Tun Dr Mahathir to become Proton chairman – report

Suprima-S-launch-00410

According to a report by The Malaysian Reserve, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad is set to be appointed chairman of Proton. Sources familiar with the company have told the publication that an announcement is expected to be made within the week.

Dr Mahathir’s appointment will see the withdrawal of Proton’s current executive chairman Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil from his post, the report adds. The former PM will also be appointed chairman of Proton’s wholly-owned subsidiary Lotus plc.

“The papers have been signed and as a formality, it will be tabled for approval by the board at its next meeting,” a source told TMR. “This is an advantage to Proton. Dr Mahathir is actually taking the bull by its horns so to speak.

“He wants to see Proton succeed at all costs and if it requires micro-managing it, then he is prepared to do so. Dr Mahathir knows this is a make or break period for Proton and he is soaking up all the risks that come along with it.”

Dr Mahathir has been Proton advisor since he retired as PM in 2003. Proton recently appointed Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, previously DRB-Hicom group director for automotive and defence, as CEO.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• See what can he do after this, Chairman can do a lots of things and don’t blame and complaint if your product can’t sell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
    • Sammy Valley on May 20, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Tiada Hehehehe, kita bina Hehehehe!

• Mahathir - 30 million Rakyat Suffer on May 21, 2014 at 10:24 am

It is solely because of Mahathir that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top sepc Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from the princap in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Now, Proton is commiting suicide. You bring the person that ruined Proton. You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is soled to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, now by bringing Mahathir in, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or GOvernment owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0r on May 21, 2014 at 11:40 am

First thing to do: all BN parties members must buy Proton (even with great discount), owning foreign car subject to approval.

This is the real patriotism! Orang sendiri pun tak sokong kereta sendiri, how?

Hope Proton shine with this.

• Proton Staff on May 21, 2014 at 3:34 pm

We Proton Staff just got memo this morning. All of us must go online and visit Paul Tan’s site. All must like positive comments on Proton and dislike negative comments on Proton.

I pekerja taat. Saya turut like semua komen positif Proton!

• Same L0r on May 22, 2014 at 6:13 pm

When a car company comes out memo asking the staff to go paultan likes the positive comment and dislike the negative comments.

I doubt if it can shine?

You dare to buy a car where the manufacturer spend part of its productivity on car blog’s comment?

• Same L0r on May 21, 2014 at 11:55 am

Second thing to do: 10 year unlimited mileage warranty for Proton models.

I am sure it will attract a lot of buyers. Proton definitely will shine.

VW is doing that in China now.

• 2liter bottle on May 21, 2014 at 1:05 pm

“You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.”

Wow.. what an interesting comment. In the 80’s it may be priced as you said. But if you really want Nissan 120Y or Toyota Corolla today, i can find it for you just for RM2.5K. But i’ll charge you for RM139,000 anyway.

You may thank me later.

• fast5 on May 20, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Upcoming car GSC don’t expect any low selling price… 30 years old baby(protong) continue to be pampered more 10 years to come…
      Our hope of buying good quality car with cheaper price is GONE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • Hopeless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • This would be a great news if not for his track records of ruining more than improving any organisation he’s been involved in. What’s next? Mahaleel return as CEO to destroy Proton once and for all? Can’t he just enjoy his retirement like most extremely rich people do. Sorry for the rantings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • ionlaw on May 20, 2014 at 4:26 pm

another extension of retirement age…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Proton in deep shit. And we are in deeper shit either.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 11
    • kzm fanboy on May 20, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Proton COO said: “I hope people make the rational decision [when buying their cars], because safety for the family is most important, and that should never be compromised.”

– Well, rational people will always avoid Proton. Enuff said.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 19
      • That’s better than 80k car without VSC or brands with safety parts failure massive recalls all over the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
        • AVH (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 11:39 am

– better than 80k car without VSC –
          So you’re talking about Inspira right?

– or brands with safety parts failure massive recalls all over the world.-

http://www.thestar.com.my/story.aspx/?file=%2f2010%2f10%2f7%2fnation%2f20101007213150&sec=nation

yea…..

