Renault Fluence 2.0 unveiled in Malaysia – RM115k

Renault Fluence Malaysia launch- 10

This morning finally puts an end to so many months of spyshots and teasers – the Renault Fluence has officially entered the Malaysian scene. The C-segment sedan is locally assembled (CKD) in Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Segambut plant, and to that effect, a manufacturing agreement was signed today between Renault and local distributor TC Euro Cars.

The Renault Fluence comes in a sole 2.0 16v 140 X-Tronic variant. It gets a 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine that produces 143 hp at 6,000 rpm and 195 Nm of torque at 3,700 rpm, and an X-Tronic CVT with oil cooler – the previous-gen (G11) Nissan Sylphy had a similiar drivetrain, albeit with different numbers (131 hp at 5,200 rpm and 191 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm) and tuning.

The century sprint is dealt with in a little above 10 seconds, and top speed is 195 km/h. Combined fuel economy is a claimed 7.7 litres per 100 km on the European cycle.

Renault Fluence Malaysia launch- 24

Based on Renault-Nissan’s C platform (which also underpins Renaults Megane and Koleos), our Fluence is the facelifted model (a different Euro-market facelift debuted in Istanbul in 2012, with Renault’s current ‘big diamond’ corporate face). The projector headlamps have black surrounds, and the wheels are 17-inch alloys covered in 205/55 series tyres.

Length, width, height and wheelbase are 4,618, 1,813, 1,485 and 2,702 mm respectively. MacPherson struts sit up front while a torsion beam sits out back, and there are disc brakes on all wheels.

It’s worth noting that despite using a similiar engine and gearbox as the previous generation Sylphy, the Fluence is not an old Sylphy with different body panels. The previous generation Sylphy was built on a stretched Renault-Nissan B segment platform (also used for cars like the Nissan Latio) so despite having a C segment car’s length and wheelbase, you can’t run away from B segment roots so the result is a car that is narrow. The Fluence on the other hand is built on a C segment platform from the ground up.

The kit list is pretty extensive – you get auto headlamps and wipers, leather seats, dual-zone auto air-con, rear air vents, keyless entry and start (Renault hands-free card) and cruise control. The back seats are split 60:40 and there’s a fold-down armrest with two cupholders.

Renault Fluence Malaysia launch- 12

A seven-inch touch-screen incorporates Renault R-Link, navigation, voice recognition, Bluetooth, MP3, CD, USB and reverse camera display, while sound is played through a six-speaker Arkamys 3D sound system. The security guards are six airbags, ESP, ASR and rear-seat Isofix.

The Renault Fluence goes for RM115,000, OTR without insurance. Included is a standard five-year warranty with unlimited mileage, and standard two years’/40,000 km free service, but for a limited time you’ll get a five year/100,000km free service package as part of a promotional offer. Furthermore, if your car has to undergo maintenance in the workshop for more than 48 hours, you get a courtesy car.

Available colours are Ultra Silver, Black Metallic, Mars Grey and White Pearl. We’ve already entered the Renault Fluence into CarBase.my – check out full specifications and equipment, or see how it compares to its closest segment rivals.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Olala on May 22, 2014 at 10:53 am

Boring and expensive parts. Distribute by tan chong more worst..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 75
    • kzm (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Lol…the distributor is TC Euro Car…Tan Chong oni assemble

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 34
      • dewasemut on May 22, 2014 at 4:45 pm

2 x 5
        TC Euro Car is also Tan Chong la brader
        TC = Tan Chong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • shame_Loo on May 22, 2014 at 3:46 pm

The dash board design is like our local cheap quality vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Which one? Doesn’t look anything like Proton to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • ryan goh on May 22, 2014 at 5:43 pm

I was at the launch and you are completeley wrong mate. Quite an impressive dashboard ahich is adopted from Renault Sports with soft materials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
      • The_Prez on Jul 14, 2014 at 10:49 am

