VIDEO: Buy My Volvo – how old should really be sold

So I finally decided I was going to put my previous ride up for sale, after three months of telling myself I’d do it. Nothing like checking out some creative angles to see if I could come up with an eye-catcher. I mean, “low mileage,” “driven by a little old lady” and “accident-free, see to believe” is all good and fine, but it’s all, shall we say, lacking in novelty, no?

Maybe I shouldn’t have clicked so far along as I did, because this absolute cracker came along – it’s a video called Buy My Volvo, and it’s an ad for a sixth-hand 1993 Volvo 245GL by a Swedish chap who goes by the name of Castor. It’s almost enough to make you want to buy an old Volvo wagon, even if you don’t want one.

With accompanying text copy such as “7,500 Swedish crowns, or the highest bidder. Or in exchange for a really long Xbox. Test it out in Malmö, Sweden,” I figure it’d be hard to top something like that. And since I can’t, I think I’ll give it a rest for a bit before again attempting to think of novel copy to go about selling the car.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jaguh Kangkung on May 15, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Preve prove itself 5 star NCAP very strong turtle shell car.

Now Proton must go to Sweden sell Preve there against Volvo cars ok!!!

• NO..Not against this Volvo, cause the back seat’s ……….HAUNTED!!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Not safe.. no 6 air bags.. no VSC.. death trap.. no this.. no that.. your life is cheap.. bla bla..

Can’t sell Suprima S.. even to India..

• protonad on May 15, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Still better than Proton official ad.

• Anthony.
    it’s actually a 240 GL.

• v-power on May 15, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Very professional set-up (video, voice-over)…it looked more expensive to make the video than the selling price of the car, lol! But brilliant ad though…!

• Ah Beng King on May 15, 2014 at 6:55 pm

still not gna buy this

• proton should hire this guy to do the ad, period.

• Steve Kok on May 15, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Here’s another one.
    Buy my Nissan Cefiro A32 :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fr6FklMc6B0

• tokmoh (Member) on May 15, 2014 at 11:50 pm

And they say Volvo are only for boring sensible family man.

This is the most epic ads before i watched that, another Volvo ad:

http://oppositelock.jalopnik.com/npocp-the-must-buy-volvo-240-1471806984

It’s the ad that made me took the leap of faith and recently got myself a nice 1991 Volvo 240GL injection. Loving it.

Volvo. For life!