Mahathir will strengthen Proton as chairman – Najib

Suprima-S-launch-00410

Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s appointment as Proton Holdings Bhd chairman will further strengthen the national carmaker, Datuk Seri Najib Razak has said, according to Bernama.

“Although there are many challenges ahead but in the pursuit to improve Proton’s competitiveness, I believe the company would accrue many benefits from his profound experience and knowledge,” the PM told Malaysian reporters at an international conference in Tokyo today.

“I believe Tun’s appointment will certainly strengthen Proton, given his determination and high commitment to see the national car company succeed.”

proton-kuala-terengganu 061

When asked if Dr Mahathir’s appointment meant he would have more powers to determine the future direction of Proton, Najib said: “That is up to Proton because it is a public listed company.”

According to The Star, Malaysian Automotive Association president Datuk Aishah Ahmad deemed Dr Mahathir the “ideal man” for the job.

“He (Dr Mahathir) had a vision, that we needed a local car brand. At that time, component part industry was not as thriving as it is now. The establishment of Proton created opportunities,” the English daily quoted her as saying.

DSC_1093

Bernama reported that earlier, during a dialogue session with conference participants, Dr Mahathir said Proton’s production volume was small, and as such, it was difficult for the carmaker to achieve economies of scale.

“The only way (for Proton) is to expand to foreign markets. We don’t want to be like Thailand (which just assembles cars). We want to do more than that. We want to learn from A to Z. Because of this, we have not been able to export (Proton cars) the way the Thais do.

“We are just starting. We used to enjoy 80% market share. Now it’s down to 23%. We tried to compete as best as we could. We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale,” Dr Mahathir said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sell every proton -10% to 15 % den can gain market share

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Vader on May 22, 2014 at 8:00 pm

1. Since potong is public listed company (Najib said so), then how and why M able to ask “a bit protection” from G?
      2. M also admitted potong have a glory time that getting 80% support from rakyat. During that time the volume still not able make the potong achieve economies of scale. Then many % of market consider good? 100%? In your dream..
      3. Already 30 years old still consider as “we just starting”? A baby already grown up as father and father became a grandpa already…

Hope no dump and dumper jump put and shout “janji ditepati”. Is really a shame..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 14
      • GDrogon on May 22, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Clap :: Clap :: Clap :: Good Point

• Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Proton is losing money because their workers are all lazy, like to sleep, 7 times a day minum teh dan makan nasi lemak and makan kuih lapis in the kantin and all they think about is kahwin empat.

How to do QC when the QC officer makan kuih lapis and minum teh in the kantin 7 times a day?

The workers don’t want to work hard because they know even their children can get free scholarship just goyang kaki with no merit.

This behaviour was propogated by Mahathir and has become a way of life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • 4.35pm!!!
            You are the one is eating nasi lemak and drinking tea during office hour!

• Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Why Proton is losing money is attitude of the workforce.

Toyota Japan workers:
          “We must work hard. We must focus doing our work now to achieve highest quality and global success. We take pride in what we do and only want to be remunerated if our products exhibit utmost quality and customer satisfaction”

Proton Factory Malaysia workers:
          “Rilaks lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat. Mari minum teh dan makan kuih talam dan kuih lapis. Nanti boleh buat. Rilaks dulu. Eh tengok awek kilang, cun betul, bezz kalau dapat kongkek kat bilik stor. Jom mari lepak. Rang nak tido ni. Letih”

• Malaysia Hopeless Government on May 23, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Saw in the news. thailand in the past 80 year has had berpuluh puluh riots, bombs, coups, army state and unstable government. In 80 years, the military has had 12 coups already!

And yet ALL the car companies have moved to Thailand to make it the AutoCity of Asia and the Detroit of the world.

Could this mean Malaysia is worse than Thailand? But we got no coups, no army state, no bombs and all the unstableness of Thailand.

So what do we have that made ALL the car companies run to Thailand and enrich the Thai economy with hundreds of billions in investments.

You and I know. Mahathir is the No 1 cause. All the car companies don’t want to give part of their company free to people who shake leg.

• Aniq_Affandi on May 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

I saw this exact same comment in another thread. Are you reposting just to create fame for yourself or is someone paying you to do this?

• Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 12:54 am

Easy lar, impose more tax on other cars, including Perodua. Whoever don’t own Proton has to pay double income tax.

You think my Camry is expensive? In the future you can only buy my Vios with that amount of money.

So act fast before it is too late (budget2015 coming in October). Mari mari~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 10:22 am

camry isn’t exclusive either.. yet over priced for what others manufacturer had offered..they had tax too..same lor

Look at..

Vios..they are over rated, old.. The
          only car company to still use a 4 seed automatic transmission.

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 4:24 pm

@ smarttass

thanks for the enlighten..

fuyoo… same lor..
            other salesman are doing bad too..

i believed we’re getting our bentley back..

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 10:34 am

I believe that proton..conti and korean new crop of passenger vehicles are according themselves nicely, especially in terms of safety..

