Maserati Ghibli launched in Malaysia, from RM538,800

Maserati Ghibli launch- 1

Naza Italia officially launched the Maserati Ghibli in PJ this morning, after FB-teasing the car earlier in the week. The Ghibli, a player in the E-segment sports premium market (think high-end variants of the 5 Series and E-Class, not your garden variety 520i and E 200) is available here in two petrol variants – Ghibli and Ghibli S – priced at RM538,800 and RM628,800 respectively.

Joining the new Quattroporte, which we drove in Turin last year, the smaller and sportier Ghibli gives Maserati two four-door sedan models in one range for the first time in the marque’s 100-year history. The Ghibli will be a main pillar in Maserati’s lofty aim to sell 50,000 units a year by 2015. Going mainstream while maintaining the qualities the brand is known for is Maser’s gameplan.

There’s nothing entry-level about the entry-level Maserati’s performance. Powered by a new 3.0 litre twin-turbo direct-injection V6 engine (designed in-house and manufactured by Ferrari in Maranello) with 330 hp and 500 Nm, the base Ghibli sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in just 5.6 seconds. Row through the auto box’s eight ratios and you’ll reach an unrestricted top speed of 263 km/h.

Maserati Ghibli launch- 17

Speaking of the gearbox, the ZF AT8-HP70, as used in the QP, has five shift modes – Auto Normal (default mode, shifts smooth and early), Auto Sport (sharper and higher rpm shifting), Manual Normal (via shift paddles, system may intervene), Manual Sport (driver has full control, no intervention at redline) and the extreme weather/super eco I.C.E mode.

A more powerful version of the six-pot resides in the Ghibli S’ sloping hood. Like in the Quattroporte V6 S, it makes 410 hp and 550 Nm of torque, enough to propel the 1,810 kg Maser from 0 to 100 km/h in five seconds flat. The big wave of torque is available from just 1,750 rpm. Top speed is 285 km/h.

A 275hp/570Nm diesel (Maserati’s first ever oil burner), as well as an AWD Ghibli S Q4, make up the rest of the range, but those two variants will not be brought in. All Malaysia-bound RWD Ghiblis will have a Limited Slip Differential (LSD) on the rear axle. Weight distribution for this 4.97-metre sedan is 50:50.

Maserati Ghibli launch- 39

The cosy cabin includes an 8.4-inch Maserati Touch Control system which integrates all controls except for the A/C panel, allowing for a clean centre console.

The dashboard and seats are covered in Maserati’s usual Poltrona Frau leather and a 15-speaker Bowers & Wilkins audio system with 16-channel 1,280 watt amplifier is on the options list. The Ghibli S gets carbon interior trim instead of wood.

Don’t like what you see? It’s a Maserati, so there are plenty of customisation options. But whichever trim or rim you choose, you’ll be turning more heads than a BMW ActiveHybrid 5 or Mercedes-Benz E 400, for sure.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kzm (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Does it include the girls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 32
    • drrif on May 16, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Its boring, compared to old shape quattroporte. Ghibli looks like cross between Infiniti and New Teana.

Interior and screen horrible. But a 6 GranCoupe or Panamera!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • kzm - malaysia maju! on May 17, 2014 at 11:34 am

Thank you MITI and Malaysia. Because of our good NAP, we are getting good cars that are cheap and reasonable.

Those not happy with Malaysia and our NAP, please migrate!

Malaysians get the best and we all should be very grateful and lucky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 95
        • anti kzm on May 18, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Another racism~~~ it will be nice if u give link to ur social network account to let everyone know who are you(of course not fake one but i think someone like u definitely give fake one)~~ and i willing to migrate if government willing to help me migrate to other country ^_^, but government or someone racism like u only know how to shout “You Tak Suka, You Keluar Dari Malaysia”. oh how about u give me usd 3 million then i keluar, since most country offer migrate throught investment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
          • mindfaucet on May 19, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Wow! Obviously you don’t know which is racism and which is nationalism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Anti kzm 2 on May 20, 2014 at 8:27 am

Idiot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • shame_loo on May 16, 2014 at 11:43 pm

The design isn’t that great or nice looking, but again, it’s a “MASERATI”. If you love it, you love it. Besides, the price is very competitive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • So cheap….with this price tag, there will be more Maserati on thr road in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • xiper (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:38 pm

due to the 50:50 setup, the rear legroom takes huge sacrifice. For a near to 5 meter car, the rear leg room is really small. Good engine and good handling though!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • WOW!!!!!!! damn sexy.And the price is what i have expected. Around RM550k. Not bad given its a Maserati. Definitely goina see these beauty on Malaysian road soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Usha-Usha on May 16, 2014 at 4:41 pm

I like front view.. If this car appear at your side mirror, u can see ‘devil with three pronged’ want to hunt u.. but sad with rear look.. so simple…

• Launch at PJ for what? Launch at PWTC ma, sure business baik punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
  • rifle on May 16, 2014 at 4:53 pm

ok..after i get a house for the same price, i will get u baby XDDD

• Interior design nothing to shout about…but i bet the material is high grade.

