Next Mazda 3 MPS to get 300 hp 2.5 SkyActiv-G turbo

Mazda 3 HB Sport BKK-1

Australian website carsguide.com.au reports that the next Mazda 3 MPS could not only get four-wheel drive to cure the copious amounts of torque steer that beset the outgoing model, but also a turbocharged version of the 2.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder engine.

This would naturally present a bit of a quandary, because the petrol SkyActiv engines feature a very high compression ratio compared to other petrol engines to improve torque and fuel economy, which would not work well with turbocharging. However, the report, citing the Japanese magazine Holiday Auto, claims that Mazda engineers have already solved the problem.

The same source also states that the new engine will be completed in about two years. which suggests that the next MPS will be ready at the same time. Power output is expected to reach 300 hp, channeled through a six-speed manual to all four wheels.

All this is, of course, in contrast to original Auto Express report which claimed that the car would feature a high-revving, naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre Skyactiv-G engine making about 200 hp, over 50 hp less than the current MPS. Other recent reports suggested that Mazda was even considering a diesel engine – imagine that! – at some point in the car’s development.

Dressed-up Mazda 3 Hatchback at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AVH (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 3:49 pm

“Power output is expected to reach 300 hp, channeled through a six-speed manual to all four wheels.”

That’s all that I need to hear…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
    • Hemi 426 on May 20, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Agreed,i’m a stick shift fan forever,the question is when Bermaz will officially launch this ride will be hotly anticipated.

A buddy of mine owns the previous gen Mazda 3 MPS,his is tuned to put out 320bhp on the front wheels,we couldn’t drive the damn thing because of the enormous torque steer and axle tramping.But once he fixed a proper helical LSD the problem was solved.Still a little beast though.

I know this ride will be a hot selling ride once it’s launched.Kudos to Mazda.

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • gontoe on May 20, 2014 at 6:35 pm

At last Japanese engineers followed Proton steps to make turbo engine, not lame N/A engine, which is oevrrated by Mazda fans.

LOLOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
        • AVH (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 12:52 am

I know right! I mean cars like Mitsubishi Evos or Subarus Impreza or Nissan Skyline GTRs never existed! and those Japanese Kei cars that japanese buy in bulks are not turbocharge are lies. Proton started the Turbo trend!! Malaysia Boleh!!!

[takes sarcastic mask off]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • Im very sure youre a young kid and such a keyboard warrior. You must have not even been planned to be in this world yet, when other japs cars have turbos and mazda had B6T and B8T was around..poor kid…go google..

• lonelyobserve on May 21, 2014 at 12:59 am

Even Mazda introduces SkyActiv technology with new 6-speed transmissions, manual transmission still yields better fuel consumption and emission than automatic transmission. The difference between these gearboxes is very obvious on SkyActiv-D engines. (Samples can be referred from Mazda UK or Mazda Australia through Mazda CX-5 and Mazda6)

• gavin on May 20, 2014 at 3:52 pm

the solution is quite obvious, they just remap the direct injection to combat knock if any

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Hot Hatch on May 20, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Why still stick on stick shift?
      should use Turbo+DSG+4WD.
      DSG is the trend. but not borgwarner 7speed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 65
      • jay8393 on May 20, 2014 at 4:35 pm

You should ask the same question to Peugeot and Honda: why 208 GTi and upcoming Civic Type-R only have manual?

Because there are still demand for proper manual transmission that gives you the best “man and machine as one” interaction.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
        • shame_Loo on May 20, 2014 at 5:39 pm

For safety of driving in fast speed, we should avoid the hand off the steering wheel. Otherwise, we will see F1 in manual….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
          • turbo_guy on May 20, 2014 at 6:23 pm

that’s diff between F1 driver and road driver… and you don’t need F1 driver in the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • jay8393 on May 20, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Then can we have a law that bans smoking while driving? Since using phone while driving is not allowed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • lonelyobserve on May 21, 2014 at 1:09 am

jay8393, those people claim themselves the new generation of drivers. Manual transmission for them is outdated. Let them cry, as they want everything is easy and automated.

As for your point, the demand for manual transmission indeed is still have because there are people who want to have full control on the vehicles and enjoy the upmost driving pleasure. There is another point on manual transmission on sports car and that is fuel consumption and emission. Not many car manufacturers can produce sports car that can have good FC and emission using conventional automatic transmission or dual clutch gearbox without increasing the number of gear to at least 7 gears or more compared to 6-speed manual transmission.

