Mazda 3 – now with leather seats for no extra charge

Mazda3_Leather_Malaysia_003

Remember how we noted in our walk-around video that the RM139k Mazda 3 Sedan only came with fabric seats? Well, it seems Mazda Malaysia has duly responded.

At this morning’s Mazda 5 SkyActiv launch, we discovered that leather seats are now being offered free-of-charge on the handsome C-segment sedan – finally! See a leather-equipped Mazda 3 below.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Wilson Lim on May 21, 2014 at 4:09 pm

LOL, those who bought earlier really sad gao gao~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
    • mazdamos on May 21, 2014 at 7:05 pm

No turbo no buy coz skyactive is underpower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
      • Not underpower la.. but also dont expect perform like those 1.4 and 1.6 turbo. (preve not included)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • mazdamos on May 22, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Still underpower even compared with Preve

• shame_Loo on May 22, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Saw a M3 on the road few days ago, immediate feeling is “a baby M6”. But, overall it seems to be “too small” to get the sporty and muscular feeling of M6. M3 design is just not up to the level especially the tail design.

• u dont work in proton really wasted, proton needed you very much

• Thomas Tingle on May 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Skyactive currently serve good HP and Torque for a NA type of sedan. You cant compare NA with Turbo.

• Thomas Tingle on May 22, 2014 at 5:07 pm

They’ve given rebate earlier. This news is old.

• I guess they realized their number of booking and the sales of Mazda 3 is low due to it being overpriced where some basic spec aren’t even being offered in it. That is why they added the leather seats free of charge. Hopefully they will add more specs into it and of cause lower price when they CKD it. CX-5 is still one of their best selling model and i hope they could increase their production to meet the demand of the buyers as the waiting list is 6 months long. The model has been launched for 2 years already and still they couldn’t meet the demand yet.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Mazda Rip Off on May 21, 2014 at 5:23 pm

This car in the US is $16,000. Small money to the white man. Office boy can even pay for this car with 6 months gaji.

Here, it is RM139k. Even doctor need to take 7 years loan to pay it off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 9
      • toyoto on May 21, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Haiya why compare with USA? compare with thai and the price is not far. Even D degment camry is only 135k only. Prices are now reduced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 23
      • u forgot to blame umno or bn

next time study harder n work harder n dont wait for govt subsidy while being lazy surfing the net at 523 pm then pretended to go back late as if you were doing a lot of work when actually u stayed back cos wanted to use free internet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
        • flat_tire on May 22, 2014 at 1:47 am

there is no reason for any malaysian to be expected to pay for a car while at the same time help (or forced to.. whichever you prefer) fund a corrupt government..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
        • well my boss no problem as long kerja finish..u jelly ke??

• kzm (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 7:33 am

No fun la..nobody do 30% reduction + cbu accord 2.4 usd20k parody anymore

• James Lau on May 22, 2014 at 9:47 am

From someone who has work oversea unlike this joker, buying a car upright for US16k is uncommon. You have to factor in the cost of living which is much higher. Plus the cost of car maintenance, insurance, petrol and you will find you will be shortage of money every month. So dont try to be a smartass and need to know that conditions are different in different countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • kzm fan on May 22, 2014 at 12:01 pm

yes. i agree. you’re correct.
          people in overseas don’t buy USD16k car by paying all cash in one go. they must take 7-9 years loan and pay high high 10% interest for 9 years loan. so monthly must pay very high price of $280 for that mazda 3.

same same like you guys in malaysia la. pay RM280 for mazda3. i mean a kancil. yes kancil. same like mazda3 la that kancil one.

• itake on May 22, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Are u stupid or idiot?do some research..extremely uncommon usa people buy car 7 years old.not only uncommon.but non even any bank offer it..they pay all by cash.uncommon too fo4 them to repair accient car.they will sell+insurance money n buy a new 1..im a doctor..my salary here is rm4500 permonth..junior doctor in usa earn usd 30,000 permonth.salary is twice monthly there ..so..put ur brain before your hand on keyboard..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • Battu on May 22, 2014 at 2:44 pm

lol a doctor? u sure doesnt sound like one. want to tipu agak2 la please

• I m not doctor on May 22, 2014 at 4:13 pm

I m not a doctor.
            but my brother.
            Fresh graduate doctor salary 4K+ , service in Gov hospital 2 years.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Great.. CKD please. . Price not so right for this category.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Bob_B78 on May 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Though a bit pricey, its still better than Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
    • hehehe on May 21, 2014 at 8:09 pm

indeed. the engine can tapao toyota’s dual vvt-i easily~ :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • theanswer on May 22, 2014 at 9:10 am

read the recent review of altis..a sedan that can be considered as the best city car. lol.

