Proton Global Small Car (P2-30A) spotted in Kota Bharu, together with Polo, Myvi, Brio and Fiesta!

proton-global-small-car-benchmark-kb-spyshots-2

Reader Zaidee Hasrine has kindly shared with us on Facebook these spyshots of a few (four in total?) Proton Global Small Cars (code-named P2-30A) in Kota Bharu, apparently being benchmarked against a Volkswagen Polo TSI, Perodua Myvi, Honda Brio hatch and Ford Fiesta.

All are wearing trade plates except for the registered Polo, so it’s unclear if the VW is part of the tests, or just a random car parked there – too much of a coincidence though, don’t you think?

If the Polo TSI is indeed being benchmarked here against Proton’s newest baby, it’s a loose indication that the GSC’s motor could be turbocharged. Although rumours exist that the engine in question might be a turbocharged 1.3 litre Campro unit, we really have no way of knowing for sure.

Being a Proton (and one that’s so ‘volume’ at that), it’s sure to have many variants at launch. To that effect, these spyshots reveal two different wheels – a smaller six-spoker and a bigger five-twin spoker.

Looks like the car with the bigger wheels (right) has a little bit of a bodykit going on too, but it could be our eyes since the pictures aren’t too clear.

We’ve showed you lots of spyshots (plus a spy video) of the GSC since November last year, both at home and abroad. We’ve seen the dashboard, touch-screen and head unit, as well as its tail lamps. We also know that LED DRLs and ESC will be available, and that a CVT is very likely.

proton-global-small-car-benchmark-kb-spyshots-1

A name has already been picked from the Nama Siapa Hebat naming contest. Looks like we’ll have to get closer to the car’s launch, scheduled to happen later this year, before we know what to properly call it.

See our Proton P2-30A Global Small Car infohub for our full coverage on the upcoming Proton thus far.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Hasssan on May 23, 2014 at 10:46 am

Where is this?!! I need to know! I l ive in kb i want to hunt these cars xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 11:05 am

Yea! There are more choices at Proton Sales Carnival 2014. But don’t worry, this time the GSC definitely is year 2014 stock.

If you insist on particular year (like the wine), have to look in other models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
      • mizuru on May 23, 2014 at 11:09 am

proton pronounce prominent problem.damn it rhyme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 65
        • Obviously (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:44 am

I’m sorry but that isn’t rhyming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Proton is losing money because their workers are all lazy, like to sleep, 7 times a day minum teh dan makan nasi lemak and makan kuih lapis in the kantin and all they think about is kahwin empat.

How to do QC when the QC officer makan kuih lapis and minum teh in the kantin 7 times a day?

The workers don’t want to work hard because they know even their children can get free scholarship just goyang kaki with no merit.

This behaviour was propogated by Mahathir and has become a way of life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 124
          • Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Why Proton is losing money is attitude of the workforce.

Toyota Japan workers:
            “We must work hard. We must focus doing our work now to achieve highest quality and global success. We take pride in what we do and only want to be remunerated if our products exhibit utmost quality and customer satisfaction”

Proton Factory Malaysia workers:
            “Rilaks lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat. Mari minum teh dan makan kuih talam dan kuih lapis. Nanti boleh buat. Rilaks dulu. Eh tengok awek kilang, cun betul, bezz kalau dapat kongkek kat bilik stor. Jom mari lepak. Rang nak tido ni. Letih”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 90
          • Minum Teh Makan Nasi Lemak on May 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Why Proton is losing money is attitude of the workforce.

Toyota Japan workers:
            “We must work hard. We must focus doing our work now to achieve highest quality and global success. We take pride in what we do and only want to be remunerated if our products exhibit utmost quality and customer satisfaction”

Proton Factory Malaysia workers:
            “Rilaks lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat. Mari minum teh dan makan kuih talam dan kuih lapis. Nanti boleh buat. Rilaks dulu. Eh tengok awek kilang, cun betul, bezz kalau dapat kongkek kat bilik stor. Jom mari lepak. Karang nak tido ni. Letih”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 59
          • Malaysia Hopeless Government on May 23, 2014 at 5:33 pm

The GSC is doomed for failure. It looks and smells like the Satria and Tiara. Both big failures. So, why launch this? 2 times fail also never learn?

Saw in the news. Thailand in the past 80 year has had berpuluh puluh riots, bombs, coups, army state and unstable government. In 80 years, the military has had 12 coups already!

And yet ALL the car companies have moved to Thailand to make it the AutoCity of Asia and the Detroit of the world.

