2015 Nissan Pulsar for Europe – first photos & details

nissan_pulsar_2

Here are the first pix of the new Nissan Pulsar for Europe, which Nissan will take to battle against the Mk7 VW Golf and Ford Focus in Europe. It sports a completely different look compared to the current Pulsar hatchback (boot-less sister of the B17 Sylphy) currently sold in the region.

The Pulsar’s face has the first use of Nissan’s V-motion grille on a non-SUV, previously found only the X-Trail, Qashqai and most recently the Murano.

It’s not clear to us for now whether the European Nissan Pulsar will carry a different look (think US-market Camry versus rest of the world Camry) or if we are in fact looking at the Pulsar’s mid-cycle facelift, but what we do know is that Europe-bound cars will be built in Spain. It measures 4,385 mm long and 1,520 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,700 mm. Boot space is quoted at 380 litres.

nissan_pulsar_3

There will be various engine options, but instead of a normally aspirated 1.8 litre like the one that this region gets, the European Pulsar will cater to the European buyer’s taste for downsized turbocharged engines, so it’ll get either a 115 hp, 190 Nm 1.2 litre DIG-T turbocharged engine or a 109 horsepower 1.5 litre DCi turbodiesel. A hotter Pulsar with a turbocharged 1.6 litre engine that can do 190 horsepower will come later.

The technophile isn’t forgotten as well as the car will include various equipment such as LED lights, Forward Emergency Braking, Moving Object Detection, Lane Departure Warning and Blind Spot Warning. A NissanConnect infotainment system will allow integration with your mobile phone, and will support Google’s Send to Car function for the GPS navigation system as well as other apps.

Nissan Pulsar DIG Turbo at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow!!! very eye catching front end!!! But the tail.. erm…

• Same l0r on May 20, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Nice one, Nissan. Again sushi car is showing off its capabilities.

Not like some model, people go GSC watch Spiderman movie till Spiderman has his own spider grandson and spider grand daughter-in-law, the car model still no show.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 5:48 am

Doing a facelift and replacing the engine with ones from Renault isn’t exactly as difficult as developing a new model from ground up, including having to develop a new platform. For that the Japanese need some time too. Just consider the Lexus LF-A. It has been in development for 10 (!) years, probably longer since 2000 they have first shown the project to the public.

But even with normal models they take a very long time, with a very long testing phase.

It’s ridiculous. Proton releases a new model, there are problems with it, people complain not enough testing, lousy quality. Proton then does a lot of testing to make sure it works well from the start, and people complain it takes so long.

• Same L0r on May 21, 2014 at 11:52 am

If the test plan requires 10,000hours. It is 3.5 years (no holiday no weekends) of testing with 1 car. But it is only need 5.6months (with weekends and public holidays rest) of testing if you use 10 cars.

If Nissan, Toyota, Honda can, why not Proton?

@KettaVreakdoWnn I am not joking, neither I feel any syok, people are tiring waiting in/for GSC.

• yihang (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 1:27 am

U don’t understand R&D….it is not simple as public may think…car just engine,gear box,differential,link to driveshaft ,tire…done..chassis also simple..some struts,cross member,lower arm,coil spring shock absorbers…or maybe some bushing….steering even more simple,a rack with a pinion gear..tie rod…that all…yeah…it may sound simple for the normal people with slight knowledge about car…but the reality is way different,Toyota knw how to build engine,they knw how to build chassis,they know how to build a car..but still take them more than 12 years to build a LFA..at this time…u may say LFA is different thing,is a expensive super car…but to make a normal road car that cheap,saving fuel,reliable,comfort,specious,never seem to be any easier…

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 21, 2014 at 9:04 am

I don’t really lough at your so called joke..sendiri cakap..sendiri syok..ar u.. same lor… waiting my free bentley anyway

• kadajawi (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Interesting that Nissan is trying to enter that segment/market again after having left it long time ago.

Doesn’t look bad, though the rear end is quite Ford’ish.

The engines look like renamed Renault engines, especially the diesel is clearly a Renault (apparently also used by Mercedes in the A class…?).

• Josh Ling on May 21, 2014 at 6:27 am

very stylish car i must say, though i am concerned that nissan is going to be the next VW / Audi which car models are getting more and more yawn, and less and less different from one another in terms of looks.

The only new Nissan with a very distinct face is the new Murano. Others are getting more and more alike, especially the Qashqai and X-Trail.

• gavin on May 21, 2014 at 8:03 am

very handsome car indeed and look at the rear seat, you could fit an ice box in the footwell

• Jaybond on May 21, 2014 at 8:12 am

The front end styling is quite a nice & successful design by Nissan’s designers. That is until you shift your attention to the rear end – that is one hideous rear end job! Like many of Nissan’s recent creations, it’s another hit or miss styling attempt by Nissan..

• anwar Z on May 21, 2014 at 8:34 am

legendary PULSAR returns.

• nicer than the black version

• 8sg9ft on May 21, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Can Nissan bring this over to Malaysia too? This is actually quite good-looking, which is quite a big achievement for Nissan lol. Like the front. The back could be better but still not bad

• setsunaf on May 21, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Good! no more ugly family signature grill design.

• namanama on May 26, 2014 at 10:51 am

pulsar is back!