Whereas.. Toyota has been plagued with widespread recalls and dangerous safety problems.. which the company had at first appeared to be trying to cover up.. before having to deal with them..

like this u finish..i finish..same lor..

• Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 11:33 am

You don’t do medical checkup, doesn’t mean you are cancer-free.

Proton don’t do recall because it has better build quality than Toyota? or it can’t afford to recall (have to recall every Proton cars on the road)?

This show the simple fact: people rather buy old engine, old gearbox, because it is RELIABLE. The best is, these old engine and gearbox is more POWERFUL and FUEL EFFICIENT than the Proton sendiri syok Campro engines.

• smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 11:57 am

Sure, Toyota makes unsafe, unwanted, overpriced, outdated cars. That’s why they don’t sell many vehicles(NOT!).

“Financial Times”
            January 23, 2014 5:47 pm
            Toyota retains global car sales crown

Toyota maintained its position at the top of the world’s car tree after pipping fierce rivals General Motors and Volkswagen in 2013 for the second year in a row.

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 12:59 pm

“Toyota may settle US criminal probe for $1.2 billion”
            Toyota Motor Corp. has agreed to settle a U.S. criminal probe over the sudden acceleration of some of its vehicles. The sources, who refused to be named, said that the settlement is estimated at $1.2 billion, and may be announced as early as tomorrow to the public.

In 2009 and 2010, some Toyota vehicle drivers experienced problems with their cars, including unintentional acceleration. This resulted to a mass recall of more than 10 million vehicles, which began in September 2009. At that time, the carmaker announced that it would call back around 3.8 million Toyota and Lexus vehicles over a car defect that causes floor mats to push accelerator pedals. The probe led to lawsuits that claim such defects caused accidents and affected the worth of the Toyota vehicles. The company settled the lawsuits filed by car owners and paid a total of $1.6 billion.

source: http://japandailypress.com/toyota-may-settle-us-criminal-probe-for-1-2-billion-1946039/

• smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Hey look, no Protons recalled here!

http://english.cntv.cn/news/recall/

http://www.nhtsa.gov/Vehicle+Safety/Recalls+&+Defects

http://www.lowellsun.com/business/ci_25791677/35m-fine-is-not-end-gm-saga

http://www.automotiveforums.com/t421266-vw_fined_1_1_million_for_delayed_recall.html

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/ford-pays-top-fine-settle-govt-recall-spat-165423659.html

BTW, hope you folks out there know that most news media out there is American, and Jap bashing is inbuilt. The more gullible of us seem to have picked up some of the habit too.

• Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 7:35 pm

So funny!!

No recall = good quality?

Then why no one buy Preve/Suprima S?

Toyota is a responsible car where they recall if they have done something wrong.

Proton? you die your problem. As long as the cronies are not the one burnt in the Proton yesterday then ok. Everyone please buy Proton so that they can buy Bentley.

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 1:05 pm

“Toyota recalls over 6 million vehicles worldwide due to defects”

Toyota has recalled around 6.4 million vehicles all over the world due to five different defects detected..
          there u got your no 1 car maker..no 1 car recall.., we’re finished same lor..no bentley..

source:http://japandailypress.com/toyota-recalls-over-6-million-vehicles-worldwide-due-to-defects-1047064/

• Our Money FREE to Proton on May 23, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Turning down Proton Holdings’ requests for financial lifeline will be more difficult for Putrajaya following the appointment of former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as its chairman, a report said today.

The Edge Review said that for more than a year now, the current administration, led by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, had rejected several pleas for financial aid from the ailing national carmaker, which is struggling with weak sales, large debts and competition from foreign marques.

But with Dr Mahathir’s (pic) “surprise appointment” as its chairman, “saying no to Proton is set to become a lot more difficult”, it reported.

Dr Mahathir established Proton in 1983 while he was prime minister and had taken on an advisory role since his retirement in 2003.

The report said Putrajaya had rejected Proton’s request for grants of up to RM2 billion early last year with the excuse that the government needed to cut its ballooning budget deficit.

Proton again applied for about RM1.7 billion to fund research and development, government officials and auto executives told the weekly.

Although Putrajaya could not afford to approve the grant, turning down Proton’s request, especially with Dr Mahathir at the top, could turn out to be “politically messy” for Najib, said the officials.

(Najib is struggling with low approval ratings and holding on to his power after Barisan Nasional’s dismal showing in last year’s general election.)

Dr Mahathir, who is 88, remains an influential figure in the country’s political and corporate landscape and has been critical of the Najib administration and his leadership recently.

The report quoted political analysts, who said that dismissing Proton’s request could put Najib in the line of fire from Malaysia’s longest-serving prime minister.

The Edge Review said Proton was the sole surviving initiative of the “ambitious industrialisation drive” embarked by Dr Mahathir in the early 1980s. Other ventures in steel and cement flopped although billions of dollars were pumped into them.

Proton is also struggling to stay afloat as it has been protected by high import duties imposed on foreign cars and aided with grants and other funding from the government.