You’re completely wrong! Please don’t be so quick to judge… I know penetrating the Malaysian market would not be easy however stepping stones are a must. Besides, i’ve taken a look at the car and it seems pretty good. On top of that, the price range is affordable for a 2 litre car with full accessories such as leather seats…. More importantly, you’re getting a 5 YEAR FACTORY WARRANTY (not 2+3)! ! ! Serviced by TCEC/Renault and not some 3rd party outsourced company. So that’s my 2cents…

• ABTguy (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 4:23 pm

It’s a French car, so quickly run away from it :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
      • Jimmy on May 22, 2014 at 5:58 pm

The price ought to be more competitive. Renault is new to many people here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 9:51 am

Renault = Nissan. this car is reliable. coz sharing nissan platform, engine. Only chassis, and design are different. It’s Japanese base + Euro spec. Thats why ESP, ASR, Leather seat, follow me home , auto lights, auto wipers, 6 Airbags, etc euro standard are followed. If dont consider Resale Value, this car is really well done with 5 years free service and 5 years unlimited warranty on RM115 price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Unlike you I _am_ a Renault owner, and I couldn’t be happier with the service. Good and friendly mechanics that don’t try to cheat you, that will not do _anything_ without permission, plus reasonable prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • one thing for sure, this car definitely cannot inFluence me to buy it.
      next, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • Nissan on May 22, 2014 at 7:02 pm

only aunties & uncles in the launch….why no sexy girls & handsome guys? clear & obvious that this is for that market segment only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
    • Extreme ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 9:53 am

Its euro style. its not ugly for european design. Its different method to Japs.

• Hyundai aka Junk on May 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

If it come in with Junk Samsung SM3 then all this kaki bodek korea would says it perfect car..bunch of phony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • lowprofile on May 24, 2014 at 9:58 am

how do you know the parts are expensive? have you done a comparison chart for a basket of frequently changed parts and infrequently changed parts to compare? and what do you compare it to? do yourself a favour. do some checking first before lashing out mindlessly.

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 9:55 am

i think for engine parts (Common Nissan) will not expensive. maybe body parts and accesories

• What not to like about this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
    • car hentai on May 22, 2014 at 11:46 am

have u experience a 7 yrs old proton savvy..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
      • I have actually.but not in ownership context.so dont know how old that savvy was.

my verdict:superb handling,excellent fuel consumption,lousy built quality.but i guess we can blame that last part to proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:41 pm

The Savvy engine is reliable, it was the automatic gearbox that Proton sourced that was awful. Nevermind, if you had read this article you would have noticed that the engine and gearbox are taken from the previous gen Sylphy. Did that car have engine/gearbox problems?

• the weird exterior design and a 1990s Dashboard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
  • The package sounds really good to be honest. But one thing that I am still doubtful is the service and maintenance cost, considering this is an European car. But, who knows. Considering it is using the Nissan drivetrain, maintenance cost should be lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • The Fluence is mostly an asian car. It’s assembled in
      Busan, South Korea (Renault Samsung)
      Bursa, Turkey (Oyak-Renault)
      Chennai, India (Renault India)
      Santa Isabel, Argentina (Renault Argentina)

Not a single one is assembled in Europe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • frenzyaustin on May 22, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Isn’t Turkey considered as Europe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Johnny on May 22, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Turkey is half Asia half Europe. It’s Eurasian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • letstorque on May 22, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I think Bursa is in Asia part of Turkey

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:42 pm

It didn’t enter the European Union though they keep trying (and by the way Erdogan behaves it never will). Also only a small part of it is on the European continent.

• Only a small part of Instabul is in Europe. 99% of Turkey is in Asia.

• Turkey is ASIA on May 26, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Turkey is 97% Asia and 3% Europe. Only the 3% land north of Bosphorus Strait is Europe. You surely fail your Geography in School, no wonder become car salesman

• Simon Hee on May 22, 2014 at 3:50 pm

This one is definitely originally from Korea. Its using Hankook spare tyres.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 10:37 pm

That other car site says the CKD kit is sourced from Korea (which also explains why this car is not the latest facelift… in Korea they sell this exact car with a Samsung badge).

