Dr Mahathir officially announced as Proton chairman

Suprima-S-launch-00410

Proton Holdings Bhd has officially announced that Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has agreed to become its chairman effective May 16, 2014. Dr Mahathir will also be chairman of Group Lotus plc, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Proton.

The former PM’s appointment will see Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil step down as Proton executive chairman. He will, however, remain on the Proton board.

“We at DRB-Hicom are extremely humbled and honoured by the acceptance of Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr Mahathir, a man with profound experience and knowledge of the industry,” said Khamil, who is DRB-Hicom Group MD.

“He has accepted the position; willing to spend time and effort to take on the challenges and arduous tasks that Proton faces.”

Proton’s newly-appointed CEO, Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah, said: “Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr Mahathir will now be able to dedicate more of his time at Proton as Chairman, which will certainly continue to strengthen Proton in its mission to become a globally recognised automotive player.”

“We look forward to the invaluable leadership and guidance from Yang Amat Berbahagia Tun Dr. Mahathir,” Harith added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• thebugbud on May 21, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Rakyat can kiss cheaper cars good bye..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 16
    • Whynot on May 21, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Yeah! You are right! He did mentioned that there is no cheap car. So price rise policy stays and forget about AFTA. No thanks to his policies that enrich other auto-maker to rise sky rocket prices also. Purely a crony in the state of mind!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • Mat Jenin Day Dreaming on May 21, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Proton mandated to produce 500,000 cars annually within 5 years
        By CHOONG EN HAN, The Star, Thursday January 17, 2013

Proton has todate invested about £100mil in Lotus, and the showroom launched last week is just the beginning of more activities to increase the presence of the Lotus brand in Malaysia.

JOHOR BARU: National carmaker Proton Holdings Bhd has been mandated to raise its annual production to 500,000 units in five years by its parent DRB-Hicom Bhd.

“Moving forward, it is going to be challenging, and it will be difficult. Competition is going to get harder and tougher, cost will be higher and this also applies to Proton,” said DRB-Hicom managing director Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil.

Currently, Proton manufactures about 150,000 units of cars annually, and is placed second based on annual car sales.

He said the company was looking to build that volume from the export market, and deemed it fundamental to the survival and growth of Proton.

According to him, there must be a concerted plan for the export of vehicles, as the numbers currently were disappointing, with Proton distributing cars to 55 countries but just with a volume of 20,000.

“To make 500,000 cars is one thing, to sell 500,000 is another. Everyone has been asking me about plans for Proton, but a company with 27 years of history cannot be changed within six months or one year,” he said.

He said the first export market that Proton was focusing on was Australia, due to the positive prospects of selling Proton cars there.

“The positioning of the cars is important. At present, Proton is sold overseas as a cheap car, but to me, we can look into the markets where we can actually sell them based on quality, safety and branding. The second market we are penetrating is Thailand with the Exora, and the third market is Indonesia. With a population of 280 million, the multi-purpose vehicle market is great. Our priorities need to be on the right course from now on,” he said.

“We cannot share in detail our plans but we can give glimpses of what we are going to do, and there will be a couple of models that we are going to introduce into the market over the next five years,” he said.

On the local front, he said Proton would also look into opportunities to seek representation in all the car segments that were available in Malaysia.

“The main market we are missing out on is the A and compact segment, and moving forward, we will be in the entire range of the car segment,” he said.

In a surprising statement, Khamil also revealed that the Lotus five-year five-car plan was actually scrapped even before DRB-Hicom acquired the national carmaker. It was assumed all along that DRB-Hicom was the one putting a stop to the original plan.

On Lotus, he said Proton was currently talking to the consortium of bankers to release the remainder of the £270mil syndicated loan given to the UK-based carmaker.

“We have come up with a financing plan for Proton, and we have presented our plan for Lotus. This is the interim until such time that we can turn around Lotus. I’m not saying profitable but to be sustainable,” he said.

