Time to lighten up, Ops Cermin Gelap begins June 16

cermin gelap

Dark days ahead for those in the dark, it seems. Beginning on June 16, the police and the Road Transport Department (JPJ) will undertake a nationwide operation called Ops Cermin Gelap.

As the name suggests, the operation will target vehicles with heavily-tinted windows, with their owners set to face a fine of RM300, according to news reports. Permissible tint levels in the existing rules states a minimum of 70% visible light transmission levels for the front windscreen and 50% for other windows and the rear windshield.

There’s no doubting that window film tint is very much a necessity here, given the daytime temperature levels Malaysian motorists face daily, and there’s the element of safety too. But there’s tint, and then there’s tint, and the quest to keep cool has shown up a darker side to things in many cases.

The cops say the reason for the operation is to reduce the risk of crime, the move aimed at brightening the situation, quite literally. “The heavy tinting makes it difficult for us to identify who is inside the car, especially when we are in search of crime suspects,” Bukit Aman traffic police chief SAC Mohd Fuad Abd Latiff told reporters at a briefing on the matter.

“It is difficult for victims to identify suspects in the event of crimes due to the use of tinted windows,” he explained, adding that registration number plates that do not conform to specifications would also be targeted in the operation. Cars equipped with strobe lights are also set to face the music.

There’s a month’s grace period to rectify things, with removal of the non-compliant items solving the issue. If you choose to persist with it, run the gauntlet at your own risk come June 16, so says the authorities.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Jerry on May 16, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Never ending story for JDM car………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • Polis Trafik Bola Tada on May 17, 2014 at 2:12 pm

All bullshit story. This has been going on for years. Every now and then got operasi. But we all know what happens in the real Malaysia. Mr Tinter gets caught, Mr Tinter pays RM50 on the spot. All settled.

That is how Malaysia works. Hello PDRM, sort your corruption first. Even I kena RM300 also, I just go to balai next week, pay RM50 can selesai the saman.

SAC Mohd Fuad Abd Latiff, please look into your corruption. Nearly every Malaysian has encountered a police officer who has taken money to settle a saman on the road itself.

Somemore, the police office also very clever. They always say, when taking the money, “Encik ada bagi ikhlas kan?” Then, we answer, “Ya encik, kami bagi ikhlas”. Then all selesai.

Then the problem and the saman goes away. Polis Trafik is famous for this. Nothing in Malaysia can be enforced.

This tinted glass will have operasi for 1 week. After that, everything is forgotten.

Come on Fuad, wake up to the real world and see your trafik officers on the road and on the PLUS highways.

Discipline your officers first before an operasi is done. Besides corruption, in the PJ New Town polis station, your officers are even sitting and smoking as there is smoke smell coming from the back rooms behind the counter. Though not visible, still can smell smoke.

Tak payah all this operasi Fuad. Sort all the corruption going on in Polis Trafik first, then there will be order amongst road users

Anyway it will be fun to see the officers catch all the tan sri, datuk, ah long, single number plate, menteri menteri and krooni kroni. The bola of the officer also kecut immediately and say “Tuan, sila lalu”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 203 Thumb down 17
      • flip-flop enforcement. The bosses tint shop makes easy money and can channel some..;

• abuya123 on May 19, 2014 at 10:55 am

I know the trick long time ago. You give rasuah to escape prosecution. Later you said polis makan rasuah, korup. Who gave rasuah at first place?

Police ask for bribe? Then why give? Opt to take summon la…. Later make police report so that personnel will be prosecute and that will save image of other honest police. This is good rather than always repeated said polis makan rasuah. You’re not fair to honest polis who work for Yang Dipertuan Agong to protect this country.

You talk crap about police. Just like Teresa Kok, when have a problem then baru nak cari dan hormat polis. If not, keep insulting police.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 22
      • toffeemoose on May 19, 2014 at 11:40 am

Takes 2 hands to clap bro…as long the demand is there…they will always ask..

No givers == no rasuah..