Could this mean Malaysia is worse than Thailand? But we got no coups, no army state, no bombs and all the unstableness of Thailand.

So what do we have that made ALL the car companies run to Thailand and enrich the Thai economy with hundreds of billions in investments.

You and I know. Mahathir is the No 1 cause. All the car companies don’t want to give part of their company free to people who shake leg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 62
        • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 11:47 am

Proton better free 2 set of fire proof suit (plus helmet) along with the car.

Proton cars have the risk in sudden fire, result in driver sudden death.

A Proton Wira had burnt suddenly yesterday at Puchong and the driver burnt to bare bone in the car. “http://ohartis.com/2014/05/proton-wira-terbakar-mangsa-rentung/”

Google “Proton Terbakar” then you see how awesome is Proton car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 88
          • LOL old story already, sudah basi. Wira is an old skool rebadged car, not home-grown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
          • kazai on May 23, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Try google Perodua terbakar or BMW terbakar.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
          • Proton’s vocab

1. Butthurt
            2. Sudah basi
            3. Good move
            4. Wahh
            4. BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 38
          • kzm (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Basher’s vocab

1. KZM
            2. Fail
            3. Fail
            4. Fail
            5. Fail
            6. Tax
            7. NAP
            8. UMNO
            9. BN
            10. Dr.M
            11. Corrupt
            13. Close Shop
            14. Other Country Cheap
            15. Najib
            16. Crony

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
          • GT3 (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Dude, even Ferrari, Porsche, Toyota and Lamborghini have cases where they caught fire after crash or even when left parked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
          • biggy on May 26, 2014 at 7:50 pm

maybe they use magnesium engine block?

• kadajawi (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 7:28 pm

That’s an alliteration.

• takin on May 23, 2014 at 11:06 am

those cars were parked at the Masjid Telipot’s car park..i know this place..its nearby my parents’ house..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Anyone notice or not they failed to park properly(1st pic)?

Ini kopi license lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • CamtakPro on May 25, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Wow Kereta Orang Miskin…kesian dari motobike upgrade ke tin kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • SIBERIAN D on May 23, 2014 at 10:46 am

still old and fuel thirsty engine arr? still campro arr??? finish la proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 90
    • There has not been any testdrive report and you have concluded its failure… Typical proton basher..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 9
      • victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 3:56 pm

SIBERIAN Dhas a point because if Proton really stick to the old Campro without direct injection tech, it is finished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • We never driven any of the previous model and they are all failures. What makes this special?
        You have better chance in striking a lottery that Proton producing a successful model now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Aniq_Affandi on May 23, 2014 at 7:29 pm

These people have dedicated their time here to create the wrong perspective. Once a hater always a hater isn’t it. Try doing some research or maybe try asking me. 8 years and my Wira. No major problems. I might not be a fanboy. But at least I’ve experienced it long enough to know more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 12:03 pm

If Proton GSC can give 30 Kilometer per Liter fuel economy, I’ll run from Tg Malim to Shah Alam wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam.

Any takers? Wanna join bet??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 24
      • MusTanG on May 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Lol. 30km/L? Seriously?

If you were dead serious doing it, you could at least put a more logical amount. I say 20km/L?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • junkard on May 23, 2014 at 2:45 pm

He is too coward to say it. If too coward why bother with betting, stupid fella.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • cowardisyou on May 23, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Why dun you put it 18km/l? Scared?

• victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 3:46 pm

18km/l FC is actually quite lame for a small car.

Must at least 20lm/l above to be counted as a fuel efficient car.

• cowardisyou on May 23, 2014 at 4:58 pm

That number BS when going around KL/PJ. Dun get fooled

• CarCarzy on May 23, 2014 at 3:44 pm

ROFL
        Won’t happen, in that harimau underwear you would have been beaten to death with stick by passer-by before even the first KM.

• cibusat on May 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

u tell that to toyota/honda engineers pun they oso habis lari la kawan..be fair with your expectations

• Aniq_Affandi on May 23, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Please don’t talk like an idiot. What car also if you rev your ass off, it won’t make as much milage compared to chill driving. Also, I believe only Hybrids can handle jam as much as any cars. So yeah.

• Mah Jib on May 23, 2014 at 10:53 am

Nothing to shout. It’s only a Potong. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 56
    • kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 12:16 pm

No Mitsubishi Mirage as comparison!

Ha Ha Ha Ha….Proton GSC sure cannot give good fuel economy!