• jay8393 on May 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Prepare for more expensive cars that does not wear the Proton badge!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 11
    • Ibrahim on May 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Just reduce the finance period to 4 years for all imported cars, so only the rich can own it. Baru ada class for imported cars. He he.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 17
      • emijah on May 20, 2014 at 10:24 pm

then the fire will go to BNM…then lastly to the gov.., the gov have no choice..i think.. but to have reduce the price of foreign cars as cheap as Tamiya cars..and the loan should be longer than 9 years

• The worse PM ever. We suffer high price for cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 95
    • Ibrahim on May 20, 2014 at 5:12 pm

So, who is better than him?
      You must be deluded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 71
    • anti RBA on May 20, 2014 at 6:04 pm

blame yourself..if u want to own an imported car..afford the tax aswell..dont blame others..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 67
    • armandd on May 20, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Blame yourself for being so poor that you can’t afford foreign cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 36
  • Denial Syndrome on May 20, 2014 at 4:34 pm

No Truth In Claim Car Prices Expensive In Malaysia Due To Proton, Says Dr M
    Bernama, 10 May 2011

KLANG, May 10 (Bernama) — There is no truth in claims by certain quarters that car prices are expensive in Malaysia because of the existence of the national car, Proton, says former Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

“This is not true. The government has been imposing high tax for imported cars even from before so that the country does not lose out substantially in the outflow of the ringgit to foreign countries,” he said at the joint launching of the Proton’s Logistics Centres in Sijangkang and Tanjung Malim in Sijangkang here Tuesday.

Dr Mahathir, who is also proton adviser, said Malaysians who bought proton cars were doing a charity because when Proton becomes a success story and prospered, many Malaysians would get jobs and could support their families, some of whom have big families.

“We want to see proton playing a role as a socio machinery, helping to provide for the well-being of all Malaysians,” said Dr Mahathir, who initiated the national car project when he was the prime minister.

Following Proton’s move to set up the logistics centres in Sijangkang and Tanjung Malim to improve the quality of proton cars before delivering the cars to the customers, Dr Mahathir said he was confident that proton might soon capture the domestic automotive market and become the No. 1 car seller in the country.

Through the logistics centres, assembled proton cars at the main manufacturing plant in Shah Alam will be sent to the centres in Sijangkang and Tanjung Malim for testing and post-delivery inspection to ensure its quality conformed to the stipulated standard before delivering the cars to the dealers and for export.

Dr Mahathir said usually proton sales clinched 80 per cent but with the existence of perdoua and other brands of imported cars from South Korea and other countries, proton sales had taken a beating, he said car sales in Malaysia had shot up to 570,000 in one year, the highest sales figure in Southeast Asia, as other countries might be selling more than that but their population was 10 times more than Malaysia’s.

Dr Mahathir said proton must focus attention on quality because in business image was important although some may complain of dissatisfaction.

“It may be only one person complaining but it may portray as though all proton cars are problematic. If we don’t have a good image, everybody will think that this image is not only confined to one car but the whole problem,” he said.

Dr Mahathir said a blogger wrote in his blog claiming that proton car windows cannot be lowered, and the car owner had to open his car door and get down from his car to pay toll.

‘I think this is something overboard. I also drive my car through tolled roads and I’ve yet to see people driving proton cars getting down from their vehicles to pay toll,” he said.

“Nevertheless, many believe this is what actually happened because although it is a small complaint but even a giant company must give good treatment,” he added.– BERNAMA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 93
    • AVH (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

-Malaysians who bought proton cars were doing a charity because when Proton becomes a success story and prospered, many Malaysians would get jobs and could support their families, some of whom have big families.-

So……, workers working in CKD plants of Japanese, Korean, Frnce and even some German companies right here in Malaysia, don’t have fathemilies? y are here because of slave labour because they don’t have jobs? Nor are they not paid so that they can’t sustain themselve or anyone related? I was never in the automobile industry and maybe Proton are paying their workers better and have a healthier workplace compared to foreign CKD manufecturing companies in Malaysia…..