Do not be a hypocrite pls…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Paul Stand on May 18, 2014 at 11:52 am

I think paultan should check first whether dark tint is compoundable offense or no. Anyway, nonstandard plate number is compoundable, just FYI.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 19, 2014 at 9:15 am

Bodo punya Gomen…..

People use tint bcoz of MALAYSIA PANASSSSSS…….
      and for safety reasons since the authority cannot guarantee SAFETY to the public.

I dont care how many times they will fine me, but I will keep on repeating to install since I dont TRUST the authority and other idoits…..

JPJ, better go sort the PUSPAKOM and BUS Accident issues 1st….that is more important and urgent……Bodo…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
  • kcng (Member) on May 16, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Luckily my Proton aircon so cold and doesn’t need any tinted window unlike those mawi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 70
    • calcutta on May 17, 2014 at 3:47 am

broke down in the middle of the road on sunny afternoon also quite hot lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Jaguhar on May 19, 2014 at 12:19 pm

the real crime person is those Menteri2,Dato2 and VVIP inside their heavily tinted car,easy to spot actually because they have police escort in the road which is your colleague.

• Real maserati on May 16, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Crap lah, just pay your way out. In newspaper like real but all can settle with acouple of hundreds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 14
  • Nicholas on May 17, 2014 at 2:54 am

“It is difficult for victims to identify suspects in the event of crimes due to the use of tinted windows,” … Yea, right… Make police report for stolen car they also will say, “tak dapat cari punya, claim insurance saja”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 3
  • To take safety precaution onto our own hand is much comfortable than believing them to catch thieves or control crime by removing my tint.. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
  • Hondaman on May 17, 2014 at 6:06 am

About time especially those big suvs & vellfire with the strobe light. A menace on the road. Hopefully this will not be a NATO excercise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Moores on May 17, 2014 at 8:28 am

Stupidity at highest level. What’s the different? Even I have a clear tint I still can buy the widely available car window shades in the market which will cover the car windows completely. Ladies especially will benefit a lot on having darker tint. Instead of police having difficulty to see the criminal which is very unlikely, the criminal will have difficulty to see their victims. Maybe complete dark tint is not possible, why don’t the allow up to 30% tint which is still very visible in day time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
    • Ni semua yang marah polis ni pasang cermin gelap ye…dah buat salah, salahkan polis pulak. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
  • stupidity. catch la the tan sri and datuk cars 1st. they are the one with heavily tinted cars and never the JPJ or police bother them. Why the double standard? Malaysia Boleh!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 6
    • Night on May 17, 2014 at 11:20 am

Super duper agree with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • yeap..agreed on that part..civilian cars all have restrictions…vip cars can get away from roadblocks scot free.. *facepalm*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • haqqhatta (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 9:17 am

Hmm. If there’s a roadblock to find a suspect, merely ask the heavily tinted car to move aside & do check up jer laa. Or simply take them to pull down all windows. Simple answer for a crime solving. Much respect if they can think more of the plus side of a heavily tinted glass rather than the so called crime-related-prevent-solve issue to issue summons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
  • Joshua on May 17, 2014 at 9:26 am

Make sure they saman those alphard mpv

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • How about ‘kes pecah cermin & ragut’ that is very serious nowadays? Almost everyday my area in shah alam got this problem.. When windows r clear, its easier for these theives to mark their victims who r mostly ladies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • Wayang on May 17, 2014 at 10:02 am

All just a “wayang” and it will be “hangat hangat tahi ayam” case, in July all will be forgotten and ops sikap Biadap # 6969 will come into effect for ramadhan…..

Go for the source lah, tint and accessories shops, saman them, remove their business licences etc, like any so called Gomen initiative, all wayang and not fully thought out, just stop gap measures or containment plans not even corrective or preventive actions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • How custom allowed dark tint enter/manufacture for Malaysia. They already know this tint film obstruct Malaysia law.
      Some thing illegal item allowed to sell at tint shop.
      Kastam, KPDNKK should help rakyat.