Todate, he said Proton had invested about £100mil in Lotus, and the showroom launched last week was just the beginning of more activities to increase the presence of the Lotus brand in Malaysia.

He said there would be a few more models to excite the market and there would not be any capacity expansion for now as the Norfolk plant was capable of producing 8,000 units while the company was just churning out 2,000 units currently.

• Lotus paste Mooncake on May 22, 2014 at 8:00 am

100 million pounds better use for security CCTV around Malaysian cities or for upgrading rural schools..Ordinary Malaysian joe wont give two hoots about Lowtus.

• GDrogon on May 22, 2014 at 11:26 am

Another century Conquer

• Mahathir - 30 Million Rakyat Suffer! on May 21, 2014 at 3:24 pm

It is solely because of Mahathir that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top sepc Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from the princap in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Now, Proton is commiting suicide. You bring the person that ruined Proton. You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is soled to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, now by bringing Mahathir in, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or GOvernment owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions.

Don’t forget also, every single PEKEMA member and AP holder is Mahathir’s family member, relative and good buddy.

Why give a top job to a person when government has not even sorted the AP issue yet?

Pro Proton pondans will say Proton is in private hands now. Well, dream on lah. Proton in reality is purely government covertly. That is why even in parliament, the ministers answer questions on behalf of Proton. The CEO of Proton should be answering questions on Proton but we all know the CEO is just a puppet put there by the government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 208 Thumb down 24
      • friendofiomatheprivateinvestigator on May 21, 2014 at 9:29 pm

coz u love copy and paste.. here my copy paste..

I think i’ve encountered almost similar comments before by Hyundai De La Junk.. and we all know car prices in Malaysia are high due to tax..no need those comparison anyway..
        cars 1980 -$5,413.00,1981-$5,743.00,1982-$5,967.00, 1983-$6,116.00 and 1984-$6,294.00 and keep increasing each year in US (These are the average price paid, not specific to any brand) .. does it not increasing year by year..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 49
      • ????? on May 22, 2014 at 1:12 pm

fishy … how come this comment getting over hundred thumbs up..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • ayamitik on May 22, 2014 at 2:42 pm

tentera kacang merah baru aktivated. why took you too long wahai kacang merah.

anymore automotive industries expert in the house? fortune teller ?

Who ever study macro and micro economy would easily refute what so call forecast that had been pick from the sky.

carry on kacang merah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • Aniq_Affandi on May 23, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Kacang merah, kacang merah everywhere. Do you just copy paste for fame or you get paid for doing this? Who’s the investor? America?

• fast5 on May 21, 2014 at 3:31 pm

With him in charge Rakyat will suffer buying expensive protong… n paying more taxes then others… I say again again there’s never a good news in automotive m’sia…
      Boleh land…haiz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
      • abuya123 on May 22, 2014 at 11:15 am

Rakyat have many choice and none of them being force to buy proton. Why you seems not aware this matter mr basher?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Sayapf on May 22, 2014 at 1:25 pm

You, abuya123 have no idea what you are talking about. We do not want to buy overpriced cars, do you see the picture?

• Aniq_Affandi on May 23, 2014 at 7:55 pm

fast 5, do you even think before commenting. You were never forced to buy these cars. And guess what I did. My wira and me 8 years no problem. I’m experienced enough. You might be having your vios or camry. I don’t care. Just learn not to spread hatred.

• P1 and P2 both are useless ugly cheap and low quality so i think they should stop selling!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Ken Ng on May 21, 2014 at 2:28 pm

I guess Jamil’s recent comment about Malaysians not supporting Proton really got him into hot soup!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0r on May 21, 2014 at 2:33 pm

The baby finally returns to its father!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Vader on May 21, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Tun M : Proton, I am your father.
      Proton : Noooooooooooooo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Vader on May 21, 2014 at 4:00 pm

yaya.. a 30 years old baby still waiting spoon feeding from papa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
      • Japs took more than to what they are now. What were they when they were 30 years old? Take Korean as example also years older than proton and they have enough capital to market it all over the world but puny proton? Duh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • inVader on May 21, 2014 at 9:42 pm

yaya .. be a cry baby.. lets wait for cheap foreign car.. for now juz stick to ur Junk vios. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • KettaVreakdoWnn on May 21, 2014 at 9:31 pm

soon we will get our bentley..same lor

• Same L0r on May 22, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Every hardworking Malaysian deserve a Bentley IF Proton is no more in the market.