Downvote me all you want but here’s my opinion:
      Back in the 90s or early 00s I and many others would have gladly supported Proton in its quest to persuit that ‘national dream’ of having an internationally successful company known worldwide. Maybe not as big as the Eastern Asian/European giants but at least some form of success mirroring Peugeout, Volvo or Mazda…..but no, all attempts to export it are to countries with limited to no automotive market(apart from UK, Australia dosen’t even have the same population as Malaysia) and what automotive exports we did is not by a long shot what many would call a success. It becomes something of a national and futile effort….draining instead of contributing to the national economy, it is still today a laughing stock as far as the international community is concearn after you tell them how many years its up and what kind of country is from.

Proton did attempt to export CKD to 3 countries, Iran, North Korea and China(get the pattern?) and I only herad of its success in Iran. Not much news in China…..maybe things are different in North Korea, but there are Protons running in North Korea mind you. We expected Proton to replicate or at least achieve some form of success that Korean and Japanese manufecturers achieved during their 30th anniversery.

its not the product they make but the people leading it that pisses me off, its the high promise that Proton gives and the comments its higher up gives, and the failure to meet its big, bold words. And when things go dire, it becomes more of a nationlistic pride and demand for the sake of our patriotism, you should buy and support Proton……after 30 years? nah. The Preve is a good car and so is the Exora, and I would and will recomend people to buy them…..but for me? I’ve own and driven 2 Protons, its time to move on.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 11
      • VW_xyzzzz on May 20, 2014 at 6:15 pm

u studied well..,i juz wondering were all the truth about supporting proton before..and so..and so..or u want to make us to think so..
        i juz thinking.. pure antiproton/basher were good in mind game sometimes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
        • AVH (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 10:48 pm

So you think I, not proton or Dr M and co, me, just a mere Bourgeoisie with little to no influence on the national economy and the local automotive market, neither having the influence nor opportunity to change the mindsets behind powerful podiums in front of medias and millions of onlooker, me manipulating your mind? And even if I did that’s just one proton stuck at the depot amongst the hundreds of thousands that moves out in a year.

I am not a proton supporter, you wait for a person called Aero, he supports proton and gives compelling reason to. How I view proton is simple, I played my role, my family owns two before and there is still one with me that I endure very much. But supporting something that promises great things but no results for 30 years straight? No for me its time to love on, I won’t downplay anyone liking or buying proton, but neither will I join them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • AVH (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 12:05 am

Sorry correction

I played my role, my family owns two before and there is still one with me that I ADORE very much

• VW_xyzzzz on May 21, 2014 at 7:20 am

i believe u’re anti proton and anti mahathir..judging from most of your comments here..thats what i can think of u..and u can think whatever reason to bash or not liking them..your rights..no argue..

your english are very good anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
          • VW_xyzzzz what is your reason for supporting Proton? AVH is not bashing but voicing his sentiments. His arguments are always with facts and not for the purpose of pure bashing like others.
            AVH has stated his facts and sentiments but what are yours VW? Don’t go around calling ppl a basher when you are trolling

• The_right_path_to_success_is_to_realized_that_you've_failed_1st on May 20, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Yes. It was that one guy that blogs that causes Proton sale to nose-dive nation wide and overseas. Not a lack of acuity to the market’s need, the right product mix for the intended segment and the right quality for the after-sale service.

And Korean fleet did not start as an inferior product to Proton Saga and Hyundai/Kia being a better quality product right now is an issue of perception. And Proton did not squandered their lead by woefully executing product and being just poorly managed.

• RejimKejamGanas on May 20, 2014 at 8:40 pm

‘I think this is something overboard. I also drive my car through tolled roads and I’ve yet to see people driving proton cars getting down from their vehicles to pay toll,” he said.

How about you ride in a Proton daily to see it for yourself Tun? No need to wait for other people to suffer then only you believe it.

• What car he drive? A cayenne among others.