• It means that this car is not for you. If you savvy, you can always buy normal mazda 3, or you can buy golf gti

• frustrated on May 22, 2014 at 4:23 pm

what do you mean “still on stick shift” ?

have you noticed that in this country, if you want the manual, the manufacturers decide for you that you also don’t want any of the other features as well?

wanting the manual is akin to saying “i cant afford the auto transmission lah, so please keep the foglamps, leather seats, power windows, head unit, soft touch materials and all other creature comforts and features cos i can’t afford it too!”

stick shift aficionados have had to deal with this preconception in this country for a long time, the change of mindset on behalf of the manufacturers is a welcome change for all of us that yearn a true blue no frills manual transmission.

please keep your borgwarners and getrags and take an automatic only license while your at it.

• Jdizzle SD on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Just remapping the fuel probably won’t be enuf to combat knock in a super high compression turbo engine. I’m going to guess that the turbo version is going to be tweaked in many ways one of them being deep dished pistons and if were really really lucky a big ass water to air intercooler hidden in there some ware. Hopefully they don’t tackle this problem with more EGR and pulled ignition timing.

• JDMLMAO on May 20, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Mazda needs making a sedan version of the 3 MPS to compete with Subaru’s sedan-only WRX STi and Mercedes’ CLA45 AMG.

• Jaybond on May 20, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Turbocharging could be the obvious solution to achieve that 300bhp figure. Expect the compression ratio to be lowered (high compression ratio & turbocharging just cannot co-exist unless you are running super high octane/methanol fuels).Another viable option is maybe Mazda could produce a high revving version of the SkyActive 2.5L engine, developing around 270bhp~280bhp (recent Japanese cars to achieve more than 110hp/liter with N.A engine method is Lexus LFA, Toyota GT86/Subaru BRZ, Honda Civic Type-R, Integra Type-R & S2000).

• bella on May 20, 2014 at 6:40 pm

In other words they just solved a bit from the problem, nothing to shout about with turbo engine, of course give better HP than non-turbo.

• awesome!!

• I’ll wait for this missile…Germans watch out!!!

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 20, 2014 at 7:01 pm

I believe that figure can be achieved with by a 270-280 hp with the skyactiv 2.5 l but it will take some proper engineering to meet those power figures and emissions.

As much as i would like to see that, i believe turbos seem to be the most logical at this price point. The LFA has displacement advantage on it’s side while the Honda’s impressive as they were, are sadly not able to meet modern emission standards. The Toyobaru’s just about hit it but are still regarded as 30-50 hp (factory specs that is) away from the ideal figures.

I do like the idea of an efficient high revving 2.5 though. That would quite a USP to turn heads

• Jaybond on May 21, 2014 at 8:48 am

The days of super high rpm production engines are already numbered, but some major supercar manufacturers are still relying on this method namely Ferrari, Lambo/Audi, Porsche..

• powershot on May 20, 2014 at 7:42 pm

perfect car to cure mid-life crisis

• niterunner99 on May 20, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Watch out Merc A45 AMG!!

• Simon Hoh on May 21, 2014 at 12:07 am

What is there to watch out for? A45 AMG is powered by a 360hp engine with all wheel drive. You mean compare on price?

• gavin on May 21, 2014 at 8:05 am

the A45 is the choice if money is no object, it’s a different class altogether, performance, luxury and branding

• How about interior quality? I sat in the current MPS before in an exhibition in a mall. Really feel like a cheap car. I will not spend my money on it!

• shawal on May 21, 2014 at 9:35 am

Adaptive damping would cure the ills of overtly firm sport suspension for daily commute

• I know this might be lame, Please come out Auto Gear.. Please~~~

• frustrated on May 22, 2014 at 4:30 pm

my guess is this car is not gonna be 150k when it comes out.. if you want an automatic transmission and we’re talking a price range of 200k +++ my guess is you should stick with the choice of this generation of yuppies.

buy a vw.

• frustrated on May 22, 2014 at 4:30 pm

my guess is this car is not gonna be 150k when it comes out.. if you want an automatic transmission and we’re talking a price range of 200k +++ my guess is you should stick with the choice of this generation of yuppies.

buy a vw.

• LaiSK on May 22, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Hurry up Mazda, the new Subaru WRX is on it’s way( Q3’14). The New WRX comes with AT, which is a huge advantage for daily car for crazy traffics around KL. Hope to see this new Mazda 3 MPS improves it’s handling,comfort and featuring. But don’t break buyers bank :)

• Nice design compare to previous one, but hope there are AT model like Subaru. Two version STI and normal one. May AT GB satisfy people who go through heavy traffic jam daily and little pleasure while overtaking and in hurry.

• When Ckd out ???? XD