Its market share has fallen to 22% from 60% in the mid-1990s.

It started off as a state-owned company but in 2012, the public-listed Proton Holdings was taken private by industrialist Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Albukhary, who is close to Dr Mahathir.

Government officials and industry executives said Proton’s private ownership was another reason it should not be given financial reprieve.

“It is a cut-throat business and Proton doesn’t have the technology or economies of scale to compete,” a chief executive of a foreign auto company based in Kuala Lumpur was quoted as saying.

“Fresh grants are unlikely to turn things around.” – May 23, 2014.

Malaysian Insider

• Billionaire Children on May 23, 2014 at 5:59 pm

How come every single child of Mahathir is a billionaire? Not millionaire but billionaire.
        What a coincidence. All the kids pandai in business sampai can become billionaire.

Even big companies like Genting, Hong Leong, Public bank, the father is billionaire but children just normal millionaire. Long way from Billionaire status.

• unforgiven on May 22, 2014 at 11:40 pm

He should learn to be good before he dies. Why is him still on the dark side as in protecting cronies and causes pain to most people? Do good to be in the heaven please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • i checked, no bumi quota for him in heaven,as he is not one!

• Black Dog on May 23, 2014 at 1:03 pm

90 years, Old & Senile still can be chairman. Haiz! No other capable ppl meh? Malaysia Boleh!

• presna (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 6:53 pm

“We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale”
    There lies the real purpose of having him as the chairman……

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 9
    • fast5 on May 22, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Dr M “gov please protect my 30 years baby protong”
      Why can’t he say “I use my own money to protect”
      Really have no shame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
      • Henry on May 23, 2014 at 9:21 am

I really wish he and his sons will raise the funds and buy up Proton. If it is so good he should make it his family business.

• fast5 on May 23, 2014 at 1:12 pm

I do agree But in reality he will not buy a brand that’s losing money all the time and lose trust globally even worst in the own country itself…

• smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 11:10 pm

I don’t think they need to “raise funds” b’cos probably already got more than enough!

• kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 8:43 am

If Proton GSC can give 30KM per Liter fuel economy, I will run half naked wear tiger-colour seluar dalam from Tanjung Malim to Shah Alam!

Any takers?? Wanna bet??

• unforgiven on May 23, 2014 at 9:02 am

Most people will do good before they die, except for him that’s still protecting his cronies and indirectly protecting his own money. He should be donating instead at his age. Hell is waiting for bad people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • its the product thats count

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Like he said, economies of scale can only be achieved by expending the market share overseas. So how will the protection from M’sian gov. help Proton in achieving this? It shows that he didn’t know what he was talking about. Maybe he should ask the gov. worldwide for protection because he is only good as that. After so long, still asking for protection. Don’t understand why Proton needs someone who is always asking for protection instead of looking for more effective ways to help the company compete in the open market.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 7
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 6:55 pm

In his word he already said he’ll need government to support. So be prepare for hike of foreign car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • tokmoh (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Like electric tariff, the govt will have no choice but “forced” to keep or increase car tax.

inb4 PEKIMA say our cars are still cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
      • Ali Baba on May 23, 2014 at 9:01 am

Dr M: Maintain AP system or Proton will die
        Malaysia Kini, Nov 28, 2013

As Putrajaya takes baby steps to liberalise the automobile industry, former prime minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad warns that abolishing the Approved Permit (AP) system will cause the national car makers and bumiputera car retailers to suffer.

Mahathir, the father of local car maker Proton Holdings Bhd, said foreign manufacturers would flood the car market without the AP system and sound the “death knell” of the national car industry.

http://mk-cdn.mkini.net/655/61b2fb054d7c085ba98cfdbf7709496d.jpg

In a posting on his blog today, Mahathir said Malays and other bumiputeras were unable to enter the automotive business without the AP system as they were new to the business.

“Business people do not like to do business with strangers. It is difficult to build trust with a business partner or an agent when you do not know their background.

“Worse still, when you know the stranger has no capital and no experience,” Mahathir wrote.

He explained that only a few Malays could afford to import used cars in the past and this had frustrated the implementation of the New Economic Policy objective of eliminating the identification of race with economic functions.

“It was to overcome this that the government allowed the importation of Japanese reconditioned cars. APs were issued for the aspiring Malay auto dealers.

“Now, second-hand Japanese cars are no longer imported. The AP system continued for new and second-hand special models. The demand is such that auto dealers are prepared to buy the APs at high prices,” Mahathir says in his blog.

Other industries too have APs

The AP system provides a special import duty waiver for automobiles. Qualified car dealers can obtain these documents from the International Trade and Industry Ministry.

As part of their benefits, members of parliament are allocated one AP, regardless of the number of terms they have served, and this cannot be sold.

Adding a racial slant to the AP system debate, Mahathir said there are similar systems for sugar, flour, rice and other items.

“Some people have benefited from this system over the past 80 years. They have become billionaires. There has been no demand to stop these APs. The recipients live a charmed life.