Because when there is no need to spoon feed Proton, people don’t have suffer high tax buying others car or suffer Proton ‘awesome’ build quality.

Proton closes, I will get you one Bentley. At the meanwhile, please hold on and spend some time with your Proton at the garage. I knew you enjoy the coffee there.

• thebugbud on May 22, 2014 at 10:29 am

Ya man…craw back up into his sorry arse and better dun go thru the damn labour that the rakyat need to endure.

• Nicholas on May 21, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Good luck

• Vincent Cheng on May 21, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Now the tails of old house is obviously explore to everyone…. P1 has suffered branding crisis… and now, worst is coming… leadership crisis!

• Low Budget on May 22, 2014 at 5:32 pm

No leadership crisis here but a clever move to make use of TDM to squeeze more $$$$$$ out from the Gomen into the Proton bank account.

• matkool on May 21, 2014 at 2:35 pm

so is this good news or bad news ? Seriously no sarcasm.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Let me help u think.. definitely P1 desperate dy.. has to rely on Tun political influence. . Not merit.. but don’t be afraid. . They ll ve to consider. .

1. Man life cycle.
      2. Next GE is around the corner by the time they want to implement anything.

Time options are running out… better wait & see.. the choice is yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Motorbutt on May 21, 2014 at 9:46 pm

let u think..? thinking with ur butt ..?

u juz butthurt P2 lover.. what else u can think besides myvi..6k pay..4 month bonuses.. any other goreng..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Yeah.. forgot to add.. I never ve a protong sampah… money well spend.. feel richer than you.. looser..

• victor tan (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Agree with Motorhead. This seems to be the last resort from DRB/Proton.
      Pathetic.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Unfortunately. . My butt or bart kisser would say Im talking to myself. Pardon him.. he’s retarded.

• motorbart on May 21, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Not agree with motorhead becoz he thinks using his butts. He sounds like losing hope and in reality he is a loser

• Sayapf on May 22, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Why are you guys fighting among yourselves? The real enemy here is P1 P2 and their proxies. You want fair play from the motor industries you gonna boot them out first..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Nah.. I think P2 can stay alive without NAP.. read back the news in last ten years.. they are not the one crying out loud prote

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 3:16 pm

@sayapf.. besides. . Go get any P2 model.. if u are not happy (if u think it’s Malaysian products) go to any half cut shop u can change everything with parts from Japan.. in just a few thousands or visit P2 service center near my place.. almost all parts use are Daihatsu’s (still in Daihatsu’s box). Major service I ll do there. P2 IS P1 ENEMY. NOT MINE. Without NAP.. I think it easier for P2 bring Daihatsu direct from Japan. Remember Nautica? It sufferd from NAP too.

• Datuk on May 21, 2014 at 2:52 pm

actually nothing to shout about. Its there no other person are qualify to be proton chairman? Tun Mahathir is too old to handle such a big company, i know he is very experience person but…proton always be proton, people know that. Hopefully proton will survive with ‘the new’ chairman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • proton needs a major leap like Kia/hyundai..they cant keep doing the same thing.

• My most enthusiasm period in life of car gone to Proton, I was 17 then. I love the car and spent hours trying to fix my proton my self. Open up the box, change power window mechanism, repair water leakage into car on raining day, and repair water leakage in my boot, feed more air into the car, etc and it is fun but sweat profusely trying to repair my proton.

