Mazda inaugurates new vehicle assembly facility in Malaysia – CX-5 production transferred from Inokom

CX-5-export-02

Mazda has announced that its new vehicle assembly facility in Malaysia has begun operations – located within the Inokom plant in Kulim, the Mazda-dedicated trim and final shop expands on the body shop located within the same grounds. The body shop began operation in April last year.

The opening of the trim and final shop effectively transfers production of the Mazda CX-5 for the Malaysian and Thai markets from Inokom to Mazda. The CX-5 was previously primarily assembled by Inokom, which carried out build processes such as paint, trim and final and inspection. Paint now remains as the only process outsourced to Inokom.

Local assembly of the SUV began in March last year, with first exports to Thailand starting last September. Production of the new Mazda3 for Malaysia is slated to begin at the facility later this year, with market introduction set for October. Next year will see CKD production of the Mazda6 begin.

With the expansion of its assembly operations, Mazda Malaysia‘s annual production capacity is set to double from 10,000 to 20,000 units. A paint shop is also reportedly under consideration – going this route will expand capacity even further to 2,500 units per month. Approximately RM100 million has been invested by Mazda Malaysia for the body and trim/final shops.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kzm (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:01 pm

No one want to buy CKD car in boleh..just close shop n open in thai or indo..no crony related or corruption over there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 49
    • kzmacai on May 16, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Looks like a Macai masih marah customer don’t buy Proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • LimPuii on May 16, 2014 at 7:31 pm

LOL! gud 1 mr.kzm hahahaha!!!

• A lot of riots in Thailand ..plus..damaging flood..time to move back to Malaysia.

• kzm - malaysia maju! on May 17, 2014 at 11:37 am

Thank you MITI and Malaysia. Because of our good NAP, we are getting good cars that are cheap and reasonable.

Those not happy with Malaysia and our NAP, please migrate!

Malaysians get the best and we all should be very grateful and lucky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
  • nappy on May 16, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Bravo to errr… NAP!

• drisrjnr on May 16, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Good resuscitative measures to malaysians.Bring food to the stove.Even if you hate Mazda et al, the jobs provided will at least make people happy, and to a certain extent, prosper the local community.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Albert lee on May 16, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Datuk Ben Yeoh said he is not asking for handouts from Gomen eventho he has bumi employees under his payroll.
      He is willing to work hard to bring Mazda to greater heights by going the CKD road,instead of just bringing CBU units which is too costly for the rakyat.
      Alto under Berjaya’s empire,Vincent Tan leaves the running of Mazda to this man.
      I am no supporter of Berjaya Grp but I admire Datuk Ben Yeoh’s business acumen and leadership.He rewards his staff according to PERFORMANCE and not skin colour.
      Well,we wish Mazda good progress in the competitive car market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • pardon me. its datuk seri now. not datuk.

• Albert lee on May 16, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Sir,your excellency..thousand apologies.I am not too well versed in who or who is bestowed a Datuk or Datuk Seri or what mortal man can give.
          Anyway,what is important is ACTIONS THAT COUNT AND PRODUCE RESULTS ,even if our Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh’s title is taken back later by the authority.
          In Malaysia,there are many so called “Datuks” who cheat,misappropriate funds and are liars.
          We remember the PERSONALITY ,not the titles.If you know CARLOS GHOSN,he has no datukship but he can turn around ailing NISSAN into a global profitable car manufacturer today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 12:21 am

just admit it..he is oso a crony…ptui! performance my foot..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 1:47 am

>》LOL to albert lee. all of them r cronies la.. monopolized biz all over the country. what la u, talk nonsence.

• Albert Lee on May 17, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Sir,show me a perfect situation where there are no cronies.
          WE are not here to condone cronies.We are here talking about PERFORMANCE.
          IF you are employed,your boss may be related to cronies or a huge crony himself.Your relative may be a crony or receiving aid from cronies.You cant escape cronyism.
          Protong has so many TOP TOP cronies.Yet it is dying like MAS(near bankruptcy).Of course,the lesser the cronies,the better.

• kzm (Member) on May 18, 2014 at 6:49 pm

What performance? Every single d*mn company in boleh practice cronism of some sort..but not all cronism practices is bad

• zw331 on May 16, 2014 at 4:33 pm

CkD!!!! More tax…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Is that photo taken in Malaysia? If yes, I wonder why still have to wait for 5 months for CX5.. perhaps too many buyer..

• If what u said is true, later we’ll see our road flooded with CX5

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 5:00 pm

That’s a trick to make it have better resale value, they learn that from Toyotak

• MK WHAT COLOUR U BOOK?

• I just can’t wait that long.. I go for Ford Kuga..

• kangkong on May 16, 2014 at 10:36 pm

MK, have you got your Ford Kuga? How is it? I am considering the Kuga for my replacement too.

• Loan just approved. next week will collect.
            No doubt CX5 is better overall.. but personally there some other plus points on Kuga over CX5.. i.e. contact-less boot control (remote/contact less open/close), ford sync, intelligent AWD, European CBU, etc.. go view it yourself.. and there’s discount RM15K too currently which another plus factor..

• Please read the review first, or you’ll regret…Kuga, expensive but come up last compared to CX-5 and CR-V

• I’ve reviewed all the CX5 and Ford Kuga/Escape available on the Youtube and articles as well for the past 2 months… and will not regret it except that i regret that I could not have another zoom..zoom to accompany my Mazda3.. 5 months is too long for me.. maybe not for others.. Thank you.

• BLUR SOTONG on May 16, 2014 at 5:18 pm

If a CKD BMW 1 series is a substandard product , can’t imagine the finished CKD of Mazda cars.
    CBU never go Wrong

• Murderer on May 16, 2014 at 9:14 pm

I thought the road already flooded with CX-5..no?

• bisakeris (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 1:50 am

{we still think that mazda is NOT worth the money here in bolehland.}

• Motorhead (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 8:32 am

CKD pon org sanggup beli.. Suprima S still org x mau beli.. x patriotic lah.. protong sampah?? Haha..

More CX5 on the road even compare to Preve..

CKD M3 cepat.. aku nak beli nih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Motorbutt on May 19, 2014 at 1:10 pm

u’re rich enough..buy those CBU M3 with ur 6K pay..and 4 month bonuses of yours .., CKD isn’t something special just like those rebagde MYVI of yours..

• jzmy2cent on May 19, 2014 at 10:23 am

haha… will they ship all 100% QC pass to thai and those no pass QC gv to boleh land? :p

• I am so looking forward for Mazda3 Hatchback to be CKD. Had enough with Toyota that seems to be catering for family people. Prius C is way too hedious and the coming Yaris is not any better. Bring in the Auris!

• Alex Toh on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:37 am

Why have to taking 4~5 months to waiting for CX5?

• bubbles on Jul 25, 2014 at 12:48 pm

i have been waiting for the blue cx5 since feb 2014

• five months of waiting list? have u got your car yet?
      im thinking to get it, but the salesman said need 5 months of waiting… omg .. too lousy bermaz