• OMG_Proton on May 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

GOOD !!! Proton can close shop faster!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 25
  • Anonymous on May 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Proton DRB is stupid n bringing back DrM is idiotic… he knows nuts about the current auto industry… as if there are no better, younger, industry-knowledgable for the post. Under DrM n TngkuMahaleel we had ridiculous designed and terrible choices such as Juara, Tiara and troublesome Savvy..!

Get a good engineer to head Proton and u can get good results… get politicians n u get sweet talk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 16
    • Obviously (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 5:29 pm

I think they could not say no to the iron fist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Henry on May 20, 2014 at 8:27 pm

You mean he ask for the job?

• Obviously (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 7:45 am

Him asking for a job is just a formality. Who can say no to Dr. M when he wants something and still keep their livelihood?

• Obviously (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 7:48 am

And, obviously, he wants the job. Proton is his precious baby and he seems to be willing to do many things to see it succeed. Looks like he’s going for a more hands-on approach this time.

• You need good strategist …

• sharfox on May 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm

What?….lemah sgt ke pemikiran org2 kat Proton sekarang sampaikan terpaksa guna Tun M???? Tak mampu nak fikir dan set halatuju?? Gila la Proton!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 14
    • apimusang on May 20, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Lu baru tau kah? Proton memang dah lama gila tahun 1985 lagi…gila dera seksa rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 15
    • mim (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Dga cerita ada vendor kroni ada yg gangster ma… engineer Proton bagi design power, suruh buat kerja bagus, dorg tak mahu, “tak boleh la bang, susah, kena modify machine blablabla” last2 final product jadi brg cikai… kena la panggil Dr.M bagi backup nk halau vendor2 ni..

Many Proton staffs and ex-staffs actually wanted to see Proton to be sold off to foreign automotive groups.. diberi peluang RnD besar besaran, berkembang mcm brand2 dlm VW Group.. buang “bolehlah” attitude.. jadi brand besar utk affordable cars, lawan brand sushi/kimchi..

DRB can do the same thing actually, but the management must have balls to take business risk, spend more money for continuous RnD, JV and tackle these crony vendor problems..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
      • RejimKejamGanas on May 20, 2014 at 8:47 pm

The problem here is many of these vendors were cultivated by Tun for his own political gain, like the infamous “you help me, I help you” slogan of our leaders. I sincerely doubt things will improve with Tun coming on board. I know of many rank and file people in Proton personally that want to see the brand improve to make good reliable cars that we as Malaysians can be proud to own.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 4:38 pm

beribu ribu tahniah mic berjaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • AVH (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 4:40 pm

On one hand, Mahathir is one of the few known guys that has both the power and leadership skills to lead Proton to any form of success…
    …On the other hand, the father of Malaysian high car price and pethatic AP system which he still wants to maintain and as well the guy that downplayed Perodua (Proton’s only worthy competitor)’so that it can sustain Proton’, even after 30-odd years still incapable of replicating or attempt something both Koreans and the Japanese automakers did on their respective 30 year aniversery, and running away from competition instead of accepting it?

I’am not sure what I make of this news, as for Proton, I do predict its success with Mahathir at the helm, at least better what it is now. But for almost all other automobile company, Foreign or Perodua, sold in Malaysia…..gloomy days ahead…..as well as your car prices and racial AP system.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 7
  • abdullah on May 20, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Tell him to use his own money to buy over Proton
    and Lotus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • RoCkie on May 20, 2014 at 11:55 pm

mind you his money is also from your money, my money and every Malaysian money

• getting popcorn and gonna watch the comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
  • Polo Saga on May 20, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Welcome to the real world of cronyism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • sudonano (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Seriously? Why can’t they bring back Syed Zainal back, with him at Proton, at least there was good improvement and progress, especially the Preve, which he really cared about, judging by the way he spoke of it during the launch video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • abuya123 on May 20, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Does not mean Tun is not competent. But Syed Zainal had proved that he can bring proton from loses making to no loses making.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Sgt Scoop on May 20, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I’ve been looking around at a second car for Mrs Scoop. Something from the B Segment probably. When I asked her about the Inspira, she said ‘no, I don’t want a Proton’. Proton so desperately need a brand halo to repair the legacy of 25 years of producing shitty Sagas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Tolonglah.. you know how old Tun dy? .. brain drain dy. .

