Suzuki Kizashi 2.4L Limited Edition – RM158k variant gets matte black job and up to RM30k cash rebate

Suzuki Kizashi Limited Edition 01

Suzuki Malaysia Automobile has announced the introduction of the Suzuki Kizashi 2.4L Limited Edition. Aside from a matte black exterior finish and unique accessories worth RM9,000, going this particular LE route will also bag you up to RM30,000 off the selling price in the form of a cash rebate, while stocks last.

The edition – which takes a Sport variant and dresses it up – is priced at RM158,207 on-the-road with insurance, so you can look at it as going for as low as RM128k. Or you could buy the car proper and use the money for other things.

Besides the matte black exterior shade, the car gets a new 2-Din audio system with touchscreen, navigation as well as a HD reverse camera with night mode. Standard kit includes leather seats, six airbags and ESP, bi-Xenons and push-start ignition and, in the case of the Sport, 18-inch alloys wrapped with 235/45 rubbers.

No changes to the mechanicals, the Kizashi continuing on with the J24B 2.4 litre four-pot with 178 PS at 6,500 rpm and 230 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm for output; likewise, the six-speed CVT ‘box. The car comes with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 9:42 am

who say only Proton giving large promotion to clear stock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 8
    • besi buruk on May 16, 2014 at 10:35 am

DRB Suzuki group better give free Saga SV for each Kizashi sold…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • kzm - malaysia maju! on May 17, 2014 at 11:35 am

Thank you MITI and Malaysia. Because of our good NAP, we are getting good cars that are cheap and reasonable.

Those not happy with Malaysia and our NAP, please migrate!

Malaysians get the best and we all should be very grateful and lucky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 43
    • mmaker on May 16, 2014 at 10:54 am

Proton new promotion, buy new preve at rm158k and get rm80k cash rebate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 12
    • Same Looor on May 16, 2014 at 10:59 am

It is normal to give discount on promotion. But it is not common to have Sales Carnival in end 2013 to clear 2012 stocks.

It is normal car makers can’t sell off all of their high end model. But Persona, Satria Neo… come on…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • ts lim on May 16, 2014 at 9:48 am

Good deal indeed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Henry on May 16, 2014 at 11:47 am

Agree, but the after sales support and low population of this car will make prospective customers balk.

• Lookman on May 16, 2014 at 9:53 am

Is it good enough for price tag MYR158K??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Review from paultan was good….and it’s 128k now with discount…i think quite good deal….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Spare part also limited edition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • victor tan on May 16, 2014 at 10:02 am

No offense but who would buy it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • victor tan on May 16, 2014 at 10:07 am

Sorry, please ignore my stupid question, just realize that it’s actually quite cheap against its competitors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
      • Matchy on May 16, 2014 at 11:27 am

But I hardly see this car on road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • When it was first introduced, they wanted to sell it at cheaper price but was prohibited by you know who…Now they give discount…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • victor tan (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Because at this price range, ppl would go for a more comfortable choice which is the T or H or N brand.

Perception plays a important role in our market.

• Josh Ling on May 16, 2014 at 1:57 pm

and it’s not like there’s no good car in this price range, so i don’t think it’s so much about perception. e.g. honda accord is waaaayyyy better than this car and the price is very close with this car for 2.0 VTi-L model. at least it is bigger and more “business-feel” than this D-Segment-car-wannabe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • Any comments from a user? Seems like a good deal and a good car but its not a fimiliar sight to see this car on our road. Any serious issue?

• I hardly see other suzuki models on the road apart from swift.. what is wrong with suzuki in Malaysia? why aren’t we buying one?

• TalakLaku on May 16, 2014 at 10:13 am

ini keleta talak laku! cheap sale! cheap sale!
    at 50K, I will buy. hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • fast5 on May 16, 2014 at 10:17 am

So why markup the price so high when it launch? Now can even discount 30k for a Japanese car… somemore limited edition…
    Anyway is nice to heard heavy discount from a Japanese car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on May 16, 2014 at 2:38 pm

A new car’s net selling price needs Gomen approval. That’s why. The distributor can’t pice it cheap even if they want to. Only in Boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • dudjde on May 16, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Suzuki is making lots of profit by selling this car. Or not how can they give RM30k discount yet still making profit?