When I grow up, I know this is not the way to own a car. I change to Japan maker and life is easier. Then I switch to Japan luxury brand and things seem better and better. But, u need to pay and they do all the things.

But Proton makes my day by having me trying myself to DIY repair the car, change this and that, detect the defect and poor quality parts, change or modify. Love you Proton but I will probably not getting one for my kids in near future. A perodua maybe has better quality.

I don’t think Mahathir knows about car, he works for figures that the corporation want and he is good at that. Take proton to the international platform and not only Malaysia, proof to the world that Malaysia can make a good car. Malaysia boleh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • jebon on May 21, 2014 at 8:20 pm

What proton car you use? What toyota car? Mind to share?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Good.. you start to think like Motorhead. . Fortunately. . I believe in Japs tech for decades. . Save my money & time from repairs etc…

• Motorbutt on May 21, 2014 at 9:57 pm

come on motorhead.. that dude kent just bluffing around.. u really believe he or even anyone thinking the same like u..no la ..if someone is .. there will be someone richer than u already

• motorbart on May 21, 2014 at 11:09 pm

cannot save money too bcoz expensive parts and labour…proton much cheaper

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Ppl bot P2 & pay tax on CKD & CBU are not patriotic. . Buy P1 patriotic. ..

• Motorbutt on May 21, 2014 at 9:36 pm

nope.. u aren’t patriotic enough..until u get those CBU M3.. more tax.. no need to wait for CKD.. u’re rich enough already..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Well butthead.. butthurts.. haven’t u heard.. they ll CKD it soon.. by next year.. Im patriotic. . But Im not stupid. . Money can put in somewhere else for now.. besides. . My Myvis & Vios work perfectly. Loan free..

• motorbart on May 21, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Loan free but everyday butthurt seeing those turbo engined cars smoking your pathetic car everyday anytime

huuaargghhhh

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 7:26 am

Butthurt? Are talking about Suprima S? Went to work.. Can’t see any Superma S to smoke me. None.. Preve same.. none.. no Superma Sucks sighted.. want to smoke me?

Sales must be bad eh? Need help from old man eh? Syok sendiri? Haha..

Meanwhile. . Numbers of Myvi & Vios smoke the whole country.

• Motorbutt on May 22, 2014 at 9:12 am

motorhead.. in reality ur junk myvi cant even catch up those proton car..how to see..smoke also cant..by the time beloved myvi reach there..smoke also disperse..then u can see those around u.. only myvi.. myvi and another myvi..meanwhile ahead of u.. milo tin J vios ..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 9:23 am

Yeah.. you smoked me alright. . With your smoked flesh..go to hell.. I drive my car to work butthurt.. not Paul Walker wannabe like you. Pleasa la just tell me where or when u want ro smoke me?.. jual pon x bole.. stay away from P1.. tapau soon.. scrap soon.. hahaha..

• Motorbutt on May 22, 2014 at 12:53 pm

what are u..? frog lives under coconut shell.. work – home.. work – home .. only.. open your eyes motorhead.. there are many open roads..there are many proton can smoke beloved less safety myvi of yours..

and please check this out:
          http://nurulhidayatulmarjan.blogspot.com/2011/09/amaran-untuk-pengguna-kereta-perodua.html

• R.I.P cheaper non-malaysian brand car…
    Price control will all over the place…
    =_+

• victor tan (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 3:29 pm

The shit finally come true.
    Hopefully it won’t be a nightmare.

• Ok, come Give us Honda Engine in Proton.

• lcmbryan on May 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

First thing as the new chairman you need to do is to improve your marketing plan.

I found really funny. Other car manufacturer launch new car in famous shopping mall. So that people never see or never know about the car brand can have a chance to see it during weekend outing with family.

Proton launch new car in open car park. If im not a proton fans i wouldn’t waste my time go just to look at your car. New customer wouldn’t know how much you had improve if you didn’t reach them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • meh…honestly…rubbish chairman. A person how runs a country (in which case he did a bad job) cannot necessary run a company.

