and mows down the driver and the front passenger (because engines aren’t designed to crumple, duh).

So, rest assured and don’t doubt this design. It’s not unique to Proton. Whatever car you drive now most probably has a similar crumple zone design.

Example article:
      http://www.telegram.com/article/20121113/NEWS/121119867/1246

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
      • 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2014 at 1:09 pm

It’s one thing to have the engine ejected during a crash unintendently than for some idiotic loudmouth spokesman to officially claim that this is a design feature.

Imagine if a pedestrian was struck by a flying engine. I would sue proton (rightly or wrongly) on grounds that the car endangers pedestrians because flying engines are an intended “designed feature.”

If proton have designed flying engines, I hope they have the right mind to also include in engine tethers like what Racing cars do with wheels. While fortunately we Malaysians don’t live in a litigatious society, I can say the same for some of its export market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
        • Kawan, enjin mana boleh terbang…carpet terbang ado la..siap dgn kelapa buat signal light…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Pedestrians really shouldn’t be walking along roads where it is possible to have the kind of crash that can bust an engine out of the engine bay (usually highways, unless someone’s drunk at night). And if said crash happens in the middle of town, that driver should be arrested for that kind of speed in a pedestrian zone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • victor tan on May 13, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Agree, this is the best answer to those ppl who likes to question about “flying engine”.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:08 am

It happens intentionally. Subaru for example advertises with that feature.

• AVH (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 6:48 pm

GOOD! A rational thinking, safetyy caring folks of Malaysia should take the Preve or maybe even the Exora into consideration if they ever are in the market.

Just not the other stuff that Proton makes, you are better off in an Picanto than an ABS-less Saga or better off in a Rio/Attrage than a ABS-less Persona you are better off in a City than a VSM-less Inspira.

Okay, now that that Proton worshippers have all disliked in unison, let me just state that Proton’s move is none the less a good cause for the public, there is no doubt that they are thinking on behalf of those that neglect safety? As for child safety, maybe is because of the fact the dash is place rather high of the passenger seats…..seriously, the visibility forward of the Suprima I tried wasn’t impressive, same problem with the new City when compared to the last one. I like the fact that they are also.

The engine torn off isn’t a new thing either, I remembered both Lavina and X-trail did encounter similar problem(and the one with the Lavina was tragic, pessenger didn’t buckle and experience fatality due to airbag non-deployment). I thinnk what I like most is that the statement did show a more competitive side of Proton that I didn’t know of, in no way did the article mention any words in line to “you must buy Proton cars cause you are mindless nationalistic [insert foul word] without a will” which I felt from both Mr Chairman(still dont remember his name) and Dr M. Do I still give my undeniable support to them? The Preve and Suprima still isn’t that startling success Proton has gambled, so no, but that dosen’t mean never.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 7:37 pm

I dont understand la..the test show dummy baby n kid are at the back..high dash?..wat i see from video due too much movement of dummy baby n kid when impact

• AVH (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 9:09 pm

My humble apology ,I was always under the assumption that the child replaces the usual passenger crash test dummy in the euro-NCAP.
        But that brings me more question, with ye rear no airbags or sorts for frontal collision, this must mean good seat design or rear bench position plays a role in the event of a collision. Even more worrying that in Malaysia no one applies the rear seat belt rules, making any safety deduction in a crash test, worthless in a crash, even my parents refuses until I tell them.

• Subframe on May 13, 2014 at 12:19 am

Seat design? Can be a factor, but not so much effect unless for rear Impact (whiplash). The child dummy is placed on the child seat.
          The g pulse should be the main key factors.

• Subframe on May 12, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Child dummy is put at the back seat, not the front seat.

• Some ppl do put it em in front,due to this,some cars can have their front passenger airbag turned off. Preve has it,and hope it is available on other Proton models too.

• Subframe on May 13, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Er, we’re talking about the crash test result, not the actual condition. But to add in your point, the airbag is dangerous for rear facing child seat. However I will avoid to put the child in front seat at any cost. This is due I am not sure whether the child seat can withstand the pretensioner force that is activated during crash, which can be up to 4~6kN. If the child seat is not designed to withstand such load, then it’ll break and might end up injuring the child.

• AVH (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 12:43 am

I think whats interesting is that I finally know what will happen to me in my beloved old Saga if things were to go awry. Not a pretty sight, and least comforting is that I drive in a town where potholes and concrete devider pops up at the wimps and fancy of the JPJ.

Sadly financial issues meant the Saga will still be my 2nd mode of transport for the many years ahead. I still bloody love it thou.

• Obviously (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Perhaps you can install a roll cage or add some chassis strengthening to the passenger cell, just in case. More affordable than a new car, no?

• AVH (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 6:35 pm

I did go to ENEOS to see somme Ultra Racing strengthening bars, all over they cost RM5k for the entire lot; engine, body, boot…etc. But what I’am also looking for is chassis strengthening itself…spot welding for the wear and tear of the chassis, I’ve seen Japanese tuner go to that length for a drith cars, but I can’t seem to find a shop in Malaysia that does that, let alone to something like a Saga.

Other than that, I’am also looking to changing the brakes and suspension, still stock since 90′(almost everything is apart from the Enkeis, radiator , fuel pump[got a Japanese unit]and BMW horn). But is it really worth it investing that much on such an old car….something I always question myself. I do still have teh H.City for my primary, and dad rarely use it, he likes the height of the Alza more

• Obviously (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 7:30 am

lol, maybe just add in a roll cage is enough. I think it’s a worthy investment if it can save your life one day. Hopefully you don’t have to use it, though.

• kodomo on May 14, 2014 at 9:49 am

Be careful with locally made strut braces or rollcage.

You wouldn’t want it to become a spear pierce our human body when shit happens. Good imported rollcage don’t break but bend.

Ultra racing antiroll bars have known to break due to the material they used.

• AVH (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 11:14 am

I think having a full set roll cage for an almost everyday-going 20-odd-years Proton Saga is not a cake to everyones mind. Think of what Sam Loo will say to that resale value.

Anyways, @kodomo, I’ve only seen Ultra Racing bars for Proton Saga. I have not known any other kinds of bracing that are compatible with Saga, let alone foreign…..unless I go to Japan and even than, mods for Lancers Fiore are rare, its predescessors and successors are much more popular.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:11 am

Can you even get JPJ approval with a roll cage? I thought roll cages are illegal. And banging your head against a roll cage won’t be fun either, so a helmet should be worn.

• Not sure what to comment, because bashers everywhere. But Preve indeed is a safe car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
  • kangkong on May 12, 2014 at 6:53 pm

Set Volvo as your target to compete in term of safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 7:05 pm

“I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised.”