• Redline on May 17, 2014 at 10:03 am

What will happened if we are caught in a road block with a dark window tint? Will JPJ/Police remove our tint on the spot or just give us a fine?

• They will fine and scratch your tint. That way you have to change it.

Cepat, Mesra dan Betul. My foot.

• clkoay on May 17, 2014 at 10:07 am

PDRM can start with the cars from this FB page
    https://www.facebook.com/NiceNumberPlate

• rally_fan (Member) on May 19, 2014 at 9:52 am

Actually, most of the cars featured in that facebook page have totally legal number plates.. they are just fancy, or “expensive” numbers.. but nothing illegal about them.

• clkoay on May 17, 2014 at 10:12 am

Another set of cars PDRM should look into. Pictures are available as proof.
    http://www.zerotohundred.com/2010/auto-news/nice-cars-malaysian-number-plates/#.U3bFO_mSwqI

• KillBox1Alpha on May 17, 2014 at 10:45 am

Majority of recon cars have rear convenience windows. Whats the case here then…front dark windscreen makes sense but dont see why they want to apply this for the rear..no way they can see suspects from behind.

• Kelso on May 17, 2014 at 11:44 am

How about motorcycle helmets with reflective tint… I’d get rid of those as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Nicholas Lee (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 11:55 am

All reasons stated above are nonsence. The one and only crutial reason for this operation is HARI RAYA is coming so they need some ways for cari makan and duit raya. Welcome to bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
  • F30Owner on May 17, 2014 at 1:26 pm

tan sri, datuk seri, any kind of title’s do you have, should all be treat equally to the citizens . Doesnt mean great or higher job can tint ur windows dark . And of course JDM cars still never reach the ending story .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • pak jabit on May 17, 2014 at 1:59 pm

jpj must ensure all accessories shop and solar tint film dealer only provide tint film within their compliance first. at least all the film sold by them are legal with the permitted light visibility level

• These people pay a sum of money to get black tinted glass done….2 main reasons
    1)Cooling effect 2)Own privacy
    Have JPJ consider their new effective or bias to rakyat?

• James Si on May 17, 2014 at 3:01 pm

“There’s no doubting that window film tint is very much a necessity here, given the daytime temperature levels Malaysian motorists face daily, and there’s the element of safety too. But there’s tint, and then there’s tint, and the quest to keep cool has shown up a darker side to things in many cases.”

Apple polishing the JPJ to the fullest!!!

Too much corruption, kingpins, drug dealers getting away… all at the expenses of having a dark tint.

The visibility level is unreasonable in our climate.

• action please on May 17, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Saw by myself, each time when the JPJ on duty especially Shah Alam area (AFTER ALAM IMPIAN TOL,SECTION 16)…there will be not less then 2 cars or pickup truck park less then 60 feet from them.all of this vehicle full of antennas with super black tinted.even when the.JPJ on the move, the were follow bumper to bumper..any action to them?..

• myvi se on May 17, 2014 at 3:20 pm

is this operasi really to reduce crime or ro make money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Ntah ape ape on May 17, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Well…from wat I see. Y not u enforcement guys:-
    > Go kacau the car accessories shop around Malaysia …plenty of black, dark tints & variety of plates no u can find there…then might probably u guys get lots of duit raya as well :-p. At the of the day,no more dark tints & fashionable plate no in the market & oso on the road. Then its easy laa for u guys to spot the person who’s driving the car. Cmon laa guys…we Malaysians know laa the bolehland.
    > Lastly of coz…WHY the double standard???!! U guys have balls but no brains huh :-p…
    TQ I rest my case.

• Problem is the legally allowed tint is so minimal one might as well do without any tint. On top of that, any legal tints when brought to puspakom inspection also end up failing…. I dont see a point in abiding the this stupid law.

• FarizY (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Why punish the user. Find the shops that sell these non compliance tints. Find the source is better than punishing individuals.

• Desperate Citizen on May 17, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Punish the user can collect more money!