Oh…then again, he ran Malaysia like it was his own company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • abdullah on May 21, 2014 at 3:52 pm

This old man still want the rakyat to support
    Proton and Lotus. Throwing good money after bad money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • samlok on May 21, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Congrats.

• Proton Sperma on May 21, 2014 at 4:44 pm

With this mamak in proton, it will never progress. Baik kasi tutup proton. Menyampah betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • Lol chairman pun tak lama…5. Years? Max 10 yrs maybe

• Low Budget on May 22, 2014 at 5:39 pm

5 years is good enough to propel Proton to world class, remember now that they are concentrating on “Global” cars.

• adding to lcmbryan post: the car only fit for open car park. they know in mall no one will stop and look…

• Syameer (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Chauvinists will never satisfied with others. They think that they are the best, the wisest of all, the most educated, and the one that have always been marginalized by certain parties. But when I read most of the comments here on Paultan, I doubt if they even know when and how to use it’s and its; too-educated syndrome I guess. Baseless accusation, hatred speech and plain rude comments only reflects their inability to act professionally and give constructive criticism. Everyone can talk cock but few can criticize constructively. (Please be informed that I do not specifically targeted my personal view to any group of people, but rather only to those hateful commenters.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • victor tan (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 6:03 pm

IMO, comments made here are suppose to be entertaining, you don’t have to take it seriously.

Partially agree to your statement though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Syameer (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Entertaining comments like those made by Mr Sam Loo and the gang are definitely fun to read. But there is a line that they shouldn’t cross. Defamation, hatred speech and usage of malicious words are not only a barbaric act, but it is also a serious crime. Since everyone enjoy equal rights in the eyes of the law, thus, a police report can be lodged against those that tried to spread hatred here. They have their rights to talk cock and the family and friends of those being defamed have the rights to take action against them. It is a very serious crime.

• Wise Move on May 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Proton can close shop, says Dr M
    Malaysia Kini, Oct 17, 2005

National car manufacturer should close down if that is what the people want, said former premier Dr Mahathir Mohamad today.

According to Bernama, reporters covering a news conference following a function attended by Mahathir did not quite know what to make out of his remark that the Proton management should look into all suggestions pertaining to the matter.

“We just close down Proton if this is what the people want,” said the former premier.

“And if some feel one way to overcome the many problems we hear today – including Approved Permits (APs) and so on – is that we don’t have the automotive industry in Malaysia, we (can) just close down,” he added.

When pointed out that his comments sounded as if he was sulking, Mahathir replied: I’m not sulking. What is there to sulk, (Proton) is not mine.”

When a reporter noted the fact that Proton was his brainchild, the former prime minister responded: “My brainchild does not mean the government must uphold my brainchild.”

Mahathir, who is Proton’s adviser, was commenting on the SMS responses published by a newspaper today that made stinging remarks about the current state of Proton. Many went to the extent of proposing that it be closed down.

The SMS were in response to comments surrounding Proton made by Backbenchers Club Chairman Shahrir Abdul Samad on Saturday, among them was that Proton should not be required to meet the ruling on local content of up to 90 percent if this affected its competitiveness and increased prices in comparison with foreign vehicles.

He was also quoted as saying that if the quality of Proton products were still not up to standard and could not be exported, then it should close down.

AP issue… boringlah

Referring to his interview on TV3’s Friday, Mahathir said the reason he accepted the invitation was to correct various statements that reflected badly on him, including the one that he had given approval for Naza Ria to be accorded national car status.

“I felt that I need to correct (things). Now I am a little bit bored with correcting. And then people say something else, then (I’ll have to) correct again. I’m tired of correcting,” he said, drawing laughter from those present.

Asked whether he would still continue as Proton advisor, his replied: “I am appointed (to the post), so I will still serve as advisor.”

