Peugeot 5008 facelift seen at JPJ – will it be CKD?

peugeot-5008-facelift-jpj-1

Following Peugeot Malaysia’s teaser on Facebook recently, Anol Alias has spotted the Peugeot 5008 facelift at the JPJ car park.

Nothing untoward about that, as we’ve seen the refreshed MPV being tested on the road, but these spyshots reveal that the vehicle could be locally assembled (CKD), thanks to a ‘Naza Lulus’ sticker on the rear window.

Could we then expect it to cost less, or at least not far off, than the RM159,888 asked for the original model that was launched at KLIMS 2010? That one had a 156 hp/240 Nm 1.6 litre THP four-cylinder engine and a six-speed auto – we’re expecting these to soldier on here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• yehhh come on NAZA, CKD 5008, the more the marrier

• kzm (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 7:30 pm

I tot CKD car will soon stop production..all go to thai, indo, myanmar, timor leste n etc..that wat i heard from some paultan commenter la..

• Are Peugeot reliable these days? My personal opinion not quite. What about the rest of you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • zeek (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Why not ask a peugeot owner on reliability. Don’t listen to others who doesn’t own a peugeot within the last 5 years. For me personally I’ve never had any problems with mine (almost 6 years)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • U also another one. Wanna lie also pandai pandai la. 6 year never had any problem? What model u drive? Or u’re just a pug salesman. Tipu dosa tau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • zeek (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 12:16 am

Firstly, do you own a peugeot? If no then how would you actually know how its reliability like? This is the problem with malaysians; always like to live in the past and condemn brands like this. But if you still refuse to accept the fact that any car can be reliable as long as you take good care of it, then so be it. I don’t have the power to change your or anyone else’s mindset.

BTW, its a 407.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr on May 12, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Good question as I’m in the midst of comparing between the Peugeot, Ford and VW at the moment as a second car.

I’ve heard of the VW horror stories so no surprises there but I noticed VW finally doing something about it…Ford has some isolated cases and as for Peugeot I mainly see cases on the 308 and not so on the other models.

Any genuine owners here wanna voice their opinion?

• pijot on May 12, 2014 at 5:31 pm

my wife drives the 408. It’s been 9 months already. So far everything ok. The battery died recently but they sent a technician to replace it for free since the car is still under warranty. So, so far so good.

• facelift 308T since 2012,35000km.so far so good.
          very good performance and FC about like my 1.8 civic,10km/l in town,16km/l on highway.
          service so far ok.

• Tim M on May 12, 2014 at 10:40 pm

You are wrong there about Ford having isolated cases of Dual clutch failures. Currently, they have more dual clutch failures than VW. Why, because VW is resolving the problem, but Ford hasn’t recognized it as a problem yet in Malaysia. So expect Ford to have more breakdowns before they react. The biggest problem with Peugeot cars is that after sales by Naza is very very poor and parts are SUPER expensive. If you can live with that, than go ahead and buy a Peugeot.

• rafizi on May 13, 2014 at 12:35 pm

We have a 408 2.0 for about a year now. I am happy with Naza’s service as warranty claims have been handled swiftly and service staff were courteous. The battery and front brake discs(squealing noise) were replaced under warranty.

• Roque on May 13, 2014 at 9:02 am

Seancorr

Make sure u get the wet clutch I.e. gti and above

• DSG sucks on May 12, 2014 at 4:50 pm

local agent UNRELIABLE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Albert Lee on May 12, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Your excellency DSG,you are 300 percent correct.
        I have a Naza Kia and found the service centres WONDERFULLY TERRIBLE.
        Naza’s salesmen can convince the parrot to drop dead from the tree BUT the after sales service is just HORRENDOUSLY a big TURN OFF.
        No harm trying,but be prepared for low resale values and spare parts unavailability after a few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • i have a 208 gti as a second car. had put about 20k mileage on it( drive on highways 100km a day) i had a problem with temp censor and turbo pressure sensor. kinda pisses me of a bit considering they only have 1 engine (1.6 engine)so the should of figured things out already. both replaced under warranty. so no complains for me + 5 years UNLIMITED mileage warranty, keyword is unlimited as ill be clocking 100km daily no other car could compare. plus its a fun car for daily commute. i also have a f30 328i, which also have afew niggles (telephone module and start stop cable) but nothing big all replaced under warranty. cars nowadays are way better than they used to be, if you buy a car new you wont have to worry to much. unless you want to talk about RV and all those other boring stuff then i guess your are better off reading a post about camry and all those other cars.

• Jerry J on May 12, 2014 at 10:32 pm

I own a Peugeot for the last 5 years. My biggest complaint is that spare parts are very expensive. Another problem is that mechanics do not like to fix this car or any other French cars (point to note: Renault is a big NO, NO for mechanics in Malaysia) because they are so complicated.

