GALLERY: 2014 Nissan Teana L33 takes on 2013’s J32

Nissan_Teana_new_vs_old_002

As is now the norm here at paultan.org, our series of like-for-like new vs old galleries of most major new cars here in Malaysia draws you a complete picture of what makes a new model, well, new. Now, it’s the soon-to-be-launched 2014 Nissan Teana’s turn to pose next to its older sibling, the 2013 Nissan Teana.

It’s not until you put them side by side do you see the extent of the monumental direction change at play here. The Teana that we’re familiar with – codenamed the J32 – has always been a little different than the rest of the traditional Japanese D-segment brigade. It was softer, calmer, and definitely less mainstream than say, a Toyota Camry.

That’s not at all a bad thing to be. Not by a long shot. It carved its own unique niche among Malaysian executives, for whom only a Teana would do. The L33 Teana that’s new for 2014 is a different animal yet again. This one is more aggressively-styled, even better equipped and yet no less luxurious inside. Appeal broadened, then.

This new 2014 Teana is indeed all-new. New looks inside and out, new engine and transmission, all check. Go through our exclusive like-for-like comparison gallery below, if you’re feeling sceptical.

The 2.5 litre engine, meanwhile, has been changed from the J32’s multi-award-winning VQ V6 engine to a newer four-cylinder QR25DE motor. Purists may not like the change, but few can really argue against the use of a new engine that’s significantly more efficient than before. It’s 2014 after all.

In any case, the new four-pot is less powerful but more torquey than the famed V6, making 172 hp and 234 Nm of twist compared to the old car’s 182 hp and 228 Nm. Both send power to the front wheels through an Xtronic CVT gearbox, but the L33’s tranny is of a newer design and is lighter and more efficient.

Nissan_Teana_new_vs_old_010

Look out for our full comprehensive review of the 2014 Nissan Teana very soon, which will cover both this flagship 2.5 XV model as well as the 2.0 litre variant. Without spoiling it for you, let’s just say that with this new model and the still-fresh new Sylphy, Nissan is really on a roll.

Moving forward in the right way, some would say. Looking at this gallery alone, wouldn’t you agree?

2014 Nissan Teana L33

2013 Nissan Teana J32

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Teana_with_worst_kit on May 15, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Am I understanding this correctly, the latest Teana has a Radio where as the last gen has Sat Nav screen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Pinky on May 15, 2014 at 9:36 pm

The design of this car is just not outstanding enough.. The front looks abit weird to me.. Uncle buyers will go for passat / accord while the younger people buyers will prefer the mazda6 / k5..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
      • younger people prefer C-segment and below
        pull-stop.
        D-segment – family guy.
        But, Kia K5 definitely not for youngster as it cannot be modified,tuned like the japs n continental .K5 Only looks better with lots of accs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • agogo on May 16, 2014 at 9:51 am

what the difference between buying a washing machine and Japanese cars ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 15, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Perghhhh….worse than existing model…..

If u look carefully, the interior is the same quality as Proton Perdana 2nd hand…..

Cockpit is also dull and outdated features……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
  • As far as Japan D-segment car exterior design is concerned, the best design is
    1) Teana L33
    2) Mazda6
    3) Accord

Interior design
    1) Accord
    2) Mazda6
    3) Teana

Camry? Hmmmmm……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 29
    • Allan Honda PG on May 15, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Honda Accord all the way,this Teana looks outdated outside and inside

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 48
    • Shame_loo on May 15, 2014 at 10:40 pm

A lot of salesman mis-use this section to give biase input. Sigh! I owned toyota and honda before except nissan. To me, Nissan design is really boring. Old Teana front looks better while rear design i prefer the new one. Interior wise, both are boring and uncle look. Honda accord is the best as overall in design except the poor 4 airbags and old style DRL. Mazda 6 exterior are great, but lacking of quite a number of basic feature and boring interior design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • rear design almost like suzuki Kizashi

• exterior is okay but the interior……not very feature oriented by the looks of it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Among the 3 Japanese mainstream brands (which target the upper 30+ executives), namely the Honda, Toyota and Nissan, its clear that the Nissan really looks like a step above from the competition. If they maintain the comfort from the sofa-like seats as per the last Teana, I’d say the Camry is gone.