If they should never be compromised, why is it that your dealer (as seen here: http://paultan.org/2014/01/22/nap-2014-proton-edar-dealers-association-response/) crying over the recent NAP, making it sound as though Proton still needs protection bla bla bla.

If you want people to make rational decisions, make it a level playing field, where that Volvo V40 T4 won’t cost 160k new.

Cause as far as I can see, people have to settle for second rate safety as seen in the Myvi and your own Saga cause they cannot afford the other safer makes thanks to the protection which you guys seem to be a bit worried to let go of.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 9
    • Well said sudonano!

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 8:21 am

I would like to say some of myvi or saga owner arent that “susah”..they choose cheap againts safety..they could have better car if they would want to..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Who’s the Mr Arrogant now? How much u earn anyway? A person that choose his mode of transport does not reflect his wealthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • VW_xyzzzz on May 14, 2014 at 11:25 am

mode of transport doesn’t reflect his wealthy..yes that is true..i do not ask anyone to get any car beyond his limit(expensive)..however if u had capability or rezeki lebih..try get a better car with safety features enough to secure u and family even not for 100%.”who Mr Arrogant”..? u had better answer than me.. ” How much u earn anyway?”…i think here isn’t a place to bragging about how much my pay..however its enough for me and my family..and thanks for ur concern..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Cut the craps.. the point is who are you to be judgmental on security issues? Lu sapa? Pegawai jpj? Puspakom? Sapa lu? Share sini.. I believe all cars on the road now pass gov test on safety or else they won’t keep it selling now? Sapa lu & your friends want to judge this & that not safe? Not to brag about my wealth.. but your kind ve very low mentality think that people ride bikes or drive viva couldn’t afford better cars.. or doesn’t care about our life.. Look suckers. . Each & one of us ve difference need in life.. different lifestyle. . If I think a car that ve two airbags suit my way of driving style u apa masalah? Xde langsung pun apa mslh? We do not need to explain to u what is our requirement in cars or life..

Remember. . If you fllw the real motorhead. . I always say end the end.. suka hati la lu nak beli kereta apa.. peduli apa saya? It’s your money. . & my money..

Go ahead.. buy the Suprima S.. what’s your problem. . I sokong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Protection is good so that everyone can play safe…lol

Whatever your dream car is, please check other ASEAN countries, they don’t have local player like Proton but still the prices are not far from what we have here.

Go figure.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:15 am

The V40 T4 is an expensive car overseas. Maybe as a T2, without any features (well, safety features are there, but otherwise the thing will be as empty as a Vios J) you might be able to get it for 80k, but once you want more power and some equipment you’ll be at least at 140k. In Europe. Don’t ever look at the starting price that you can find on the internet. The cars imported to Malaysia are much better speced, and better specs are ridiculously expensive in Europe. Auto gearbox? Add 8-10k. More than 80-90 hp in the C segment? Add 10-20k. etc.

• 5Stars on May 12, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Stupid bashers. On your mark, get set, go!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
  • brace yourself, proton hater’s comment are coming..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
  • no name on May 12, 2014 at 7:18 pm

so this is the most feared boss named KY by proton engineers…lots of stories about him…

• Uzair on May 12, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Tell us!! I love juicy stuff heheheh

• no name on May 13, 2014 at 7:02 am

i’ve met him once during the suprima s project..he is a nice guy but very strict in his work…some of the vendors hate him due to his strictness especially in pushing them to meet with the project schedule…if any delays..mr. KY will hunt them….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • mim (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 11:59 am

When i was an intern in a chassis parts vendor, almost all my superior hates him lololol but at least this KY guy did it for a very good reason. These “boleh lah..” attitude in these vendors is very very bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Proton might actually do better with more guys like him. Or more vendors that are like him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Iskandar Danial on May 12, 2014 at 7:19 pm

I’m waiting for the ever loyal Proton and Government Haters who regularly visit Proton tagged articles, sometimes bringing up arguments not related to the subject of the article. We love all you so, very, much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • Uzair on May 12, 2014 at 7:31 pm

I couldn’t agree more. The quality of the interior is the only thing that bothers me when im driving my preve. Really hope that proton can nail this part in their next model or when they revise/facelift their range. Apart from that… im just a happy customer. The CFE engine produce substantial power for a sedan, ride and handling? I would say that its better than the japs or the Koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • asrul on May 12, 2014 at 7:41 pm

shut up and close down the entire factory, nobody wanna know what the F you think or what the F you say.

enough of songlap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 93
    • VW_xyzzzz on May 12, 2014 at 8:21 pm

I still wanna know what they think and say ..and I think some m’sian still wanna hear them.. anyway I like the statement ” safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised.”..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • “I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised”. Yes. is good for Proton Costumers. But I think it need a lot more than that ‘safety’ to make Proton ‘rational’ to others

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 8:08 am

Cars not only brings u to point A or B..but it could brings u to alam barzakh aswell..safety should be the 1st priority when buying a car..how fast,reliable..fc..should be 2nd,3rd..4th..

• Nieko on May 12, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Congratulations Proton Preve/Suprima,you are now the Second Most safes cars in Malaysia/The Whole of Asia. remember guys this Asean Encap it applies to all the Asian country in this region ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • mim (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 12:01 pm

The total marks of Preve is even higher than Ford Focus in ANCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • littlefire on May 12, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Ok, Proton already achieved world class safety.. Can open up the market for the sake of playing fair? Huh? What? Where is the 30% tax reduce from G? Oh my… In my dreams…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • iimhs on May 13, 2014 at 12:19 pm

If bolehland gets lower prices, other ASEAN countries should too. Will they follow us? I don’t think so.

• littlefire on May 13, 2014 at 7:38 pm

I dont see that case when new JDM cars sold much cheaper in Japan.. but re-con cars come to Malaysia sell much expensive compare to new car price? Oh ya.. Tax & AP? If after tax, so Proton should be earning much more at oversea right if price same?!?

• Maseratits on May 12, 2014 at 8:52 pm

As much as I dislike Proton’s interior finishing and quality control, which I believe are the only 2 downsides of Proton, I have to say that so far they’ve been churning out decent cars lately.
    Just keep on improving, you will gain back the rakyats trust someday :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • kangkong on May 13, 2014 at 12:23 pm

As long as rakyat are not buying cars with fair price. Proton hater will still around. Because Proton is the rout cause of ridiculous high car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • kangkong on May 13, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Sorry, is unfair price.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:28 am

You don’t get it, right? The high taxes are there so that the government earns a lot. Protons are taxed high too, as high as any other car made in an ASEAN country, like the Vios for example. Cut the taxes on cars and the government will start to tax petrol, raise income taxes etc.

