Ferrari California T previewed – RM889k before tax

SONY DSC

Just three months after making its world premiere at the Geneva Motor Show, the Ferrari California T has made its local debut at the Naza Italia showroom in Petaling Jaya. The revised 2+2 convertible grand tourer gets more power and a load more torque to go with its newly-spiffened looks.

A larger front grille, 458-style headlights, twin bonnet vents, reprofiled fender vents, cleaner tail light design, triple-fence diffuser and a more conventional horizontal quad tailpipe arrangement transforms the slightly awkward retro-inspired original. The interior has also been thoroughly redesigned, with a Turbo Performance Engineer (TPE) display between the two middle air vents a sign of things to come.

That display is there because the California T features the first turbocharged engine fitted to a Ferrari since the hallowed F40 came out 27 years ago. While the direct-injected flat-plane V8 is smaller than before – 3.9 litres versus 4.3 – power has actually risen by 69 hp to 552 hp at 7,500 rpm. But it’s the torque output that has received the biggest gain, jumping a whopping 250 Nm to 755 Nm at 4,750 rpm.

These improvements have been realised thanks to a pair of twin-scroll turbochargers with Variable Boost Management software that adjusts torque delivery to suit the gear selected. The previous model’s seven-speed dual-clutch transmission has been retained.

0-100 km/h is done in just 3.6 seconds, while the top speed is an impressive 316 km/h. Yet the California T also consumes 15% less fuel, while carbon dioxide emissions is down to 250 grams per kilometre.

Bringing all this power in control is a new steering box that improves response and reduces steering wheel activity, as well as a new suspension set-up comprising of revised springs, over 50% faster Magnaride dampers and body motion accelerometers. All these upgrades combine to reduce roll and pitch, delivering more precise handling.

Rounding out the improvements are the latest version of the F1-Trac traction control system and CCM3 carbon ceramic brakes with new composite discs and pads that stop the car from 100 km/h in just 34 metres.

As for the price, well, you know what the say about asking, but if you really must know, it’s RM888,800 excluding duty and options. As with all new Ferraris bought through official channels, the California T comes with a seven-year scheduled maintenance programme at standard service intervals (every 20,000 km, or once a year with unlimited mileage).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• himom on May 22, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Dear Santa,
    I had been a good boy this year.
    Santa oh Santa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
    • AVH (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 10:54 pm

He knows, Last year he was on the way to deliver your brand new 458……until the Malaysian Government stop him, saying that he needs to pay Import tax, Excise Duty, Sales duty, Government Sales Tax, Income Tax, Border Tax, Port charging fee, Ministers-new-Bentley-insatalment-duty, Minister-child’s-foreign-education-and-expenses-tax…..

Gave up and left.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 12:46 am

Dr. M is the chairman again, the cronies will have good time again. This California T is brought in JUST ON TIME!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • FREE AP on May 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Naza would have gone bust long ago if not for the free APs. We are all subsidizing Naza and their group of companies because every AP issued, every taxpayer suffers. We pay more in taxes when we buy cars because real car companies like Honda, Toyota, Mercedes and BMW cannot get enough APs to benefit from economies of scale and bring down prices.

All the AP boys, ALL the Pekema freeloaders are living off 30 million Malaysians. Just 20 or 30 pariah members freeloading of 30 million Malaysians.

30 million Malaysians suffer to make these 30 PEKEMA members even richer. Naza is the biggest crook. They get thousands of free AP. Assuming each AP is worth at least RM50,000, we Malaysians are literally giving billions free to Naza just to enjoy life, go on business class holidays, buy London apartments, keep mistresses here and there and eat luxurious food on a daily basis.

I hope the 30 PEKEMA members say thank you too ALL of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • AVH, you missed out “under table” tax :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Black Dog on May 23, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Imagine the Govt pocket almost 1 million for every car sold. Bayangkan…

• thebugbud on May 23, 2014 at 8:42 pm

No worries… can’t afford ferrari California, proton has an answer. PROTON TANJONG MALIM.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 9:37 pm

looks the same

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on May 22, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Sekali tengok RM800+K only……… Continue to read “before tax” DAMN IT!!!!! Sigh……. Telima KASih G for such “impian” for us Malaysian “before tax”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 11:00 pm

even without tax u cant buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 26
      • Razan on May 22, 2014 at 11:47 pm

How you know he can’t buy? U his father izzit? Reply seem like u a millionaire Dato son. Don’t talk nonsense here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
        • abuya1234 on May 23, 2014 at 10:20 am

The name already anti fuel price. Minyak naik pun dah anti, inikan pulak nak beli kereta mewah. You also don’t talk nonesense here! This is luxury car. Even Guan Eng rulez Malaysia, normal people still cant afford!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
          • wedontblamethem on May 23, 2014 at 2:10 pm

his right. the only way to get this car is become one of the cronies, and keep the ass boss licking clean, kiss kiss few times hope that one day you can get this car thru the effort of butt licking.