So if you like to visit Naza to change your car parts, sure why not. Just be prepared to pay extra for every part that you purchase from them.

• KangKungMan on May 12, 2014 at 3:31 pm

RM99K will do !!!

• azizcheah on May 12, 2014 at 3:50 pm

New facelift. Price will be higher then 159K.

• Roque on May 12, 2014 at 4:26 pm

My personal opinion is that the engines are OK. I drive a 3008. But as for the service is concerned, as usual, typical bolehland with kangkungness. I complained on a noise when turning my car when mileage was only 13,000+. To-date, they still could not resolve the issue. Several parts have been changed as recommended by their “technical team” under warranty, still unable to resolve. Now they tell me to change the absorbers but they still cannot say for sure it will resolve the noise issue. So I said go ahead but to my shock, they tell me that I have to pay for it cause its past 30,000km and thats the warranty mileage for absorbers. I said this is your “technical team’s” advice to change the absorbers for purpose of resolving the noise. I pay? Had a big argument with them, and they are trying to sort it out. I said I had already complained about the noise when mileage was only 13,000+ but no one could resolve the problem even after parts have been changed. Y didnt they ask me to change the absorbers before it hit the 30,000km mark? Furthermore, it is their duty to resolve the noise issue as the complain had gone in at such low mileage before the absorbers warranty expired. Dealing with the people at CLIC was one of the worst experience I have ever had. So anyone out there hoping to buy a Peugeot, please think 20 times. Good engine but after sales service and the manner they handled was very unprofessional, very indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 13, 2014 at 5:34 pm

After 13K.. man… I encounters some issues with my frens that own Peugeot.. no point telling anyway. . Conti maniacs will attack anyway.. look down on japs milo tin.. well good luck with your car.. its your money too.. hopefully you can solve it.. check the driveshafts too.. but be ready for the price tags.. I don’t think it’s engine mount issues.

• Denaihati on May 12, 2014 at 4:48 pm

if CKD, might be an attractive price, RM135k~RM145, i think. it’s attractive design.

• Roque,

Try to change engine mounting, hopefully your problem will be solved. I experienced it 10 years ago (but not with the Peugeot).

• i used to drive 307 SW for quite sometimes,performance very good, but spare parts price is terrible

• Roque on May 13, 2014 at 8:56 am

Ali

Changed the engine mount as well. Still can’t solve the noise issue.

• Allen toyota subang on May 14, 2014 at 8:39 am

I went to this chap workshop and there are 7 NAZA KIA ROTTING IN THE SUN FOR ABOUT 6 month…. No sparepart…

• lowprofile on May 17, 2014 at 9:36 am

excuse me, that is kia that you are talking about and kia is run by naza kia sdn bhd. peugeot is handled by nasim sdn bhd and the companies, while having common directors, are in no way related save for the holding company. no staff are shared and they have very different management teams. yes, nasim has issues and so does naza kia but those issues are in no way related to each other because of the common holding company.

by the way, other brands have issues and expensive parts too but owners dare not talk about it for fear of looking silly when they say their non-european brand has issues.

• ZULKARNAN ABDUL on May 23, 2015 at 9:40 am

I own Peugeot 5008 till now and it’s still in the workshop. Let me share why it’s the worst car I ever had.
    Year 1- Battery flat less than 1 year, the battery is not easily taken out and replaced, open the engine and you can see why
    Year 2- Temperature sensor faulty, engine temperature increased, coolant drained and had to tow to SC
    Year 3- Engine oil leak from the below car body, only noticed when my garage had oil spill
    Year 4- Engine fault indicator light on, first sent to SC, the service personnel said the driver accidentally step on brake and accelrator at the same time, I thought it didn’t make sense, they rectify via computer software
    – A few month later, Engine fault indicator light on again, this time SC said the pistons didn’t function, then just serviced and they work again
    – A few months later, Engine fault indicator light on again, SC said carbon build up, they clean up/ decarbonised, indicator off, it work again but just temporary,
    – Then aircon was not cooling, replaced 2 parts, cost RM900+
    – A few weeks after that, engine fault light on, SC said THROTTLE BODY AND INTAKE HOSE DAMAGE, replacement cost RM1600 not inclusive service, waited 7 days, they replaced the Throttle BUT found another problem TURBO not functioning!!!!! If replace RM16K…. after made noice, they said they will try to repair…. so the nightmare is still hunting us (me and wife),
    If you google the reviews on Peugeot problems, ALL their problems, I am facing now. It’s just 3 years, don’t tell me we can’t use the car anymore. My MyVi is already 6 years, we never faced any major problem. This is a true story…. please share