• and ur hp in made in china too…LOL

• Wilson Lim on May 22, 2014 at 3:17 pm

You can find the service pricing at this website

http://renault.com.my/services/rms2.html

• KangKungMan on May 22, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Aduih… few hundreds per service … if after warranty … lagi headache !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • lowprofile on May 22, 2014 at 10:34 pm

you are saying expensive in comparison to what? have you seen japanese and korean service prices lately? the only one that is cheap beyond cheap is toyota but that brand today you don’t buy for anything exciting or outstanding. so, what are you comparing to? even proton is a few hundred per service already. live in the present.

• http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renault_Fluence this car MODEL already present since 2009, isn’t that is abit slow in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • xiper (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 12:17 pm

the distributor is ETCM, 5 years late is normal for them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
  • GDrogon on May 22, 2014 at 11:23 am

Plastic, low brand value, outdated design still not bad of safety feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • …still not convincing enough to get people to buy it.. anyway it’s good to have a new model competing in this crowded segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • TheDean on May 22, 2014 at 11:30 am

Wow. At this price with all the bells and whistles and FIVE YEARS FREE SERVICE it is a real challenger for the Altis and Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 12
  • Wilson Lim on May 22, 2014 at 11:31 am

WOW! this is the first time i tell myself,”this Renault is worth getting! affordable yet quite a list of features! “

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on May 22, 2014 at 11:32 am

A promising start for Renault but this is the older version of the Fluence and it shows that Renault is not sincere to bring in the latest model for us Malaysians….why are we always getting the older models as if we’re their junkyard?

The kit line up however is quite good but sadly Renaults can only roam around Selangor and KL. Venture any further than that is at your own risk. Any break downs outstation and your nearest SC is in KL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr on May 22, 2014 at 11:35 am

My bad they actually have SC nationwide but most of them are not 3S level.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Renault has SC in Penang and JB, at least. And I can say that the JB one is really good. No complaints whatsoever, I’ve heard so many horror stories from SC of other brands, and none apply to that JB one.

• longjaafar on May 22, 2014 at 11:32 am

It’s good value for money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • it uses the Old Nissan Slyphy Drivetrain.

o’ outdated drivetrain.
    but cool also, u can taste Renault @ budget.

• BlackBJQ on May 22, 2014 at 12:09 pm

nope..they use datsun’s drivetrain instead

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:46 pm

If they would use one of the normal Renault drive trains people would worry it won’t be reliable. Now they use a drive train that is proven in Malaysia and people still complain…

• Obviously (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

It’s normal for Malaysians to complain…it’s like a national past time…

• theanswer on May 22, 2014 at 11:36 am

wow nice price and spec. thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • someone told me this;

“buying a Renault is really asking for trouble”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • why la on May 22, 2014 at 12:14 pm

yah…RV is 50% gone moment you took the key not even drove off the showroom….have yet to check it our but French lady is very delicate….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • klata-klata on May 22, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Current Renaults marketed and serviced by Tan Chong may be different from the Renaults in the past. We don’t hear scary tales about the many Renault Kagoos running around Malaysia.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Let me guess. A Toyota salesman told you that?

• No… just a concerned friend. But we were talking about an used Renault Clio though.

• I would choose this anytime compare to Nissan Slyphy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • Tyler Durden on May 22, 2014 at 11:42 am

Yup. Kudos to TC Euro. A 2009 model is finally here…in 2014!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • spongewai on May 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

hmm =)

• Who dare to buy this?

• GoodDeal on May 22, 2014 at 11:48 am

Seems like a good deal. I like the part where they offer 5 year free maintenance and a courtesy car if the repair will take more than 48 hours.
    What do you guys think? Is this value for money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I think it is. It’s a decent car, very competitively priced, with good service, 5 years free even, and a proven drivetrain. Worth getting.

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 10:11 am

Yes,worth getting.
        Compare to Sylphy, this comes with lots feature in accessories,active safety + free service for 5 years, unlimited mileage warranty.
        Nissan still stick with 3 years 100k mileage warranty rite?

• Steve Jobs on May 22, 2014 at 11:48 am

this car is on diet ? hehe so slim.

