BMW announces summer 2014 technical updates – 520d gets new engine with 190 hp, 400 Nm

BMW 518d Limousine, Glacier Silber Metallic, 105/143 kW/PS

BMW has announced multiple technical updates for its line-up. They range from engine to transmission updates, availability of new engines, xDrive all wheel drive on models previously only available as rear wheel drive, and more. Let’s go through the details of what’s relevant to us.

BMW 520d gets new 190 hp 2.0 turbodiesel

First off – a car that’s actually available for purchase in Malaysia. The BMW 520d will get a new 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine from BMW’s new modular engine system. The new engine uses an aluminium crankcase with thermally joined liners for optimisation of internal friction coefficients, integrated balance shafts, and a map-controlled oil pump. Injector pressures have been increased to 2,000 bar.

The new engine outputs 190 hp and 400 Nm of torque, which is an upgrade from the current 520d’s 184 hp and 380 Nm numbers. Acceleration from 0 to 100 km/h is 7.9 seconds for the 520d sedan, while consuming just 4.7 litres per 100 km.

Eight-speed automatic now with proactive drive system

BMW has updated its eight-speed automatic with the ability to use data from the navigation maps to ‘see the curves ahead’. This technology, first seen on the Rolls-Royce Wraith, will allow the transmission to optimise the shift pattern to be precisely adapted to the route you are traveling on – for example the shifts will be optimised for a roundabout coming up ahead.

The system works even when the navigation guidance is not active, but when you actually have a route set, it has the further ability to include optimising the gear shifts for turn-offs and motorway exits. We wonder if Malaysian maps has sufficient information for this to work here.

BMW X5 gets optimised eight-speed automatic

This is a rather new car but it will get updated too. The X5‘s eight-speed auto will be updated with better transmission control, efficiency, as well as shifting dynamics. BMW says this will help acceleration, reduce emissions and improve fuel efficiency.

1, 2, 5 to get new iDrive

This new iDrive was already introduced to the 3, 4 Coupe and 4 Convertible in the last technical update in spring 2014 – it will be added to the 1, 2 and 5 this summer. The graphics and animation are a lot better – BMW says the new processor can generate images 10 times faster.

When will these updates come to Malaysia?

The updates should eventually arrive here, but there’s no telling when. Although the changes are slated for summer 2014 production onwards, it is not usually be the case for Malaysian cars, especially since a lot of our Malaysian spec cars are locally assembled.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• gavin on May 12, 2014 at 10:02 am

Lol, in malaysia it sees a nice curvy road so opts to hold gears longer for better but it didn’t see the road is jammed from start to beginning so holds gear 1 until near redline.

• BMW's Diesel Bull on May 12, 2014 at 11:01 am

What happened to BMW Malaysia promise to all their diesel customers about clean diesel? Every year, since the days of the 530d E60, which was about 10 years ago, BMW salesman and BMW promotions have been promising customers that clean diesel is coming round the corner and about to be launched anytime soon.

Many took to the promise thinking Euro 4 diesel was around the corner because BMW salesman and bosses promoted it their Efficient Dynamics heavily and hinted that they had insider knowledge that clean diesel was just around the corner. Although it ultimately lies with the government, BMW Malaysia should not go around assuringcustomers and prospective buyers that clean diesel would be around the corner.

10 years have passed. Current diesel owners have to bear with the sulphur stink, the loud engine noises, being made fun by friends and family that their diesel cars sounded like lorries etc.

To add to the horror or misleading the Malaysian public, BMw Malaysia last year raised their 520d to RM360,000. Up another 30k.

Already you got unhappy diesel owners waiting for 10 years for clean diesel that BMW salesman misrepresented was coming soon, now BMW Malaysia raises the prices of the 520d.

Why is also BMW Malaysia is the only car dealership in the world to give Malaysians ONLY 2 years warranty for their cars?

All other car manufacturers have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even Mercedes, BMW’s archrival are now giving 4 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 62
      • Heng Lee on May 12, 2014 at 12:00 pm

A six-cylinder 530d with ‘the loud engine noises’?

Another Toyota salesman spotted who can’t sell his Lexus cars designed for 110km/h topspeed… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Ali Karim on May 12, 2014 at 12:41 pm

I don’t understand, what kind of a car owner/s would actually take a “salesman” seriously?

Its a diesel engine, it has its trademark as well as the pro’s and con’s.

