SPYSHOTS: 2015 Honda Civic Type R drops the camo

Honda Civic Type R 003

As the latest round of spypix shows, it’s off with the white dazzle stripes and on to full black for the 2015 Honda Civic Type R, offering a clearer view of the five-door hot hatch. Everything seen previously is still on – the rear wing, the BBS wheels and Brembo brakes with red calipers, quad tailpipes as well as a bustling bodykit, replete with wheelarch extensions. Nothing quiet about this one, visually.

When it arrives into the market next year, the new CTR will be powered by a new direct-injection 2.0 litre turbocharged mill offering at least 280 PS, as revealed by Honda Motor Europe’s president Manabu Nishimae at the Frankfurt Motor Show last year.

Lofty goals for this one down the line – the intention is for it to become the fastest front-wheel drive vehicle on the Nurburgring. Last year, an early CTR prototype set a time approaching the FWD lap record that was then held by the Renault Megane RS 265 Trophy.

The Seat Leon Cupra 280 is the current FWD record holder at 7:58, and Renault is set to respond with the RS 275 Trophy, so it looks like the new CTR will have a fair bit to contend with in its bid for glory.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shawal on May 16, 2014 at 11:15 am

I want to see an Accord type S with that engine..
    dual exhause like the US sport version, a sunroof..
    with the adaptive suspension from the tourer…

and 6 airbags too..

• The Hyundai Veloster, even with its silly 3rd door, looks better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 64
    • kzm - malaysia maju! on May 17, 2014 at 11:38 am

This car soon to come to Malaysia. Thank you MITI and Malaysia. Because of our good NAP, we are getting good cars that are cheap and reasonable.

Those not happy with Malaysia and our NAP, please migrate!

Malaysians get the best and we all should be very grateful and lucky!

Kami sayang BN yang Prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 63
      • this is spam on Jun 21, 2014 at 12:52 am

since months ago, this post’s everywhere on PT website. we need to ban his IP address.

• Tokei Piping oil and GAs on Jun 26, 2014 at 12:06 pm

bullshit….tok mg….ckp mcm pele…mahal burikkkkk

• then , hows the driver gonna ‘looks’ like
      when being smoke by one of these .
      I prefer those looks on the face :D
      nyum3,

• testyourmind on May 16, 2014 at 11:57 am

aiyooo..another civic R….another DSG problem…fix the DSG first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
    • Jesse James on May 16, 2014 at 12:42 pm

What???

• Vader on May 16, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Ahduii.. seem like DSG failure already widely use by public.. just bash only no matter what.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Oh civic on May 17, 2014 at 7:59 am

Haha…i guess you should read name of that person…he put the word “testyourmind” clearly over there..so for sure he got the reason to highlight DSG issue to Honda which is have no relation at all.

• heybadigol on May 16, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Honda has not even announced what gearbox it will be running. Could still have a 6 speed (or who knows 7 speed) manual. DSG is possible, probably similar to the new Acura TLX that has a DSG with torque converter (for smoother low speed shifting).

• AVH (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Just like proton and their Previa, the 1.0l skyactiv ecoboost engine is pethatic and is mated to a problematic 4-speed CVT. Yes it has 6 airbags but what’s the point if there’s no ESC or ABS on board. And to make matters worse, after 25 years they still only know how to rebadge Korean Daihatsu, damn Naza.*

That my friend is what you just wrote, Honda hasn’t announce what transmission will be pared with their turbo engine, and they did say their dual clutch will only be use for hybrid variants only this far. Another Civic TR, another DSG problem? All type Rs since come only with a manual gearbox, and the only Certain JDM Hondas are plague with DCT problems. And DSG is a volkswagen trademark name for their Dual clutch transmission DCT other brands use terms like ‘PDK’ or ‘MCT’. Same can be said how ford use the term ‘ecoboost’ for their Turbo+DI tech or how Audi use ‘Quattro’ for their 4WD system.

*the first paragraph is sarcasm, hope you guys notice it.

• haaaa? Previa is a Toyota not a proton.
        ‘rebadge Korean Daihatsu ? ‘
        Korean – Kia or Hyundai .
        Are u high bro ? been drinking ?
        skyactiv and ecoboost engine never been mated to CVT transmission bro.

u supposed to say this
        ‘the first paragraph when I am high and drunk’

• DSG for VW
      Honda – DCT with torque converter.
      expected to be 8speed for this car or a manual option.
      Dual clutch transmission now are wider view,
      VW,Audi,Merc,Ferarri,Lambo, and others already use these tech for more efficient car.
      Well, haters gonna hate. well sadly for u bro ,
      nowadays no more supercar running without Dual clutch transmission.