• i believe the durability n reliability of a car somehow depends on the way you taking care of it. you drive it nicely n it’ll stay nice la. not that you drive like an asshole the expecting the car wudnt get any problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 10:14 am

agree. after checked renault website. total service cost is 7K for 120K mileage. now Renault giving free…….
      Compare to toyota, the service cost is cheaper.

• NO PARKING SENSORS???????

LOL…..

• why la on May 22, 2014 at 12:15 pm

wow very sharp eyes….ok ok…can do business d….start selling those sensons…always Nissan and Renault will have something abnorm for business partners to make money…..not bad tho!

• why la on May 22, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Just like new Teana…no ICE!!! Accessories shop got chance again to sell good ICE..

• Kawtim on May 22, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Rear camera is provided..what else u want..unless u are buta..lol

• theanswer on May 22, 2014 at 4:53 pm

been driving 5 yrs old saga blm without camera or reverse sensor. hahaha so far no problem.

• Battu on May 22, 2014 at 11:56 am

Nicely priced for a conti c-segment car. unfortunately with malaysian mindset, this will probably not doing well on sales.
    how about a change people, dont just stuck with T&H with subpar quality and specs.

• SGBVQA on May 22, 2014 at 11:57 am

For L38K team members,
    Congrats for a great job!

• lemer on May 22, 2014 at 12:00 pm

This car will gain Malaysian market if they put the price at 100K, psychology barrier price for foreign brands brands. Peugeot with their C segment at 100K is able to sell their cars close to 1000 carsmonthly and KIA with their C segment Cerato rightly price at 99K is starting gaining the market. Renault because they don’t have car to sell at that price hardly sell anything till now less than 10 cars monthly.
    With this new CKD car priced at 115K I still think it would be difficult to lure the buyer and compete with KIA cerato or Peugeot 308 both these 2 laters model price around 99K – 100K.
    And don’t bother with C- segment from sushi brands such as Altis, City and 3, they are overprice. Sushi brands know eventhough they are overpriced, Malaysian will keep buying due to ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • Sahaja on May 22, 2014 at 1:38 pm

You forgot to mention other foreign brand of C segment car that price correctly: Hyundai Elantra price at 93K. So why should buy overprice car if you want to drive foreign brands, if you there is available better value for money such as Elantra.

• Jaybond on May 22, 2014 at 3:06 pm

That RM 93K Hyundai Elantra, is it 1.6L or the 1.8L version? The 1.8L Elantra is priced over
        RM 100K. Feature & brand prestige-wise, the Renault Fluence is the better choice.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Good to know there are more choices in the market. Choice is always good from a consumer standpoint.

Although i must say that all the effort to localize the product should have been done with a view to really make an impact.

If they could price it at 120 k i’m quite sure they could have taken a hit and price it around 100-105 (and maybe a lower engined/specs at the 80-90 range) to make people stand up and take notice like how the original Forte did to the C segment.

It is not an established brand to pass of last gen tech and be accepted like some of the ‘bigger’ brands here. Fairly niche for now until a price drop.

• why la on May 22, 2014 at 12:12 pm

I don’t know but I want to ask what if the car is running on highway and the passenger accidentally hit the Start/Stop button? will the car stop or the butt is disable when the car is moving? Anyone tried before?? comment please…..TQ.

• I have accidentally hit eh electronic “P” button while cruising at high speed. Nothing happen, it just give warning error.

However, when i am slow and hit the P it really put into P and stops the car.

But then this is the P button not Start/Stop

• Ananz on May 22, 2014 at 4:41 pm

The push start button will not work unless your gear is engaged in N or P at an idle position. While your car is moving pushing the button will not stop the engine so no worries on that part. If not there would have been multiple reports of accidents from the millions of car in this world with push start buttons.

• TSsss on May 22, 2014 at 12:14 pm

They are not sincere to sell the car to righh hand drive country.
    The Start Stop Button locate so far away from the dash. they onlt think for left hand drive. but still want to sell to right hand drive country.