• Onanodus on May 21, 2014 at 4:30 pm

I was told the 3 is offered with cloth seats as standard for 136k, CBU from Japan. For an extra 3k, 139k will get one a 3 with locally fitted leather seats.

• For the price of Mazda 3, I will take an Accord anytime :)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
    • Pro-Da on May 22, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Two yrs down the road, ur accord also drop down the gutter when the new Proton chairman aka Dr M makes new Accordana.

• Thomas Tingle on May 22, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Mazda 3 can tapau the D-segment Accord anytime. Learn the horsepower and torque comparison. The Skyactive engine 2.0 is better than the 2.0 Honda.

• supriman on May 21, 2014 at 4:44 pm

sales no good?who’s laughing now…haha

• victor tan (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 4:48 pm

RM139K for this segment is a bit overkill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • Whatever on May 21, 2014 at 4:51 pm

It still short of an Auto Cruise function and electronically adjustable seats.. having these two will make the car a good buy.

• sudonano (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Forget the leather seats, we want iActivesense. I’d gladly trade the leather seats for iActivesense anyway.

• We Want I ActiveSense on May 21, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Yeah…Totally agree..Please give us the i Activesense in Mazda 3 and CX-5 too.

• Wilson Lim on May 22, 2014 at 10:01 am

Forget the leather seats, i would trade leather seats for Manual Transmission, Auto Cruise, and Big Tachometer in the center!

• The spec is nice and better HP and NM….the price abit expensive than others maker…however the steering looks “kosong” without Auto cruise control

• Matchy on May 21, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Yea… are they going to give free upgrade for those that bought the m3 earlier?

• Denaihati on May 21, 2014 at 5:11 pm

very lucky for late buyer, good incentive but i think much better if use for extra free service….

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 5:26 pm

My money will go to XV.. AWD.. 7.7L/100. Can roam anywhere.

CKD faster.

• motorbart on May 21, 2014 at 7:56 pm

7.7l that number is useless unless you go travelling mostly on highway. Be in sucky traffic jam in city and there you burn your fuel like no tomorrow

• YMAZDAY on May 21, 2014 at 5:27 pm

WHAT THE F MAZDA?!?!?! I JUST RECEIVED MY UNIT 2 WEEKS AGO AND SUDDENLY YOU DECIDE TO RELEASE A NEW ONE WITH LEATHER SEATS AT NO COST?!
    F YOU BERMAZ. F YOU!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 3
    • Grimlock Fire on May 21, 2014 at 5:40 pm

I am happy to see you unhappy with Bermaz, so kolian that u bought 139k w no leather seat. My vios eventhought below 100k also equip with leather seat. What a shame Mazda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 25
      • erclla on May 21, 2014 at 8:16 pm

So kolian that you bought Vios for nearly RM100k in order to get leather seats. You really kena tipu by UMW.
        My 10 year old Kelisa Limited edition 2x cheaper than your Vios also equip with leather seat. What a shame UMW Toyota.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 4
        • Erron on May 21, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Epic! *Clap*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Dr. Phil on May 21, 2014 at 10:17 pm

To Toyota Fanboys– I have diagnosed your mental state. You have a mental disorder called RV-phobia. It is a diagnosis mostly common in salesman of Toyota cars. It is a serious mental problem that starts of with schizophrenia (dual personality of being a Toyota airbag and Anti-VSC advocate).
          There is only one treatment for it – you have to stop selling Toyota’s and start selling Proton’s and Korean cars. After which you will be fully cured and no longer be a menace to society that you are now.
          Alternatively, you could please the rest of the 99% of the Malaysian population by jumping off the new Penang Second Bridge.
          I do hope my diagnosis has been helpful to you. Please share this new knowledge with your fellow friends like Allan Subang Toyota and Sam Loo among others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
        • baseball on May 22, 2014 at 1:14 am

EPIC WIN COMMENT!

• simnix on May 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

That sucks dude!

• Hondaman on May 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

It happens to other brands too, 1st batch buyers who provide the support to the brand always lose out. I pun sudah kena, last year bought the new CRV which doesn’t include reverse sensor, boot tray & toneau cover as standard. 1 monthslater, Honda msia give all those as standard while the price remain the same. Total ripp off…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • motorcycle on May 21, 2014 at 10:22 pm

I need more popcorn please.. :P

• wedontblamethem on May 21, 2014 at 5:46 pm

we don’t blame the makers, we blame the govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 27
  • Yap Tai Wai on May 21, 2014 at 5:57 pm

140k….single zone aircon??

• What about the digi speedo? the BLIS? the dual zone aircond? the auto cruise control? the electronic adjustable seats? come on bermaz. it’s 139k for god’s sake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • entaoba on May 21, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Yea, my 6 mth old ford focus has 4 of 5 items u listed above at >15k cheaper…

• Those who bought it earlier batch & show off on streets can throw shoes at Ben Yeoh..