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 4:58 pm

WTF how the government allow it been sell for under RM1million?

Must be NAZA undertable settle with MITI officer. SPRM must step in and investigate them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
    • Puzzled on May 16, 2014 at 9:15 pm

It’s £52k in the UK. The price works out to be twice as expensive. What kind of pill are you on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 5:11 pm

To gain even better market penetration, Maserati should also introduce the lower powered version (3.0L, Normally Aspirated V6). I don’t think this will dampen the premium image of Maserati.

• AVH (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Even if you do not agree this is the sexiest car in its segment, it’s hard to go against the fact that this will turn more heads than the usual German selection. It is Italian however and therefore it’s riddled with flaws unlike the near flawless outlook of the wunderwaffe. The rear seat is, judging from both Carbuyer and saabkyle, cramp and the seat is position almost upright. Some of the dials and buttons don’t look as something from a half-a-million ringgit car while the ride isn’t as flexible or fine tune as the one you see on Stuttguard’s, Munich’s or ingolstadt’s offering. There are buttons behind the wheels that don’t make sense.

It has ,like all Italian cars, have one upside and that’s one hell of an upside…..the engine. Coming out from under the same roof where they are churning out the beating hearts of merenallo’s finest, the twin turbo V6, thou not a proper supercar engine, does have a respond and feel that no other car from any country can give, and in sports mode, the engine echoes the battle cries of warriors past, present and future …..it’s truly is epic(and when you have a quattroporte and GranTurismo overtake you at full throttle ,trust me the sound will etch into your mind)

As a car enthusiast, I really do wish there are more of this on the road. But even my sensible mind would edge my purchase towards a 535i or E400 or an A6 3.0l quattro……if I had the cash. Nah, I’ll still wait for the 3 series rivaling Maserati I.G(sarcasm)

PS: imagine this with ‘my neighbor totoro’ or ‘spirited away’ stickers on it, how fitting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • seancorr on May 16, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Yeah I’ve seen the overseas reviews and it failed to live up to their expectations. Engine is a stunner but everything else pales in comparison to the likes of the 5 Series or the E Class. Nice try Maserati but you’ll need to work harder to beat the Germans

• Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 5:16 pm

To gain even better market penetration, Maserati should also introduce the lower powered version (3.0L, Normally Aspirated V6) of the Ghibli. Don’t think this will dampen the premium image of Maserati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • tycoon88 on May 16, 2014 at 5:20 pm

245/35/R21 tyres dunno cost how much! this supercar change tayar sue more expensive than Merc S400

• daniel on May 16, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Did anyone notice that the dashboard looks similar to the P2-30A’s??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • All maseratis have the terrible reliability of a Ferrari but none of the performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • interior does not look very premium to me.. Panamera is a better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • sudonano (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Unexpected price… and that is a good thing!

• For all super car manufacturer please stop produce super car. With that kind of price tag they should produce SUPER GREEN CAR.

• lol the head unit macam proton gsc’s

• mim (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:44 pm

*looks at Ghibli’s dashboard*
    *looks at Proton P2-30A dashboard spyshot*

LOLWUT?

• me (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:50 pm

This one already include road tax and insurance? If already included the price is attractive.

• W204 C63 AMG on May 16, 2014 at 5:51 pm

I have no idea why some of you even compare the Ghibli to the Panamera. You guys realize that the Panamera is one segment above the Ghibli and it’s more expensive. The Quattroporte is a more appropriate comparison to the Panamera.

• Yes, they are the same segment Ghibli(4971mm) , panamera(4970mm).. In US they are even similar price for similar horsepower

• Onanodus on May 16, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Ghibli is more towards the E-Class/A6/5-Series class. The Panamera is more towards the S-Class/A8/7-Series class.

• Jeffrey on Sep 18, 2014 at 4:03 pm

You are wrong and right at the same time.
          Yes, the Ghibli is to be compared with E class/5 series/A6 but certainly the Panamera is not on par with S-class/7 series/A8.
          Porsche hasn’t make any car that can be compared with S-class/7 series/A8.
          To be more exact, the Panamera should be compared against A7/6 series and CLS class.
          Cheers ;)

• Sammy on May 16, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Resale value will be terrible. Better stick with toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • The center LCD Display is like half way stuff in from Acer PC shop

• Guan Yin Maa on May 16, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Want buy car , stay away from france and italian. German would be more reliable. Italian car = weekend car. Daily drive ? HAHAHAHA.

• mmaker14 on May 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

i’m quite agree with you because i heard dissapointment sound from a few maserati owners

• heybadigol on May 16, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Oh my. Thats a pretty good price tag. More expensive than the E400 (RM494k), A6 3.0 (RM515k), and Lexus GS350 (RM470k). But cheaper than a BMW 535i (RM599k), as per Paultan’s article on the E400 in Feb this year (dont think price has changed since then). So, yes, the base model does seem like a bargain.

• viven on May 16, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Don’t think that the car is soo cheap.the price is for quality and the engine capacity.tq

• spongewai on May 16, 2014 at 7:23 pm

lot of bosses sure attracting this car on the road in next few months

• justwaitnsee on May 16, 2014 at 7:57 pm

with that price approx half a million, u must be a millionaire to own this car. while other just own it in their dream.