That’s why Perodua Ayla rebadge will kick out GSC sales! Looks like Proton repeating same failure like Savvy last time, losing battle against Perodua.

Sayonara Proton…become a loser even before fighting! Wakakakaka!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 72
      • Hiras on May 23, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Do us a favor, just sayonara yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • axel_stig (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 1:12 pm

wow~~ such joy n cheer for a company that rebadged car every car they hav?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Now that the grand papa has become Proton chairman, Gomen might want to bury Perodua by increasing the tax to Protect the grand papa legacy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • nazyr1803 on May 23, 2014 at 10:57 am

is that honda next to myvi?? so cute that honda!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:02 am

Yeah2. . More protection please. . I beg u.. please la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 4:27 pm

why begging..motorhead..? stand up on your knee..come on..

• Proton, please choose your car name wisely, don’t repeat the same mistake like suprima.. Go Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Protonist on May 23, 2014 at 11:17 am

This will be Proton Niama?? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • org utare on May 23, 2014 at 3:46 pm

put name “habak hang!”
      it should be good.

when people see it and they shout it “PROTON HABAK HANG!”

• Neelofa Che' Wan on May 23, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I think better put Proton ApaNama….. At least they can try to sell it at Panama or maybe Manama, Bahrain. :-P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • HenryT on May 23, 2014 at 11:11 am

They want to compare B segment car with Proton GSC……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:52 am

Which is fine since the GSC is a B-segment hatchback.

• kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Nope, Proton will blame Perodua, Ford, VW, Honda for the sales drop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • tokmoh (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Nope, they will blame us for not being patriotic.

While they drive Porsche, Audi… “Patriotic”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 2:18 pm

They ll blame gov also.. because they want more protection. . Tun asked dy..

Hahaha. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0r on May 23, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Dr M will use his influence on government and then…

No Perodua is cheaper than RM60k.
        No Ford, VW, Honda and Toyota is cheaper than RM100k.

This is called PROTECTION.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Motorbutt on May 23, 2014 at 4:34 pm

wai.. u want to make friend with motorhead..

he’ll believes everything..that will hurt his beloved perodua…
          hey… motorhead soon ur perodua no cheap than 100K
          (u think he’ll believe it too..same lor )

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Well moron.. if u didn’t get it.. I don’t care much about P2 as well.. I ve my Myvis aka Passo.. as long as Daihatsu is around.. I ve lots of part for my disposal. .

Haha.. bodo…

• So the best name for this car should be Proton Blame

• AVH (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:23 am

Those who followed Paultan for the past few days will know my rather negative sentiments at Proton and its management. But still, I am looking forward to this. I am really eager to see what Proton has come up for their Myvi chellenger.

As far as specs and R&H, looking at the Preve, I believe Proton has what it takes to chellenge…..but it is the rest of the car that I am more curious. The Price, Quality and FC.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • Black Dog on May 23, 2014 at 1:17 pm

By the time they launch this, Perodua might have already planned for a bigger and better replacement for the Myvi already.

Proton forever behind!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • kusochon on May 23, 2014 at 2:25 pm

yes, but they need to wait for indon to launch that car first. only after that they can rebadge as new myvi. very save cost!

• powershot on May 23, 2014 at 2:36 pm

knowing perodua, they might come up with at least 5 new variants of Myvis before they launch a replacement.

• The thing is any of the variant can sell better than any Proton latest model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • mim (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Yeah. The specs, performance and safety should be equal or even better than Fiesta. We all knew Proton’s good at it, but have poor records on QC and design.

so far, everything looks promising in terms of design. Side profile looks good, interior looks ok similar to Maserati Ghibli (seriously compare the spyshots lololol), AC knobs and meter cluster spyshots look seriously continental, features added are also a lot…

This is Proton’s last chance to get things like FC, interior QC, NVH, and refinement right. They delayed it like, 3 times already to solve any issues. If it still disappoints, then Proton have to do more in order to gain reputation back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • Why not sedan variant coming out first?

• Anonymous Coward on May 23, 2014 at 3:45 pm

It’s the same MO with Savvy -> Saga. Savvy is basically Saga hatch. I think 2015/2016 will see a Saga replacement model launched.

It’s a bit silly, really, because *Saga* is Proton’s bread and butter. Should introduce Saga first, but then, like Savvy, maybe GSC will be the proving ground for their small car platform.

BTW, contrary to popular belief, Savvy IS a Proton homegrown effort, or at least it is for the platform. The rest, engine and drivetrain, are sourced from Renault. It seems that GSC will be Proton’s first foray into using their own engine tech for their small car.