• seancorr on May 12, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Ehh I haven’t come across any 320d or 520d owners who have complained about their cars yet…you can visit bmwclubmalaysia to see how happy they are in fact that they can achieve 4.1L/100km which puts hybrids to shame but of course all of them are hoping for cleaner diesel to achieve better mileage…

I can’t say about the diesel clatter but to say that its really noisy is not true. Sure its noisier than the petrol unit but that’s far as it is as it has its pros and cons.

The only 2 major issues I have with BMW is their miserable 2 year warranty which stems out from their inability to have a better QA/QC of their cars rolling out of the factory here in Malaysia as I’m in the midst of claming warranty on issues with my own car and honestly it isn’t a good experience when you need to keep visitting the after sales for issues that they cannot rectify in the first place which in turn is a waste of my time.

• Harith on May 12, 2014 at 3:23 pm

beg to disagree. I tested both recently, the 520d feels like a diesel Hilux. Can hear the rattle indoors. Outdoors is unbearable. Though torgue is fantastic, spending so much of money for zero refinement is not my cup of tea. Even the Santa Fe Diesel is smoother and you cannot feel the rattle.

Tried the 520d in UK, it is so silent. It is 100% the low grade diesel cause.

• Garbage Truck Sound on May 14, 2014 at 8:29 am

Ha Ha, when my cousin come to my house, I am the 20th house in my road. When my cousin turn into the beginning of my lane, we can already hear him come. Ha Ha Ha. Like MBPJ Garbage truck coming to collect rubbish we say!

• I totally agree of what he said. And i dont think he is Toyota, Lexus or whatever salesman. A very genuine BMW diesel owner and what he said is true. We have waited long enough for Euro4 diesel although it may not be BMW fault.

To the writer, thanks for the post.

• I totally agree of what he said. And i dont think he is Toyota, Lexus or whatever salesman. A very genuine BMW diesel owner and what he said is true. We have waited long enough for Euro4 diesel although it may not be BMW fault.

To the writer, thanks for the post.

• Recall for update. Go Go Go, go save your car.

• tawil on May 12, 2014 at 10:55 am

My 320d fuel consumption is now increase. Is it due to carbon deposits?

• BMW's Diesel Bull on May 12, 2014 at 11:15 am

yes, after a while, your 320d or 520d will consume the same amount of fuel as the petrol 520i.

This is why people pantang to buy diesel in Malaysia. Initially you see fuel savings but later you will fork out more money in repairs because dirty diesel does clog up your converters and the car. No way around that.

BMW Malaysia will tell you no such thing. But if there is no such thing, people will be rushing to buy diesel cars.

Unfortunately, 320d and 520d buyers have a hard time selling their diesel cars in Malaysia second hand. Nobody wants them. People know after 1 or 2 years, the problems of dirt will set it. That is when you cough out money to repair your car.

BMW 320d and 520d that are out on sales takes a long long time for it to be sold. And when it is sold, the poor owner have to let go of it for such a big loss, I really wonder, what real savings did the owner get in the first place.

One can get a good 2013 BMW 520d for about RM240,000 (sold by BMW Approved). New car 2014 car is RM360,000.

here alone the owner has lost over RM100,000

So what savings do diesel buyers really get?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
      • that’s why, don’t buy a 5 series if you cannot afford the maintenance or ownership costs. just get a camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • Ali Karim on May 12, 2014 at 12:46 pm

You are right, the Camry (and Honda) is still a head turner – strangely.

• ThePolygon on May 12, 2014 at 3:17 pm

On the spot jim, the choice in the buyers hand :D

• Get me a fl 520d at 240k, I pay u 10k as commission. The lowest I can find is 300k, which is a demo unit. I dare u! Don’t talk bullshit here.. No point giving wrong info, when buyer hunt the unit in market, only result in utter disappointment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
        • Actual 520d owner on May 12, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Few months ago I bought a 2013 F10 520d, non LCI for RM$245k from BMW Quill. Am I entitled to your RM$10k commission too?

The car had clocked 12,000KM and was a brand new condition demo car.

You can call BMW Quill to verify. I think Segambut also was doing the promo at RM$248, albeit a bit higher.

Secret to owning BMW is buy 2nd hand. Cause BMW Malaysia themselves throw prices. Before year end already last year, in November, they were selling their 520i for RM270k and the 520d for what I bought. So if BMW Malaysia themselves throw prices, you can imagine how the used car market is!

