New Honda Jazz launched in Thailand, from RM55,000

2014 Honda Jazz Thailand-01

The 2014 Honda Jazz has been launched in Thailand, the first country in the region to introduce the car. The third-gen Jazz, known as the Fit in Japan, made its domestic debut in September 2013.

If the new Jazz looks familiar, that’s because we have seen its sedan sister – the Honda City was launched here in March. The latest City sports a variation of the Jazz’s “Solid Wing Face” and shares a platform with the hatchback. The dashboard is similar, too.

In the Land of Smiles, the Jazz is powered by a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine with 117 hp and 146 Nm, mated to a CVT gearbox. The E85-compatible four-pot is the same engine as our City’s 120 PS (118 hp)/145 Nm powerplant. Like the top-spec City in Thailand, the Jazz is available with steering wheel shift paddles and a seven-speed manual mode. The familiar ECON button is present, along with an Eco Coaching function.

Kit mirrors the City. Equipment highlights include a seven-inch touch-screen audio system with HDMI support, Siri Eyes Free Mode for iPhones (4S and above), touch-panel auto air-con, steering audio/phone controls and keyless entry/push start. On the safety front, top-spec cars get ABS, EBD, VSA, six airbags and a reverse camera. Ultra Seats too, of course.

Prices start from 555,000 baht (RM54,776) for a manual version (S MT). The entry CVT variant (S AT) goes for 594,000 baht (RM58,672), rising to 754,000 baht (RM74,529) for the range topping SV+ spec.

The new Jazz is definitely coming to Malaysia, and we’re predicting a third quarter 2014 debut plus good specs for the top variant. Read our review of the Honda City, because the Jazz shouldn’t feel too different from behind the wheel.

JDM Honda Fit Hybrid at Honda’s new Yorii plant

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kcng (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 9:35 am

incoming Proton & government basher in 3… 2… 1….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 82
    • antaras on May 23, 2014 at 10:53 am

wow… talk about originality…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • mizuru on May 23, 2014 at 11:11 am

any idea how is this going to be better than city,or is this just a cute filler car.

• Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Honda can price this cheaper because Thai people work hard. So, they have attracted all the car companies to CKD in Thailand and have economies of scale.

In Malaysia, we got no economies of scale because our workers are lazy, like to sleep, 7 times a day minum teh dan makan nasi lemak and makan kuih lapis in the kantin and all they think about is kahwin empat.

How to do QC when the QC officer makan kuih lapis and minum teh in the kantin 7 times a day?

The workers don’t want to work hard because they know even their children can get free scholarship just goyang kaki with no merit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 83
        • Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 4:54 pm

CKD from Thailand has much better quality than CKD in Malaysia. Why?

Honda Thailand workers:
          “We must work hard. We must focus doing our work now to achieve highest quality and global success. We take pride in what we do and only want to be remunerated if our products exhibit utmost quality and customer satisfaction”

Honda Malaysia Factory Malaysia workers:
          “Rilaks lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat. Mari minum teh dan makan kuih talam dan kuih lapis. Nanti boleh buat. Rilaks dulu. Eh tengok awek kilang, cun betul, bezz kalau dapat kongkek kat bilik stor. Jom mari lepak. Rang nak tido ni. Letih”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 59
          • albattar on May 23, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Workers everywhere is the same. It’s how u manage them. Maybe Thailand managers are better than ours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
          • namanama on May 26, 2014 at 10:46 am

who said so? thailand qc much worse than malaysia.you said our workers are lazy,makan nasik lemak drink teh tarik..and you only know to talk cock.some models got worse chasis that come from thailand,my friend fiesta got GB problem also from tailand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Malaysia Hopeless Government on May 23, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Saw in the news. thailand in the past 80 year has had berpuluh puluh riots, bombs, coups, army state and unstable government. In 80 years, the military has had 12 coups already!

And yet ALL the car companies have moved to Thailand to make it the AutoCity of Asia and the Detroit of the world.

Could this mean Malaysia is worse than Thailand? But we got no coups, no army state, no bombs and all the unstableness of Thailand.