• Money rules on May 18, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Yes…on the spot. There area thousands of cars driving without their third brake light or motorcycles driving without headlamps…but tinted cars owner is where the money is. Punishing tinted car is not logic, given the percentage of crime hiding behind tinted car is statistically much lower than snatch thief, rapist, murderer, and CORRUPTION!
        But no use talking here, we need change!

• mason on May 17, 2014 at 10:49 pm

a foolish excuse to earn more side income for the traffic/jpj guy or for the gov pocket….
    only in Malasia Bolehland…i am wondering it is some of the BN crony monopoly the tinting film biz ,that why Malasia still didnt regulate the use of the origial dark glass like Japan..BTW it is really not very environtal friendly ,imagine the original recond car dark glases has to be throw or keep by the owner,just because the JPJ want to satisy some Crony biz empire….hmmmmm….

• victor tan (Member) on May 17, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Meanwhile in police station: Selamat~ Hari Raya~ Marilah kita sama sama kutip derma~ Derma untuk Tintedton~

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Alahai on May 18, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Komen rasis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Gertg on May 20, 2014 at 9:18 am

You are the off-topic one and over-sensitive one. This kind of operasi happens during CNY, Deepavali, Christmas and major holidays too. Don’t be a hater.

• Malaysia is too hot with direct uv light can induce more damage to our own health. skin cancer, eye pterygium, uv light retinophathy and a lot more deleterious effect may develop from direct exposure toward uv light.

Police reason difficult for them to identify who is inside the car, especially when they are in search of crime suspects is only an absurd and low mentality type of reason. they can ask us to wind down the window screen, and we dont mind to do so. they are just lazy. basically if you think that you can easily screen a criminal through a “see through” window, you are wrong. Reflection from the window may affect your vision. They still need to ask passenger to wind down the window….why la we need to enforce the law by following from these mentally retarded people..

• Do you think they care about (too hot with direct uv light can induce more damage to our own health?) They need light and easy! Right guys?

• Have anyone noticed that in cabin temperature on average at 12.30pm is 39 to 42 degrees Celcius?weather is insane la nowadays.personally i think its quite a reasonable option to increase the tint percentage to 65% with 35% visibility.not everyone can afford expensive tahan panas tints.and not everyone with dark tints did it for fun.some did it for the kids,some for the driving alone wives,some people dont have roof carparks at the office.and i think a lot of people did it to avoid photophobic migraine especially people with severe astigmatism that worsens with sunglasses.but of course we will follow rules.

• They don’t think like that! Bcos they can stand the Sun’s heat, that’s why!

• gangnam on May 18, 2014 at 12:35 am

Pls focus ur resources in doing the important things first, like curb corruption first, catch those criminals first (i believe mostly are not hidden behind heavily tinted cars, probably the big fat ones are sitting upstairs…), find missing children first, settle the gangland crimes first, then only summons those with heavily tinted cars (and oh that would include ur big bosses ya).

• Tan Sri on May 18, 2014 at 2:12 am

Tints are allowed in UK, Aus, Japan, Singapore and even our neighbors the Philippines, but not in our country. And the reason given by the G is an absurd one.

Anyone knows which YB was the one who came out with this rule back in 1991?

• hooooooo on May 18, 2014 at 4:30 am

all bullshit …. just a Ops Wang Raya
    why they didnt make a standard tint.

example Brand A 60% and Brand B 60% both might have different … how we different it front our eye … the shop wont bother they just want business at last consumer who suffer … PUIK JPJ = Jabatan Paling Jahat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Alahai on May 18, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Komen rasis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Alamak on May 19, 2014 at 5:47 am

komen bodoh. Stop going around morally policing the posts here and trolling with the same damn message over and over again. You sound like a butthurt racist yourself.

• Hello JPJ, please spend your time and resource to make sure Malaysian have a safety journey on the road. Please let the police off so that they can do more valuable job such as ronda ronda to catch the bad guy or fight the Sulu invader…..