• GDrogon on May 22, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Thank you for Dr.M Slough Affect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • superfast on May 22, 2014 at 9:48 pm

My satrio neo can smoke anytime this bullshit. Bye bye !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
  • Ah jib on May 22, 2014 at 10:01 pm

We don’t mind paying crazy tax for car, we welcome GST which is better and fair to everyone , but the money collected go into some one s pocket and channel oversea ,instead of developing our lovely country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
  • rifle on May 22, 2014 at 10:24 pm

after tax rm1.xxxm rite? -.-

• lonelyobserve on May 22, 2014 at 11:23 pm

No. It is more than RM2 million++

• It should be around RM1.7mil after tax. Cali cant be more expensive than 458 as Cali is the entry level into Ferrari.

• Better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • shawal on May 22, 2014 at 10:59 pm

aiyarrkk….
    no side mirror indicators….
    x best ler camnih…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • superbird #43 on May 22, 2014 at 11:21 pm

i was left speechless momentarily when i saw the lady on the left hand side (not the car)

• Denaihati on May 22, 2014 at 11:24 pm

how big the air intake as big as power output + very impressive torque.
    toy for billionaire…heee.

• rchoo on May 22, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Even if I am a multiple multiple millionaire I also will consider multiple multiple time before I hand over the money.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 12:18 am

robert can buy.. lim can buy.. ananda can buy.. quek can buy.. teh can buy.. lee can buy maaa..

• Even mechanic can buy. I have one fren who own a tyre garage at Kota Damansara but have had owned 2 ferrari and an M3 CSL before that. Me, an SME business owner driving a F10 is more than happy.

• Jerry on May 23, 2014 at 6:18 am

I’m not pro gov ,but without tax also u can’t still afford to buy or even maintain it.. , don’t blame the gov blindly la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Yes, all these supercar is meant for the rich and fabulous. Even in overseas unless u are celebrities, soccer player or business owner(huge business with huge turnover). Otherwise, we all ordinary citizen only can dream on of having to own this car.

• powderful on May 23, 2014 at 1:44 pm

tRu dat…

• Spirior on May 23, 2014 at 6:19 am

Steering box? Or steering gear? The former is used in lorries.

• Now lets wait and see which Head of Polices’ Son gonna drive it on the road and show off.

• kimi's fan on May 23, 2014 at 8:58 am

why milege up to date 12,039km ?

Any one can share ?

• heybadigol on May 23, 2014 at 9:08 am

One wonders how much a LaFerrari will cost here. Anyways, is that pink luggage in the space we usually call the “boot”? Hehe.

I’ve never been a fan of the California anyways. Its ok, but nothing really special when compared to the 458 and F12. If I wanted a convertible, I’d rather get a 911 cabriolet. The Boxster is fine too (and just gorgeous), but it doesnt quite have the performance credentials.

• W204 C63 AMG on May 23, 2014 at 10:53 am

The LaFerarri is already sold out. Time will tell if one or two will make it on our roads.

• anakayam on May 23, 2014 at 10:59 am

its coming alright

• W204 C63 AMG on May 23, 2014 at 12:57 pm

It is already sold out, along with the McLaren P1. Google about it my friend, those 2 are limited production cars. You can only hope that they will launch the Porsche 918 Spyder here.

• With our corrupt minister thick wallet. Even limited edition they also can grab it back. Like BMW 1M, there was supposed to have on 3 in Malaysia. guess what, I have seen more than 5. All with different num plates.

• AVH (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:34 pm

I do know of 1 person ordered a P1(JC something, owner of JPM).

Not sure on LaFerrari but the same person was rumored to have bought the very Enzo and sold it to Mahathir’s son(also forgotten his name, SIC owner).

• wow rm889k b4 tax…amazing price. does it had to be priced >RM1 million for ferrari =.=”

• shawal on May 23, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Luca mentioned making ferraris more exclusive
    ( expensive)
    I imagine the next california will be smaller, lighter, built from exotic materials, faster, high tech, 2 seater soft top, and drop dead gorgeous looks deserving of the california name cuz honestly, this car with the top down, is a minger with its hunchback rear end, its better looking than prefacelift model, but that isnt saying much

458 spider is where u shud dump your moolah..