• victor tan on May 12, 2014 at 8:54 pm

The only 2 things I would expect Proton to do better compare to its competitors, are the safety and handling. What it needs to do right now is focus on QC, and maybe improve the FC and CVT even more.

• Nieko on May 12, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Now, I said this once and I will say it again Proton’s weakness is always going to be their Quality Control but the rest I have say their not so far away I mean just look what they have done this coming from a Carmaker That just Turned 30 which is very fast for the automotive world .remember guys Toyota took 50 years to get its 5 star Encap result but look where thay are now ….
    Lots of Respect for Proton now …..
    Nextstep:
    1)go after Volvo and Renault if you guys at Proton think that Safety is your Best points which I think it is at the moment Qurus Brand is dominating the whole safety thing
    2)Get Criss Bangle to be you senior designer at Proton and you will see instant positive feedback and Designs. it all in you hands Proton….

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • Denaihati on May 12, 2014 at 9:41 pm

first time i see old proton saga crash test video, so bad damages on the car and i believed all passengers very seriously injured at least. With this test Preve success on safety aspect, i hope others aspect too.

• Spirior on May 12, 2014 at 10:48 pm

The engine is never designed to detach in an accident. First of all the engine is designed to be properly mounted within the engine bay to react to the driving torque and inertial forces from vehicle movement and be isolated enough no to transmit vibration and noise into the cabin. In a crash it is important to minimise engine component intrusion into the passenger cabin, especially to the footwell area where foot injury rating is one of the components in a typical NCAP assessment point.

If the engine is detached in an accident it is purely unintentional, due to conditions that were not really considered in crash energy management. Have you noticed an engine lying on its own after a crash test? This is because crash tests were designed for specific condition (speed, angle, offset, energy content, etc.) and could not take into account the myriad of possibilities that would happen in an actual traffic collision.

Jangan goreng la KY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
    • Uzair on May 13, 2014 at 12:26 am

I dont think the a person at his level would go blindly making an official statement on this issue without at least having an input from their designer/engineers. It would make him really dump if he does so. Have you did your research or at least use the search engine on the Internet before giving your comment or accusing people ‘goreng’-ing a fact? I think if we are talking about ‘goreng’-ing here. Base on the comment you had above, the person would be YOU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Spirior on May 13, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Sure an engine can be ejected from a car in a violent crash. The bumper can be ripped off, the headlights crash, the radiator flung out wide, but to say these are design-features are absurd.

Let’s assume it is design to detach. Preve’s engine is held by 4 compliant mounts (2 roll mounts on subframe, a hydraulic mount on engine side, and another mount on transmission side). These are attached to the brackets which are welded rigidly to the main structure. And there are steel bolts running through these mounts. Assuming the engine is ‘designed to detach’, what’s the mode of failure for these heavy duty bolts? Should they shear or simply break? What are the loads? What about other ancillaries that are attached to the engine? Like exhaust pipe, harness, rubber hoses, transmission cable, power steering pump pipes? How are these suppose to properly detached ‘as designed’?

If these are indeed engineered to detach the powertrain mass from the body, how it is supposed to exit the engine bay? Through the hood? Through the sidemembers and suspension turret? Or downward? See – to claim that this is an engineered feature will lead to all sorts of other questions with difficult answers. Simply because it isn’t designed to detached. It can detach, just like various examples we can find on the internet, but that doesn’t mean it was designed to.

You started with the phrase “I don’t think..”. Well I respect that. I also don’t think KY has credible data and evidence to support his statement. He can be forgiven as he is not an engineer. But as a top person in an engineering company, he has got to do better than that. Bukannya susah, designer engine mount mesti ada. Just ask the dude to produce his design requirements, engineering reports, test results.

Anyway all these do not take away the fact that the Preve is a very safe car. And it doesn’t need a detachable engine to be so.

• Obviously (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 7:34 am

Still, you are defending your current opinion that the engine isn’t designed to detach based only on your common sense and no technical data about the car’s design. There’s not much use arguing over whether the car is intentionally designed to respond this way in the event of a great crash or if it just happened to respond in this way unintentionally in the event of a great crash unless someone on the actual chassis design team starts responding to these comments.

• Subframe on May 13, 2014 at 12:42 am

Oem like Toyota camry US using block type mounting which mount the engine on top of subframe at 3 point and another roll mount at the shock tower. In case of Preve, it is using Pendulum type mounting, which mount the engine at the 2 front longitudinals as pivot and another 2 mounted at subframe. Using both methods it is possible to make it detached in the real crash event (not crash test) as both method are using subframe to “pull out” the engine, but the Toyota method is easier to pull the engine out. However it also depends on the connection at the subframe to the body, whether it is Rigid connection or detachable connection. In case of Preve, the connection is detachable, during 64 kph Offset, the subframe teared a little bit. At higher speed ,most probably it will completely detached. More information on the vehicle design on crash can be found in eurocar body event.

• kzm (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 1:39 am

i dont see crash test with the car rolling several time after banging something…

• Motorhead (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I think proton will close shop anyway.. that’s thier problem. . Always matter what they think.. not what the market think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • Motorbutt on May 13, 2014 at 7:45 am

Long live PERODUA!! Perodua alwayz thinking about consumer..unlike proton..,we want japan celup..then we get..we want more myvi lagi best..we get..what proton did..improve ride and handling..increase safety..? Haizz..we malaysian dont live with that..no airbag also Auntie driving kelisa live long life..No ABS,EBD,ESC..its ok..we have MYVI..more words..lagi cantik , lagi menarik..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
      • Sarcasm on May 13, 2014 at 2:19 pm

I like your sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 3:43 pm

I love when u think with your butt again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
        • VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Relaks my brother…past is past..during the time proton is under bad management..let them go..now they care about msian safety..let them be..it wont hurt..who want to buy..buy it..if not.. they has other choices..,anyway u had bad proton in 1 of ur 7 cars..i’ve no idea how to say this..but let the past go..or ur scar wont healed..let the present proton management healed those scar back…u just focus on ur hobby buying land..it’ll get u heal and getting better..

• motorbart on May 13, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Thinking with butt – It’s you

• VW_xyzzzz on May 14, 2014 at 11:32 am

sorry..those comment above wasn’t for u..it meant for someone else..i used my phone yesterday to comment..i’m not used to it yet..if u care.. juz scroll down..u can see those similar comment are there..anyway “Thinking with butt – It’s you”..what is the meaning..?