“If we must reconsider the AP system, it must include all the APs. The effect on our economy and trade balance must be accepted by us all,” adds Mahathir.

• Ibrahim on May 22, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Why bother if you have the money? If you can afford the tax ,you buy. If you are poor then just get the local car. Easy what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
    • Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 9:52 am

If hike in Taxes is not possible, they might ask the Gomen to increase the ‘Research and Development’ grant by many folds, may be a few billion ringgit per year.

• Nissan on May 22, 2014 at 6:59 pm

i love his saying ” We are just starting”, after 3 decades, we are still starting….LOL. so many ppl die i dont see him …….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 7
  • I could only see his determination to squeeze Malaysian further for his own..! He is one true curse on million malaysians!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
  • tokmoh (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Dah start jilat buntut da, jilat, jangan tak jilat, jilat sampai licin abis! yum yuuuum

Proton is still a public listed company eh? See, what was it with macais denying it’s protected cuz it’s now gone “private”? This confirms once and for all Proton is indeed protected despite being “private”!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 7:21 pm

“The only way (for Proton) is to expand to foreign markets. We don’t want to be like Thailand (which just assembles cars). We want to do more than that.

Brace yourself. . This is not good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Littlebear on May 23, 2014 at 7:13 am

Nothing wrong being only a country assembling cars when it can provide jobs for the people. Malaysians have to suffer because of Proton as we have been getting substandard cars for the past 25 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 10:03 am

Correct. We are loosing FDI related to cars. That’s a fact.

• Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 12:27 pm

u sound smart..but..
          detail… please.. motorhead..

How does this automotive FDI will provide valuable and stable stimulus economic growth..?

How .. this automotive sector FDI will contribute to high GDP.. directly giving positive to economic performance..?

Mexico for eg.. why has Mexican economic performance from 1980 -2000 been so relatively poor .. despite the benefits of automotive-sector investment..? Brazil..Argentina..Philippines..had an average FDI but unfortunately had weak economic growth performance..does this demonstrate FDI will contribute much to the growth..? Indonesia..?? how well their economic performance will grow..??

Thailand..? are they better than us in GDP .. I really have no idea.. however Malaysia has a high rate of FDI from electronic industry and also high GDP .. juz that I know..

• Motornone on May 23, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Motorhead just mentioned about losing FDI in car assembly business. He did not mention anything about FDI reflecting a country’s GDP.

• Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 2:51 pm

@motornone

he sound like he is a master in malaysia economic and countries comparison.. and since i’ve no idea.. i ask him..

may i ask is this FDI(foreign direct investment) is too important than the economic generates by the country itself..? motorhead made it sounds like we’re loosing automotive sector FDI.. for people who do not understand like me..we will think m’sia has poor economic growth.. the rich juz cronies.. and him

• look like potong plan to go back to stone age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • Proton nak minta duit susu dari krjn, krjn tak nak bagi duit susu kepada dudak hampir 30 tahsin itu yang masih tak dapat growing up. No choice la Proton ini minta bantuan Dr M supaya mengemis sikit la duit susu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Proton nak minta duit susu dari krjn, krjn tak nak bagi duit susu kepada budak hampir 30 tahun itu yang masih tak dapat growing up. No choice la Proton ini minta bantuan Dr M supaya mengemis sikit la duit susu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Car industry is not rocket science. . But it do need more than rocket science to succeed. . Even Detroit city failed. Why so arrogant? Why Datuk?

Even among Japs companies work together, to built better cars together…put away the ego.. share platform…

You think you can do more??? You don’t ve any idea…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • No Dr M on May 22, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Haha, finally, this Dr.M finally said the word:”We need a little bit protection”, u see, he never think of helping the Malaysian to reduce the car loan debt and let the Malaysian have the best car quality as Thais. Wat he want is only the best of Proton, which he himself is one of the boss of Proton.

I used to be Dr M suppporter for Vision 2020 plan and I believe he had bring us Malaysian to a great country, but when he retired, he started to show all his true colors….really sad.

Wat can i say, Malaysian needs to work harder in order to buy a good car. Haha….Thank you Dr. M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

They might ask the Banks to increase the repayment period from 9 years to 15 years for Proton buyers.

• We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale.

Why the heck do protong still need protection ..
    Stupid, increase ur quality, design house like kia n hyundai car if you cant go japan quality, then the market will to you.. Not by raising other car price!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • AVH (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Meanwhile, at PWTC……
    http://i.imgur.com/LXWmvmT.jpg?1
    [Trololo plays]

Okay, okay, jokes asides…..lets see, 30 years, still beginning. Now lets compare what other makes were doing in their 30th anniversery:
    Toyota (started 1937, so 67′): Launches the uber sexy (a rarity for Japanese car) 2000GT, export crosses 1 millioth unit with the Publica while domestic sales achieved the same number . Lauched of the 1st Corolla.