• RM139k ? Take Accord lahh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Don quixito on May 21, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Stupid guy gets it ALL OF IT.. Rm139k…

• bisakeris (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 7:35 pm

>still not worth it!! sorry mazda. kbai.

• kctan on May 21, 2014 at 8:11 pm

mazda msia are greedy , no wonder the sales also bad

• mamak centol on May 22, 2014 at 3:53 pm

See who is behind it.. :)

• Thomas Tingle on May 22, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Wrong. Mazda local assembly cant fulfill overflowing demand. Their short of cars to sell while the demand is high.

• Pontiac on May 21, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Only newbie will buy this. Overpriced car, poor rear legroom, poor headroom, manual seats adjustment, no GPS, no reverse camera, no cruise control, no auto rain sensor, poor boot room. I rather get a mazda 6 2.0

• do not be a liar on May 21, 2014 at 8:59 pm

YMAZDAY should not be a liar as Bermaz started giving the option to take cash rebate or free leather seats when they held the roadshow started in One Utama.

Bermaz should bring in the Mazda3 high specs and place it at 139K instead of bring in mid specs with that sky high price.

• YMAZDAY on May 21, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Why was I not informed of this? If this is true then it would be good. Should I contact my dealer or send an e-mail to Bermaz?

• Yup, Mazda SA already confirmed either rebate 3k or free upgrade to leather seats in end-Feb. I didn’t took the offer though as I felt the car is still too basic. Waited 2mths for the 1k refund.
      YMAZDAY, either u r a basher or your agent telan the 3k.It must feel goodgetting all those thumbs up.

• Lemer on May 21, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Still very overpriced. This is showing us how greedy sushi brands and stupid malaysians are still buying. KIA, Peugeot are already have their C segment cars at 90K.

• haiz.. on May 21, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Where is the HUB AND IACTIVESENSE?

• Sam Boo on May 21, 2014 at 10:44 pm

I presume new Sylphy basic spec is almost the same spec with this, or slightly better?
    Basic spec 115K Sylphy with saving of 24K could be very handful for other things…

• I need auto cruise for my highway drive. Even H city top spec has it.

• Tiger on May 21, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Like Chevy, Mazda think most Malaysians sohai, nw they cip sel but too late coz u insulted our intelligence

• Car_fan on May 21, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Funny, i test drove this car last week and found the interior quality worse than competitors, all the arm rests are made of rough rubbery plastic, air con got no display n very slow to cool, gps doesn’t work, car looks good n big outside but inside feels like vios size, trunk also very small… rm139k is asking too much…just saying…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • ACS325 on May 22, 2014 at 9:00 am

Are you sure the boot size is small? you comparing against which car? I think it’s even bigger then the BMW 3 series boot and the arm rest is leather. GPS didn’t work in the car probably coz they didn’t insert the SD card with the map. Agree that air con got no display.

• Mazda 3 overpriced and inferior spec compared other region

• Maserati(Official) on May 22, 2014 at 8:22 am

to the public who is interested to buy this car, hold off the purchase as BERMAZ will add more accessories when their sales is bad

who knows they will add the HUD, BLIS etc if this round of promotion doesn’t work for their sales..

• mmaker on May 22, 2014 at 8:57 am

Thats right, and by 2017 there will be a campaign to not buying any car until government reduce car prices by 20%

• Whatever on May 22, 2014 at 9:02 am

I think at 139K the spec must be justified by the price.. but sadly, it is not at the moment. We Malaysians are quite price-sensitive where higher asking price for a car comes with a higher expectation, particularly if the brand is not locally mainstream.

• heybadigol on May 22, 2014 at 9:22 am

While I’ve not driven it, I have sat in it. Its a tight squeeze inside, probably worst interior space for a C segment in malaysia. Also, some doors have hard plastics (rear doors if I recall correctly), while some padded plastics (front doors). Thats just weird. Dare I say, the Toyota Altis is a better car. Horrors of horrors.

• iluvmazla on May 22, 2014 at 10:51 am

Too little too late …

• In simple, too pricey, walk away…..

• whateva on May 22, 2014 at 12:17 pm

with that price i rather get accord

• ProVersion on May 23, 2014 at 9:14 am

Not only too pricey, the 2nd hand value is the worse among all Japanese makers. It is like buying a Volvo. Thats why i prefer to get used Mazda cars rather than a new unit

• I went to Mazda showroom today, and guess what, a person that I spoke with told me that 1.6l skyactive is coming around this week at around 104k with discount some more…

• Lu Saper on Jul 05, 2014 at 10:13 am

look like cheap leather