Daihatsu Copen – production Kopen concept leaked

daihatsu-copen-prod-a

Fans of kei roadsters finally have something to look forward to, as the new Daihatsu Copen – the replacement for the first-generation model which ended production in 2012 – has been leaked through a series of brochure scans ahead of its official unveiling expected to be as early as next month.

Despite the low quality of the images, it’s clear that the Copen has lost almost nothing through its transition from the Kopen concept that was unveiled in Tokyo last year, gaining only production-spec door mirrors and tail lights as well as a few detail changes.

Even the interior has managed to emerge relatively unscathed, with the more regular steering wheel and bucket seats, analogue gauges and some switchgear modifications being the only big revisions.

Click to enlarge pics

Daihatsu has already revealed that, like the concept, the new Copen will feature 11 interchangeable body panels which will allow owners to customise their cars to their hearts’ desires. These panels are affixed to a D-Frame structure that is claimed to have torsional rigidity 1.5 times higher than the original Copen, and the new car weighs 850 kg when fitted with a manual gearbox.

Motivation comes from a 660 cc turbocharged DVVT three-cylinder engine producing 64 hp at 6,400 rpm and 92 Nm at 3,200 rpm. Mated to a “super-active shift” CVT with seven virtual ratios, it manages a fuel economy figure 25.2 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 test cycle, while the five-speed manual model makes do with 22.2 km per litre.

The powered roof opens and closes in 20 seconds, although it is unclear whether the new Copen will feature a folding metal roof like on the previous-generation model.

Daihatsu Kopen Concept from Tokyo 2013

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• policeman on May 20, 2014 at 8:31 pm

This will be the new Perodua Yucky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Same l0r on May 20, 2014 at 11:10 pm

The almighty Proton can’t come out this kind of design. This is called limitation.

The only way to enjoy this piece of art is rebadge.

Yet some people think any sort of rebadge is crap. Only the “sendiri cakap, sendiri syok” model s are the best. This is called blindness.

• The almighty P2 can come out this kind of design on its own without rebadge?

• Same L0r on May 21, 2014 at 11:23 am

P2 is a rebadging car company, yet it sell the most cars in Malaysia. Why?

Because their car is reliable.

If Proton start selling its rebadged Accord, you think no one buy?

If Perodua manage to rebadge C class, i will see you in the booking list too.

• You are right. But my name will be in the list of P2 rebadge C-Class? Don’t think so. My father’s S-Class will be mine soon.

• Same L0r on May 22, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Great. Enjoy your father S class then, don’t forget to ask your father money to pump petrol, pay toll, parking, makan minum, lepak etc.

Nowadays everything is expensive, you just need to ask your father a few times more. Ask your father sub a credit card to you the best.

Anything just call papa.

• P4 you’re just a talking piece of shit. Go ahead drive your FATHER’S S class to show off like your OWN car and die in there. What a pile of horse shit. I bet your face looks like pussy bush when you drive your FATHER’S car.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Bring this P2.. you can take my deposit. Tonight oso can.

• ThePolygon on May 21, 2014 at 9:19 am

Come on… give us some choice for this type of car … P2 or Daihatsu… anyone?

• george on May 21, 2014 at 10:18 am

In The Times UK newspaper many years ago, Jeremy Clarkson reviewed the Copen (previous model) and hinted it’s car for gays. Huhuhuhu

• Nice. P2 Kapam in 5 years?

• Can we have a perodua copen? Pretty please!!!

• P2, please bring this in!!!

• azrai on May 21, 2014 at 8:10 am

Perodua Bbuka.

• heybadigol on May 21, 2014 at 8:35 am

Its a cute car. But if I REALLY wanted a kei car, i’d wait for the Honda S660. Production version not out yet of this mid engined RWD 660cc beauty.