• cutester on May 22, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Ya, also noticed the gear indicators is on the left side too near the gear knob.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 1:52 pm

u r damn right bro! i just notice that push start button! so bad lah

• shawal on May 22, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I own a savvy and i can understand fully the frustration of other owners.. But after spending some of money, everything works well

This is a good looking car, with a japanu ese drivetrain, ECTM has done their homework well in delivering such a car with a price that undercuts its rivals.., it wont sell well, but definitely will sell…

Can someone clarify the lack of parking sensors in such a long car?
    Its weird to have satnav but no parking sensor, unless….they expect us to fully rely on d rear facing camera…

The plasticky interior might not appeal to some but it is durable, be sure to test drive and check refinement

Not all french products are bad….airbus is french…..
    fren.

• Singapore Taxi on Malaysian road. No diesel? Use as airport LIMO in future, like the old cefiro and pasang NGV

That price, I think I would buy a used Camry or Accord.
    Should rebadge it into nissan so resale value a bit better…

• sepul on May 22, 2014 at 12:58 pm

At least the kit list are impressive, and the price is not bad. Looks is very old though.

• Great specs for its price. Only thing is the spare parts, maintenance, and the dull design

• roxas on May 22, 2014 at 1:24 pm

other than the speedometer tat catches my eyes, the cabin looks like from fisher-price toys..

• rchoo on May 22, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Yuk, internal design looks outdated with cheap Japanese Plastic.

It is the typical cheap japanese plastic feel that wreck this once beautiful french car. Among Citreon, Peugeot and Renault, Renault will fare the worst in years to come.

• Sahaja on May 22, 2014 at 1:46 pm

This car is still overprice. Hyundai Elantra, the same C segment is priced around 94K. Toyota and Mazda are just showing their greediness pricing their model Altis and 3 above 130k.

• It’s a 2.0 engine dude, one of the cheapest car with 2.0 engine similar to the cerato

• fenzo60 on May 22, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Peugeot 408 2.0 just 95k otr!

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 11:06 am

Peugeot.. always battery problems. my work pal using an 308 turbo. battery change 4 times in one and half years.
          SC can not identify problems.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 1:47 pm

>old, outdated n ugly design.. but that 5yrs package is most welcome.. still i’m not gonna buy it.. better options from other brands :)

• Denaihati on May 22, 2014 at 1:51 pm

interesting price with 5 yrs warranty and 40k km free service. i realized the handbrake lever close to front left passenger, something wrong. i think at least at the center.

• 98913U on May 22, 2014 at 1:57 pm

New model has been selling in SG since 2013, where else MY TC suka suka launch outdated model in 2014

• Henry on May 22, 2014 at 2:08 pm

This is just a Nissan Sylphy with a Renault body.

• Free Service on May 22, 2014 at 2:25 pm

free service means labour cost.
    total 5 years labour cost may cost up to RM2k only.
    think wisely.

• Ugly car of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Free Service on May 22, 2014 at 2:32 pm

lazy people design.
    the handbrake never shift to correct possition from left handed version.
    Pls dont buy this car.
    Lefthanded version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Jaybond on May 22, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Powertrain aside, at least this CKD Renault Fluence is the better option than the CKD Volkswagen Jetta in terms of features.Still a good buy!

• ryan goh on May 22, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Fully Agreed. My brother just bought the jetta and already got in to troubles.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Come to think of it based on the comments i have seen this may indeed end up as the preferred premium taxi fleet replacement in Malaysia.

TC has always been good at peddling some of their models as taxis. The fact that they took all the trouble to CKD it leads me to believe that is the case as the demand from premium taxis in this country is growing fast.

Let’s see how if this turns out to be true.

• nabill (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Actually not bad,price is competitive n thrs a wllingness to improve the name n ownership experience it seems……its a good start….it has a nissan mechanicals so it should b reliable as well and more affordable spareparts….
    But for Renault to have any name here,thy have to ckd those small clio’s n sell thm below 80k

• Jaybond on May 22, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Maybe Renault will bring in CKD Clio & Latitude to gain more exposure..

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Below 80k will be impossible. It is around the price of a Fiesta and 208 in Europe, so be glad when it is below 90k.

• car lover on May 22, 2014 at 3:27 pm

What’s with car manufacturers in Malaysia these days? They are so boring. Any car that is launched comes in the standard white, aluminum, black, or grey? Are there no other exciting colors to offer. Is this how exciting Malaysians are when it comes to colors? Sad, isn’t it!