So what do we have that made ALL the car companies run to Thailand and enrich the Thai economy with hundreds of billions in investments.

You and I know. Mahathir is the No 1 cause. All the car companies don’t want to give part of their company free to people who shake leg.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 16
        • turbo_guy on May 23, 2014 at 11:34 pm

It is not Thailand has a better workers nor technology. It was Malaysia give up the chance to become the automotive manufacturing hub in Asia. Thanks to Mr. M and his low valued Proton that we have to buy expensive cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
        • vandit on May 24, 2014 at 1:51 am

Makes you wonder, maybe a little “pressure” is what this country needs

• Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 11:00 am

Projector headlight, paddle shift, reverse camera, cool gear stick… Will these will be available in Malaysia while highest spec City here doesn’t have them?

However, well done, Honda! Again sushi car is showing off~~~

Will it be more expensive in Malaysia? Definitely, protection needed for another brand lar. We need to ensure the staff in that brand enjoy 7 times kuih lapis and teh everyday one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 14
    • busher on May 23, 2014 at 11:09 am

Serve you right proton bashers
      If you think you can buy Honda Fit for USD15k (6 airbags + VSC) / RM45k like in USA, please dream on….Oh for those who didn’t read, that 55k will probably has only 2 airbags.

Know where you foot in, do letting massive foreign car factories will get you cheap cars? You can see answer right here. The answer is NO. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 36
      • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 2:10 pm

We never dream of USD15k for this Jazz. We only dream that this car won’t cost RM110k just because of the almight 30 years old baby Proton who is addicted to a type of pacifier called “protection”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
        • busher on May 23, 2014 at 2:48 pm

You cannot read ads? Jazz only 71k now, not 110k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 19
          • Wow !! so cheap. Some people still complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 7:25 pm

You can’t read English is it?

Dr M is Proton new CEO and he is asking for more protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
          • busher on May 23, 2014 at 10:23 pm

You dun understand English, protection does not mean the price would be 100k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • busher,

The car is equivalent to RM55k in Thailand for the lowest spec.

Now, do you think that price will be the same for Malaysian model? It might start at RM70k, because of the protection (excise tax, import tax, sales tax) that are here to ensure that Proton & Perodua still have sales.

The tax imposed on cars in Malaysia is preposterous. So high that Proton being sold outside out Malaysia is actually cheaper.

To make it simple to you, it is actually cheaper to buy Proton in other countries than actually buying it in Malaysia, its homeland.

Ridiculous isn’t it…

• supriman on May 23, 2014 at 11:43 am

so the yellow one call se extreme…hope honda malaysia bring the xt too

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Oi kacang…! Enough lar…!

LOL…

• KangKungMan on May 23, 2014 at 9:41 am

Nice! Hope it fall under RM90K :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • ABTguy (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Hopefully it fall under similar pricing as the existing Jazz that we are having here. Meaning RM70k-80k level !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Isn’t it much cheaper to import directly from Thailand? Inter-ASEAN AFTA said no more car import tax each other. So only shipping, lorry transport charges to be passed to car buyers.

Crazy thing is Honda Malaysia under DRB group keep on selling it higher price even with local CKD productions. Totally against logic!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
      • ququbert on May 23, 2014 at 4:08 pm

What you say is true under “import duty”. But we have another “excise duty” that’ll raise the final price.

• _xXx_ on May 25, 2014 at 8:50 am

there’s another ‘tax’ that will determine the final price….

• FitMy on May 23, 2014 at 4:46 pm

So, if there is no import tax I can just go up to the Honda dealer in southern thailand and bring back one with full bodykit and register it here?

Interesting proposition I would say.

• seancorr on May 23, 2014 at 6:57 pm

I think that price should not be an issue but only for the lower end model. The high spec with 6 airbags, reverse camera, etc will surely retail above RM90k like the City.

• AVH (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 9:47 am

Looking at the specs sheet from Thailand, all models gets VSA as standards but only the top spec(like the City here) gets 6-airbags while the rest makes do with just 2. All in all, spec is pretty much expected but I do have one concearn….price, or more specifically price in Malaysia.

