CarBase.my – your one-stop car-buying research site

carbaselogo1

So, it’s time for a new set of wheels. You have a budget and a few choices in mind. The gruelling next step – research. Information comes from so many places – carmakers’ websites, friends, family, forums – and it’s contradictory, confusing and incomplete. Sounds familiar?

Yes, shopping for a car can be a tedious and stressful process. We know that because we’ve been through the same. And that’s why we’ve come up with an easy-to-access, easy-to-use and easy-to-understand tool to help you make your decision.

carbase-main-page

This is CarBase.my, a one-stop site with an extensive and comprehensive database of new cars on sale in Malaysia. You’ll find prices, specifications, warranty details (manufacturer-backed or insurance-extended), high-resolution photos, expert and user reviews, and so much more – packaged in a user-friendly, intuitive layout that is easy on the eye.

Carmakers use all manner of marketing-speak and acronyms to describe what are essentially similar features – VSA/VSC, D-CVVT/Dual VVT-i, PowerShift/S tronic – baffling the buyer even further. We simplify all that for you by calling a spade a spade. Peugeot, for instance, describes the 208’s rear suspension as a “trailing-arm with deformable cross-member axle” when we all know it has a torsion beam.

We even give you details not presented in brochures or official documents (like how many cupholders and 12V sockets there are, and where they are), to ensure you are able to make a smart and informed decision.

Filter your searches by make, body type, segment, price range and more. For the discerning, there’s an Advanced Search feature that allows filtering by many specific parameters such as the availability of stability control, ISOFIX child seat points, or the number of airbags.

carbase-comparison-4a

You can refine your search to include only sedans fitted with no fewer than six airbags, for example, and compare up to five of them within a certain price range or segment – we leave no detail untouched.

What’s more, we aim to create an interactive and vibrant online community that will empower car buyers and owners. As car buyers ourselves, we realised that car companies may not have all the necessary information while user reviews are usually scattered all over the countless numbers of online forums and social networks.

Contribute by uploading photos of your car and sharing your ownership experience, or even your showroom visit experiences. Tell us and the others what you like, what you don’t like or what you think should be done right on your car.

Feedback is always welcome – you’ll help us enhance the CarBase.my experience. For now, go ahead and try it – visit CarBase.my and see for yourself if it brings you a couple of steps closer to deciding on your next car purchase.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2014 at 9:49 am

I think the item that most of us would really like to see are interdependent testing for fuel consumption numbers. Do your own FC loop. In typically klang valley situations.

I know its a tall order and your most manufacturers wont loan you a car long enough to go a proper test. But it would be something that would be really useful.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 1
    • Maserati(Original) on May 20, 2014 at 9:57 am

Yup, agree… if possible put in each car’s FC for comparison

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0r on May 20, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Sad for Proton fanboys, they can’t “Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok” no more!

~~No need for emotional argument, everything on fact~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
    • shame_Loo on May 20, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Agree with you. If just list down the manufacturer spec that we could search from website, then it just simply work as comparison table, nothing more than that. Btw, please check the A4 2.0T, I think the price is incorrect.

• fairuladilla on May 20, 2014 at 9:37 pm

There is already an online app fr this. Check out fuelly.com

Quite a number of malaysian motorhead are already part of it. It focuses only on fuel consumption figures… by real drivers in a typical day to day scenario

• Maserati(Original) on May 20, 2014 at 10:08 am

The site interaction is great, smooth, user friendly. That’s quite a work you guys did there. Well done and good job! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • fast5 on May 20, 2014 at 10:32 am

Good job, especially the review page and Hope experts review all the popular car (new and old) so we can compare more detail which car to choose…

• messi on May 20, 2014 at 10:42 am

Good to see the comparison.

it seems that the B segment Honda City is the most attractive package with :-

1) 5 years warranty.
    2) VSC
    3) Rear Air-con.
    4) roomy interior and boot.
    5) Good pick up at 10.6 S
    6) 16 inch rim.
    7) Most powerful with 118HP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • arman on May 20, 2014 at 10:44 am

Its easy to use and I love the comparison application. You can really put the car side-to-side and compare specs and gadgets.

Great job.