• PaulTan Reader on May 16, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Why is the ops cermin gelap article being removed ? Any goverment cover up conspiracy we are seeing here?

• PaulTan Reader on May 16, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Why is the ops cermin gelap article being removed ? Any goverment cover up conspiracy we are seeing here?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:17 pm

Sorry, our bad. There was a technical glitch earlier, and just noticed it a while ago and placed it where it should be.

• Impressed at the pricing at first glance. Then I had a better look at the car. Interior looks like a proton and the rear looks like a cerato. Wtf

• Romeo Gigli on May 16, 2014 at 9:18 pm

I think I have fallen in love with …the girls

• Romeo Gigli on May 16, 2014 at 9:19 pm

I think I have fallen in love with the girls.

• Boring design. I prefer vios TRD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
  • thebugbud on May 16, 2014 at 10:43 pm

BN promised for cheaper car by offerring a cheaper very expensive car. Will make the bunch of cronies happy with better value for money sport sedan.

Ordinary rakyat, look and see from far far away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • bisakeris (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 2:04 am

^not a crony also can be rich here, like myself. venture into property k.^

• thebugbud on May 17, 2014 at 10:35 am

Ya ya… u know what, rich ppl like u do not represents the large population that need affordable cars and still waiting for the promise to be fullfilled

Unless, u just thinking for yourself and cronies alike.

Ps. I do make quite a bit from properties too.

• nabill (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 10:56 pm

For those targeted buyers,uncles n all,i doubt thy know much abt the maserati brand n its attractiveness, thy wil still got for the established bmw,merc,Porsche n those brands,unless thy lived few yrs overseas in europe where it has a better image n history….i highly doubt the older gen actually go ahead n buy this…
    This is da reality,jus like da quatroporte beforehand,its gonna fizzle in no time,sad but i think its true…maybe local maserati dealers should emphasize that the engine is made by ferrari to give more credentials…

• Jameson_Oliver on May 16, 2014 at 11:34 pm

I am from east Malaysia. How to service this car?

Any appointed workshops to deal with breakdowns?

• bisakeris (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 2:00 am

????????what dashboard design is that????????

• Maserati(Official) on May 17, 2014 at 11:15 am

Haters gonna hate.

This car is a dime in a dozen, so much so I have booked one in advance.

You can hate it as much as you want, but ain’t nothing gonna stop me from cruising in the streets with this gem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • thebugbud on May 18, 2014 at 11:48 am

Hahaha… this car is for poor man masakroti. Can’t get proper v8 and abt masakroti… settle with a v6er.

please la… we love your stupidity and brainlessness. Do come back for more cuz u r very entertaining (like a joker).

• studio ghibli – totoro! ^^

• Apanama_lupanama on May 17, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Nice name… Good marketing strategy
    Ghibli = pegi beli = go buy… haha

• drfauzi on May 17, 2014 at 10:42 pm

With such outstanding performance spec of the top range 3.0 Ltr V6 turbo engine..so close to the new F80 M3 territory though!!
    Congratulations!

• Not even close, it only slightly above the performance of the 335i (306hp). M3 has 421hp

• mason on May 17, 2014 at 11:00 pm

wow…nice and such a beauty…cant judge and compare much as i never own one..hehe

• Nissan on May 18, 2014 at 1:15 am

Kenapa nak copy Cerato tail lamp design? copy lar Almera lagi best.

• anantha002 on May 18, 2014 at 2:56 am

Good lah, maybe in a few years the 2nd hand price will be around RM 200k. Then a alot of people will find it affordable

• Robert on May 18, 2014 at 8:36 pm

The more I see the Ghibli, the more the looks grow on me. It’s become a very attractive car for sure, definitely will turn heads compared to your usual Germans. Price is also quite attractive considering the badge and engine. Although, still quite a little bit expensive when compared to the equivalent Germans. Especially the S. But still a fair price in my opinion, when you consider the engine is manufactured by Ferrari and that it’s a Maser.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 18, 2014 at 10:05 pm

People ve money please buy.. wa supp

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 19, 2014 at 10:29 am

If it is renamed Maserati Jibby will you buy?

• Why is there must have racist comment in a car articles?C’mon fellow Malaysian, be it Chinese or Malay. We are Malaysian, when someone attacked us. No one will help us but among ourselves as Malaysian. So just enjoy the article and admire the car. To those who are rich, go grab one.To those still on the way to be rich, work harder. You can reach it. No point unleashing racial comment but come out all like pussy. Its bout cars not race. Put ur superiority at home. Those who can afford this baby is much more superiority than all of u.

• louis on May 19, 2014 at 11:37 am

awful interior….too much plastic

• The interior show that it does not deserve to sell at this price tag! We have have BMW, benz and Audi at lower price with more luxury feel.

• Lol 537k in this price, nothing special in this car.why those people wont buy a mercedes s400 hybrid for 587k .

• road tax is different, S400 is so expensive.
      Brand is different.
      Felling is different,
      S400 you better get a driver, otherwise you drive like a driver.