Facelifted Chevrolet Aveo/Sonic unveiled in China

aveo-sedan-front

First photos of the facelifted Chinese-market Chevrolet Aveo, better known to you and me as the Chevrolet Sonic, have been released. The GM B-segment hatchback and sedan has been given a makeover that is reminiscent of its new big brother, the Cruze.

At the front, there is a new, narrow-set grille (the bow tie logo has moved up from in between the upper and lower grilles), a trapezoidal lower grille with integrated bumper bar, downturned chrome accents around the fog light surrounds and more conventional headlights that replace the exposed motorcycle-inspired pods on the previous model. Slim side indicators have been integrated into the wing mirrors.

Meanwhile, the circular tail light and indicator/reverse light combo has been ditched for a cleaner, more conventional look. The number plate holder has also been redesigned, while the rear bumper has been revised and now features a black valence piece. A new eight-spoke wheel design completes the makeover.

aveo-sedan-rear

No interior images have been shown just yet, but a peek through the windscreen reveals a new cowl for the instrument panel, which means the funky bike-esque binnacle of the current car could also be replaced. No technical details either, but expect the current engines – Ecotec units ranging from 1.2 to 1.8 litres (ours is a 1.4) – and five-speed manual and six-speed automatic transmissions to soldier on.

The new Chevrolet Aveo is set to be launched in June in a sedan bodystyle first, with the hatchback (only a single photo of which has been shown so far) following a month later. As with the Cruze – the new model was launched in Beijing last month around the same time a facelifted version of the current car was unveiled in New York – it is unclear whether this model will arrive on our shores.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I still have not seen any Sonics on the streets of Penang since their launch. Hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • SoMeOnE (Member) on May 19, 2014 at 9:04 pm

I haven’t seen any of them in the Klang Valley except for the test drive ones. I think they are less common then exotics even. But i see a couple for sale in the used car market from time to time. I wonder who buys them.

• Vader on May 20, 2014 at 7:56 am

The front lamp without glass is hard to accept by the user, the most important is less service center in Penang and mainland too..

• Jafar on May 19, 2014 at 6:58 pm

You won’t see ever… Arrogant Naza with arrogant attitude and they think people are too desperate to get their cars as no other cars in the market..!!
    After launching Sonic they increased the price even though the demand is almost nil..!!
    Guys, I’m very interested to know how does their Sales and Marketing manager think?

• 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2014 at 9:59 am

The problem with Naza Chevy is that they don’t offer enough to sway would be buyers.

There are plenty more options out there for Korean cars.

I once looked at a Orlando as a viable replacement for our aging Citra, but it did not offer the “mandatory” safety equipment nor offer a significant efficiency upgrade over the current car.

When I was musing about the 2 standard airbags, the salesman was dumb enough to answer that it had the same amount as my Citra. Right…so why upgrade?

• Pak Cik on May 19, 2014 at 7:30 pm

This is better than current sonic. Put in better engine with reasonable price. Let the B-Segment war begins!

• Denaihati on May 19, 2014 at 10:25 pm

front looks similar to Mitsubishi Lancer. impressive the range from 1.2L ~ 1.8L, i guess it have a good structure design.

• Tiger on May 19, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Even in KL, i can count with ONE hand how many times have seen the Sonic on the road…same with the Potong Supima only maybe about 5x from launching until now ( 1x show car on the road) despite this, Potong kip pouring money taking full page color ads to pomote

• Well I do see quite a number of Suprimas here. Know why? My house is just next to a Proton dealer showroom. On the road? Aha no, unfortunately.

• Tiger on May 19, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Padan muka increase prices, now even u beg us we wont buy this junk

• BOYRACER on May 20, 2014 at 12:51 am

I drove the Sonic awhile ago.Not too bad too drive.Quite nice actually.Its just being priced a little bit too ambitious..Less the price by 10k would be more competitive..

• Josh Ling on May 20, 2014 at 6:12 am

i am sorry but i think unless chevy managed to solve the “identity crisis” it is having now, i don’t see a point why people should opt for chevy cars over some more exciting japanese or korean cars, or even european ones.

chevy should incorporate more of its american root into the design and feature of the car, and not trying to come up with something that they think is more “commonly accepted”. it’s all about unique selling points these days, folks! if you keep featuring those “blah” designs and features, people are gonna move away from you.

• azrai on May 20, 2014 at 8:18 am

New Vios rims slap on Sonic.

• EnergyAnalyst on May 20, 2014 at 11:36 am

As one of the least liked car brand according to a mini survey done by yours truly. This brand is surprisingly still holding on dear to Bolehland. Has Obama anything to do with it?