Renault Fluence teased on Renault Malaysia’s FB page

renault-fluence-malaysia-tease-1

Another C-segment sedan cometh, but you know it already, having seen the vehicle testing in Mont Kiara and Genting Highlands. Renault Malaysia’s Fluence teasers on its Facebook page so far reveal that the vehicle will be equipped with front, side and curtain airbags, plus cruise control. Not long now, we’re sure!

According to our sources, the Renault Fluence is set to be locally assembled (CKD) by Tan Chong Motor Assemblies, which builds Nissan, Subaru and Mitsubishi vehicles in Malaysia. We’re expecting a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine and a CVT gearbox, a similar combo to that found in the previous-gen Nissan Sylphy (G11).

As our spyshots have revealed, we’ll be getting the ‘first facelift’ Fluence – a newer facelift was unveiled in Istanbul in late-2012. The all-electric Renault Fluence ZE gets its own face (rectangular grille, front bumper more similar in profile to the original Fluence). We’ve spotted that around too, presumably going about its pilot programme – when’s that due then?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• victor tan on May 12, 2014 at 12:15 pm

A CKD for Renault???

Please CKD for a freaking basic Megane 1.6 or 1.2 turbo, just keep the current engine and pair with 5/6 speed gearbox. Then come to papa!

• Nasaruddin on May 12, 2014 at 12:57 pm

dont waste your money buying expensive car. spend it for your children education and wellbeing. invest wisely. prepare for a more challenging future. world economy is not good now and at least until the next 7 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • normal_user on May 12, 2014 at 2:00 pm

How expensive is ‘expensive’? The car’s price has yet to be announced. Anyway, nearly all cars in Bolehland are indeed expensive in relative to the value offered. What if this Fluence priced similiar to Sylphy’s? However, judging on TCM’s previous history of being ‘greedy’, is quite impossible.

Localize the parts, use Nissan engine & parts, only then we can hopeful to get this car reasonably priced. This model is also called as the Samsung SM3 in Korea, which is reasonably priced for common folks there.

• phua chu kengkang on May 12, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Hello bro, tis is car forum and not saving money forum. Their $$ their choice. Up to them la.

• nabill (Member) on May 12, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Looks like a mondeo rear…maybe its sting like a glorified sylphy…it brings nothing new to da market,unless its a super competitive pricing

• Jaybond on May 12, 2014 at 3:04 pm

One of the best looking car in its class. Quality-wise, should have been improved too.

• Jaybond on May 12, 2014 at 1:35 pm

The more competition, the better for the consumer. Expect the D-segment Renault Latitude (quite good looking) to come in soon too to Malaysia..

• Pay more get less? Who in the right mind will pay premium price for lowsy french car… If priced below proton also is not a good buy ok!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • For cheapo C segment better stick your gun with Toyota Honda Nissan. Resale value is good.

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2014 at 7:40 am

Wondering who will buy this over the sea of other C segments.

Perhaps this will come with 6 airbags, but so does the Cerato, new Sylphy, and the Preve.

• klangboy on May 13, 2014 at 12:47 pm

RENAULT FLATULENCE IS HERE!

• The fluence cars are already in the back yard of Renault in Sec 13 .Think ready to go on sale soon. Drive into Jaya 33 parking and you can see it on your way in on top right after parking boom gate