• You are not entitled. He mean he want the “FL” which mean the F10 LCI which launch in 2014

• Harith on May 12, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Go search Paul Tan’s advertorial. I remember seeing BMW F10 going as low as RM250k to clear their pre reg stock.

• Ali Karim on May 12, 2014 at 12:44 pm

You seemed to know your stuff well. Stick with it…

• seancorr on May 12, 2014 at 2:45 pm

U so sure I can find one @ RM240k for a 2013 model? If that’s the case I wouldn’t mind upgrading my petrol unit to a diesel one but I’ve never seen such a price before for a 2013 model.

BMW is here to do business and a business only sees profit so if they raise the price of the 520d by 30k doesn’t that tell you that they can still sell it at a higher price to us Malaysians?

• Harith on May 12, 2014 at 3:25 pm

BMW Premium Selection at Glenmarie got so many going for RM240k to RM260k. I just saw a white one 2013 today for RM250k.

• bull killer on May 13, 2014 at 12:17 am

Don’t BULLSHITTING please!!!! why don’t u just say don’t buy an aventador cause owner has to lost over RM300,000 in 3 yrs.

• sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Actually didn’t the facelift version of the 5 series get the new iDrive?

• sudonano (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Actually didn’t the facelift version of the 5 series get the new iDrive? That was quite fast….

• bisakeris (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 12:23 pm

>oh my diesel<

• Willie on May 12, 2014 at 12:44 pm

2000 bar??

• I just don’t care about the new engine and the new transmission and the good FC etc. I just want a 30% reduction of ownership cost as promised.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on May 12, 2014 at 2:44 pm

anyone knows when this new engine for the 520d will arrive in Malaysia?

• BMW's Diesel Bull on May 12, 2014 at 5:28 pm

sorry form previous comment . in fact I am a Toyota and lexus salesman .I like bmw very much especially their award winning diesel car . Toyota sales is too bad currently ..

• BMW's Diesel Bull1 on May 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm

the award winning bmw diesel enjin is the best in the world . I drive both f30 diesel n petrol , the sound is not much diff due to current turbo enjin . even this year F1 car sound terrible .

• BMW's Diesel BullDOG on May 12, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I LIKE BMW DIESEL ENJIN

• BMW's Diesel BullDOG on May 12, 2014 at 5:41 pm

never heard any bmw diesel owner complain their engine ..the more they drive the more they like the enjin

• BMW's Diesel Bull2 on May 12, 2014 at 5:48 pm

it’s not first day bmw introduce their diesel enjin , it’s more than 15 years and proven whether euro 2 or 4 , the enjin still running strong . see Mercedes even not dare to bring their cdi model

• BMW's Diesel Bull3 on May 12, 2014 at 5:50 pm

only Toyota and lexus saleman nor agree with my statement

• BMW's Diesel Bull on May 13, 2014 at 7:42 am

I am actually an audi salesman hehehe..

• BMW's Diesel Bull on May 13, 2014 at 7:43 am

Misleading and provide wrong information is our expertise.

• Saya Anak Datuk! on May 14, 2014 at 8:10 am

Wanted to buy BMW but I see how BMW Malaysia, AB, Quill, Wearnes, Ingress salesman act on this comments section, I think I am not interested.

If they can act like scum and low lives with the last few postings here, how to trust a company like that with my RM300k?

AB salesman, please act with dignity. You are selling a high end product, please act with class.

• BMW's Diesel Bull on May 14, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Fake Anak Datuk, you got money to buy BMW dreaming ah idiot.

• Saya Anak Datuk! on May 14, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Sorry lah sebenarnya saya bukan Anak Datuk tapi juru jual mercedes.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on May 13, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Will there be another price increase for these changes on the 520d? If same price, I am sold.

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 17, 2014 at 9:40 am

Diesel engine is awesome. Only problem diesel always run out of stock. Damm leceh

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 17, 2014 at 9:42 am

And another problem is BMW after sales service… OMG….worst i have seen. Perodua after sales service is 1000x better. Trust me. Go compare urself.

• Paul, will the new 190 hp 2.0 turbodiesel engines also be available here in Malaysia for the rest of the BMW series, besides the 5 series?

• Paul Tan on May 22, 2014 at 6:39 pm

The engine is not available in any BMW Malaysia model yet. We will do a story when it is available.