UMW can keep their Camry X. The money is on the Nissan now. Its either the Nissan, or the Mazda6. Only thing with the 6 would be that… it is most likely going to be more expensive than the Teana, based on the current pricing…

Good job Nissan, you guys just pulled the carpet below Toyota. First, the Almera, then the Sylphy, and now the Teana. That’s like a triple kill.

If one thing I must say, the new Teana will look really nice in black. based on the pictures I have seen, the black looks pretty calm, very stealthy.

Though, too bad there won’t be the VQ engine anymore. Brilliant engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 10
    • Halil on May 15, 2014 at 11:05 pm

The only market in South East Asia that gets the V6 is the Philippines market. But even that is the 3.5 V6. The reason for that is they are getting the Altima and not the Teana and their model is made in the US, because Philippines is a left hand drive market. All right hand drive markets in SEA will be getting Teana’s from Thailand.

• D-segment car market shares will again be reshuffled.
      1) The sales of Sonata &K5 will shrink even deeper since the “Wow” effect is gone and the generous safety features has no longer as the cutting edge over the Japanese rivals. In order to regain the people’s attention, they have to think of more gadgets and comprehensive infotainment, passive safety features to win the early 30’s to mid 30’s potential buyers’ heart. As for now, I guess they may resort to price battle.
      2) Those who have explored themselves with Pug508, Mondeo, Passat are likely staying as the untouched group bcos they have been charmed by the turbo driven engine, double clutch transmission and hard to get themselves bowing before the NA engine. Once dwelling with Conti car, they will usually stay as where they are.
      3) Mazda6 will not act as the key player. The brand image has to be further enhanced and established so that to capture the trust and confidence from the mid 30’s to 40’s. The sky high price tag is a big barrier; CKD unit certainly would welcome more potential buyers. It is a good car but has to be made known to the public especially to uncle and aunty.
      3) The “almighty” RV king Camry will surely fall but not die. UMW will repackage the top seller with attractive safety features without increasing selling price. Free aero kit to challenge the new comers. The facelift model is on the way coming, beware, it will fight back even stronger.
      4) Accord will take the lead along with Teana. The contemporary design and thoughtful safety kit enthrone Accord and Teana shine over the rest. Nissan’s new family look makes Teana more appealing than ever, and it’s marketing strategy ensures Teana stands out to be the strong contender.
      Well done, Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • The front end looks a bit weird, especially the obvious bonnet line above the grille that spoils everything. And mentioning of that grille, it really reminds me of an Almera (which is a really bad thing).

Maybe I’m not a fan of Nissan after all, be it exterior designs or their CVTs. I’d prefer the older Teanas, especially the 1st gen one that still looks decent to date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kadajawi (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Am I the only one to think that the interior of the new Teana is a big step down? The old one looks much classier, and the screen is bigger too. Only the dashboard itself seems nicer on the new one.

Exterior wise the front is… not great, but neither was the outgoing model. The rear is an improvement, though it looks a bit like a molten Waja…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Vader on May 16, 2014 at 8:14 am

I am agreed with u, the previous gen interior look more elegance than new one. The previous gen design alike the infinity, just my personal opinion.

• Obviously (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Ah…the smell of progress. I really like how they changed their game. Really looks like a different animal entirely. Even removed the faux wood that would drive away the younger buyers. Kudos to Nissan.

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:03 am

Progress? changing from LCD screen to monochrome screen is a progress?