• motorbart on May 14, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Thinking with butt = motorhead

• axel_stig (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 8:20 am

lol

• cvout on May 13, 2014 at 12:16 pm

I dun want to die in tin milo Vios or Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Fine may be you can go die in any other car you choose.. ve 6,7,8 air bags.. you think you are safe dy? Watch your back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • motorbart on May 13, 2014 at 8:02 pm

You are thinking backward, still in cave?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 11:20 am

Ko tu bodo.. variant of cars, specifications, level of safety all up to you to choose. . All countries apply. . Caterham almost up to date features xde also still selling in UK.. try figure how many air bags in a Lotus… do you understand preferences? Pandai sgt judge itu safe itu not safe…itu blm cerita org bw motor.. superbikes.. bodo.. brengsek..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • motorbart on May 14, 2014 at 10:26 pm

If you say it’s safe enough, no need those test. Caterham is not daily commuting car. Maybe you want those open roof car and eat those bird shit on your stupid head.

• Motorbutt on May 14, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Motor..superbikes..? did we talking about car..? why then involves motor/motorbikes..” their safety requirement aren’t same anyway.. “Pandai sgt judge itu safe itu not safe…”.. anyway look whose judging..” ve 6,7,8 air bags.. you think you are safe dy? ..” were this word meaning not “judging”..i think this word bodo.. brengsek..suits u more..

• pearjai on May 12, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Did proton sold their product like their export model ? Etc=uk spec ? Better car ,Cheaper price n better warantty….still their doublestandard us as a local buyer ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • mim (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 12:12 pm

This is no longer practiced by Proton starting from 2013 Preve and Suprima S. Domestic models and export model has the same exact specs and even assembled on the same line. Maybe except for Egypt version which has 2 airbag only option.

Price? Depends on each country’s tax structure. If you wanna complain, ask Najib.

But i do agree, Proton should do 5-star package over here, like they did in Australia (5 yr warranty, 5 yr free maintenance, 5 star ANCAP) but remember, the price of Preve and Suprima in Australia are actually marked up very high.

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 1:29 pm

try put urself in their shoe..considering how the people there think of proton plus bad pricing..making it much worse..maybe they kept to a minimum profit..so proton will still exist there..closing proton branch wont bring any good in future if proton is ready with car up to par or surpassing suprima..the car aren’t available there..such a waste..they did very good sales in early 90s..if they work hard..they will achieve similar success or beyond it..anyway i’m very lazy to google how much they pricing proton model there..to be exact are they so much gap ..? “double standard us” ..? or u’re the one doing doublestandard to proton..? u hate proton..? why..? u own 7 cars as I remembered..were they old model proton..? I dont think so..coz u’re rich..ur hobby is buying land..maybe i’m mistaken..

• Car_fan on May 12, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Doesn’t make me want to buy a Proton anymore than…yesterday. I have owned two in my lifetime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • transformer on May 12, 2014 at 11:21 pm

R&D designer can design good bodyshell/structure BUT consumer can’t guarantee whats they are getting bcoz Proton are well known for their low quality product, inconsistent quality and processes. And most importantly their “tidak apa” mentality…
    its a Proton ma…

its an old man vision to benefit our country BUT FAILED(or going to)! since 1985 benefited Cronies and AP Kings(PUKEMA), yet they still want their benefit to continue perpetually!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • youngmnn on May 13, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Then no guarantee for other brands too. Many massive recalls from the whole worlds.

• TheDean on May 12, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Did they take a random unit from Proton’s stockyard to do these tests? They should. Because I had a Honda Stream that went through a bad crash (bad enough that the compartment fell off) that didn’t deploy a single airbag! My friend’s civic had an even worse accident and it too didn’t deploy an airbag (although the system said that it did). It is important to pass a crash test with flying colors, but it is more important that the cars be reliable in their offerings.

• GoodJob on May 13, 2014 at 12:04 am

Huhuhu now i can drive fast in my proton and survive a crash. Good

• Sebaik Perhiasan on May 13, 2014 at 12:46 am

Good job proton. At least they have set up the benchmark to others manufacturer to compete. Hopefully after this there will be no more ‘kosong’ spec cars in our market.

• A good value for proton. But to get more sales, they should focus on what people want, not what they need…

• preve_owner on May 13, 2014 at 5:09 pm

The problem is, what the people want, is a different badge.

• About that Old Saga crash test video..didn’t they use the car’s results to prove to the ppl that their cars should be scrapped after 10 years?

• 2 things if i can summarised abt Proton- cheap an bland interior and inconsistent quality/ or maybe assembly. Other than those, they are quite good.

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2014 at 7:19 am

Credit is where credit is due. As an advocate of safety, proton’s recent crash tests and mandatory 6 airbag equipped cars are encouraging, and hopefully with that, more manufacturers will follow suit.

Now lets see when proton is going to follow Naza (of all people) to equip their full range with 6 airbags. Malaysians deserve better.

However,

“Engine has been designed to detach in a crash”.

Don’t bullshit us Mr. KY. Don’t be the slippery one now. You been doing ok so far. Just be honest as we know that it was unintended. Don’t dig yourself a bigger hole trying to do some PR damage control. Imagine what would happen if it detaches and hit a pedestrian.

I hope proton doesn’t rest on its laurels for too long. Having had a recent experience with a Suprima S, proton needs to be reminded that it still has issues with build quality and QC. I cut my finger on some sharp edges on the compartment under the A/C dials, and was delivered with a faulty reverse sensor, that needed to wait for parts for 3 weeks.

Lets not forget that Proton still needs more development work on the powertrain, it is neither very frugal on petrol nor very powerful (in actuality, the CFE and heavy chassis makes it feel a little lembik..)

But yes, safety is an excellent start.

• Development on power train???
      Are you sure???…these guy say R&D..but taking engine from Mitsubishi shipped container & give it to rakyat…
      Can you tell the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Subframe on May 13, 2014 at 11:03 am

There’s no way to know whether it is intentional or not, unless you’re the insider.

• 500hp on May 13, 2014 at 12:09 pm

CFE little lembik? Of course, if you compare it with Lambo, and I doubt you drive one, I mean a Lambo.

LOL

• Obviously (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 4:04 pm

You own a Suprima S? Do you write a blog about your experiences? Do share your other experience with it.

• Hello Malaysia. Yes safety is important. But a car is not just about safety! BTW look at current safety practices among Malaysian drivers – driving habit, fasten seat belt (worst among rear passengers), observe red light, etc.

I event notice a car with red light switch on as head light – totally wrong. Very common driver switch on hazard light during heavy rain – wrong. So what is definition of road/car safety in Malaysia?

• ruffstuff on May 13, 2014 at 1:51 pm

So now driving attitude also Proton obligation kah? Proton kena bukak kelas memandu dengan berhemah dengan percuma ini macam?