He was also queried on a letter dated July 14, 2005 he sent to International Trade and Industry Minister Rafidah Aziz in which he put across his views on various aspects of the AP issue.

Mahathir said he thought the letter publication in the media would help explain things.

“I only revealed my letter, not other people’s letter. So, whether or not people want to believe in what I say in my letter, that is up to them. Of course, I explained to the best of my ability,” he said.

When it was suggested that the AP controversy had been going on for months, he said: “Yes. Boringlah.”

“What I think doesn’t matter, what the people think matters. If the people are satisfied that AP should be given to one or two people and they become millionaires overnight, fly around in helicopters and all that, if that is what we want, it’s okay,” he said sarcastically.

Mahathir added that his main concern was how all these had affected Proton.

• After 30 years since Dr.M Launched Proton & seeing it as failure. Imagine 30 years later Dr.M (if he is still alive) still fail,he can start launching Proton wheelchair.

• loveprotonwaja on May 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Appointed as Chairman? Cant find someone who is really an expert in automotive business? Perhaps with the appointment a new model with waja styled nose can be rolled out. Hehe..

• Mamakboleh on May 21, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Mamak die with proton lah. Not many years left ah

• albag on May 21, 2014 at 7:29 pm

matilah kali ini… shit has become even worse!

• bisakeris (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 7:40 pm

although i am very much respect Tun M but proton must move on.. throw away the old mentality.. no more tongkat.. if not, forever will b lembab..slow, with the boleh lah attitude, cannot compete with current tech, etc..

• unforgiven on May 21, 2014 at 7:44 pm

How many of his cronies are looking for more lately? That triggered the Tun to do such things? His cronies should be left there to do good, not getting free money in the pocket system again. He should do good before he dies, why can’t him?

• carbuyer on May 21, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Tell you what… i would buy a proton if DrM is no longer chairman… Proton DRB bigwigs shoot themselves in their heads… they put in a credible n practicing engineer as Managing Director/CEO… (much like DSZ wuz)… have a credible designer at helm of product/industrial design (waiting for a M’sian Jony Ive). Then… just maybe then. :-P

• Musang on May 21, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Tun Mahathir will bring Tengku Mahaleel back!

• MAS=PROTON=CURRENT GOVERMENT=LOSING MONEY = CHOOSE BY BLIND RAKYAT. DO USE UR EYE TO SEE USE UR BRAIN TO WORK. MALAYSIA BOLEH!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Unfortunately for Protong.. Tun is not Highlander aka Christopher Lambert.. tick tock….

Here some free advise from me..

Turn back protong as a rebadge company. . Or turn P1 into assembly tools for DRB products. . Like TC.. sell lost making Lotus (if anyone wants) I doubt it.

Talking about rebadge. . Some butt or bart will cry out loud. . Discontinue more models.. all P1 owners will share same fate like Waja, Tiara, Iswara, Savvy, Juara.. etc.. penat type. .

Anyway. .your are out of options. . Do it in order to be feasible again.. then may be can sell P1 with some profits. .

Hopefully Tun ve guts to do it.

Assemble Hondas.. sell at national car price. . I ll be your potential customer.

Do it. Undo your mistakes.

Last chance to be auto hub. Auto industry is a tough business.

• Motorbutt on May 22, 2014 at 8:39 am

juz say u want those rebadge honda ler.. motorhead.. no wonder u being so butthurt ..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 9:06 am

Yeah.. protong sampah never in my list.

• Motorbutt on May 22, 2014 at 12:34 pm

then those beloved myvi of yours is recycled sampah..

sampah made to be another sampah.. even worse..

• Return of the Kings!

Cmon man! Let us all be patriotic. You know Proton at that time during Mahatir’s tenure was really a sucess. This time, who knows, Proton can even rebadge from Toyota. DRB Hicom should grab Toyota from UMW and rebadge. Like what they did to Honda.

I love the good old days when Mahatir introduce the Wira 1.5 and the Proton Putra. The Satria GTI is really good too. Good old days.