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:58 pm

It’s the same outside of Malaysia. 50 shades of grey. Only small cars are colourful.

• sick&tired on May 22, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Why are we getting the pre-facelifted model!!?? The facelifted model is so much nicer. For that I will never even consider buying this car. Shame on you Tan Chong & Renault for treating Malaysians like idiots. Even though Toyota,Honda & Nissan have been doing it for years………

• bukharin on May 22, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Errr.. this is the latest facelifted Fluence !

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 5:59 pm

It is not. The latest version has the new Renault family face.

• Yea ._. the facelift has the bigger ‘diamond’. Selling old stocks here. Typical TC.

• start a fight on May 22, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Uuuu.. I dunno how to pronounce the car name.. Better not buy it coz later auntie ask the name cannot answer

• fthem on May 22, 2014 at 4:25 pm

-wrong placement of start/stop button
    -gear indicator on the wrong side
    -handbrake also nearer to the left

not meant for our country … right hand drive.

are we a fool to accept this kind of product from the west? who they think they are? our master? f them

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Pretty much the whole world drives left hand drive cars. Of course manufacturers will focus on left hand drive, especially those that don’t have good sales in right hand drive countries. It’s nothing about being masters or anything.

• Price and everything else is ok except for the dashboard and the pop up looking monitor in the middle…. that’s a major turn off.

• Ron Jeremy on May 22, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Dafuq? drove this car when I was living in Korea 4 years ago! Only now it reaches Malaysia?
    Back then it was called SM3 by Samsung a rebadge model. Good driveability and ride though. With some quality issues (typical Renault).

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Quality issues are typical Samsung. My Samsung phone also got quality issues…

• Not bad for a price.. but.. mixed feelings; externally doesn’t look that great, internally doesn’t look that great either. But should be leaps and bounds better to drive then their Japanese counterparts and the Cerato which is similarly priced.

• Simon on May 22, 2014 at 6:07 pm

I am no expert like all but i do know have little knowledge as per the below:
    -At least Renault seems coming back to Malaysia.I am sure its not TC’s (As its TC EURO)issue for the older look Fluence.Surely they have their own plans.What matters is they deliver as per they have mentioned specially the after sales.
    -THe car doesnt look the sexiest yes but with that price a premiur car compare to my current Honda…i salute them specially when the european cars usually seem expensive
    -European cars has better comfort and safety and Reault is famous for that and i have seen in korea and indonesia also the same They dont play with those.
    -I believe in terms of quality Renault will be way better then VW and Citron or even HOndas.They shall fight with Peugoet and Subaru or nissan.Its a different league game.
    -Ya only the seats should have been automated.They should have red and other attractive colours

• 4G63T DSM on May 22, 2014 at 6:16 pm

That’s certainly a very interesting price.

That should be the cheapest C segment 2.0L sedan in the market with full safety equipment and pretty much good list of standard equipment.

Nipping the Cerato 2.0 by a hair. Would still go for the Cerato though.

Too bad Peugeot wont equip their 408 2.0 with 6 airbags and a bit more standard equipment to make it a 3 way fight. Its certainly in striking range, likewise Nissan’s own Sylphy.

• sudonano (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 6:35 pm

It makes sense for them to launch the Fluence at this price and spec. Its a no nonsense family car, should be very comfortable to drive, and very European.

The stigma that French cars are not reliable is no longer there anymore, considering the number of Peugeots sold in Malaysia, and more so considering this Fluence essentially uses the last Sylphy’s power train, so it will be extremely reliable and should be cheap to run too.

Bring the Clio, Megane and probably Renault could give Peugeot and the now shaky Volkswagen Malaysia a run for the money.

• old model…….the new model is out n is better than this one, y tc y ?u always bring in old model for malaysian

• kctan on May 22, 2014 at 8:12 pm

new model 2014 come with this grill ….
      wat old model?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtC3DYV0OS4

• kadajawi (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Well, it’s complicated, really. The Fluence was launched in 2009 or so. After that followed a facelift (IIRC). Then another facelift not so long ago. This facelift received a Samsung badge and was sold in Korea as a Samsung. Finally Renault introduced yet another facelift at the end of last year or beginning of this year, which brings it in line with the new Renault family face. The new design is centered around the Renault logo, so it makes no sense for Samsung to produce it.