Honda ‘(Started 1963′, So 93′): Went into F1, and extreme success powering Aryton’s MP4/4. Launched the Aluminium bodied Honda NSX to the brown pants of European cars. VTEC, an evolution and development of internationally acclaimed CVCC tech, is introduced in the Prelude and people are beginning to abandon their large American cars for something across the pacific. Export well over the 7 degit.

Hyundai (Started car making in 1957’so 1987’):
    Started almost after the Korean War, with little to no industrial infrastructure and the national reserve holding just several dollars, Hyundai begin their first car, an Italian designed ,Mitsubishi engined , Pony in 1957. First export was to North America 15 years later. By 1987, has reached an export sales of 263k units in America alone. with exports to more than a dozen country(150 today). One century later, Hyundai is the 5th largets automobile manufecturer in the world.

So yea Mahathir….”we are just starting”.

The worst part is that by their respective 30th anniversery, most mass manufecturer are looking at positive sales growth, innovation and export efforts. Couple wiith the fact that espacially Hyundia’s case, started with little to no Government support, the S.Korean government can only help establish a local sales protection much like our NAP today because they have no choice, they as a country are poorer than most middle-class families back in 1950s. Korean’s NAP was lifted in the 80s when in the shadows of Japan’s growth, was surging ahead. Japan also had NAP to boost the country’s economy after the war….. Both country in the 50s were nearly bankrupt from their respective war efforts. Japan’s NAP is lifted in 1958 after mass protest from its people, Outlashing at the added benefit that Auto-manufecturing big boss were enjoying in its days, like how Proton is today.

At their respective time, America was the de facto automobile market and both contries auto manufecturer strife to leave the comfort zone of their home market and began aggressive attempt at exporting cars and mind you, Americans of the time didn’t have the best outlook with Korea and Japan espacially they have been to war against both country (OK North Korea, but not like they can tell). They are both in quality, image and performance disadvantage against the American auto giants, factory fresh from producing ammunition and weapons now produce cars at gigantic number, with quality and performance that the asians can never replicate.

It is the desire and the will or mentality of the Japanese and Koreans that results in their success, Japan and Korea personally handpicked their suppliers, not satisfied they move on (Hyundai has the luxury of its own massive Conglomerate to churns its parts). The demand for perfection and the strife for competition was there for these two countries.

“We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale” But remeber the time that they didn’t and yet still chellenge those that have ‘economies of scale’of the time. Its not that I disaprove of this ‘protection’ but more of asking until when? It’s been 30 years, with words that have not materialize, bold words to be precise. things like ‘500k car production by 2018’, ‘Hybrid car by end of this year’, ‘pushing for export’…..STOP! Its futile, at least just stop with these words that I , at the moment, believe I wont be seeing it materialize.

In simple terms, I have lost trust.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 1
    • AVH (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Correction
      *Half a century later, Hyundai is the 5th largets automobile manufecturer in the world.

*Japan and Korea personally handpicked their suppliers from the mass competition of suppliiers within the country, not satisfied they move on (Hyundai has the luxury of its own massive Conglomerate to churns its parts).

• hardly ppl give a fvck

• Guan Yin Maa on May 22, 2014 at 8:45 pm

He gonna die soon . Maybe just 2-3 more years. You expect him to be proton’s Chairman until 100 years old ? HAHAHA. I doubt he cant even got chance to see 2020.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • That is up to Proton because it is a public listed company.” then why still use our tax money to help proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Mahathir should be the Chairman of OTNM “Orang Tua Nyanyuk Merapu”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • The ‘once bitten twice shy’ really applies to Proton earners as many of them would not dare pick back Protons when they change cars. Proton need to make these owners feel proud of the cars they own when compared with that of their neighbors by improving the designs, consumption and others essential features while lowering the prices.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 9:36 pm

“We are just starting. We used to enjoy 80% market share. Now it’s down to 23%. We tried to compete as best as we could. We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale,” Dr Mahathir said.

Who is the butt hurt now??

• Dear all Proton bashers,
    A common phrase for the cronies:
    LIAR LIAR PANTS ON FIRE !!!!!!

• lookitalylooksweden.. on May 22, 2014 at 9:41 pm

small production volume, in order to achieve market or buyers, proton need ideas to build car that other dont offer, get out of current production line that every model have to be sold for more that 6 years. hand-build proton cars, second would be various type of the same platform cars.

• Hopefully with Tun M onboard, we will see more suprima s on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • GDrogon on May 22, 2014 at 11:33 pm

sure more Suprima Ass in future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • tikus on May 23, 2014 at 12:53 am

Sup Rima is dead before it born. Very bad product but no idea who the ASS O proceed with that idea. Why divide into 2 version of Preve when the first version is not selling well also. Who is the marketing guy man?? Most of the hatch in the market is rounded ASS and this Sup Rima is flat ass,so damn ugly no taste. Who is the designer man?? Who to support local product when the design is damn ugly. This is not rakyat fault.

• Henry on May 23, 2014 at 9:31 am

Proton build cars which they like and not what the market wants. The volume they sell is just a fraction of their capacity. Remember what I said about high cost + low sales? Sure die.