• dewaSemut on May 16, 2014 at 10:29 am

This car is as rare as Buggati on Malaysian roads.. hehehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 16, 2014 at 10:54 am

Matte black…? Tak panas ke…? The way it absorbs heat knowing that Malaysia being summer all year round…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Franco on May 16, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Bodoh betul this Hailat Sam Loo. What does the car coliur have to do with the heat absorption? It is only dependent on insulation and good air flow and cooling system inside the car. Like for instance the Teana air cond can cool down a ‘ hot’ car parked outside in less than 30 seconds, no matter what colour it is. Very effective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
  • Ananz on May 16, 2014 at 10:54 am

I see more Lambo, Ferrari than this car on the road. Since it launched many years back i only saw it once.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Jaybond on May 16, 2014 at 11:14 am

Some of the factors for the poor reception of Suzuki Kizashi :

1)Suzuki Malaysia made the greatest blunder of not introducing the smaller engined version (1.8L or 2.0L) of the Kizashi, in order to capture wider market (common sense).
    2)Has among the smallest cabin size in D-segment, even though actually not that very small.
    3) Slightly awkward front end styling (but still better than Nissan’s offering), might put off potential buyers.

The Suzuki Kizashi is one of the few great handling Japanese D-segment car (the other being Mazda 6).Looking at local sales situation for the past 3 years for this model, that’s a real shame..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • theanswer on May 16, 2014 at 12:24 pm

agree with the engine size. should have 1.8-2.0L. the size is between c and d class.

• its a pretty impressive car. but don’t know about the performance. Has paul tan done a test drive for this car ? I just checked their website and the specs seems pretty top notch. http://www.suzuki.net.my/models/kizashi_styling.aspx
    I am in the hunt for a D segment car. Toyota is out of my list. tried Mazda, but it seems less values for money when compared to Honda accord. was waiting for teana launch and to test drive.

is Kia K5 worth a look ? I do see some on the road. I like the looks, but of course I hear not too good stories about its engine and maintenance.

Experts out there, give me some tips on my hunt for a D segment, please. Admit I am caught in between as I am looking for a ride for the next 5 years and money worth spend in terms of ride and quality and not RV ! thanks

• Obviously (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:27 pm

There weren’t many test drive reviews about the car but this is one of them from Malaysia.

http://www.autoworld.com.my/v2/news/nb_details.asp?awCatID=RT.ATC.CAR.BTW&awReviewID=4599

Here’s an Australian one:

http://www.drive.com.au/new-car-reviews/suzuki-kizashi-20100702-14tdz.html

The Kizashi is sized as a C-segment car although it is priced and marketed as a D-segment car. With the 30k ringgit rebate, though, it is priced closer to its size segment. But since you’re in the market for a D-segmenter, you might want to go look at the Accord, Mazda6 and Korean offerings, instead of this one.

• Thanks bro, obviously, for the input. Didn’t know it was c segment car. May be I should test drive the K5 and teenagers

• During my hunting days for D segment, I did quite a reading on reviews (local and foreign) and finally settled with Mazda 6…more expensive than the rivals but 7 months later it still put a smile on my face.

• Would you like to add a Hyundai i40 on your list? It is well equipped,thing is though,i have yet to see one on the road ._. Not sure about the driving experience,haven’t test driven it.

• powershot on May 16, 2014 at 11:00 pm

the kia optima k5 is quite underpowered. for korean offerings, hyundai i40 is a better choice.

if I were you, its between accord & teana

• Fader on May 16, 2014 at 11:23 am

Yea, there a so few of this cars on the road, I only saw it once in a shopping mall car park, I think this offer is real value for the amount given the specs & safety features. Must be the resale value as the only popular Suzuki is the swift & followed by the vitara, guess they should give more discount say another 50k I’m order to clear their kizashi stock.