• Why tweaking car for test becoming an issue?

Because you have done it before and show no remorse!

• Subframe on May 13, 2014 at 2:07 pm

All the tweaking in done in the development phase, not after the car is launched. Normally there will be 5 prototype that will be crashed in the development to ensure that the OEM get the desired target (at least that is what’s been done by OEMs in Germany) . Furthermore, in NCAP assessment, the car is normally taken randomly from showroom. Then the NCAP committee will need to contact the manufacturer to get addition information such as the H point for the adult dummy, the recommend child seat and etc.
      It is still possible that the OEM tweak the car to get high rating in the assessment, however please provide the proof so all of us can judge it.

• Obviously (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 4:06 pm

*Taken randonmly from showroom without expressing intent for crash testing.

• Proof? U mean like saga flx +++?

• Subframe on May 18, 2014 at 2:00 pm

point taken. but I was not pointing at Proton only. that applies to other OEMs that have tested their car but does not published their result at all.

• Provide proof? You mean like saga flx+++?

• Jaybond on May 13, 2014 at 9:47 am

KY masuk Paultan tu..anyway latest Protons has always been among the safest cars. It’s just that the interior plastic quality needs to be beefed up, without the expense of higher car price of course!.

• KY this, KY that. All these Proton staffs… haha clown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • iluvproton on May 13, 2014 at 10:24 am

So will they stop selling the unsafe saga, persona dan lain-lain?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 11:29 am

The fact is P1 ve no money for R&D.. Can’t afford innovation in their engines. Using campro 1. & 1.6 for decades.. what they can brag now is this safety features. . Many Paul Walker wannabe here.. how you can drive on our congested roads nowadays?

I ve to agree safety features are important. . But trust me.. safe driving. . Fllw the rules save lives.. I can give 1001 example of safe driving people. Anyway shit happened. . It’s called fate.. for those who doesn’t believe in God.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Antar on May 13, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Toy-ota is using the same engine since 1999, maybe even older.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Yeah.. fortunately I can drive up to 600km per tank. That’s the difference. I think hundreds of people talk about it.. FC.. Fuel Consumption. & they have all variant of engines 1.5, 1.8, 2.0 etc..

If campros can perform close.. the sales won’t be this bad.. or do you think thier sales is ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • motorbart on May 14, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Aiya Vios in city jam only can get 11km/l, preve 10km/l.

Vios only 1.5l engine, preve turbo 1.6T @ 2.0l. That’s wayyyyy more powerful engine.

Oh you want proof? Feel free to read those articles here you lazy dude.

• ruffstuff on May 13, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Better not include seat belt lah. Cut cost. Only practice safe driving. Seat also no use if drive recklessly. Can aahh?

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 2:00 pm

What kind of person u’re..?believe in God..we should neglect safety..coz that is fate..?I believe u’re muslim..however coz of muslim like u..non muslim think and treat muslim like an idiot.., ur hate towards proton far than I imagine..but ur love towards perodua is unthinkable..with all those safety rules saving life u said..u going to safe in ur myvi.. please dont be very bongkak..we have Allah..we dont know our fate..but at least we have some “usaha” to change it..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Yes.. you are an idiot.. read my first sentence of the second paragraph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • Sebaik Perhiasan on May 13, 2014 at 4:32 pm

One day someone ran across a busy road without ignoring to use the overhead bridge near by. And suddenly he’s been hit by a truck. Guess what he says? Ahhh… Shit happen… This is my fate. Oh my, oh my…

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Read it..but on ur 2nd and following sentences..all somelike denying the safety features given to m’sian and when bad things happens..its fate..i’m kinda glad at first u’re saying important..but it seems like ur statement were denying of safety features…am I right..?

• motorbart on May 13, 2014 at 8:18 pm

You are just butthurt P2 / vios fan. How many star that your ‘safe’ car get?

lolololololol

• Motorhead (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 9:43 am

I butthurt? Hurt what BS? Both of my cars ve 2 airbags.. loans finished dy. Enjoying my money & stuffs.. butthurt?? Go to hel with u… drive what ever cars u like.. who are u to judge? This safe, this is not safe?.. Variants of car & its level of safety apply to all countries. . U choose. I don’t give a damn also. Im butthurt??? Hahaha… bodo..

• motorbart on May 14, 2014 at 10:36 pm

So you DO butthurt coz your ancient cars only have 2 airbags. That’s so yesterday and far from today’s standard. Even Preve has more airbags and ESC, much safer than your 0 star ANCAP cars.

LOL

• Fuyoh…Every other top person in Malaysia got Datuk or Dato title…
    That many people contributed ah?

• My best friend satria neo had an engine detachment about a year ago. Luckily, this had happened while he was waiting at the traffic light. Otherwise if this occurred at high speed, you can guess what would happened.

• pearjai on May 13, 2014 at 3:10 pm

In 2003 proton ship their wira sedan (5000unit)to iraq ! They price not even reach rm30k per unit !…..in that era they (proton) is the emperor….shame of you force ur own people to buy at more than rm40k to us as Ur own local customer ! Are u deserve our(previuos owner) trust ?if ur product n service have the “quality” then u should survive ! But sadly …..rip proton !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • pearjai on May 13, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Wira export model have more safety features like driver side airbag,door intrusion bar n abs n better metal tech …are these called good attitude ? If proton don’t care of us then why we need to support them ?….proton nettrooper ! U can shoot me now ….some people said proton don’t do that thing anymore but proton should realize that they have make a lot of scar ! Proton kill their own reputation ….when they in the top they don’t even care about their customer safety ! Untillll now the talk about “safety”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • dungupunyapearjai on May 13, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Hei dungu! Maksud kau kalau sekali buat silap, sampai bila2 pun silaplah? Dan tak layak diberi kredit walaupn buat byk benda baik selepas tu?

Kalau mcm tu sekali anak kau buat silap kau rotan dia tiap2 hari sampai kau mamposlah?

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Relaks my brother…past is past..during the time proton is under bad management..let them go..now they care about msian safety..let them be..it wont hurt..who want to buy..buy it..if not.. they has other choices..,anyway u had bad proton in 1 of ur 7 cars..i’ve no idea how to say this..but let the past go..or ur scar wont healed..let the present proton management healed those scar back…u just focus on ur hobby buying land..it’ll get u heal and getting better

• VW_xyzzzz on May 13, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Relaks my brother…past is past..during the time proton is under bad management..let them go..now they care about msian safety..let them be..it wont hurt..who want to buy..buy it..if not.. they has other choices..,anyway u had bad proton in 1 of ur 7 cars..i’ve no idea how to say this..but let the past go..or ur scar wont healed..let the present proton management healed those scar back…u just focus on ur hobby buying land..it’ll get u heal and getting better. Get rest..my brother

• Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Just bunch of smart axxhol talk kok about safety. . But then well equipped Suprima x beli pon.. talk kork je lebih.. put somemore features. . Then complain of the prices. Typical… bot better equipped conti then complain the parts pulak.. aftersales etc.. japs milo tin they complain too..