• Vinodh on May 15, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Nissan Teana better than Toyota Camry and Honda Accord. Nissan now is best car in the world!!!
    Toyota Camry is useless or stupid car and also Honda Accord!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
    • Vinodh said is truth

Camry and Accord useless car and no quality

Teana is good engine and new CVT good design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
      • Allan Honda PG on May 15, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Many will still go for Honda Accord,unlike this stupid apek Teana ugly inside and outside.Also the RV will makes future owner like Vinoh and Hari hailat as new Accord will DRL will smoke them all the day!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
      • Kumar on May 15, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Hey Vinod and Hari. Don’t talk c**k la. Honda Accord is a much better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Still, more Mazda6 and new accord on the road ..
      every car has their own pro and cons ,
      Teana suits u the best Vinodh ..
      maybe cos u bought 1 , haha
      Nissan GTR ? yes can be title as best car .
      Teana ? best car for family guy like u vinodh who prefer comfort and pleasant looks.

• shame_Loo on May 16, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Are you Nissan salesman? “Best Car in the World”, don’t make me laugh.

• Heskey on May 15, 2014 at 8:07 pm

First!!! Janji ditepati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Is it just me (prior to this, have no idea at all how the 2013 Teana interior looks like) who couldn’t tell which interior picture belongs to which generation for the two side-by-side interior pictures in the article?

At first glance I thought that the picture on the right (2013 Teana interior) is the new interior.

Oh shit…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Luther on May 15, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Its just you. Get out of the cave that you are in and start looking at some real cars instead of tin cans such as Toyota Camry or Toyota Corolla’s.

• It makes no sense to have the LED control so far out…driver will have problem locating the right control while driving!

• hohoho on May 15, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Looking forward for more of these cars to be on the road soon!

• Too much silvery garnish at front grill and bonnet. Making it looks hideous.

• front looks great, back looks great. inside, old one looks better, (almost thought the old one was the new interior) but still incredibly boring.

• zamer on May 15, 2014 at 9:52 pm

awkward moment when the older version has better radio head unit. and there’s a reverse camera too while the new teana only listen to the beep beep sound..

• shawal on May 15, 2014 at 9:52 pm

the new teana should have a satnav option available, that would make the dash look more sophisticated..
    black gloss is a fingerprint magnet tho..
    Interior wise The Accord takes the cake and sends all back to school…

exterior wise…accord in black looks the biz..
    but the teana has exhaust on either side which is cool…

• FoongKeong on May 15, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Impressive!!
    2.5XV variant spec looks very good!
    1) BOSE Premium Audio System (9 speakers)
    2) Sunroof
    3) Xenon Headlamps with Auto-Leveling and Washer
    4) Rear Power Sunshade
    5) Bluetooth Handsfree Control

Other features are standard across all 2.0/2.5, even better:
    1) All-New QR25DE Twin CVTC Engine (improved FC)
    2) Zero-Gravity Inspired Seat
    3) Advanced Drive Assist Display (ADAD)
    4) Safety: 6 SRS Airbags / HSA / AUC / VDC / TSC / EBD / BA / ABS
    5) Keyless / Push Start-Stop
    6) Dual-Zone Auto Climate Control
    7) Steering Wheel: Cruise Control, Audio Control and ADAD Control
    8) Rear Air-Cond vents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • storm7752 on May 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Teana 2.0 is underpower with 136ps. Normally, a 2.0cc car should have 155ps. Accord 2.0, design OK but SOHC is the barrier. Not sure why Honda is moving backward but using “Dinosaur technology” SOHC ?
      For Camry, I don’t like the design as compared to the previous model.

• xiper (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 11:08 pm

the interior looks like Camry, the J32 interior looks better. No doubt the exterior J33 looks way better…

• No memory seat(old teana got) and paddel shift ?

• Since ETCM has been bringing updated 214 nissan vehicles in Malaysia,especially when the new sedans,Sylphy and Teana has been brought,I think its about time they bring the new facelifted Nissan Almera here.

It would only be logical yes? Since the Almera is the only one that has not been updated here.