But agree.. can close shop faster. . Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
    • Henry on May 20, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Once the brand is sullied it is very difficult to regain consumers’ trust. Maybe a name change to Neutron or Atom could improve things.

Proton is in the same predicament as MAS i.e. high cost + low sales. A recipe for disaster.

• Motorbutt on May 20, 2014 at 10:52 pm

even so his hitting his 90 soon..his mind still working properly than childish mind of yours..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 7:55 am

Im childish? Childish yes.. but not retarded like you… bodoh..

• 4G63T DSM on May 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Hahah… and I was entertaining the thought of buying a proton.

Bye Bye proton.

He may kill proton even quicker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Apollo on May 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Ho Lee Fock.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Proton need strong backup therefore ask TUN to become chairman. They learn from MAS so they don’t want to became the next.

• Blaze on May 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Oh no. We are screwed… Again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • Maseratits on May 20, 2014 at 5:17 pm

I’m pretty psyched to see what Mahathir has got up his sleeve. It’s time for him to put his money where his mouth is.

• turbo_guy on May 20, 2014 at 5:21 pm

I propose he took over the MAS airline too..

• turbo_guy on May 20, 2014 at 5:24 pm

All GLS companies are under same roof… to see how well they can perform…

• mim (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 5:27 pm

I guess all the work will be done by Dato Harith Abdullah and the infamous crony-feared, strict-but-good guy COO Khairudin Haji Yusoff (also known as “KY” to Proton staff and his nemesis, crony vendors lol).

Tbh, I think Dr.M is now too old to fully manage a company. He probably joined just to scare those low quality crony vendors away, or to make sure those good crony vendors do their job…(being a Malaysian company, there should be cronies somewhere loool)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • kl fella on May 20, 2014 at 5:27 pm

RIP proton..

• kl fella on May 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

oh wait, they need Tun M onboard to get the RM10 billion grant from MITI..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • victor tan (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 5:30 pm

OMG lo……

Walao eh, if this really happen then mampuslah Proton. You hire anyone from here also better than him ler.

• truely malaysian on May 20, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Hello TDM,

Great to have you on board (again)!

Please bring along your surgical knife and cut away this Proton tumor and then you can move on to cut away the other MAS tumor. Then introduce chemotherapy and rehab for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • he wouldn’t be long for been protong chairman with his age… I bet a year or two he will be time out.

• Slowpoke on May 20, 2014 at 5:46 pm

ade mahathir senang skit nak tarik cable and duit rakyat dari government..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Proton, before you close up please suck up Dr.M’s pension & saving. If desperate, then propose to BN that him as PM permanently.

• maybe they wan to chg proton logo to Mahathir face when he is no longer around

• Hi hi on May 20, 2014 at 7:56 pm

They did that with waja and savvy. On the bonnet and hood respectively. Remember the “nose” on those models?

• salambangi on May 20, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Good move. We need a leader like Dr M to take on Proton’s survival issue head on. DRB is just interested in assembling cars and their bottom line is just money.

Dr M’s role as a Chairman to Proton is just like ” sireh pulang ke gagang”. His capability to lead is unquestionable but his longevity is not. Probably YB Lim Guan Eng can be the next Chairman after Dr M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • RejimKejamGanas on May 20, 2014 at 8:36 pm

How about we stop putting politicians in charge and people with real passion in making cars instead?

I suggest that you read the story about how Lamborghini went into making sports cars from tractors.

• Aparejim?Apakejam?Apaganas? on May 20, 2014 at 10:58 pm

i believe he is ex politician..even so they are putting non politician ..they still cant filled your satisfaction..

• bootupjoe on May 20, 2014 at 6:17 pm

This old man remind me used to buy Proton used car is more expensive than new car due to long waiting list. WTF….damp you

• Dude, save more money to buy more ‘good’ quality and expensive car in future!