At the end.. Suprima S still can count with fingers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Motorbutt on May 14, 2014 at 12:02 pm

then again the counting of complainer / whiner / big talker starts with u.., my advice for u..go enjoy ur life..spend those 6k money..and stop counting Suprima S on the road…get a life..motorhead

• Motorhead (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 2:52 pm

U get a life mangkukbutt.. looser.. all of your comments is personal attack on me.. dengki ya?.. lu ada life ke? Sales ok? Or u are just a keyboard warrior thay ve nothing? Want good cars but no money? Ya.. I ada money.. waiting for good time for 4th car.. u? Hati sakit? Mcm mn? Sakit lagi.. tuka username Motorhead’sbutt.. lagi best. Ok? Ada seekor lg.. motorbart.. haha..

• motorbart on May 14, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Hey hey hey, what’s the matter with you mentioning motorbart seekor without reason? You butthurt p2/vios fan eh? lol those cars are dangerous junks on road. Maybe you drive it crazily thinking it has turbo like preve. But it moves like snail and noone bothers with its slow pace.

• ncapau on May 13, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Huh? You didn’t know preve got 5 star Australasia and ASEAN NCAP? Preve now has 6 airbags standard across the variants. Please do read more.

• Absolute Rider on May 13, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Dear Proton,
    1. Even though Preve and Suprima S scored five star rating in ANCAP, but the car is too heavy. You should use more HPF in structure like what latest Hyundai Sonata. Over 50% structure using HPF.
    2. Proton should conduct test using EuroNCAP as they have higher requirements and Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) for its small overlap crash test.
    3. How about pedestrian safety? And many others. Please don’t to be too happy with the scores for preve and supreme s. Lots of improvements including designs, engineering, technologies, and quality all both exterior and interior. Thank you very much.

• Tiger on May 13, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Tis being bolehland, and the test being done my Malaysian authorities ( is it the SaME body who claimed that 12 year old cars not safe and should be scrapped?) IN Malaysia, and suspiciously bragging the safety of the Preve being awarded so many stars, i cant believe nobody questioned them..similiar to recent local media who suddenly tested old model Persona and claimed how good the model is ( not clearly stated is Paid advertising etc)…

• pearjai on May 13, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Myvi ex auto 05 nowdays have same market price with proton perdana v6 ! After 9 year some lose rm30k n other lose rm80k…n not even ad on for v6 problematic gearbox n maintanance/fuel cossumption,roadtax !….rm80k-rm30k=rm50k….if these two owner have similar salary etc=5k than u can guest which one are rm50k richer ?…rm50k can buy 1 hectare palm oil land in my village with 1 to 2 ton profit montly ….

• Motorbutt on May 14, 2014 at 8:15 pm

almost 2.5 acre for 50K..i will save my money starting today..and we will be jiran sekampung in the near future.. anyway ur RV math is matched to sam loo the greatest

• You should know the higher the price, you will lose more. If you want to compare, do it with similar buying price cars.

• Nieko on May 13, 2014 at 9:19 pm

I have a feeling that Proton’s GSC Global Small Car will have an even safer safety rating than the Preve&Suprima because remember that Bouch is doing the Safety Aspect of future Proton car starting from 2011 so expect some surprises from the little Proton ….
    Oh before I forget Proton!! make sure in 5 years time ,your car would be able to beat China’s Qurus Brand its having blast with their Safety rating….

• Albert lee on May 13, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Proton pride itself in many stars rating.We are not doubting those figures.
    However,those STAR ratings have NOT been translated into 5 STAR SALES.Why? Those proton diehards ,can you answer this important question?
    I don’t see Toyota vehicles scoring 5 stars for most of their models.Infact they have some huge RECALLS due to recalcitrant parts suppliers.
    Yet,worldwide they made US 17 Billion in profits lately.Can Toyota critics dispute this fact?
    Why is DRB still bleeding? Panic management,spiked costs of parts,low volume,QC problems,low staff morale,teh tarik happy go lucky staff….the list is long and boring.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 11:12 pm

The fact is they are syok sendiri.. talk about safety. . What Caterham ve to offer in term of safety?

I give P1 3-5 years.. then they tapau, close shop or sold.. become factory to assemble others of DRB products.. all of models in planning will scrap.. current models will discontinue. . Like waja & Tiara.. I ll pray hard this will happen. .

I ll laugh hard on these P1 punks.. sorry for the owners. . It just business. . It’s nothing personal. After 5 years can scrap NAP.. Malaysia still ve chance to be auto hub. Need some mental change. Our market no very big.. hut our purchase power very good.. can still buy cars at double or triple price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • axel_stig (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 8:17 am

bro u need to pray harder for this to happen~ go on continue syok sendiri talking bout P1 close shop in 5 year~~

• Motorhead (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 12:05 pm

No need to pray actually. . Who’s crying out loud for sales recently? Crying for money? I didn’t only mentioned close shop did I. Why gov let P1 anyway? Somebody will do something on an ailing company. . Just wait… next EC is around that corner. . Everyone is saving his own butt now… the fact is.. they can’t protect P1 forever. . Keep my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Motorbutt on May 14, 2014 at 3:09 pm

control urself motorhead ..if not ur blood pressure will get high..by the way..Stig just asking u to pray harder..he meant no harm..,sometime i see u like comparing m’sia with other country..why..? now juz asking did UncleSam never save General motors..? and how about the story of Holden and australia gov..

• Motorbutt on May 14, 2014 at 12:22 pm

u had some great proposal i see..go ahead..propose it to the gov… “Need some mental change. Our market no very big.. hut(but)our purchase power very good.. CAN STILL BUY CARS AT DOUBLE OR TRIPLE PRICE..” or u could say CAN STILL BUY FOR 2 OR 3 CARS…juz like u..one of the big purchase power in m’sia..

• Most of Malaysian buying their car base on car badge. Mostly from T or H badge. Their always thing a car with T or H badge is good & nice quality. Sometime, its funny their buy a basic/lowest spec T badge car but at the same time their can buy a local a full spec and high safety equipments at the same price.

Their will claim that non local car are expensive due to tax and others. But their a stil buying its! with low spec and etc. And then will blame local car for FC & QC.