Any rumors about ETCM bringing the new Almera in Malaysia from Paultan?

• Alvin Goh on May 15, 2014 at 11:44 pm

In my honest opinion I think this article is giving too much credit to TCM when everyone knows the Teana and Slyphy that we are getting is way overdue when other countries already launched theirs for 2 years or so. Seriously nothing to shout about these Nissan’s engines, which is among the weakest in its class – 130+ for a 2.0 litre, when competitors are at the 150-160 range for a similer sized NA, and yet can still claim efficiency figures (e.g Mazda, Honda).

• nissan is always a quality car, economy, low maintainance….very beautiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • shawn eastern on May 16, 2014 at 3:06 am

may i say something ?
    NEW one is always prettier to many … but it has lost the original concept of the original teana … just look at the 1st generation (now samsung in korea) and the 2nd generation and the latest one. The interior design of from A pillar to C pillar. The 1st and 2nd Generation did provide the PENTHOUSE luxurious sofa and wood penal-ling … that made you feel at home immediately after the whole working day the moment you sit inside whether you drive it or someone was driving it for you. the same goes to the previous Sylphy … the seats … the most valuable items in my shopping list … until they were in black.
    I do hope NISSAN would listen a little bit more to existing customers to opt for both interior colors. Family or sporty in mind … just like a G or V for Toyota … we want a family sedan … and not everyone likes sport sedan.

• shawn eastern on May 16, 2014 at 3:08 am

some more … sylphy and new teana … too close in appearance ….

• got satnav addon lah. 3k

• Josh Ling on May 16, 2014 at 6:14 am

no big deal, but hafriz, i noticed you had written L32 in one of the paragraphs, and i think it should be L33.

i don’t think the outgoing teana is that bad, especially the interior. for a car that has been in the market for years and can still look that fresh is an achievement already.

still getting used to the new teana, though the rear look seems to improve, it’s just too mainstream and strange (in some way) for my liking. it has lost some of the charm and quirkiness of the outgoing model that i really love, and the engine as well.

hopefully everything will change once i get to see the car in flesh.

• steve on May 16, 2014 at 7:55 am

No Sat-Nav? Epic fail! A D-segment car should have satnav as standard, not a small little screen just for radio

• gavin on May 16, 2014 at 8:19 am

Looks like nissan had a fixed budget and it only allowed for one change either interior or exterior, i guess designers chose exterior, the interior went back in time, something from the old parts bin

• Good looking car with better spec than it’s predecessor…but…the steering wheel is a turn off to me. J32’s looks more classy

• vee-oh on May 16, 2014 at 9:23 am

So Toyota boys, when are you guys going to fight back?still satisfied with the funny Camry X is it?

• Another lifeless car, just too boring looks.

• Joker on May 16, 2014 at 3:15 pm

The outgoing interior looks way better than this new 1…
    D Segment wise perhaps still the best japs is the Accord and the 6… then comes Teana and the Kizashi..
    Best overall might be the pug508 and Mondeo..
    Dun 4get DS5….

• some more … sylphy and new teana … too close in appearance ….

—————————

If the new teana price is same as the Camry & accord.

The Teana will be a failure like what the new sylphy now where they are selling at the Altis and Civic price.

What is the advantage if you increase the safety features with 6 airbag at the same time increase the price which is same as camry and Accord? This apply to the new sylphy.

Well, If given the same price tag as Camry and accord. I will opt for T or H. At least the depreciation cost will be less painful.

Good luck to Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • andrew88 on May 20, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Hi all people here….all brand got their own benefit and advantages…nowadays in Malaysia market nissan the best because of the price…money hard to earn here…price can be afford for public…Nissan has improve based this Teana n Slyphy…for me design not that important design just a temporary feeling…guys go try test the car before comment….thank you…

• The two big holes beside the gear shifter are unforgiveable!!

• im use it but not drive it.. it been use as a taxi in dubai. :(