You can be sure that if you get this car, it’s a limited edition both on and off the road :)

• azizcheah on May 16, 2014 at 11:31 am

2012 model. Global Review for this car are good.
    Spare part limited? Since we not always change the car part unless accident hit, so not sure the part are difficult to found. IF SX4 Sedan will need 1 ~ 3 weeks to receive the part (Accident Case).

Because the price is 128K~158K and SUZUKI brand and resale value very low, lot of buyer will go for others common car brands. Even Suzuki have a good car, lot of people will not go for it. Some more the Kizashi only have 2.4 engine no other choose and the SMA are not very promote this car, so lot of people don’t know about this car.

• Spare parts is a killer….

• hazzif on May 16, 2014 at 11:50 am

Suzuki always syok sendiri but reality nobody wants to buy because very expensive.. 30k discount still not worth it.. selling price 80k then ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • theanswer on May 16, 2014 at 12:24 pm

low baller detected.

• victor tan (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 1:03 pm

80k??? Do you know that this car is D seg???
      I don’t even think that CKD could bring the price down to this level.

• samlok on May 16, 2014 at 12:11 pm

I want one

• yapyw on May 16, 2014 at 12:37 pm

this Kizashi is the best HANDLING of the Japanese Segment-D sedans. It might not be as wide as the Accord, probably only a tad larger than the Civic and unlikely to get a good resale value. But if U are one of those who has realistically considered the Mazda6 (2.5l = RM189k) then U should consider the Kizashi too. It’s MADE IN JAPAN = QUALITY. I test-drove it some time ago and it’s one of the larger cars which gave me that “oomph!” feeling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • yapyw on May 16, 2014 at 12:42 pm

@sean: Kia gives plenty of equipment to entice purchasers but the K5 chassis is stiffer than an old boxy Volvo :(

• RM128K for this car is worth to buy.But spare part,aftersales not as good Toyota and like the Volkswagen model before 2009.If you think your want a special but under 130K,maybe this car are suitable for special.PS:This car no RV.You buy now after 5 year you just got a Almera E spec price

• iloveOov on May 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm

i’m totally disagree you, aftersales suzuki is fantastic, i owned a swift, suzuki original spare parts founded any spare parts shop, about the service, nice, fast and good advice, even my car broken down somewhere around, they sent me timing belt within one hour with F.O.C, i was impressed & appreciated.

• sambalbabi on May 16, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Seen this plenty on Brunei’s road. Certainly not a big car for a D-segment, quite compact. But i’d love the big 2.4cc engine on a relatively compact D-segment car. You get relatively spacious and comfy cabin with more torque to get you cruise along highway.

• heybadigol on May 16, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Its a gorgeous car – and still is – which is something sorely lacking in car design these days. I’ve driven it before. Great neutral handing. Probably best handling D segment, even better than Mazda6, due to its small size (its just slightly larger than a Kia Cerato). But sadly, not many were sold. Ive only seen 2 on the road since it was launched around 2 years ago.

The touchscreen headunit should make it current with other D segments. But it looks cheaply executed and looks more like an afterthought. Its not even flush with the rest of the dashboard. Also, does it maintain the premium (but unbranded) 8 speaker audio system (complete with centre speaker)?

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Agreed about it being gorgeous and handling. It’s one of those cars that looks a whole lot better in reality then the pictures would lead you to believe. A combination of poor initial pricing and marketing approach has led to its downfall. Pricing it at this price when it first came out would have been a real hammer blow as it would encourage the c segment market to take a closer look.

Though it is funny how a Golf Tsi can be accepted at its price for such a bare bones product (The standard ICE is shocking at that price point!) but this is rejected outright. Although i guess they can price it that way since they are lot of takers (those who couldn’t quite afford a premium German brand but eager to jump on the bandwagon with their VDubs) Our country has a strange automotive landscape :)

Oh btw if im not mistaken, the audio system in this car is built by Rockford Fosgate so its got a decent set up.