• simnix on May 20, 2014 at 10:59 am

OMG! Awesome! Did u freakin read my mind Paultan.org?? Exactly what I always wanted!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Finally something that is useful to prospective buyers. Good job. Site itself is great and user friendly. However, you guys might want to include some of the models brought in by grey importers as well, as the market in Malaysia is diverse and large.

• Maserati(fake) on May 20, 2014 at 11:08 am

Good job Paultan!

• Steve Jobs on May 20, 2014 at 11:12 am

fuhh gila dasyat sial. ^_^

• EnergyAnalyst on May 20, 2014 at 11:16 am

That’s it. You now own every Malaysian car buyers and secure yourself as Godfather of Malaysian automotive site.

It will be even more commanding if can cover motorbikes and commercial vehicles. But that aside, well done!

• feel like sgcarmart. Could be better than them.

• totti on May 20, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Woh! With the comparison.

You noticed that the City will beat the Vios all the way with:

1) 5 years warranty.
    2) VSC
    3) Rear Air-con.
    4) Roomy interior with longer wheel based at 2600mm
    5) Batter pick up at 10.6 S
    6) 16 inch rim.
    7) Most powerful with 118HP.
    8) Hill start assist
    9) Blue tooth
    10) Steering telescopic
    11) Automatic climate control
    12) Better top speed at 190km/hr
    13) Better fuel consumption with CVT

No wander the Honda City sale is so impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • RoCkie on May 20, 2014 at 4:10 pm

The new City does certainly looks impressive especially with 6 airbags for the 1.5V. However sadly 2 drawbacks are the rear drum brakes, SOHC instead of DOHC…

• I don’t think SOHC engine on the City is a problem as the engine is definitely much more efficient than the Vios. I’m driving my brand new City average 14-15km/l on fully city traffic and 18km/l on highway. At least 500km on RM70 a tank city traffic and 650km highway (traveled from KL to ipoh and back with plenty of petrol to spare). My car still yet to reach the 1000km mark though.
        Pickup might feel slow due to the CVT but if you floor it, its actually really fast to reach 120.
        Pity about the downgrade to drum brakes though. Would have preferred the disc. However only the Vios G and sportivo has rear disc and not standard across the range.

• Totally agree with you on the fuel consumption of the City. It trumps the Vios hands down.

For those thats also curious you can check Fuelly website to see the average mileage for both these cars posted by Malaysian users. City is at least 20% more efficient than the Vios!!

• It’ll be good if the site can highlight latest promotions like discount amounts,warranty offers, low interest etc cos such information may help buyers in deciding better.

• Great job! you know normally there are options which we could add to the car.. but most of the time it isn’t stated on the car manufacturer’s website or even brochure. One have to call directly to the showroom to actually get the answers, if you are interested in 5 cars, u gotta call at least 5 times (nobody pick up ma sometimes). It would be great if you guys could also add that. Cheers!

• setsunaf on May 20, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Finally a website I’m looking for, no more manual checklist

• seancorr on May 20, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Just took a look at my own car in the list and noted a couple of mistakes in the spec sheet and I assume its the same for all the other models. Another round of QC for the spec sheet pls?

• Paul Tan on May 20, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Hi. May I know which car?

• jibby on May 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

aslo, for kia rio the spare tyre is full size & not ‘space saver’ (both EX & SX version)

• i noticed some mistakes too:
        -valencia orange color not available for bmw f20 and f30 model
        -rear wheel size for f30 m-sport is 255/40r18 instead of 225/40r18
        -auto start stop function is available in f20
        -merc w204 is rear wheel drive instead of fwd

• Joker on May 20, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Good site…
    A job well done…
    If can include test drive experience then will be absolutely complete d…
    Sth quite impossible.. add sepang race circuit laptime.. Lol..

• Maseratits on May 20, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Wow, the website looks good and easy to use. Good job, guys!

• Khoo Wei Boon on May 20, 2014 at 3:18 pm

i like vios but city is giving 5 years unlimited warranty. Should i got for city or vios? is the warranty important?

if proton gives me 10 years warranty i also won’t buy

• Only idiots and Sam Loo buy vios. Nuff said

• Acrix on May 21, 2014 at 9:55 am

Having a longer warranty is definitely important as you have to bear the full cost to change parts should there be any problem once the warranty is over.