I am not sure weather is it CKD Thailand(but the price point seems to indicate so), but the reason why the Jazz seems so cheap in Malaysia was the fact that it was CKD over at the Kedah. Given that its more or less expected to be launch Q3 this year, I am highly expecting it and if it is CKD, well the City proved that HM can Up the spec without the price(in fact gaining a RM800 drop)…but than there the product cannbalsim this, HM will have to do something to seperate this two cars, pricing a top spec Jazz near RM77k will result in major drop of sales with the City S/S+…..curious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • kington on May 23, 2014 at 11:25 am

Yeah, it probably makes more sense for them to price the Jazz cheaper than the City.

But history tells us that they will concentrate on the City (higher margins i pressume and a common preference for sedans) which was why the Jazz was always sold at a premium.

• TheDuh on May 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Dear AVH,
      You need to go for grammar and spelling lessons. Or let’s just say English lessons.

• AVH (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Ironicaly….
        I am doing Part time in an English Tuition.

But yea, my grammer has always been a problem, ,mild dylexia here. Never thought of English classes except for those advance British Council course, but damn expensive.

• thebugbud on May 23, 2014 at 7:53 pm

All this damn japs car don even come with rattle dashboard, panels and seats as standard. Don’t bother, proton specs are well equipped with those “biasalah” feature.

Where can you find all this with such an affordable price. I am one of this proud owner of preve and even plan my holidays in SC.

• when come to msia proton will cry why so cheap.we want prtection..chronies worried..we want to markup thisss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Obama on May 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

Price in thai baht is almost identical to their new honda city. So, I assume the price here will be the same too, and I rather choose the honda city.

• when can Malaysian car prices be like Thailand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • Dont wish for that, u all dont know. Except for cheaper brand like Honda, Toyota or maybe Proton. Luxury brands are all at Singapore level pricing. Means its much expensive compared to Malaysia car price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Serious?Thumb down for speaking the truth? Indeed luxury car price in Thailand Philippines Indonesia and Singapore are always higher if not on par. Even some on par or cheaper than us, honestly, dont think u wanna buy that low spec car here in Malaysia.

• Define your luxury car. Mercs? Lexus?

Their Camry Accord CRV is cheaper than Malaysia.

• kcng (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:23 am

Can, please move to Langkawi or Labuan.

• Answer: not any time soon

• xiper (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

our car price is getting closer to Thailand price already, atleast its not like a 30%-40% difference like last time.

• carazy on May 23, 2014 at 10:08 am

55K, is really good bargain… but is a dream will not come true when it come here in bolehland, sure RM+-100K punye!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 11:21 am

Since Dr. M is the chairman, you can only buy this with RM130k.

No, you can’t kill the GSC baby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
  • thefact on May 23, 2014 at 10:27 am

man…its hideous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Matchy on May 23, 2014 at 10:29 am

More importantly, will it match the current jazz’s price?

• axel_stig (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 10:39 am

cool looking ride!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Josh Ling on May 23, 2014 at 10:40 am

hope can still be priced similar to the one we have now when CKD happened, or maybe slightly more expensive than City with better spec will do the trick too.

• victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 10:42 am

I don’t think Honda Malaysia could price it that low even it is CKD :(

• Joker on May 23, 2014 at 10:42 am

If the price in Malaysia is exactly the same as Thailand….
    Wow….
    i could see tons of sales….
    This Jazz looks better than the current gen and am interested to know how the modulo n mugen kits looked like.. and how bout the Hybrid version??

• Anonymous on May 23, 2014 at 10:47 am

Waiting on new Jazz Hybrid!

• Johnson on May 23, 2014 at 10:53 am

Heard mid of 2014, 95 petrol price gonna adjust again.

My suggestion to Barisan National, increase petrol price, reduce car price. Until one day when our petrol price match Thailand, our car price also match Thailand. Fair enough?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • Hafiz Rahim on May 23, 2014 at 10:54 am

For sure the price will be higher in Malaysia.. at least 70k

• victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:12 am

Hopefully at 70k is not a empty spec and epuip with standard safety features such as VSC and airbags.

