Nissan Elgrand Facelift MPV now in Malaysia, RM388k

Nissan Elgrand FL Malaysia-02

The facelifted Nissan Elgrand that we first saw late last year is now in Malaysia via the official channel. Edaran Tan Chong Motor has priced the big MPV at RM388,000 on-the-road without insurance. Buying official means that you’ll enjoy a three-year/100,000 km factory warranty.

Like the original third-gen E52 (launched here in April 2012), the Elgrand facelift is powered by a VQ35DE 3.5 litre V6 engine offering 280 PS at 6,400 rpm and 344 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The CVTC-equipped six-pot is paired to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT transmission, which has a six-speed manual mode here. An ECO button makes its debut on the instrument binnacle.

Only one powertrain option for Malaysia, so the Elgrand goes head-to-head with UMW Toyota Motor’s Alphard 3.5 G, recently introduced along with a entry 2.4 G variant. The Alphard 3.5 G goes for RM398k so it’s pretty even, price wise.

Nissan Elgrand FL Malaysia-05

The Elgrand is a seven-seater MPV with a 2-2-3 configuration. The middle row consists of two individual captain seats with ottoman, which the front passenger also gets. No ottoman for the driver, of course, but he/she gets an eight-way power adjustable seat with memory. The third row can slide 240 mm forward to accomodate more luggage space if needed.

Specs have been improved. Highlighted kit for the facelifted MPV include front LED headlamps, multi-spoke 18-inch wheels, new Fine Vision meter with five-inch colour Drive Assist Display between the dials and a leather steering wheel with MID and cruise control buttons.

Cabin trim is now in deep wood grain and the black leather seats have a diamond-shaped quilted pattern and brown double stitches. The pre-facelift interior looks like this.

Nissan Elgrand FL Malaysia-09

Safety wise, the Elgrand comes with six airbags (dual front, side, curtain), ABS, EBD and Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC). Nissan’s Around View Monitor provides a bird’s eye view of the vehicle to assist parking. This is done by stitching together images from four 180-degree wide-angle cameras.

Extras for the VIPs include two sunroofs, an entertainment system with 11-inch roof monitor and two wireless headphones. There are air vents for all rows, two powered sliding doors and a powered tailgate. Keyless entry and push start is standard.

Learn more about the Nissan Elgrand on CarBase.my or compare the Elgrand and Alphard.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• THAT GRILL

lucky it have the power to match…. 3.5 V6

• behsong on May 21, 2014 at 3:09 pm

i rob a “beng” also not affordable to buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • hahaha on May 21, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Don’t worry…second hand after 2 to 3 years 50% off the new car price…then can buy lol…bro got money also don’t waste lol…Honda Odyssey better lah i think….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Dr Phil on May 21, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Ha ha – I have diagnosed your mental state. You have a mental disorder called RV-phobia. It is a diagnosis mostly common in salesman of Toyota cars. It is a serious mental problem that starts of with schizophrenia (dual personality of being a Toyota airbag and Anti-VSC advocate).

There is only one treatment for it – you have to stop selling Toyota’s and start selling Proton’s and Korean cars. After which you will be fully cured and no longer be a menace to society that you are now.

Alternatively, you could please the rest of the 99% of the Malaysian population by jumping off the new Penang Second Bridge.

I do hope my diagnosis has been helpful to you. Please share this new knowledge with your fellow friends like Allan Subang Toyota and Sam Loo among others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • Man Urine on May 21, 2014 at 8:42 pm

This car better resale value than Honda Odyssey la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Seriously? on May 21, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Odyssey? Come’on, they’re not even in the same class! This is Alphard’s rival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Agreed you got 50% for 2nd hand,
        But sorry to say bro, Honda Odyssey low class mpv…
        not matched as this premium MPV Elgrand, Alphard & Vellfire..

• Ekzora on May 21, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Fuuhh!for sure I will trade in my EXORA with this…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • ceo nissan hampeh..

• Maserati(Original) on May 21, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Wow…this is luxury..

• supriman on May 21, 2014 at 3:24 pm

wow..388k for an mpv…rather get a starex for this space

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 33
    • Siew Tan on May 21, 2014 at 8:44 pm

But Starex will breakdown after you collect the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Seriously? on May 21, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Starex? It’s a hearse for God’s sake.

• Drebar kereta mayat on May 22, 2014 at 2:09 am

Alphard also used as hearse what, so what’s your problem

• Seriously on May 22, 2014 at 10:49 am

Problem is, Alphard is only used as a hearse, but the Starex is both used and looks like a hearse. That’s the problem!