• Hey JPJ & POLIS: catch the big fish first! we all very small and innocent small fish.

• whiners..all u guys do is whine, drive like crazy on the highway, put outrageous tint and now its time u guys pay

• Samad Jain on May 18, 2014 at 11:56 am

tinting found at car window is WRONG
    while
    tinting film sold at accesories shops is NOT WRONG

This is like:

Hisap dadah is WRONG
    while
    Jual dadah is NOT WRONG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • medic on May 19, 2014 at 8:53 am

Make it illegal to sell too dark tint lar.Isn’t it easier to enforce it on the tinting shop?Aiyo,enforcement,that’s the key word…Illegal DVD kedai also cannot tutup,apa lagi tint shop?

• James_banau on May 18, 2014 at 12:40 pm

The authorities are focusing on the wrong issues. I’ve never seen them checking on safety issues such as bald tyres which could cause major accidents and lost lives.

But instead always focus on cermin gelap, cermin gelap, something which is never an issue in other countries.

• Alahai on May 18, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Banyak betul komen rasis di paultan ni. Bila buat ops masa CNY, xde pulak komen ops duit angpow CNY. Selalu kata Melayu rasis, tp tengok komen disini, boleh nampak bangsa mana rasis. Rasanya tinted ni tak hanya dikenakan kpd bangsa lain, semua kena. Melayu, Cina, India, Orang Asli dll. Agensi yg berkaitan (polis & jpj) siap beri masa sebulan untuk tukar ke tinted yg cerah pun, dikatanya makan duit.

Aku taklah sokong kerajaan sbb aku pun tak suka undang2 tinted ni. Tapi ni Malaysia, bukan uk, bukan usa dan bukan japan. Kalau kerajaan dah kata 70% VLT DEPAN 50% VLT tepi dan belakang. Terima sajalah. Benda boleh bincang, bawalah masuk Dewan Rakyat @ buat petisyen.

Malaysia ni negara berbilang kaum, jika ada satu bangsa tak puas hati dengan bangsa yg lain dan menghina perayaan mereka, memang dah kronik tu. Tak mustahil berlakunya lagi kes 13 mei dan paling teruk perang saudara. Tolong berhati2 jika memberi komen. Komen ini ditujukan kepada rakyat Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • medic on May 19, 2014 at 9:00 am

Satu lg mankuk ni.Semua org komen polis lebih baik ambil tindakan atas kesalahan yg lebih serius,operasi begini hanya hangat hnagat tahu ayam.Bila ada ketua polis baru,konon nak buat tu la ni la,tp result?mana hasil?semua nya rasuah!
      Rasuah lah delima enforcemant yg poros,dari kastam,immigresi,polis,JPJ..semua terlibat.Org komen betul betul,u cakap ada racist.Otak u kena calibrate sikit,pasal nampak hantu merata tempat.

• Diam lah babi, apa nak rasis sgt nie? siapa yang kata Cina je yang kena? Walaupun padahalnya, memang polis suka tangkap pemandu Cina. Itu fakta bukan auta. Ok? Terimalah hakikat bahawa polis yang rasis terhadap segolongan bangsa, dan akibatnya bangsa lain mana nak menghormati polis yang terdiri daripada bangsa majoriti? Dan jgn sekali nak ungkitkan pasal Mei 13. Habis? Atuk saya dulu jugak ada tetak melayu, tapi adakah tu bangga sgt? Semua orng tinggal zaman tu samada dah mati atau dah tua sgt. Jgn berharap kepada perkara yang ko tidak harap akan berlaku. Tu warning.

• NeedForSpeedUnderground_V2 on May 18, 2014 at 3:51 pm

JPJ, this ‘Ops Cermin Gelap’ will cover all datuk sri, tan sri, dato’2 vehicles as well? if not, shame on you!

• Gov want money to find mh370….I think they just give any stupid reasons to make a money.whatever good reason & suggestion we give they not heard, because important think they make a money. Sad to be victim in our country.