I hope people can change how their buy a car. Safety should be first consideration rather than a badge & look. Their should look for the value for money of a car, what their get for that price. Dont buy a car base on the badge, its just a ‘goodwill’.

Whatever local or non local car, buy it with value for money; not base on perception.

• Jamie on May 13, 2014 at 10:27 pm

MR.CEO, pls fired the worker who can’t work in proton, and hire a qualify and hardworking people.

• jamalludin on May 14, 2014 at 3:29 am

Safety 5 star rating
    unfortunately drivetrain is outdated
    and needs a major makeover.
    Campro has outlived its useful life.
    Just A to B driving ok but in terms of excitement
    I give it 3 star rating even with CPS turbo.

• Uzair on May 14, 2014 at 12:12 pm

So does the one in vios.

• Have you ever tried campro turbo? Very syok and powerful. Not to mention it’s Euro 5/6 compliant engine, unlike those outdated boring weak Euro 3 engines from Japs

• klguy on May 14, 2014 at 9:48 am

proton,
    listen listen listen listen….even if you come out with a car par with the safety of a VOLVO, i will never buy from you until and unless ur are not spoon fed by UMNO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
  • mau tanya sikit….
    1) en. khairuddin the coo & all proton ceo, u all sendiri BELI proton ke? or PAKAI kete proton kompeni (sebab free) je ke setiap hari?

2) kenapa kereta proton lain yg dah TAK SAFE masih dijual?

• VW_xyzzzz on May 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm

brtanye di sini tiada faedah..kemungkinan tinggi tiada jawapan..tetapi
      1.kalau CEO/COO terbabit memiliki proton dan menunjukkan bukti..en fozi akan berpuas hati..?
      2.boleh en. fozi takrifkan kereta proton yg TAK SAFE..? bagaimana pula takrifan en. fozi dengan keluaran kereta2 dari pesaing proton yg memiliki ciri2 keselamatan yang hampir sama atau lebih teruk lagi..?
      walaubagaimanapun sy menyokong kereta2 keluaran proton dan bukan proton meningkatkan ciri2 keselamatan model masing2..

• tying on May 14, 2014 at 11:04 pm

1)Ask nasi lemak seller. Dia makan nasi lemak dia sendiri je ke setiap hari sebab free?

2)All cars have EOL. Saga/persona will be replaced by GSC. Bukan TAK SAFE tapi KURANG SAFE. Haiz why no ask Toyota with its milo tin Vios? Why ask Proton only?

• messi on May 14, 2014 at 10:23 am

Proton since 1986 (28 years old adult still need protection at the poor rakyat’s expense?)

They are only good at promoting the safety and handling of the car.

Please grow up to be independent and complete equal footing with others without the protection.

You need to improve the overall car especially the outdated rough campro engine, reliability and quality of the car.

My friend previosly owned a Myvi and bought another Preve (RM 60K) with full loan last few months and regretted with the rough engine sound and high fuel consumption with low pick-up. (too heavy)

Wanted to sell now but depreciated more than 30% for few months old car and force to keep it to rot due to outstanding bank loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • KEPALA on May 14, 2014 at 2:57 pm

must be Preve IAFM….of coz pick up very bad.he chose the wrong variant.shud go for CFE engine. make research b4 buying..GET IT!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 14, 2014 at 10:00 pm

This is the best you can do? Told the poor guy his fren bot the wrong model from proton? This what happened to my frens that ve bot Tiaras… Savvy.. Iswara sedan.. other owners of Juara.. this how u cheat people. . Sell model that eventually discontinued. . No support. . No part.. same to my fren who has Iswara sedan 1.5.. fuel injection.. ECU kaput. . Went to proton service center all over for new ECU unit.. he failed. Look on the road. . Try find this model.. whereas the earlier wira (Lancer base) still around… Saga also still around with Magma engines. . Mitsu tech.. Meanwhile. My first car Kancil.. sold it with perfect condition.. then Vios, then Myvi.. add another Myvi.. never fail me ince.. Kancil parts still around.. even P2 close shop. . I still can sleep. Still ve Daihatsu & Toyota.. now eyeing on VX & Maz3.. so please. . Don’t talk about safety. . Or how I should spend my money…

Jgn nak dengki la loosers… come on.. like all my butt or bart.. or XXX.. all my butt wannabe..

• motorbart on May 14, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Mazda3 is underpowered, VX is uncle car. Both are boring cars. Only boring guys like you appreciate those cars.Nowadays there are plenty of proton spare parts. You dun have to worry unless you drive those ancient cars. Mazda3 konon, pakai je la kerata buruk kau tu, lol.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 8:13 am

XV boring?? Ptong not boring? Do you know what’s XV capability? Nak beli from ptong pun xde segmen ni.. puuihh.. u must be poor ptong salesman. . Haha.. bodo.. x tau why ppl bit XV.

M3 underpowered? I talking about the new M3.. same new skyactive engine in M6.. but now all CBU..

The problem is mmg wa xde parking in current house as ve only 1 parking.. apartment. . Already paying for the 2nd parking.. new Myvi lg best terpaksa hantar kg.. if XV I need to move to my new house. . Haha.. so happy..

Jgn dengki la.. mangkukbutt.. mangkukbart.. cari sales lagi la.. haha.. gi mamposs la.

• Motorbutt on May 15, 2014 at 11:21 am

a child..normally cant tell the difference between reality or a dream.., but do not give up kid..always dream big.. then BMX of yours can be BMW..someday

• Motorbutt on May 15, 2014 at 9:33 am

who want to dengki to motorhead…? u can buy whatever u wanted to buy..M3,VX..land..houses..whose going to stop a child with a big dream..????

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 9:51 am

Dream?? Haha.. mungkukbutt.. all are there dy.. dream apenya?.. ko aje yg sakit hati dgn aku.. org lain yg kaya raya x amik port pon.. haha..

Nak beli 2.0 pon ptong xde.. puihh.

Mmg suka hati aku nak bwk keta apa.. asal bukan ptong la… haha..

• Motorbutt on May 15, 2014 at 11:25 am

a child..normally cant tell the difference between reality or a dream.., but do not give up kid..always dream big.. then BMX of yours can be BMW..someday

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 11:54 am

BMW??.. you are not following Motorhead. . U flly my butt? Kid?? Haha.. u ve no idea who am I.. pergi la cari sales lg.. these 2-3 days in congested road x nmpk Suprima S.. puiihh.. Unfortunately Myvi & Vios mmg byk lah..

I don’t gv a damn of you low life.. yes I ve a dream.. but definitely.. u yg masih budak. . U belajar la hidup lagi.. kumpul harta dulu.. cari kerja stable sikit..