• Boy Racer (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Almost 90 years old already man… Just chillax at home watch astro la… so active for what. Money still not enough meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Jinyiwei on May 20, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Haha.. Before this, I wld think like u but he’s not. I saw him driving Lotus Evora in Sepang circuit last month.

• I have my deep respects for Tun in politic and leadership skills. However, I am more hoping Proton would hire someone that good in the marketing strategy and automotive field. Hmm, wishing Proton gudluck

• Albert Lee on May 20, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Like what PM said,MAS in its current form is not worth saving from bankruptcy.So is Proton.
    Proton ,it is too late.
    Just appointing so and so VVIP does not work,anymore.
    You mean people will buy Proton cars just cos this founder is coming on board again?The Saga Campro
    FLX SV ‘s engine is like a locomotive steam engine,of dear….the noise is unbearable.Perhaps he should only be driving Saga FLX SV and not the imported Mercs.

• mustafa on May 20, 2014 at 6:35 pm

He wants to see Proton succeed at all costs …..
    a make or break period for Proton and he is soaking up all the risks that come along with it.”

I believe it will be the taxpayers cost and in the end we will be the one soaking all the risk…

Poodah!!!! buy over Proton lah…then you can do what you want…..

• mason on May 20, 2014 at 7:04 pm

hope that TUN know what he is doing and most importantly what Malaysians want…..

• SwiftSport on May 20, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Just give us the Suprima 6 speed manual! Stop delaying just give it to us already!

• Guan Yin Maa on May 20, 2014 at 7:43 pm

His time is up soon. I am preparing to attend his funeral. It would be the happiest day in my life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • niceone on May 20, 2014 at 8:46 pm

wow u know what? that’s exactly the same words your children said about you to their friends

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Brain drain.. so we take Tun for more protection..

Why P2 didn’t choose Tun in the first place? Ahh.. P2 making profits. . Paying bonuses. . Paying taxes… Some dumbs cannot see that.. syok sendiri syndrome. . Yesss…

Mana macai P1 ni?? Hahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Motorbutt on May 20, 2014 at 10:38 pm

dont be so butthurt kido.. those beloved rebadging company of yours wont do any good if the high tax wasn’t implemented.. people would rather buy others rather than junk myvi like yours..idiot..
      anyway i think tun should remain as an advisor.. but still looking forward what he’ll do as chairman..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 7:38 am

Here come my butt or bart kisser..

• Same L0r on May 21, 2014 at 11:30 am

What do you expect him to do? Design a new series of engine or chassis?

He will just pressure the government to impose more and more protection for Proton. With or without him, Proton quality is the same (consistent standard of quality, which is good in industrial practice in a way).

Politician running car company, same as asking me play world cup.

• Car_fan on May 20, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Desperate companies do desperate things. Next to rise from the ashes will be Tengku Mahaleel. Proton well then launch a Suprima A-SS tuned by Lotus that can challenge BMW. See, that’s what oil money and EPF can do for you!

• Nicholas on May 20, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Good luck Dr M

• RejimKejamGanas on May 20, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Tun M is already dismissing negative comments even before looking at the underlying issue. Putting technology and efficiency aside, the local market is primarily concerned with durability. Many Malaysians will not put up with a car that is unreliable, no matter how nice it looks or how cheap it is. Outside of the usual Proton stories, we now have the VW DSG stories and Peugeot THP stories of how unforgiving Malaysians can be with regards to unreliability. The second priority of most Malaysians is after sales support/service. Second to Proton, VW is a glaring example of how Malaysians are unforgiving of poor after sales service.

Unfortunately, for us, Tun’s return into the forefront would mean escalating car prices to force people into only being able to afford Proton. Expect even further abuse to our tax structure and hire purchase financing to make it harder for any middle class Malaysian to own a reliable transport that he can count on. Until the robber barons in Proton are forced into cultivating the automaker into a successful business, no amount of coercion against our local market will make it a success.

• zaharuddin on May 20, 2014 at 8:41 pm

TUN M should be Minister Mentor. Fix this problem call economy. Najib has make us poor to the ground!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • ben yap on May 20, 2014 at 8:43 pm

habis proton. bankrupt.