Below i give you a comparison between the highest spec City vs Vios inclusive of insurance cost.

City: Larger interior, 50mm wider wheelbase, VSA, 6 airbags, hill start assist, emergency stop signal, 7″ infotainment, auto climate control, rear aircond vents, cruise control, 8 speakers, hands free telephone, voice recognition control, probably better fuel efficiency, 536 liter boot, more horsepower, price V (RM90800). If add Modulo package (RM3200) Total RM 94000.
      Vios: Leather seats, rear disc break, price G(RM88513.50), TRD(RM93213.50)

City is safer with VSA and 6 airbags, faster, more fuel efficient and much more value for money spec wise.

• Ananz on May 21, 2014 at 10:00 am

City is much more value for money, faster, more efficient and safer than Vios. Just do some research and simple comparisons before buying.

• datasss on May 20, 2014 at 3:20 pm

I think I should point out that there are a few mistakes in vehicle technical data on the website.
    For example the Exora Bold and Exora Prime’s 0-100km/h sprint time is at 13.3sec when the brochure figures are at 11.3sec.
    Of course, these are just minor issues. Plus I’m sure you will iron things out eventually.

• Paul Tan on May 20, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Fixed… 13.3 was the old figure that had been published before. This was revised to 11.3 later.

• Calvin on May 20, 2014 at 3:24 pm

A minor error spotted with Kia Cerato. The navigation is a standard feature for 2014 model.

• nubians on May 20, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Nice new site. Congrats. However, Just now i research perodua myvi and found that every car icon display the same XT car picture from the XT spec to extrema… Hope this can be fix as soon as possible as extreme and se has very different bodykit than XT one.. Same result can be seen in viva also.. Elite picture all across the spec..

• nubians on May 20, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Here the links to show what i means
      http://www.carbase.my/search?make=perodua&model=myvi

• A search on KIA Optima and it shows NO Wing Mirror Turn Indicators? Wrong I guess?

• Paul Tan on May 20, 2014 at 3:55 pm

We actually just added the field for the wing mirror turn indicators after this announcement… so we’re adding in the data now. Fixed, thanks for the feedback.

• RoCkie on May 20, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Mazda 5 is missing from CarBase.my

• Paul Tan on May 20, 2014 at 3:54 pm

It will be up later this week. We are waiting for the new SkyActiv version to be launched.

• Paul Tan on May 21, 2014 at 6:56 pm

It’s up today.

http://www.carbase.my/mazda/5

• Chai Kian Hee on May 20, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Compact Executive is same as C-segment. Why the different classification? If you want to put them separately, why not just name them C segment and snobbish C segment?

• good move! this is useful.

• please do incl current promotions and discounts from distributors too.

• mcgan on May 20, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Quite fun to use the filter and comparison.
    I found 1 minor glitch: in the comparison tool, when using keyboard to type a letter to select a make, model… on the drop down box, the following box will not enabled/activate, unless mouse is used to click the name.

• Richie on May 20, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Guys – thanks for taking feedback into consideration. Shows that you listen, good job.

• DO TOYOTA RAV4 LAUNCH IN MALAYSIA?

• jason on May 21, 2014 at 2:57 pm

the sign up button is not functioning.

• I can throw my excel sheet now! GREAT JOB. thx

• frenny on May 22, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Is it possible to add on more models (columns) for more comparisons? It would be very very useful.

Thank you.

• Better search function please. The Google one is bad

• Ken Lee on May 25, 2014 at 7:14 am

Is there any justification on giving star rating?

It seems bias and purely fabrication. I do compare a lot other reviews and it seem more favouritism in certain brand in CarBase.

Im sorry about my words but I just want clarification on this matter.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Thanks for your feedback. The star ratings on CarBase.my have all been agreed upon by the whole paultan.org team.

Each rating given takes into account the car’s objective and subjective qualities, measured against other relevant models in the same segment and/or price range. Safety, pricing (value for money) and relative fit for purpose characteristics are all factored into the decision as well.

We are currently working on adding in more expert reviews, which will justify the ratings already given.

Furthermore, the user ratings and reviews will also provide further insight into the model in question :)