Which brings us to the version for Malaysia. Since the CKD kits are supplied from South Korea, they feature the front end version with the Samsung badge… just swapped with the Renault badge.

Not sure how big the differences are to the latest version (they look pretty similar), the headlights do look very similar for example. Perhaps in an effort to use more local content they can start making the new front end in Malaysia, eventually (maybe next year?), and release it as a facelifted model.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Funny thing. Pretty much exactly 1 month ago Renault Samsung has launched the SM3 Neo… basically the same car, but with the new Renault family face. Which might mean they stop producing the old face soon, which means TC has no choice than to introduce the new face soon. This version could become a collectors item. :D

• ben yap on May 22, 2014 at 11:18 pm

the moment you drive out the showroom, the car is worth RM60K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Steve Kok on May 23, 2014 at 1:34 am

You are looking at a car that will worth about RM20K after 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • peugeotowner on May 23, 2014 at 5:19 am

If you are from a company of another car brand, i suggest that you stop your cheap comments here. This French car is good value for money. European styling beats Asian cars anytime and everytime. Most of you guys have not even smelt the car yet shamelessly comment. If you can`t afford it, just envy it. Kudos to Renault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • SoMeOnE (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:09 am

Agree with you on the rubbish resale value comments mate but European car designs don’t beat Asian car designs EVERYTIME. Have u seen the monstrosities that come out of that continent time to time? Or are u just being a fanboy? In that case they are a PERFECT 10 in your eyes ;)

• Samee on May 23, 2014 at 12:50 pm

lol Agree

• Is that the hood-release switch at the feet of the front passenger?

• azmanfarris on May 23, 2014 at 9:21 am

Agreed peugeotowner. We all do comments like we have driven and tested them like the pros lol.
    They have just entered the market and we started to generalize.If they are giving so much of benefits with the car then they are sure of their products too. When VW came to the market, i have seen so much of great comments while VW is just exactly the proton for european markets while Renault, peugueot are considered higher rated brands. TC may not be the best in after sales but noone also have the best rating in this segment.VW,toyota,Honda, Peguoet?? all had their bad names but as i do use TC after sales for my nissan, at least i am happy so far with little hickups:)
    Cmmon guys lets be realistic instead of go here and there with cheap comments.

• azhar on May 23, 2014 at 10:24 am

2.0 for 115K?..shame on you UMW!!

• hi, could anybody explain how gst will affect car prices? what is the price difference if the same car is bought this year or in april 2015 once the gst takes effect? thank you

• Espace on May 23, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Renault builds great cars but after the warranty runs out, be prepared for big bills … not easy to resell or maintain.

• Samee on May 23, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Actually TC Euro have a successful launch on Fluence, with only 1 day already attracted 130 comments.

Why????
    Peoples care about Renault? or others try to spoil it? Please give them some chance, let TC proof it.

Good job. TC.

• Jamal on May 23, 2014 at 5:26 pm

I seen this car in India on August 2011 and shocked with it’s beauty, how can debuted in Istanbul on 2012? Confusing statement.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Ok. Basically the Fluence was launched in 2009 or so after the Megane III was introduced, which didn’t have a sedan version anymore. But it’s pretty much a Megane sedan. It was also introduced as Samsung SM3.

2012 saw 2 facelifts, one for the Samsung version (which is what we are getting), few months later the version for the rest of the world, technically identical, but featuring the new Renault family face was launched. The Samsung version is also sold as a Renault in some places, maybe they get the cars from Korea…

TC then started planning to introduce the SM3 as Fluence, using SKD kits from Korea. 1 month before launch in Malaysia Samsung has decided to introduce the Renault family face in Korea too, so the European version is now produced in Korea. That was apparently too late for TC to change their plans, so they have introduced the older version.

