Audi A3 clubsport quattro concept: 518 hp AWD sedan

Audi A3 clubsport quattro concept

Audi is packing some pretty big guns for the 2014 Worthersee Tour, taking a hacksaw to an S3 sedan to create the hardcore 518 hp Audi A3 clubsport quattro concept.

Some pretty serious hardware is required to produce that headline figure, so out goes the S3’s 296 hp 2.0 TFSI four, replaced by a tuned version of the 2.5 TFSI five-pot taken from the RS Q3, the outgoing TT RS and the previous-generation RS 3. This results in a specific output of 209 hp per litre, while peak torque is a massive 600 Nm produced between 2,300 and 6,000 rpm.

This prodigious amount of power and torque is possible thanks to a larger turbocharger providing up to 1.5 bar of boost, as well as a modified intercooler. With a seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission and all-wheel drive, 0-100 km/h is done in a supercar-baiting 3.6 seconds, while the top speed is 310 km/h.

To keep all this in check, the A3 clubsport features a revised suspension setup with a 10 mm lower ride height and carbon ceramic brakes. Extensive usage of carbon fibre – including on the bonnet – pares weight down to 1,527 kg, resulting in a power-to-weight ratio of just 2.9 kg per hp.

The level of performance on offer backs up the rather extrovert styling, which consists of a large trapezoidal grille emblazoned with the “quattro” script (the four-ringed logo has been moved to the leading edge of the bonnet) and carbon fibre front splitter, front winglets, side skirts and rear diffuser.

Large dual oval exhausts leave onlookers with no doubt about the car’s performance intent, while the squared-off wheel arch blisters are reminiscent of the RS 4 as well as the original Audi Quattro. The rear spoiler flips up to a vertical position under braking from high speeds, the increase in downforce allowing the ESC to pile on more braking force to the rear, shortening braking distance from 250 km/h by about 12 metres.

Inside, the A3 clubsport is fitted with racing bucket seats with integrated headrests and carbon fibre backrest shells, upholstered in black with grey piping and Sepang Blue contrast stitching. There’s also a new flat-bottomed three-spoke multifunction steering wheel with large start and Audi drive select buttons, as well as a unique gearknob with a red ring, carbon fibre inserts and a Clubsport logo.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• cutester on May 16, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Sepang Blue. Wow, that’s a new color name I learn today!

• ABTguy (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Wow, I love those bodykits !!

• kzm - malaysia maju! on May 17, 2014 at 11:37 am

Thank you MITI and Malaysia. Because of our good NAP, we are getting good cars that are cheap and reasonable.

Those not happy with Malaysia and our NAP, please migrate!

Malaysians get the best and we all should be very grateful and lucky!

• Azlan on May 16, 2014 at 12:56 pm

How I wish that Proton could design Preve rear like that A3….haihhh

• botol on May 17, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Proton can make a clubsport badge and you can pastrr it on any proton or car you like, just like the handling by lotus badge hahahah

• Jack Ang on May 16, 2014 at 1:17 pm

What will be the price (estimation)?
    Such a hardcore beast indeed !!

• trololol on May 16, 2014 at 1:51 pm

reach malaysia 1million unless you’re one of the top cronies. 80% discount for you sir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • kami (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:19 pm

that grille…bosan doh semua kereta design camtu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Takada on May 16, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Superb car that we will never see in Malaysia..

• frezco on May 16, 2014 at 2:34 pm

If only new WRX STi was more like this.

• Joe Radzif on May 16, 2014 at 3:01 pm

The grill is boring…

i like the B7 Grill more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Audifan on May 16, 2014 at 3:05 pm

The back and back lights look like current Lexus GS

• shawal on May 16, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Are those LEDs / motorshow LEDs or Lazer headlights..?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:43 pm

They look like the optional LED headlights of the regular A3.

http://paultan.org/2012/09/21/third-gen-audi-a3-sportback-to-surface-in-paris/audi-a3-sportback-s-lineled-scheinwerfer/

• beast!

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:01 pm

meh overprice junk with problematic gearbox. no thanks!

• Yes, DSG no good. Better buy Vios TRD.

• Bob_B78 on May 17, 2014 at 1:30 pm

As if you can afford to buy this car if it comes to Malaysia.
      Your so call piece of junk whose performance is equivalent to a Ferrari 430 Scuderia, probably 1/3 the price and can seat 4 person.
      So far, i never heard Audi being complained on gearbox problem in Malaysia. All i hear is VW and i’m a VW owner with no gb problem

• botol on May 17, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Vw and audi same gbx tech just difference is tht vw is dry clutch and audi wet clutch, audi more conservative but now proven to be more reliable.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:00 pm

no manual? waste