• smarttess on May 22, 2014 at 9:56 pm

If I had a kid who has just spent 30 years of Daddy’s money repeatedly trying to get into university and yet fails no matter what, the honourable thing even for my flesh-and-blood would be to cut losses and lower expectations, not throw more good money after bad… .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Tiger on May 22, 2014 at 10:02 pm

Potong aleady heavily potected, none of the other brands models able to match Pptongs price instead avg 50% higher or even more for similar cc models…not even the Japanese brands models with smaller cc can match Pptongs price, but the billion rupiah ringgit is, if Potong cars r so cip and able to produce 50% ciper more cost than Jap brands, WHY on earth is it sellong WoRLDWIDE?

• smarttess on May 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Protons still aa far as I know enjoy a rebate (i.e. discount) on BN imposed excise duty compared to non-national cars. That’s the only reason they are cheaper here. Export them anywhere else, and on a level playing field, they sell for the same price as a Kia, Hyundai, Suzuki, Nissan. That’s why Proton cannot export successfully.

• smarttess on May 22, 2014 at 10:02 pm

All we need is Ms. Rafidah back in her post, and it’ll be just like the good old days (for them)/bad old days (for the rest of us).

• Tongkat Discount on May 23, 2014 at 8:49 am

Discount Given To Proton Is A Sovereign Right, Says Rafidah
      Bernama, 6 January 2004

PUTRAJAYA, Jan 6 (Bernama) — The 50 percent discount in excise duty given to national car manufacturer Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Bhd (Proton) is Malaysia’s sovereign right, said Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Rafidah Aziz.

“This is our sovereign right, for the government to give such a discount or exemptions within the country. We are not playing around with duties,” she said in response to questions from reporters here Tuesday.

Rafidah also stressed that the move was also consistent with the World Trade Organisation’s rules.

“Whatever exemption given to Proton or other national car manufacturers will be continued until further decision made by the government. But for now, the government decides to continue with the discount,” she said.

However, Rafidah advised Proton and other national car manufacturers to look further into export potential and strategise their efforts to enable them to compete in a wider marketplace.

“With or without the element of support, Proton and other national car manufacturers must have long term strategy to compete as a viable entity,” she said when met after officiating the 2nd International Malaysia-Japan Plastics Conference here.

Rafidah reiterated that the government has long made the call for these manufacturers to be prepared for the full implementation of the Asean Free Trade Area (AFTA) for automotive industry and by now when the tariff cutting has been brought one year forward, the industry should have factored in all the issues.

“They knew 10 years ago that AFTA would come into place, they should have been prepared,” she stressed.

On the confusion faced by some industry players regarding the new tariff and excise duties announced by the government last Friday, Rafidah said “it was not so much of a confusion among the industry players, they just need some clarifications.”

The minister said individual companies need to collaborate where they could have collective effort in enhancing competitiveness and reducing cost in facing the regional competition.

“They have to do whatever it takes domestically to face the competition,” she said.

She added that with more manufacturers expected to enter the Asean market, car retailers in Malaysia could take this advantage to become distributors.

In addition, local importers and franchisees are advised to work with their principals from Korea and Japan in allowing them to make Malaysia as the regional base.

“Malaysia is an attractive market and even a market leader in Asean in passenger cars while Thailand is the leader in commercial vehicles. We should take the advantage of these strengths to move forward,” she added. — BERNAMA

• Denaihati on May 22, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Tun Dr. M have big ambitious, that why he success, even opposition party don’t like, it is just political. hope proton will have new future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 40
    • RoCkie on May 23, 2014 at 1:05 am

hei… no offence here but pls… WAKE THE FREAK UP!!!

Mahathir ambitious…? Yes no doubt but mainly for his own personal (and cronies) gain, benefits and fame! Do some research on history on how he make his way becoming the PM (and how he treated our beloved 1st PM bapa kemerdekaan Tunku Abdul Rahman) and look at his track record, it’s not difficult to realised he is merely trying to create his own legacy and wanting to be remembered for all his “glorious” achievement, including protong.

just to be clear, if protong was to use the correct path, the right path with dignity to continuously improve their quality on a level playing field, I for one would certainly support such Proton. Heck why would I wanna pay more of my hard earned money for a foreign imported car if I can get a same if not better quality locally made national vehicle with pride and drive it with a sense of patriotism.

• Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 10:06 am

What success? Proton is really a failure. His only success is to build the longest this, the tallest and the biggest that.. with oil money.

• No Point Just get 80% sales in Malaysia but the World Dont Buy Car Made In Malaysia.

We Want Global Money! not just Jaguh Kampung!
    While Proton trying to be better, Please Dont Take Aways Our Freedom to buy Foreigner car at low Price like in Thailand, Indonesia or Philippine.

• sick&tired on May 22, 2014 at 10:18 pm

“We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale,” Dr Mahathir said

You think Ah Jib Gor dare go against the old man??

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 10:20 pm

All macai P1 go quiet dy.. Tun said it dy..

