2014 Nissan Teana – L33 on display at selected malls

L33_Nissan_Teana_2014_001

Before any prospective buyers head out to book the 2014 Nissan Teana, they can go see the car in person at selected shopping malls across the peninsula from now until June 1.

The D-segment sedan will be on display at the following locations:

• Bangsar Shopping Centre, Kuala Lumpur (till May 18)
  • Mahkota Parade, Melaka (till May 18)
  • KSL Mall, Johor Bahru (May 19-25)
  • Alamanda, Putrajaya (May 21-25)
  • Publika, Kuala Lumpur (May 21-25)
  • Queensbay Mall, Penang (May 29-June 1)

As previously reported, the Teana is powered by either the MR20DE 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine producing 136 PS at 5,600 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,400 rpm or the new QR25DE 2.5 litre four-pot making 173 PS at 6,000 rpm and 234 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Both engines are mated to an Xtronic CVT. Trim levels on offer are the 2.0 XE, 2.0 XL and 2.5 XV

No matter which variant you punt for, you will get push-button ignition, cruise control, dual-zone automatic climate control and rear air-conditioning vents, while safety kit includes Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, hill-start assist as well as six airbags (front, side and full-length curtain airbags).

Climbing up to the 2.5 XV will net you adaptive bi-xenon headlights, a nine-speaker Bose Premium Audio System, a sunroof, a powered rear windscreen sunshade and 17-inch alloy wheel shod with 215/55 tyres.

Unable to go out to have a look at the 2014 Nissan Teana? No matter – we have a full gallery of the new car alongside the previous-generation J32 for your perusal, as well as a test drive report from the Nissan 360 event in California.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 16, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Very good spec given by Nissan “thumbs up”. Btw a quick check from Nissan Malaysia website, it seem ELGRAND no longer display in the website.

• Paul Tan on May 16, 2014 at 11:03 pm

We heard a new facelift is coming soon, that’s why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Engine on May 17, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Paul Tan, is there any chances of Tan Chong bring in 3.5 V6 like the last J32?, which im currently using it right now. If yes, im gonna change it.

• Tony Sia on May 18, 2014 at 1:24 pm

The 3.5 V6 is now available only in Thailand and the Philippines, with Thailand getting the local CKD version and Philippines getting the US built Altima . Other markets stick to the 2.5 4 cylinder as the largest capacity.

However, i did hear that Tan Chong would import for customers the 3.5 V6 from Japan, but expect it to be pricey.

• kzm - malaysia maju! on May 17, 2014 at 11:32 am

Thank you MITI and Malaysia. Because of our good NAP, we are getting good cars that are cheap and reasonable.

Those not happy with Malaysia and our NAP, please migrate!

Malaysians get the best and we all should be very grateful and lucky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 61
    • All these uncle like to thumbs up when it comes to uncle looking car. But thumbs down when ppl kutuk the ugliness. poor uncle….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
      • _xXx_ on May 18, 2014 at 8:23 pm

u will turn uncle one day if u r a male. U won’t if u r not lucky to turn one…

• At least uncle got money. What does a schoolboy like you have?

• Johnny on May 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm

The Nissan marketeer are surveying the demand by no of booking b4 official launch. If u book now, the price may be not be lowered when official launching. Wait for official launch.

• _xXx_ on May 17, 2014 at 5:23 am

emmmm, huge discount if you wait longer…

• Nasurudin on May 17, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Wait 2 years the price will go below rm80k. Nissan a cars got no value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
      • Firdaus on May 18, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Hey Encik Nasurudin – can I just call you Naza?

It is true that Nissan cars do not have resale value as good as Toyota and Honda. However, it is still far higher than the RM80 k you will get for a 2 year old Korean D segment car that you are selling.

But seriously, the RM80k does not apply to any of the main Japanese cars even after 2 years. So, nope its not true what you have said.

• Why not wait 20 years…can get FOC.

• Legend` on May 16, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Does top spec comes with Navigation and Bluetooth hands-free telephone?

• Simon Chew on May 16, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Come on Tan Chong, your multimedia unit looks like a B segment car unit. Why cant you at least give the Kenwood one seen in Thailand. So cheap skate la, Tan Chong Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Albert Lee on May 16, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Nissan has beautifully redecorated the Sylphy and Teana this year.Good restyling and upgrading job .
    However,proton is too quiet nowadays.No more carnivals,sportivos.
    Well,PM said MAS may be bankrupted as an option.No more costly tax payers bailout.
    Proton has been bleeding Gomen grants and bailouts for too long.Bankruptcy should be an option for them too.Ta Pau or bungkus ,reboot….maybe start afresh as ONE GODZILLA AP KING,how about that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • Contender on May 16, 2014 at 11:47 pm