• spongewai on May 20, 2014 at 8:53 pm

dun forcing us to buy Proton or whatsoever

we buy or choose the things what we like

• old dog on May 20, 2014 at 10:49 pm

he will tell you democracy not a choice in car buying, you have had enough, and the western world also not democracy 100%…

• Kent Lau on May 20, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Proton is a good car. I drive a WAJA :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Denaihati on May 20, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Tun Dr. M said that even now we(proton) find it difficult to compete with the Perodua. Proton really in trouble i guess.
    He want see proton success. i hope with his great experience Proton will success, and will make Malaysia proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • what the Bloody! I thought he already resign?! Now go in again?

• Tiger on May 20, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Time to hire a powerful bomoh and perform exorcism to chase away all the blood suckers

• Protiga on May 20, 2014 at 10:43 pm

If rebadging Lancer is not enough, then rebadging Honda Accord as Proton Perdana was the last straw that broke the camel’s back for Proton. It gives the perception that Proton is incapable and has lost confidence in designing cars which is negative and backward for a car manufacturer. Proton should instead engage a renowned designer for its future cars. I will buy a Perdana if its attractive and not a rebadged car.

• old dog on May 20, 2014 at 10:47 pm

more NAP coming into pictures….

• Tiger on May 20, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Maybe Potong should rebadge BMW as the next Perdana…than name thw model ” Potong BanyakMasukWad” for causing stress and heartattack to the buyers due to the quality

• Sam Boo on May 20, 2014 at 11:37 pm

I still having a very little tiny micro hope, that Proton could be improve despite the 30+ years of failure, now I don’t…

• RoCkie on May 20, 2014 at 11:44 pm

“He wants to see Proton succeed AT ALL COST and if it requires micro-managing it, then he is prepared to do so. Dr Mahathir knows this is a make or break period for Proton and he is soaking up ALL THE RISKS that come along with it.”

Well guess what… whose cost? who is bearing these risk? IT IS THE PEOPLE (RAKYAT) TAX MONEY and THE PEOPLE ARE BEARING THE RISK AND CONSEQUENCES TO PAY EXORBITANT AMOUNT OF MONEY TO OWN A DECANT QUALITY CAR!

The cronyism nature of AP to benefit their own cronies gang and to protect proton were from the hands of AP queen rafidah aziz under mahathir… with such appointment of mahathir into proton will further strengthen the protect for proton and eliminate the level playing field on automotive industry in Malaysia. mahathir’s son will be glad with this appointment of his old man.

Good luck on any hope to abolish the AP and days we can see a fairly priced vehicle in Malaysia.

• RoCkie on May 21, 2014 at 12:05 am

“He wants to see Proton succeed AT ALL and if it requires micro-managing it, then he is prepared to do so. Dr Mahathir knows this is a make or break period for Proton and he is soaking up ALL THE RISKS that come along with it.”

Guess what… whose cost? Who is bearing the risk? It’s the people (rakyat) tax money and the people who are suffering the consequences of paying exorbitant amount of money for a decant quality vehicle in Malaysia

• haha…Frazer Nash will come back to Malaysia! Kamal Sadiqi can now change his S Class AMG to Rolls Royce…wait! he does own RR more than one!

• try asking all chairman in big company or any company to resign and see what happen. some chairman cannot even read. but those company still getting government job. look at yourself and surrounding you.

• Arrow on May 21, 2014 at 10:14 am

Despite whatsoever bad things Tun M did as mentioned above, there are 2 things that we cannot deny when referring to his track record.

1. Transforming this country from agriculture base to industrial base country.

2. Saving this country from being collapse in 1997-98 economic turmoil.

These 2 things are not easy and he managed to do it.

This man can come with full of surprises I think underestimate his capabilities is slightly unwise.

Since he started the idea of Proton, let’s see what can he do to drive Proton.

I wish DSZ is paired with Tun M, then this shall be more interesting….

• Maduras on Feb 14, 2015 at 2:00 pm

I used to be able to find good information from your content.