• Motorbutt on May 15, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Damn it,my mistake..coz u acted like one ..truly sorry..kid

• Motorbutt(the humble low life) on May 15, 2014 at 6:11 pm

errr..truly sorry..sir..

• cibusat on May 14, 2014 at 1:58 pm

kereta mahal semua talk about Govt protection. rumah mahal nbody blame on developers…puiii!!!

• kereta mahal semua talk about Govt protection. rumah mahal nbody blame on developers…puiii!!!

——————————-
    Itilah masalah kalau seseorang kekurangan pengetahuan tentang harga rumah yang tinggi. (org bodohlah)

Asyik tahu blame the Developer aja. kebanyakan Developer (bumiputra yang kaya seperti Naza, Tun Daim, MK land, Setia, Putrajaya, cyberjaya….etc) adalah dimiliki oleh Umnoputra.

Kenapa dia orang tidak tolong org yang miskin dengan tanah yang diberi percuma oleh cronies kerajaan?

Kerajaan ada tanggungjawab mendirikan rumah murah kepada rakyat tapi cronies yang memrompak tanah asyik jual tanah dan menjadi kaya-raya dengan masa yang singkat.

Inilah masalah “keistimewaan” yang diberi kepada cronies yang pandai menrompak supaya orang melayu mikin menjadi lebih miskin dari yang ada.

Malaysia memang kaya tapi hutang negara sampai RM600 billion.(dah sampai bankruptlah dan GST akan buat orang miskin lagi miskin).

Siapa yang mencuri dan memrompak? Sila pakai otak sebelum membuat tuduhan fitnah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Yes, All protection to cronies had resulted high cost of living in malaysia.

You should asked the following questions and know who are the one to protect and make you suffer:

1) Why high car price? To protect who?
    2) Why high Rice price?
    3) Why high Sugar price?
    4)Why high TNB bill?
    5) Why high Astro bill?
    6) Why high Internet bill? (thailand 10MBS at RM 70 and bolehland cost RM 150 for 5MBS)
    7) Why high petrol cost for exporter country?
    8) …..many more.

Mamak has done a good job to his umnocronies to become billionair at the expense of poor rakyat with majority consist of Bumip………(2nd class)

Support Barang naik (BN)for GST and let the robber make more money.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 1:05 am

Their standard reply:

– jangan persoal
      – tak suka, keluar
      – syukurlah msia aman
      – salah anwar/lge
      – tidak bebankan rakyat

• Car Lover on May 14, 2014 at 4:18 pm

In order to sell well Proton has to minimize its profit to the lowest level. Get the recognition first before attempting to make handsome profit. Compete hard and push hard. Hire good people.
    Stop all those vendors who are not performing. Stop being apolitical. Learn from the Japanese and Koreans.

• frankmartin on May 14, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Proton should lead in the abolishment of protection measures if the brand want to gain recognition.If it can compete competitively with any brands, like what the Japaneses, Koreans and recently the Chinese manufacturers are doing, consumers will relook at the brand again. There shouldn’t be any rebadging of Honda as Proton Perdana.
    As it is, its market share is because of “forced” measures and because consumers want Proton cars. Go for best of the best practices and not best of the worst protection measures.

• the children seat arrangement in preve car is totally different. (please view all video to getting know.)

• test on preve car is unfair compare with other car since the children chair arragement is not SAME!

• Absolute Rider on May 14, 2014 at 6:04 pm

China car manufacturers test their car using EuroNCAP. Proven better!

• Absolute Rider on May 14, 2014 at 6:07 pm

China car manufacturers already catch up. They go global so much faster with lots of models without any unnecessary variants for each model unlike Proton, with lots of unnecessary variants. Proton is wasting their capital, man power and time for that. OMG!

• VW_xyzzzz on May 14, 2014 at 10:05 pm

I think..in china.. they had a big market already..profit gain faster and bigger than malaysia..with that kind of profit..we can say that they are ready for global market..however that isn’t an excuse for series of failure by proton..if there is passion..like u saying..proton could success

• tokmoh (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 1:00 am

Because proton likes to make excuses.

Quality issues : “Toyota also got problem la, see they make recalls.”

Older carmakers : “oh, cannot compare, they have more experience, we are only 29 years. When that carmaker was 29 years, did they have airbag/fuel injection like ours?”

Newer carmakers : “oh cannot compare, they have big market, can sell and make profit easier. Plus, they work with Jews, that’s why can catch up fast, we don’t have.”

When sales drop, even with endless carnival: “Msians unpatriotic, unlike Koreans and Japanese. That’s why we cannot successful like them. Now hurry up finish your interview, I wanna rest in my chauffeur-driven Audi A8, have had enough stress trying to sell Proton to ungrateful, unpatriotic Msians.”

• Absolute Rider on May 14, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Proton, in automotive industry. It’s not about making cars only. Every design, technology, engineering, quality is very important.

Detailing, craftsmanship means you must have passion to do your job not as long as come out something… that’s it! No, not like that! Because you’re not passion enough, you came out half bake Suprima S!

You should look at how Audi, Lexus, BMW, Hyundai, Kia, Honda, Toyota, Volvo, and so many others, go to view their video as they do show how they make their cars. Learn from them.

• robert vhew on May 14, 2014 at 7:13 pm

UK Audi salesmen said all models have five-star ratings in Euro NCAP tests, but its R8, A5, A7 and A8 models, have in fact never been tested.

Check this out in today’s Daily Mail,UK 14-5-2014.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 6:38 am

I’m glad Proton calls out the misleading and dangerous nonsense that ASEAN NCAP did. Is Honda or Toyota complaining that side impacts are not taken into consideration? Nope. Of course not, since they paid ASEAN NCAP to ignore side impacts.

• messi on May 15, 2014 at 11:15 am

Their standard reply:
    – jangan persoal
    – tak suka, keluar
    – syukurlah msia aman
    – salah anwar/lge
    – tidak bebankan rakyat
    ————————————–

This is the beauty of BN and know how to accuse other (blame chinese/LGE/Anwar) after stealing the national confer.

But I pity those follower that blindly support the robber without checking the fact. Most car AP/supplier AP/Bank/Developer like Sime Darby/rice/sugar/telecommucation/internet/boardband company …etc is belong to Unmocronies that make them suffer.

Yes, If you are the cronies, please steal as much as possible and if you are the sufferer, keep support blindly to Barang Naik Gorn to become bankrupt.

Conclusion, Most Barang naik is cause by the protection to make few billionair at the expense of the poor rakyat. Dont blame other, blame the previlege” or “Keistimewaan” given to Cronies with the blind supporter keep blaming other.