This is a Nissan Teana topic …. why bring Proton topic up anyway, Proton is a private company not govt owned so it does not deserve “protection” ….. what bailout ? should let market forces to determine the viability !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Albert Lee on May 17, 2014 at 10:10 am

Sir,you don’t get the entire picture.Alto it is MMC owned now,it is still vulnerable to bailouts like what happened to Bank Bumi (2times bailout).
        Proton is an unwanted baby tossed into Godzilla infested oceans.MMC is just doing temporary national service.Proton may at one stage later become an unbearable stench,and hived back to their previous owner.IT is slightly better than MAS which is actually bankrupt without a bailout.
        Proton is already asking for gomen grants.Can you afford to lose half a billion ringgit annually, if you own Proton?

• kzm (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 12:14 am

Ya ya ya….

• That must be the worst photo of a car i have ever seen on a brochure. Thanks for distorting everything about the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Clitick on May 17, 2014 at 2:28 am

Ya the photography is terrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • ppl who thumbed down don’t know a thing about taking photos of a car. Photos of the car on Paul Tan’s website is 100x better than the one on the brochure. No one take photos of a car with a wide angle lens.

• KLives on May 16, 2014 at 11:40 pm

I went to see the car display at the mall. Surprisingly no GPS for this price range of car. The center console is still outdated with such a small screen in the middle. I think something wrong with the center dashboard design. The 17inch rim look very cheap and not really solid looking.

Other than that, everything just fine especially with 9 speakers Bose and sunroof.

• Swaik on May 17, 2014 at 7:09 am

Cant wait to see and test drive it…

• Saw the car last night in Bangsar Shopping Centre and it is parked between La Bodega and Chinoz. Not a strategic spot I think. In fact, BSC is not strategic at all. Because somehow when I saw the car in BSC, it is really out of place as most (i said most not all) of the cars in BSC are those fancy cars. As I come up from the car park after seeing BMWs, Porsche, Bently etc I suddenly saw this bread-and-butter car. No offense to anyone, it is like seeing taxis parking there. Worst still, just opposite it, there is this Historic Motoring Classic car… so you have even fancier car like Ferrari, Maserati, Porsche etc.

What I am trying to say is, lets pick a family oriented Shopping Centre like One Utama, Paradigm mall, Tropicana Mall etc to feature a bread-and-butter car. For BSC, just display the Infinitis that they used to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Funny. Since when bsc is not a family oriented shopping place? Pls go check your eye again uncle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • low.class.and.proud.of.it on May 17, 2014 at 5:17 pm

what he meant to say is low-class family oriented mall…

not up-scale family oriented mall place like BSC. Pardon my friend for omitting the class description. He is just trying to be politically correct. Lots of BUTTHURT ppl this days.

• Thanks. Exactly what I am trying to say but I wouldn’t say “low-class” just different customer profile. Perhaps Nissan want to project a different image for Teana.

• zitrokillerdrone on May 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

DMT, you must be a virgin school kid. Its okay, we understand why you are so naive. Go get laid, kiddo!

• Tamak on May 17, 2014 at 6:18 pm

He is right, BSC is not a family orientated mall. It is a mall for those who think they have made it in life, but mostly have not. Meaning its for those who are ‘gila glamor” la. Spend until they have accumulate debts all around their neck, but still want to act rich!

• francis lim on May 17, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Actually, Tan Chong should have chosen 1 Utama, Sunway Pyramid or Paradigm instead. These are more suitable crowd for families with the right purchasing power. No one who goes to BSC wants to be seen in a Japanese car. They prefer European.

• BSC is not suitable?

There is alot of more then RM300k cars there than others place in Klang Valley. in fact, There are even more Japanese cars than any other Klang Valley too..

Well, we usually only notice the RaRe.

• Latiff on May 19, 2014 at 8:34 am

This muya must be one of the rich wannabes hanging around BSC

• Denaihati on May 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

exploring paultan.org is enought information…heeee, unless interested to do test drive etc…

• Teana just launched in Malaysia using the ‘kamishimo’ trapezoid grille. New launches in UK using V-motion grille.

So fast Teana considered “old” design?

• Not true. Read what the article said. It is the start of the V-motion grill in sedan cars. Meaning only the next generation Teana or the future update will be getting it worldwide. Not this model.

• Isn’t there supposed to be the all round view camera?