• Super Donkey on May 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Actually there are some issues with the law of 70% VLT front and 50% VLT side and rear. This VLT is total VLT or just the tint VLT? It is because even without tint, car windows VLT is already about around 83%.

So, if you go to a shop to add a 70% VLT (tint VLT on the front windscreen), effectively, when Puspakom use the scanner and do a check, what you have is 0.83 X 0.70 = 0.581 VLT which equals fail the requirement. So unless you get a ultra clear tint at the front, say 85% VLT, then should be almost 100% safe (assuming the scanner Puspakom is properly calibrated and use correctly).

Same reasoning goes on the side and rear window.

It is quite rare that tint company offers 85% VLT or more, hence, a very law abiding tint is 70% VLT tint on side and rear and no tint at front.

Tint company on the other hand I would think miss-lead the public by saying 70% VLT at front windscreen is OK and keep emphasizing the JPJ requirement is tint VLT only. (http://paultan.org/2010/08/27/3m-authorised-car-centres-for-your-3m-crystalline-tint/)

Logically speaking, JPJ requirement should be total VLT and not tint VLT because after installing the tint, you can’t check purely the tint VLT anymore. And ultimately, total VLT is the one that will either determine your car is too dark or not.

Hence, JPJ should state the regulations clearer and change 70% VLT on front to be a more reasonable amount say 55% VLT (total). And at side a more comfortable range is 40% VLT (total). With this amount, it is basically based on a 65% VLT tint at front and 50% VLT at side which is I think not too dark and still can see the person in the car.

At the same time, tint company must not be a total dumbass and push the limit lower (i.e. say that ooh, now can use 50% front tint VLT and 40% side tint VLT.

• transformer on May 18, 2014 at 5:31 pm

I been to police station(local IPD) recently to settle traffic summon. I saw there are touts inside police station touting their service to other customer. Any Rm300 or Rm150 summon can be paid by them at a discounted amount BUT THE OFFICIAL COMPUTER PRINT RECEIPT RM70 only!!!
    This include JPJ summons too. Very professional service.

I paid early, paid myself, so my receipt printed Rm150. No corruption involved!!!

• transformer on May 18, 2014 at 5:34 pm

same applies to car purchase, i don’t purchase AP holder imported cars, Alphard, Vellfire, JP spec Merc, BMW & etc. I don’t want to feed those 98 AP Kings and their PUKEMA. I own old second hand Nissan, Proton and local assemblied Pajero.

Just hangon your current car to deprive the auto industry, only consumer power can bring down car prices! Bolehland Gov would never want to reduce their tax collection and keep on protecting their cronies income! Whatever promise to bring down car price is just to win more votes!!

• Policemen cannot see the criminal with dark tinted windows..?Ok, after this they will make a law…all motorist have to switch on the cabin light at night..because they cannot see the criminal inside the car..haiyooo..

• Another way of generating income.Not we marah-marahkan polis. But Polis kenalah buat baik dulu. Tinted window is not a crime, its the criminals that do crimes. Simple solution, set roadblocks and requires all the cars to wind down windows when passing thru. And, make sure to catch even those datuk with seal on the number plates. Even if we marah polis, that our right caused polis is to serve rakyat. not bully rakyat.

• KangKungMan on May 19, 2014 at 10:20 am

Nak Tangkap tu … tangkap elok elok! Jgn hangat hangat tahi ayam … 5 hitam – 1 saman 4 lepas …

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 19, 2014 at 10:34 am

who uses black tint anymore? its so outdated. Only cheap cars and chepo uses black black tint

• i am disgusted by the reasons our PDRM/JPJ gave. Does it mean that everyone is a suspect for crime? Is it the only reason why this was implemented? If you want to curb crime, first thing is to prevent visual to the interior of the vehicle. That’s the first! I feel so much more secured to place whatever i want in my car with my tints on. With those visible tints, i have to hide my personal belongings, within the non-visibility of the outsiders. Who is encouraging crime now??

no MPs can fight about this in Parliament for us, because wait! they can have their cars fully tinted without any problem!! c’mon! all we are asking for is some privacy in our own car. is it too much to ask for?? unless the GOV pays half of my car installment every month, i suggest they ABOLISH this ASAP…!!