Thx Tun.. at least you are honest & aware of the situation. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 12:38 pm

at least he is honest..

but who is being butthurt now..?
      anyway xde suprima atau preve lagi ke kat seri petaling, motorhead ..?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Superma S? Xde lagi sini..

Pity… no Superma S turbo charge smoke me here. Waiting oso..penat tunggu.

• Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 2:59 pm

kalau jumpa.. make u sure u follow it tightly… dont loose it..later cannot count..

1 thing..kejar tentang arah angin.. his using turbo .. myvi might loose it..

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 4:18 pm

U pakai Superma S ke? Oh2.. race dgn u je lah.. I penat cari on the road..

Oh2.. just remember. . Tun said now 20% market share.. from.. 80%.. patutlah xde.. x laku pon. .

kahkah…

• motorbart on May 23, 2014 at 5:17 pm

No need to race already know Motorhead’s will bang his head to steering as he cannot see Suprima far in front kahkahkah

• There’s no doubt that Tun Dr. M has done alot of good things during his term as the PM. However, even legends makes mistakes and to err is only human. Starting Proton is one of his biggest mistake, so the decent thing is to sell it off completley and cut losses. Otherwise JV with other big names and let them control and run the show if you want Proton to be successful.

• Munkay on May 22, 2014 at 10:27 pm

I only have one question. Why is it that good people perish so soon yet evil people seem to live on forever?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • thebugbud on May 22, 2014 at 10:30 pm

The way Ah jib talk, sounds like his balls were squeezed by Dr. M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Proton is a 5 stars brand in Malaysia!

Tun Dr. M is the best man in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
  • Capt slow on May 22, 2014 at 11:08 pm

First order of business, stop calling it bloody proton… What a stupid name! It already has so much bad press in this country and overseas. They need to rebrand and give it a new image and then relaunch this thing. Even then it’s gonna fail if it’s under the same bunch of cronies controlling it. Just cut your losses and close shop la!

• Henry on May 23, 2014 at 9:36 am

Ya, maybe Neutron, Atom, Electron or Megatron? How about Ion?

• Danny on May 22, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Sigh….
    I hate to say this but I hope dr m won’t die broken hearted from the failure of proton. But then again he is old… And mayb he might die together with proton. But anyway, dr m it’s a little too little late to make ppl remember u… Mayb u might take out your billions to aid potong, but dun think so… Throw money into the sea still can hear sound throw into sotong…

• dsgmqbtsi on May 22, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Share platform and engine with another company please,dont waste the r&d money to prove” proton boleh”, sendri syiok sja,rakyat tak syiok….

• smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 2:25 pm

That’s too simple. Can’t siphon out much. Kind of like why Tenaga chose (dirty) coal when the rest of the world was moving to gas to generate electricity. Gas, straight from Petronas plant into gas turbine generator. Coal, buy and transport by Crony Sdn. Bhd.

• Msiaboleh on May 23, 2014 at 12:10 am

Desperate move by proton. What a shame.

The man who gave us talks about meritocracy is now begging for gov protection. Bravo.

• Come on Poton, i want Poton Civic, Poton CrV, Poton Estima, Poton Vellfire, Poton 328i. Please…..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 12:35 am

mana itu gsc?

• Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 10:10 am

Perhaps they have discovered some flaws while testing and has gone back to the drawing board.

• If Dr M can turn proton around, he should have done it 20years ago. Now competition is so fierce and engineering innovation and reliability have taken the leading role in sale and branding which proton don’t have. Why still want to keep dreaming that we can penetrate world market?

• Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 10:13 am

Competition is fierce now is because the Gomen has relax a little on foreign make, they can always go back to the old ways to choke the foreign makers.
      Watch out for the NAP 2015.

• samlok on May 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

i would have prefer that way so not many ppl afford to buy imported car. HeHe..

• Steve Kok on May 23, 2014 at 1:05 am

Proton’s new motto,

Vorsprung durch Protektion
    (Since 1985)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • rickyll (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 6:36 am

When Tun M said, “We are just starting” he was telling the truth. With his appointment, Proton is back to square one. He was being honest to say that Proton is just starting to learn A to Z about auto industry. Malaysian would brace themselves for another round of Proton’s learning process. “Look East Policy”,”Wawasan 2020″, Pewaja and Proton included were glaring failures during his tenure as PM. Do Malaysian deserve all these nonsense.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 7:31 am

We want to do more than that. We want to learn from A to Z. Because of this, we have not been able to export (Proton cars) the way the Thais do.

May I ask.. is this to justify more protection?

• Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 12:48 pm

boleh tahan kau meroyan.. a lot of comments need answers..

at least they admit they would learn from A-Z.., perodua..? they learnt how to design “P” badge..??only..??
      protection..?? juz wait and see ..for u whose rich..no need to bother so much..tax mahal2..6K pay can pay ma..

• Proton Assss on May 23, 2014 at 7:47 am

Proton balik tidur la

• longjaafar on May 23, 2014 at 8:46 am

In these times when cost of living is going up and up, here comes someone who says that we will still have to continue to subsidise a mistake that was created 30 years ago…

• Paul, love your blog so much – been following since Waja days..The comments here, its going from worse to worst – sad.