• Mahatir is a Steve Jobs for Proton. May Proton be a success

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Botol on May 22, 2014 at 7:34 am

Well proton, you now start from where you began with, 30 years ago. Shame on you.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 8:23 am

Unfortunately. . My butt or bart kisser ve no shame.. they said Superma S can smoke me. But on the road pun xde…

Hahaha..

• Motorbutt on May 22, 2014 at 9:03 am

motorhead.. in reality ur junk myvi cant even catch up those proton car..how to see..smoke also cant..by the time beloved myvi reach there..smoke also disperse..then u can see those around u.. only myvi.. myvi and another myvi..

• Malaysian got no more people capable to manage Proton? Why we still need an old man which is half body already gone into xxxx ?

• I think by now there’re so many Malaysians working with other automotive marks here in this country, and most of them are very good at what they do. They should be gathered and called in to run Proton..

• abbajuri on May 22, 2014 at 9:02 am

all countries in the world are alike.. all gov are doing their best to protect motherland interests…even USA has a protection law to protect their business. so do Japan and Korea.. and Tun/Malaysia is doing the same as them too…all the best to Tun Mahathir !!!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 10:30 am

Alike? Are you drunk? In Asean can’t sell dy.. wonder why.. at least American & Japs cars already here for decades. . Try sell in US or Japan.. light years baru boleh kot.. ahhh.. wonder why la.. because of NAP??.. or is it Malaysian not patriotic? Jaguh kampung is it??
      Lawaklah.. u make my day… hahaha..

Yeah2. . Give la more protection. . Good2.. bagus.. org kat luar pon can do the sama on protong… ban terus.. padan muka.

• kzm fanboy on May 22, 2014 at 1:30 pm

VW + protections = 10 million cars annually

Toyota + protections = 9 million cars annually

Hyundai/Kia + protections = 3 million cars annually

Proton + protections = 0.12 million cars annually……………….

• takNakP1 on May 22, 2014 at 1:49 pm

looking at a different point of view, it looks like no body may want to take up this position?

• old dog on May 22, 2014 at 5:18 pm

he is already 88…so wonder how long will rakyat suffer…he wants to lay for his generation behind like Indonesia, Philippines…where family OWNS entity and Government has to pay them somemore…you think why he choose a beer company in Filipino since he knows unlike bolehland, that country until next century will own by 6-7 families.

• voiceofconern on May 24, 2014 at 9:08 am

DRH-Hicom management really divided and it’s not good for future of Proton. Under the leadership Tan Sri Khamil Mohd Jamil just appointed last year, to transform Proton market share already eroding into global car is challenging task and removing him just before he could complete his plan to person who has absolutely no business knowledge of automotive industry experience but politician experience raised serious concern or doubts of Proton future. If a common phrase ‘Old Habits Die Hard’ may apply here, then means no change since 30 years ago by that person who introduce Proton.

• Prof Ir. Ramli Hashim on Jan 15, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Dear Dr. Mahathir.
    I am Australian trained multi-disciplinary scientist. Expert petroleum tribologist etc. Here’s what I can do for you to enhance proton cars specifications and should easily pass US & European emission regulations.
    QUANTITATIVE FIGURES
    1. Brake Specific Fuel Consumption (BSFC); Decrease by -28-40%
    2. Brake Horse Power (BP); Increase by + 28.05
    3. Torque (t); Increase by +27. 89%
    4. Brake Thermal Efficiency (nBT); Increase by +33. 30%
    5. Oil Sump Temperature (ºC) Stable & cooler operation.
    6. Exhaust Manifold Temperature (ºC) Stable & cooler operation.
    7. Nitrogen Oxide (NOx); Reduce emission by – 6. 14%
    8. Carbon Monoxide (CO); Reduce emission by – 3%
    9. Hydrocarbon (HC); Reduce emission by – 3%
    Regards.