• Do u know what festival is coming?

• The reason given by the traffic police chief is not totally ridiculous. There are a few robberies close to my neighborhood where the criminals used heavily-tinted vehicles (Vellfire & Estima). They parked the cars nearby their target house and they waited for the front door to open and the house owner occupied, then they’ll rush out with weapons, jump the gate/fence and rob the house. They are usually numbered around 6-8.

Since they are using vehicles normally used by affluent households and the passengers are hidden behind the tint, they can get by manual guard posts with minimal scrutiny.

However, I would definitely applaud the police to go after those cars that installed police strobe lights (How they can catch these cars when the lights are easily hidden, is another matter). Impersonating a police vehicle just so you can speed is no joke, probably a felony.

• Luxico on May 19, 2014 at 4:32 pm

It’s important to check the window tinting law by you before taking notice of this blog. Here in the UK the visible light transmission for the front side windows must be 70%. However, all windows behind the driver and passenger seats can have any shade of tint. This could be 5% limo black or 50%.

• MalaysiaBoleh on May 19, 2014 at 11:55 pm

This is one of those laws that should be reviewed.

Can any YB bring this issue up in the Dewan Rakyat?

I recently read a Singapore forum complaining Singapore drivers being fined unfairly by the Malaysian Police because In Singapore, cars are allowed to tint their passenger side and rear windows up to 20% VLT. But once they drive pass the Malaysian border, they get fined.

Perhaps we should standardize the tint regulations with our neighbouring countries so that such unwanted issues would not arise again in the future?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 6:52 am

Actually it does make sense to ban black/too reflective tints. Without heavy tints you can see through the car in front of you. Drive in Europe, where dark tints are banned and not common, and you can see through several cars in front. If someone far ahead brakes, you’ll know, and can react accordingly. In Malaysia though, thanks to dark tints, you often don’t even know what is happening just one car ahead of you. That is dangerous and can lead to accidents.

Of course the same goes to decorating the rear window with all sorts of crap.

• IronMan on May 20, 2014 at 8:28 pm

The above comment is absolute rubbish!

• AMG Supersport on May 20, 2014 at 8:44 pm

The bottom line is the current tint rule should be reviewed or abolished.

Times have changed, time to move on.

• PDRM/government is taking us for a ride, one hand allowing government allows import of this tints to be sold to us and then summon us for using it.

What the wrong with this picture? Nah, nothing wrong its Malaysia.

• JPJongang on May 21, 2014 at 12:09 pm

“Jual tinted gelap boleh.
    Beli jangan” – logik jpj

• kelvin on May 22, 2014 at 1:43 pm

simple only la…ask PDRM/JPJ/PUSPAKOM..go visit NAZA CAR SHOWROOM 1st la..make sure THEY DO THEIR JOB first lor…!!!!!!!!!!

• An Old Goat on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:50 am

I am against heavily tinted car screen.
    There are time in situations that we need to identify the driver and passangers.

As for the ladies (and men) being crime targets, I dare say most of the time they are not being careful. Simple as that.

Remember when M’sia passed the law that all motorcycles need to always switch on their headlight? If all cars in M’sia are allowed to be heavily tinted, try guess when goverment will pass a law stating that all vehicles on the road must switch on their headlights because nobody could see around them?

It seems not many here knew that you could apply to JPJ to use heavier tinting under medical or security reason. It’s obvious all the VIP would be allowed heavier tinting under security reason and JPJ have no reason to reject them (or not able to).

Just being able to tint at reasonable level is good enough.

• Gerald Wu on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:24 pm

By having good and dark tint it also help to reduce CO2 and fuel. Why because less air condition is needed in the car. Very simple police can come up with a new ruling whereby if there is any road blocks all car drivers must wind down all the windows.