• Sgt Scoop on May 16, 2014 at 4:13 pm

At 128k isn’t definitely a better option than a 2.0 Civic or Altis.

• rakyatkito on May 16, 2014 at 4:37 pm

selling for A$27K in australia, that’s less than RM90k !!! (that’s with aussie rental, aussie wages and operating cost) car prices here even after discount is killing the malaysians.

• Denaihati on May 16, 2014 at 5:26 pm

i think this biggest discount in Malaysia,personally never saw yet. hope it is a good choice.

• Henry on May 16, 2014 at 6:46 pm

If the discount is 45k I may be tempted to buy one. A nice size Japanese CBU sedan with good specs, finish and performance. 2.4L some more. Apa lagi mahu?

• i tot is a newly launched car in Malaysia? sorry Suzuki, im just being sarcastic but your marketing real sucks

• EnergyAnalyst on May 17, 2014 at 8:48 am

For a car that did not t sold much, well done Suzuki for finally getting some attention-55 comments is quite a lot of attentions!
    Its Top safety score in IIHS small overlap test is very commendable. Matte black is however a very distinct acquired taste. Up to 30k sounds suspicious——signalling there is a catch?

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 17, 2014 at 9:32 am

Wow this is a good deal. Kudos Suzuki for making this effort. You got to give to gain. This is the best time to buy coz I don’t see this happening often. Suzuki is desperate so I guess those who take advantage will gain. So far I got no complains on their after sales service team for my wife’s swift GLX. Only one careful note for extended warranty, many Suzuki sales people will try to cheat and wont let their customers know that the warranty is valid with the panel insurance. So be careful. Otherwise quite happy with Suzuki

• FarizY (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 6:21 pm

If only this car looks half as good as its concept.

• botol on May 17, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Congrats DRB, now you can do a proton deal for all the other car brands you hold… Which none of them that you have marketing control over are performing. Just remain as assembler DRB.

• Has anyone test driven this car before ? 30k discount looks very tempting ! I think it’s the cheapest in its class so far but don’t know much about the car. Can anyone provide any info about this car. Interested to get one !!

• azizcheah on May 28, 2014 at 10:27 am

2 weeks already drive this car. Good car.
      Depend u like Suzuki or not and it is 2012 modal (clean stock). Maybe will discontinue sell in Malaysia. No resale value at all.

Even the price down until 50K and how nice the car also u will not buy it if u very not like it.
      Commonly some issues like spare parts / services / resales value will always come out from your mind.

Advice :- If plan to buy a car for 2,3 years use, u better avoid this Kizashi high-end car.

• The only concern for me about this car is the CVT gearbox. There have been a lot of issue in the past about the CVt. Is it reliable? I am quite a heavy footer and is this suitable for aggressive driver ?

• azizcheah on May 28, 2014 at 10:19 am

If u a heavy footer, for sure all the cars with CVT will not suitable with you. They feel like they just have no power, litter bit noisy.

CTVs do have their uses. They’re great for the fact that they have no “shift-jump” between gear changes and are good for fuel economy. They’re also great at driving up steep inclined roads because the gears stay constant and dont shift all around.

• Use pedal shift on steering, …
      or push gear knob to left and drive manually
      Sure u got the power…

• Neato on May 18, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Everyone please take note 30k discount is for the manufacture year 2012 model!

• unknown on May 19, 2014 at 4:46 pm

What if the selling price is 101k for low spec version. Worth to get it?

• azizcheah on May 28, 2014 at 9:50 am

Actually not worth if buying any car brands in Malaysia. Depend u like Suzuki or not and it is 2012 modal. No resale value at all. In December 2013, Suzuki announced that Kizashi will be gradually discontinued on global markets, and will not get a successor. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suzuki_Kizashi)

By the way i buy this car and drive for 2 weeks already. Good car.