• Stupid Tan Chong must have omitted the all round view along with the Kenwood Mutimedia System. What do you expect from an Ah Beng company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Dont be fool on May 19, 2014 at 7:11 am

All these open for booking and spy shot is to test market response and stop buying from others as to hint there are new model out….Frt those who wanting to buy nissan please but at later stage coz more discount will be throw in…and better bargain. New J33…no big screen…though is a BOSE system with 9 speakers….but where is the ICE?? How is the suspension…FYI J32 got hell lots of issue with suspension…even Nissan buddy of mine claim suspension from Nis is always an issue….if you want to test drive don’t go for a new car to try out the suspension got for a higher mileage ones…remember to hit hard when going thru the bump to get the feel…second..weird sound from internal part of the dashboard…the leather seats with surface chipping…smell from external can somehow pass thru from the filter and if you are behind a heavy smoking car…you can get to smell the smoke in the cabin…the rest you have to get one and own it to share your findings…this is a J32 problem….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • henry tham on May 19, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Don’t be fool –

1. Nissan suspension problem? You must be kidding. Are you sure they are your friends? Nissan has the most solid suspension system among all the D segment cars in the market. I have never ever heard anyone complaining about Nissan suspension. You seriously must be out of your mind to say Nissan has suspension issues.

2. Dashboard problem is an assembly problem. Some Toyota’s and Honda’s have it too, the same as Nissan. Not something unique to Nissan. Its a click sound when wheels are turned, like a plastic sound. However, its not a mechanical or electrical issue, and it wont affect your car in any way. Its a problem unique to all cars assembled in Malaysia due to poor assembly standards compared with Thailand and Japan.

3. You are seriously the first person to complain about Nissan’s leather seats. Did you know that Nissan’s leather seats are made in Japan, unlike Toyota”s and Honda’s which are sourced from Thailand. Also, Nissan has always had a reputation for fantastic quality leather seats. Some of the 1980’s models Nissan Cedric seats are still good till today, unlike Toyota or Honda seats which deteriorate over time.

4. The reason that smell comes in is because the default setting for Nissan’s air conditioner is “outside air”. That is why you need to have a reading habit, which sadly Malaysians like you do not have. You have to read your car manual when you buy your car to change it to “recycle air”.

Sorry to say this, but either you are a competitor car salesman or you are just pretty darn stupid. Just for your info, I am a Nissan car owner that has 4 generations of Nissan’s. So please stop trying to fool others with your nonsense.

I hope I have educated you, in case you have not learned anything in life so far.

• mySerena on May 19, 2014 at 1:39 pm

At 1utama website, there’s stated Nissan Roadshow from 21-25 May 2014, so is there any chance the new Teana will be display there?

• messi on May 20, 2014 at 9:17 am

Nissan is a good car but the fact is that they are behind T & H for the past 20 years and the 2nd hand resale value is terrible in Malaysia. The depreciation cost is equal to continental car.

Just go and check the 2 to 3 years old 2nd hand value for 2.5 Teana will shock you where dealer is selling below RM 100K and you can imagine the trade in value should be 15% less than the selling cost.

Nissan has made a big mistake on the sylphy’s pricing where selling a 1.8 at 112K and 125K which is same as the Civic and Altis.

I expect the new Teana’s pricing will be around the Accord and camry.

If the (3) three pricing is the same, Accord and camry will be the choice if you want a better resale value for your car. Otherwise, take Nissan to expect conti depreciation price.

Anyway, I like nissan and have owned nissan car for 9 yeras till today because I can buy a cheaper 2nd hand car from dealer or direct owner.

• Hey Encik Nasurudin – can I just call you Naza?
    It is true that Nissan cars do not have resale value as good as Toyota and Honda. However, it is still far higher than the RM80 k you will get for a 2 year old Korean D segment car that you are selling.
    But seriously, the RM80k does not apply to any of the main Japanese cars even after 2 years. So, nope its not true what you have said.

——————————-

Please check before highlighting your statement.

The dealer at Mudah is selling the 11/12 2.0 Teana ard RM 85K before discount. Do you know what is the trade-in value?

Some of my friend selling T & H and their car dealer will not take 2 to 3 years 2.0 teana for more than RM 73K.

With the new teana coming out, the old model price will drop further.

Nissan try their best to be on par with H&T with revising their sylphy’s price to match Altis and Civic. They will commit suicide and will give big discount later.

Those who bought the 1st batch will received a good news of big discount later(Normal for nissan and almera is given the huge discount now) follow by a bad 2nd hand resale value.

Nissan only can get a big sale like almera is to price their car 10% below the T & H to boost up sale. Otherwise, these new models will be parking at the stock yard and wait for discount.

• Its funny to see those comments about RV RV RV…we all are tired of reading this, Toyota salesman..please get a new topic. moving forward like your company motto..you guys keep stuck with Nissan RV which I dont see much people sell or trade off their Nissan cars. However, I see lots of vios or camry for resale,just google carlies or oto.. Move forward, Toyota Salesman,dont stay in comfort zone..push your Altis n Camry X..there’s very few on the road..2 airbags still safe to go on highway, no worry.