• 5 doors CRZ?

• Bernard on May 16, 2014 at 12:16 pm

If it’s introduced in Malaysia, probably only 3 people will be willing to pay the ridiculously sky high price!

• dingdong bell on May 16, 2014 at 2:04 pm

ya the rest will buy the standard version civic and pasang ugly bodykit to imitate type R.

• Henry on May 16, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Syiok sendiri mah. They even drive thinking it is the real thing. LoL.

• sometimes..wanker better than real..

• Malaysian typical.
          But sometimes they are crazy,
          they swap the engine , put in turbo and other.
          Even the real Sport car like Evo, CTR STi
          they still hungry for power.
          But for me , the worst are MPVs being mod sport like look. losers~~~

• Bernard on May 16, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Those days Honda used to introduce the 2 door Honda Civic manual transmission.It was a joy to drive and fast enough for our roads.

Will Honda be re-introducing it anytime soon?

• Nope , they never will.
      Most of car companies never will.
      Then u will never hear the real Vtec growling again for the newer car .
      mostly because Emission standard.
      the FD2 CTR discontinued because of emission standard.
      after this , goodbye real VTEC , V8, V10, V12 ..
      the loudest exhaust note u can hear is from the F1 V6 car, soooo relaxing and never gonna make your andrenaline high.

• Joker on May 16, 2014 at 12:27 pm

This is the Euro Type R and DSG has no major issues in Europe and for ppl who noes how 2 maintain and drive their car…

• Henry on May 16, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Since it is a dedicated Europe model it will only be available here as a grey import.

• parang_102 on May 16, 2014 at 12:29 pm

those curves remind me of veneno

• jonnyblaze on May 16, 2014 at 12:49 pm

unless honda wants to break away from tradision.. the type R shall be using manual gearbox

• gavin on May 16, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Only needs to answer one question

Is it better as an all rounder than a golf Gti?

• AVH (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Nope, volkswagen will be much mores all rounded car than this, more refine and comfortable. The CTR is a much more hardcore in line with all previous type R.

• yeah3 ….
        on the track,
        CTR all the way faster than the golf GTi
        as usual .
        It is refined in other aspect bro ,
        comfort not gonna help u in a corner.

• Sorchai (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Looks like Robocop’s off duty car.

• finally…a torquey type R

• Nissan on May 16, 2014 at 1:16 pm

The true power if dream – I mean in their wet dream.

• trololol on May 16, 2014 at 2:03 pm

expecting 4xx NM + rev til 9k RPM that would be awesome.

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 2:18 pm

no thanks, i rather take the Satria Neo R3 Lotus F1 Limited Edition that have better handling than this Hodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • really ?
      U never drove 1 CTr then already make a conclusion?
      THE R3 LOTUS RACING mehhh, much much older civic can tapau u already while having a smoke and eating donut

Hey R3 Neo Lotus racing , go try the Nurburgring first laaaaaa

• heybadigol on May 16, 2014 at 2:38 pm

The CTR drops its pants, and its Godzilla underneath. Sorry, but this is kinda hideous. Id rather save money for the upcoming mid-engined Honda 2 door sport car hich will have a chasis borrowed from the new NSX. Nice!!

• Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 2:43 pm

This car is the prime candidate for the Ultimate Hot Hatch!

• Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 2:46 pm

This car is the prime candidate for the Ultimate Hot Hatch King, next year!

• macromedia on May 16, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Love this comment on BBC. “you want the specs? You can’t handle the spec!” This will be an interesting speedy gonzales. I hope it’s not bone-rattling, them suspensions set-ups

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on May 16, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I thought there was an autobot logo in the front of the car in the first picture. hahaha.

• Denaihati on May 16, 2014 at 5:45 pm

the performance much better/higher than previous civic type-r sedan. love to see this civic type r here. hope it will come to Malaysia.

• 4 doors hatchback looks weird leh. Make it 2 doors will looks better, if not, just make sedan like FD2R.

• damn ugly!

• J type on May 17, 2014 at 1:53 am

can’t you just stick with EG6 or EK9 design? This type R is so ugly, especially the rear…