Talking about spare parts and after sell services, no comment on spare parts because we not always accident and often change the car parts.
      After sell service is good because i have one rare Suzuki SX4 Sedan. For SX4 sedan, It will take about 3 weeks time to get the parts and fix the damage if accident occur.

• unknown on May 28, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Did you encounter any issues with the car since it was placed in the suzuki factory for nearly 3 years? How’s the condition of the tyres and car battery when you received it? Which model that you picked? How’s the FC if compare to camry & accord? I expect a good FC from this car, since it is using CVT gear.

• azizcheah on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:04 am

3 year in store. If our car not use for 3 year what happen to our car? i think you can image the condition of the car. Normally the car will clear up and polish and chedk by suzuki technicial before it to customer.
          Tyres and battery are in very good condition when receive the car. i picked the Sport model. Sorry i never use the Camry & accord before. But compare to Peugeot 308 turbo this kizashi is good. Yesterday highway from ipoh to bandar baharu 8.5 k/L with cruise control on & off. Maybe will be better with full C.Control. 7.5 k/l for short distanct or city use with traffic.

• junjun on Jul 15, 2014 at 7:28 pm

thanks bro aziz for the review. Just went to showroom today and i quite like it. It seems like you are a suzuki loyal supporter. i was told by sales girl no free service after sales. As i will need to travel a lot, a powerful engine is all i need. What colour of Kizashi you took?

• azizcheah on Jul 17, 2014 at 8:11 am

Suzuki only give Free service for 1K, 5K 10K KM only, follow the service log book. For Kizashi 5K km are not require because using Full sytech engine oil when do 1K km service. I take the menaral grey, actually i like the red colour but Malaysia don’t have it. you can get the rear camera and navigator touch screen also. But mine one don’t have because i purchase the car before one week only SMA do the offer. So sad.

• Was offered RM115,890.10 for the sport model not the limited edition. is it worth it ? pls advise

• azizcheah on May 28, 2014 at 10:04 am

Depend u like Suzuki or not and it is 2012 modal (clean stock). No resale value at all. No new modal will come in to Malaysia because very bad selling record.
      Even the price down until 50K and how nice the car also u will not buy it if u very like T or H or Korean car or Europe cars. Some more you will worries about parts and services and resales value. So,worth or not is depend on person.

If plan to buy a car for 2,3 years use, u better avoid this Kizashi high-end car.

• Thanks bro Azizcheah for your advise. what you said perfectly make sense, even though I was drawn in.. cheers

• vroom vroom on Jun 08, 2014 at 9:53 am

Bro azizcheah, can the Kizashi runs on RON 95 petrol?

• Samlok on Jul 06, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Looks tempting

• newKiz on Jul 24, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Have it for 2 months now.

Pro: Comfortable. Handling is great. Oomph feel, but only 4K RPM and above.

Cons: FC quite high, cannot go lower than 8.5L/100KM (mixed driving). Wind instrusion above 100km/h.

Overall, quite satisfied for the price.

• azizcheah on Jul 25, 2014 at 8:30 am

Same here wind instrusion. I found out the both rear windows rubber have problem (The rubber so loose and tidak rapat). Check with SC but they not yet give feedback.

• newKiz on Jul 25, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Hei azizcheah,

The wind noise, mine driver’s side can get annoying at times. I did notify the SC (KD-Roda baiduri), but they said everything was fine. I even checked the door rubbers myself and they looked fine.

I noticed that the window top-end closing is rather short, maybe thats the cause.

This flaw is such a pity, since the car is great in almost all aspects.

Btw, smoked accords, camrys, and even 320is on LDP;) a totally diff ride abv 4k rpm huh.

• allmines on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:13 am

well so far i test drive this car and guess what?? its not like the others say that it is not good…actually the handling was superb and better than my altis 1.8G (2012) model… well its very rare model u seen on road, for me the handling n safety are my 1st choice.. not because its never seen on the road it is not a good car… well at least test drive 1st and push at 100km uphill with a corner …than u feel the different…

• anybody managed to get this LE version? never see a single unit on the road..