• Kangkung on May 23, 2014 at 9:51 am

Dulu lu cakap tak boleh rely on tongkat. Sekarang lu jadi tongkat ali untuk potong. Siapa yang bayarkan kerugian kroni?

• Fuel Cell Phone on May 23, 2014 at 8:47 am

Seriously.. apart from asking for extended protection, hope Tun has plans to recapture the 80% market share.. fingers cross

• old dog on May 23, 2014 at 8:52 am

You want a 88 years old retired doctor to rescue a dying car company?
    That shows how irrelevant the country has become in not grooming young business leader (since we know all Ah-Noh with relationship took it), and i am no surprise many GLC without protection will die.
    It is an economic cycle, that the Ah-Noh in power will not understand since they never empower skilled or knowledge people except their own stupid gang….TIMBER!!!

• Ah Lan on May 23, 2014 at 10:46 am

TDM is there not to “rescue”, it’s to “protect”. The young fellow talk sense, the old man talk “protectionism”. BN- Barang NAIK, Harga kereta naik. To save our beloved PROTON.

• Eddie on May 23, 2014 at 9:22 am

OH LIN!

• No wonder he didn’t care when DSZ bodek by calling him Ayahanda during Preve launch.
    He just wants his CEO seat.

• iluvpotong on May 23, 2014 at 9:32 am

Let’s have a special “TM” version of all proton models to celebrate the good news!

• smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 11:49 am

And the only way they will sell will be to be sold cheap. Brainwave, let’s not just give Proton a 50% rebate on excise duty, let’s make it 100%! We can always squeeze some more tax RM from the Rakyat by other means, like GST on their Nasi Kandar, no problem.

• POTONG on May 23, 2014 at 10:02 am

I hate it when every single thing in Malaysia are linked with the word BUMIPUTRA.

Seriously this is business. Stop mixing race in it. Favoring a particular race in business is blatant discrimination no matter how you put it.

How long more the Rakyat has to suffer with poor quality car in the name of patriotism. What do we the rakyat get by supporting proton for the past 30 years?
    Yes ! We get the surprise when foreigners is other countries get to buy a proton with better specs at a cheaper price compare to us in Malaysia.

I think proton has just run out of excuses.

• Buying proton you don’t only get low quality car but you are supporting cronies on rakyat expense.

Proton & MAS are dead showing loses year in year out cause its run by lazy monkeys……

• monkeys work hard to get peanuts lah,this bunch of joker got $$ buta -lah,hence worst than monkeys!

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 10:48 am

What strikes fear into me his the last statement he made which read ‘We hope the government will protect us a little bit from foreign models because they have economies of scale’. How much protection does one company need? Its been 30 f@#$% years and you are now part of a conglomerate that is quite sizable in the ASEAN region if not the world. This need of assistance and government help is just so stereotypical. I need not say in what way as this is a car blog (although i’m sure many of your will know what i am implying)

While i have respect for the man, his views and policies are obsolete. I’m all in for seeing Proton do well as their latest wave of models are quite a step forward but you can’t shield a company from competition and hope it competes with the world. That’s business 101!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 3:05 pm

To make P1 feasible again..

Why not ban all car makers in this country. . Including Perodua. . Let only Protong become sole seller & manufacturer.. They ve all segments dy.. they ve two engines can use in all .. campro 1.3 & 1.6.. that’s it.

By doing this not only 80%.. but can get 100% market share. .

Please. . Do it.. Don’t say Im not patriotic. . We do not need competition. .

We want to do more than that..

• wow he is kissing his S

• Jason on May 23, 2014 at 7:02 pm

I have had the experience of owning 2 Protons. Each time sent car to Proton workshop to check on problem, got standard operating reply ‘ini Proton biasalah!

• Murderer on May 23, 2014 at 7:20 pm

This old hag never rest

• Albert Lee on May 23, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Well someone is coming in board to do the closing ceremony.
    Someone started it and we need that someone to do it.
    PROTONG, a market share DROP of 60% is UNACCEPTABLE since a large portion of TAXPAYER’s money has been channelled to this FAILED AUTOMOTIVE MANUFACTURER.
    NO HOPE AT ALL.Even Brilliant Carlos Ghosn couldn’t and wouldn’t rescue this sinking PROTanic(SHIP is TITANIC).

• botol on May 24, 2014 at 3:42 am

Nice one najib. Get tun occupied and off your back. Let him play in his proton garage. Proton is dead anyway.

• botol on May 24, 2014 at 3:49 am

Rakyat need to put their foot down. Boycott proton. Its easier to get loan to buy perodua anyway.

• Betulkah PM?

Proton has been under this old man since he was PM but what he has done last time? Now, he is getting older, what can he do? Force us to buy proton? continue to take our hard earned money to subsidize Proton so that it can provide better spec with lower price? Impose higher tax to all other cars?