• itu belakang sama itu macam suprima juga…ayoo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
  • victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:15 am

It would be perfect if they can price it like the Mirage for this segment.

• Dark era is coming back.

• Denaihati on May 23, 2014 at 11:38 am

much beautiful than existing, also awesome short gear lever.
    i believe if jazz have 4 variant as city, CKD will be cheaper than city, more interesting.

• tessiemah on May 23, 2014 at 11:50 am

Thailand’s auto industry chilled by political turmoil; the nation is a production hub for Honda, Ford and Toyota.

http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424052702303749904579577120575374750

• Let’s hope that Honda will CKD this. Price it (I mean the petrol variant) at around 75k and you’ve got a winner here. Hope that Honda has done enough in improving the NVH levels in this new model, previous one was a bit harsh and comparable to a Myvi (unfortunately).

• victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 4:02 pm

They WILL CKD this. It’s a known fact they will do so and I expected they will push it into the market during end July or end of August. However the price may be higher than our expectations :(

• Why the direct injection earth dream engine doesnt come together to Thailand??

• kctan on May 23, 2014 at 12:11 pm

rm54k 1.5 jazz manual who want buy proton in thai ,

• Now if only it’s priced at 55k in malaysia, say good bye to Myvi and the new Proton GSC sales

• The Real Maserati on May 23, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Awesome car. Gonna wipe off the Koreans frm the face of this earth.

The Koreans are slowly and surely fading away!

• Golok guy on May 23, 2014 at 1:56 pm

Thank god… Im living in sg golok… Cheap car price with subsidized malaysian gas,.., lucky me…KOFKUN MALAYSIA

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on May 23, 2014 at 4:34 pm

You should thank god for you’re still alive, not stealing petrol from malaysia… I would have expected someone to shoot or bomb your sorry ass out already…

• the backside is so ungly … honestly, the only Jazz that remains attractive is the very first model launched… after that its getting lesser to be seen on the road..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 2:31 pm

how much is proton in thailand? who will buy proton in thailand?

• People can have 55k to get Honda but here can only can a rebadge unit…

• LIEW WEI KIAT on May 23, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Why no luggage cover ? Is it safe in Malaysia ?

• turbo_guy on May 23, 2014 at 3:35 pm

“Read our review of the Honda City, because the Jazz shouldn’t feel too different from behind the wheel.” I’m doubted. Both cars have different structure and weight. How does it feel no different from behind the wheel?

• JeremyNg on May 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

How about the Jazz RS with 6 speed manual ?!

• proton-koman on May 23, 2014 at 5:02 pm

No money go buy plotong lah.. No talking talking… hehehe…

• Nicholas Lee (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 7:36 pm

I wonder where’s the 132ps 1.5l dohc engine from the japanese fit?

• Friction Avenue on May 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

If the price is close to 100k or more better buy Swift Sport

• Chyan on May 23, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Tell me they’re not using faux leather stitching on the dash like the Vios.

• When come to here, price at least 7+k, and no MT version available.

• The current model is sold at the rm75k and at top spec. I do hope prices will not go too far from here. Maybe honda Malaysia could bring in a few specs like they offer in the Honda City. Maybe an entry at RM69k or even the basic rim cap model at rm63k?

Honda Malaysia, make it happen. Motor head will go crazy….

• jazzkoman on May 25, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Jazz oni want to talk aaa? No money go buy jazz n city lah…have money oni buy accord..jazz give me free oso i don want..hehehe.. For poor people oni..can friend with plotong n pelolua…hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • rosmah bohsia umno on May 28, 2014 at 12:18 pm

any details on HYBRID?

• Whatmethink on May 28, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Proton sucks. Period.

• mushmil on May 28, 2014 at 4:35 pm

bye2 my myvi or alza
    im gonna buy this sexy car
    grrrrrrr

• Hate current government. Raised car prices like hell. Honda Jazz really fit as my second IF same price as Thailand.

Orang Teluk Intan hopefully has wisdom….