Toyota develops new silicon carbide semiconductor, hybrid fuel efficiency to improve by 10%

20140520_02

A typical silicon power semiconductor versus Toyota’s new silicon carbide (SiC) version

Toyota has announced a new silicon carbide (SiC) power semiconductor for use in its automotive power control units (PCU). Developed in collaboration with Denso, the material – currently used to make carbon ceramic brake discs – is touted to increase the fuel efficiency of its hybrid vehicles such as the Prius by up to 10% on the Japanese JC08 test cycle.

While PCUs play an important role in all vehicles with electrified powertrains – sending electricity from the battery to the motor to power the car, as well as the other way round during regenerative braking – they account for approximately 25% of the total power loss in hybrids, about 20% of which comes from the silicon semiconductors currently used in them. Increasing the efficiency of these components, specifically by reducing the resistance encountered by the current passing through them, therefore seems like the logical next step.

20140520_01

A current production power control unit (PCU) versus an expected future PCU with SiC semiconductors

The SiC semiconductors not only deliver the aforementioned gains in fuel efficiency, but also allow Toyota to design PCUs that are up to 80% smaller than current units. With a low power loss enabling efficient current flow even at higher frequencies, the coil and capacitor – which together make up about 40% of the PCU’s size – can be made smaller. The size reduction is particularly beneficial at a time where tightening fuel efficiency and emissions regulations are forcing cars to become more aerodynamic.

Research on the technology has been done since the 1980s by Toyota Central R&D Labs (Toyota CRDL) and Denso, with Toyota itself joining in 2007 to develop the SiC semiconductors for practical use. The technology will be on display until May 23 at the Pacifico Yokohama convention centre in Japan.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Whynot on May 22, 2014 at 1:06 pm

One of the many reason why local car manufacturer could not compete with advance country by modern engine type is because we lack very far behind technology like this. All vehicle that is running on fossil fuels will soon have a restriction effects because of causing devastating effect on both the Artic and Antarctic continents. To go ahead without hybrid and straight to REEV is the smartest choice for the present situation and will further all EV when there is a success in producing large amount of sodium ions batteries. P1 and P2 must start thinking and planning for the future instead of cashing in on mass productions fossil fuel and global warming and damaging automobiles!

• Same L0r on May 22, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Well done, Toyota!

Fuel efficient, reliable build quality, comfort, high resale value, low maintenance fee, these are all a modern car should be capable of!

Handling(with suspension upgrade), smoke others, high speed cornering, these are all no-brainers capable of!

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 22, 2014 at 6:11 pm

We’re getting our bentley much sooner..same lor

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 22, 2014 at 6:41 pm

but i still wonder.. if this tech gonna get here.. same lor

ancient..after another ancient old tech..
        tin milo ..after another tin milo ..

what are they thinking of malaysian anyway..?? oldfolks..??

• Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 1:05 am

You saying the fuel hunger yet powerless Campro engine the ancient tech? or Iswara/Wira/Waja/Saga/Gen2/Persona/Satria the tin milo?

They simply think “Malaysian wants to protect the Proton, so impose high tax. Yet we can easily beat their best model with 10 years old engine and gearbox on our cheapest model. They still enjoying kuih lapis and teh during working hours, so rileks lar!”

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 9:51 am

beloved toyota presumably, sells more cars than any other auto manufacturer in the world.

This is not the same as being the auto manufacturer that manufactures and sells the BEST cars in the world.

toyota has done a superb job over the past decade at pulling itself up to become a leading competitor in the “car business.”

but i’m scared.. while every man in proton is enjoying kuih lapis and teh tarik during work.. the suprima / preve is having better equipped features than the most beloved toyota car..they did give lifetime warranty to the power window..

how did they manage to do that..same lor?? i believed we’re closer to our bentley but my mind kepp thinking the bentley is going far away from us ..

• KettaVreakdoWnn on May 23, 2014 at 9:55 am

The only remaining thing supporting Toyota over proton is their owners’ uncompromising, unquestioning loyalty.

The difference now is purely in peoples’ minds, and eroded every day by product safety issues.

when all malaysian realised this.. we’re doomed.. same lor

no bentley for every m’sian.. thats it..

• Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Top selling, fuel saving, technological advanced, safety features, best build quality car in the world, nowhere Proton is close to…

Malaysian maybe need some time to realise that Toyota CHEAPEST model need more safety features.

But Malaysian already realised Proton MOST EXPENSIVE model must be avoided. Check Proton sales figure, then you know.

To show determination, Proton should provide whole car 10 years unlimited mileage warranty, not only power windows!

High tax force people buy Proton, cronies can own a few Bentley.

Stop protecting the Proton, every Malaysian can buy Bentley. I will get you one free also. Continue enjoy your kuih lapis and teh lar, rileks~~~

• kzm fanboy on May 22, 2014 at 1:23 pm

I will run wearing only tiger-colour seluar dalam from Tg Malim to Shah Alam if Proton GSC fuel mileage is 30 kilometer per Liter.

Anyone wanna join me?? Place bets??

• tokmoh (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Dayum, u made me felt generous.

Some time back, i did bet i will lari bogel if gsc can do 27km/l.

But nvm, i don’t mind to join u if we lose… Which we won’t hahahaha

• Motorhead (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 2:34 pm

GSC? Mana?

• Motorbutt on May 22, 2014 at 6:22 pm

sampai sini kau meroyan.., haizz..chill bro…

why so butthurt.. ? juz get smoke were u..?

• victor tan (Member) on May 22, 2014 at 4:05 pm

Count me in, I will do the same thing if GSC official figure for its FC is 30km/L.

• kington on May 22, 2014 at 3:44 pm

I remember Jeremy Clarkson having a hard time pronouncing this word as this was used for one of the components in the Carrera GT.

Nonetheless, i like the Luxury spec Prius. Great sound system, airy cabin and pretty good fuel economy. Friend does almost 1,000 kms on a fuel tank, pumps her petrol once in 2 months. True the battery replacement costs is high but I’d buy one just to drive it in Power mode. Can be quite a fast car.

• This is great news from Toyota and automotive tech!
    I’ve been critical about Toyota’s lack of innovations for many years but this is one that I totally praise.
    Not only the silicon carbide version of the PCU is more efficient but more importantly it is smaller. Meaning it can be tucked away and place more accurately to improve space in the car or better balance.
    The efficiency probably due to the higher temperature that this material operates so cooling is less important which makes it smaller as well.