• Nobody But You on May 21, 2014 at 3:28 pm

nice !! but too rich for my blood

• Najib Razak (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Move a side, Like a BOSS !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • CVTC equipped? I thought the engine will be equipped with Twin-CVTC as this is the high end variant car..

• ThePolygon on May 21, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Like a house… I meant the price.. but if you can afford it, nobody is stopping you… great people mover :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Najib, where the 30% on May 21, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Did Najib lie to us about the 30% car price reduction. Already 1 year has passed. All cars look more expensive. This MPV cost as much as a house. There is no where in the world a car can cost the same or more than a house or a condo.

But in Malaysia, it is so. No logic. RM400,000 for a high class van!

Najib please honour your promise to your rakyat. You promised if we voted you in, we will get 30% cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
    • LeYuv on May 21, 2014 at 4:55 pm

I don’t know bout you but I for sure didn’t vote him in.. LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 3:26 am

Er… anywhere in the world you can pay more for a car than for a house. Normal houses in Europe are maybe around 100000-200000 Euro, there are plenty of cars that cost more than a million.

Anyway, that promise was bullshit of course since the government in the same breath announced they’d do nothing at all to lower the price, no lower taxes or anything.

• Other_Thinker on May 22, 2014 at 11:27 am

Really??

Having lived in the UK I can confidently say that the majority of “mainstream consumer” cars that the general public would buy would never cost more than a house. Where a house can cost £200,000 the cars are always under £100,000.

The point that Najib, where the 30% was making is probably the fact that a “non-luxury” people carrier seems to be costing as much as a house in Malaysia.

Compare the prices (rounded UP)
        – UK BMW 3 Series: £24,000 (RM125,000)
        – UK Mercedes C class £27,000 (RM135,000)
        – UK Volkswagen Polo £12,000 (RM60,000)

I’ll let you figure out the huge price disparity between he two countries. The only people who have multimillion £ cars already own million £ mansions. Even then according to this:
        http://www.forbes.com/pictures/ellm45ehde/porsche-918-spyder/
        only 5 cars in the world are over $1 million (unless you meant RM, which would be a different story)

You can read the full price competition report published by the European Union on many different cars. Note the difference in prices even for non-luxury cars compared to Malaysia.
        http://ec.europa.eu/competition/sectors/motor_vehicles/prices/2011_07_full.pdf

But yes, bullshit promises like many others he makes.

• Wilson Lim on May 21, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Damn the front grill is BIG!!!

• Denaihati on May 21, 2014 at 4:45 pm

luxury seat like aircraft .huge front grill. exterior much similar to T Vellfire, but T Vellfire still good looking and awesome. price – no comment…he hee.

• I know its not same class… Engine big differentce too…. BUT, I still find hard to justify this over a high-spec Odyssey which is 130k cheaper…
    Btw, do you get much more space on Alphard and Elgrand over an Odyssey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • alphard and elgrand is one level above odyssey

honda’s equivalent is elysion

• qwerty on May 21, 2014 at 9:43 pm

For the big bosses, image and pride are priceless!

As long as they have face when seen being driven in one of these cars, they feel it’s worth the money.

If it’s not the case, why are people buying Merc when a Kancil can actually do the same job?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 3:32 am

If you think a Merc is the same as a Kancil then you never sat in a Merc. Yes, it will get you from A to B… perhaps, if you don’t die along the way, and eventually, but you won’t be as safe, as relaxed, …

Or would you saying spending a night in bed with Jessica Alba is the same as spending a night with Angela Merkel?

• FrancoGermandick on May 22, 2014 at 8:11 am

Hey, Angela Merkel nice lor. Taste like sauerkraut.

• Seriously on May 22, 2014 at 10:56 am

Oh god, some Malaysians just don’t excel in being humorous, and rational.

The guy above is just making an example lah, doink.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 21, 2014 at 5:52 pm

A grille aka bumper… if hit a person he can get into the engine as well..

• entaoba on May 21, 2014 at 10:53 pm

The design look like an air-cond grille in a building, main purpose is to screen off something ugly inside…

• RM388,000 on-the-road without insurance and GST!!!!!

• Don quixito on May 21, 2014 at 6:41 pm

And nobody will buy the ori one…

• Kura2BersalutCokelat on May 22, 2014 at 12:10 am

I’d rather go with Infinity QX70, though it’s more expensive and less one row of seat.

• hAMsevenlau on May 22, 2014 at 2:14 am

I’d rather go with ferrari 458,though it’s also more expensive and less another two row of seat.

• qwerty on May 22, 2014 at 10:59 am

I’d rather buy myself an F1 race car, though it’s more expensive and has only one seat.

• This MP V will be bought by people with too much money to spare and will be driven around.