What is interesting now is to see if Korea will only produce the new version from now on, which would force TC to introduce the new version of the car pretty soon.

• why didn’t show the glove box? same like other french car isn’t it?

• Looking like old car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • panjang on May 25, 2014 at 1:43 pm

impressive package..
    driven and own a french car dressed in batik clothing…if u know what i mean.
    maintenance is higher with mileage as expected with all make.
    what i like abt my renault engine is its character.soo smooth and will become lazy when i wants it.
    so fierce and powerful when i put the foot down.thanks to the super smart dpo gearbox.power delivery is direct and it almost feels like a manual.powerful engine,smart gearbox…all from a year 1998 engine+powerplant.

will i part with it?
    nope,people whom drove a car with character will understand.

• Went to test drive the Fluence yesterday.
    Car looks and feels better compared to photos.
    After the test drive, my conclusion is :-
    French design flair and comfort coupled with smooth Japanese drive train build on solid Korean quality.
    For 115k, I think everyone should include as a car to seriously consider and test before deciding on which C-segment car to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • boon yc on May 29, 2014 at 8:52 am

People seems are so expert without test driving the car haha.Funny.

drove the car yesterday while my buddy was interested and just a solid car with a great package. Doesnt matter french or japanese or another planet.Also doesnt matter which model it is.What matter is its good fits..better in comfort..better safety features and cheaper maintanance then any other european cars in the market.And i like that the doors are not like plastic as those in mazda or citreon or even honda.Good job guys.

cheaper price and the after sales service package is aweomse. what else we want? ya hope the after sales dont lie like the VW or peugoet’s thats all i want.

• My wife is driving Kangoo for 5 years and we bought it as second hand.
    People is always talking about high maintenance cost or expensive spare part, so far the maintenance cost is not higher than expected.
    I am still waiting for new Kangoo and I hope Renault Malaysia will launch this car soon.
    For this car, I believe it worth than Slyphy as cheapest C segment sedan in the market with full safety equipment and attractive package.

• Bataman on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:25 pm

i also have a fake Renault what…it is called a Savvy.

Renault Inside(tm), Proton Outside(tm)

LOL. Ok, great little car thanks to Proton, but the Renault parts are expensive…even for small stupid screw.

• Anonymous on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Photos don’t do justice. This car looks good and much better in real life than photos. Paul, please do a test drive review for this car! Having the Nissan DNA with a French emblem, should prospective owners worry about the availability of parts and maintenance cost?

• hsgoh on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:35 pm

Agreed that the Stop/Start button on far left quite cumbersome No parking sensor do not the driving school teach parking without gadget all can also pass By the way 5 years in market any comments on the pro and con of the car which all can contribute if not so give it a late try out lol

• I used to be Renault Kangoo owner for 8 years. The car was cheap to maintained with service schedule at 10,000KM. The fuel consumption is low. Now I have upgraded to Renault Fluence & it is a great car.

• I hope for those who posting comment in here really go for test drive. I hope to see constructive comment rather than ton of garbage.

• i did. It wasn’t that bad actually. Two things i don’t like, no rear sensors & when u speed up, at the rear seats esp is kinda noisy. The rest is just fine. I couldn’t ask for more for a car 2.0 at this price. After sales service package is the main reason i went to the showroom in Seberang Perai. P/S The showroom need to refurbish, really.

• What kind of noise you are referring to? I agreed, the showroom definitely need renovation. In fact I don’t like Tan Chong SC in Seberang Perai. I usually go to Bayan Lepas SC which is nearer to my work place.

• Wind noise mate. When I speed up the wind noise at the rear seat is very annoying. I went to B.Lepas are b4. Sadly they don’t have car for test drive. they also show one & the only car in the showroom which is Fluence. And they close on Sunday. S.Perai there is much better with choices of cars.

• Then it must be the window or door rubber shield that is not installed properly. Luckily I don’t have that problem. Perhaps that’s a typical CKD problem. For test drive, Seberang Perai showroom is better. But for servicing, Bayan Lepas is better.

• At first it was hard for me when reversing the car. It don’t have the familiar beeping sound. I seriously Tan Chong should install reverse sensor in this car.