Let’s see what they can do. Hopefully they can get the refinement right.

• i doubt this would match the Fiesta (nor even close).

the fiesta was designed with driving dynamics in mind over practicality (hence it’s low profile, stiffer chassis, and the tight rear seats)..it’s a driver’s car.

the Proton is designed to compete with the myvi hence it’s tall profile for better interior space and the so-far-speculated 1.3l power mill for (hopefully) better fuel economy.

• tikus on May 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Quality sure good!! Proton used to promote TUV standard in savvy but end up koyak.I see quite a number of savvy abandon at road side in Taman area. Now see what they are going to promote for this and how long it will last in the market.

• Why beat produa only ? I dnt understand..
      Is that the only target? C’mon

• AVH (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 6:44 pm

In terms of sales, yes…..
        In this segment, the ultimate target is to shift more cars.

• deyy..berapa lama lg mau tunggu daaa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on May 23, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Be patient. Just wait until end of year to make a choice between Proton GSC and Perodua AXIA.

• ax-on on May 23, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Axia for tin milo no VSC good fuel FC
        Iris for 5 star ANCAP ESC and not bad FC

• Anonymous Coward on May 23, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I don’t know, I’ve driven Saga (BLM) and it’s rather… crappy. The gearbox (4AT) is nowhere near as smooth as, say, a Kia Picanto. I don’t know if CVT helps.

FC wasn’t all that great either. I’m just hoping the GSC will be a better product than the Savvy and Saga.

• They already stop at Marang Kg Ru Muda to have keropok lekor on wednesday. Sadly i didnt get the picture. Everybody knows its a proton because the wear a proton shirt.

• The smaller rim looks like the 15″ wheels that was once used in the Gen.2. That would put the bigger wheels at 16″ at least, for a small car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • dissy on May 23, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Honda City already has 16″, why not GSC?

• mim (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Yea the small one is the same Gen2 CPS 15 inch rims, probably for base/exec version. The bigger one is probably 16 inch for premium version. Good decision, since 16 inch tyres starts to get more common than other sizes.

• Bukapintubayaryol on May 23, 2014 at 11:28 am

Look out Myvi! Proton is gonna chomp at your heels. Not to mention perodua’s own new car…

• Orang Cerdik (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

ini semua bisjut dan royi!

• 4G63T DSM on May 23, 2014 at 11:43 am

As long as Proton doesn’t wise up and produce a Campro with direct injection, proton will again be firing blanks if it thinks they can compete overseas.

The only way they can get competitive efficiency numbers is to go direct injection or diesel, none of which proton possesses. Maybe Proton’s “Global” definition only applies to 3rd world countries.

• knighthero on May 23, 2014 at 1:50 pm

If im not wrong proton had a diesel enginein their wira.. Or is it sumthing that i read in gakeps..

• victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Agree with you, but looking at the current stage, maybe you have to wait until 2020 for a direct injection engine from Proton.

• mim (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 4:00 pm

If you read Lotus ProActive magazine issue 43 winter 2011, you’ll know that the currently used Proton CFE engine was originally designed to have direct injection. However, it was later changed to port injection during mid-development, to avoid issues with dirty chap ayam-grade fuels in our country or elsewhere. It also can run on RON88.

You can also ask how many 1.4TSI engine had it’s pistons fail due to the injector spray too hard and drying up the lubricants on the bore…. and how many Peugeot/Mini owners with THP engines had their engines fail due to excessive carbon buildup in their injector and valves….

• 4G63T DSM on May 24, 2014 at 2:12 am

Yes, right. And the CAMPRO was supposed to have variable valve timing when released.

As I mentioned, this is supposed to be a competitive global car (not Jaguh Kampung). This will be stacked against all the other frugal city runabouts, say sold in Britain today and the near future. Most if not all, have GDI or Turbo GDI or Diesel. Its even more crucial where your CO2 numbers affects your taxes.

And pray tell why we still have abysmal quality fuels here? Because local players don’t necessitate it.

Same story with Airbags. No one will offer 6 airbags until the more mainstream players like Proton does it (although Naza beat it to it).

• tikus on May 23, 2014 at 5:20 pm

No worry proton have legendary lotus handling mah.
      proton no need to use engine or design to sell just use the word “Lotus” and the people will come and buy.The fans boy will sure support mati-mati.For proton “Global” means “Global of fans club only”.

• I dont think the GSC code we are bashing today is the same with GSC that was mooted earlier. The drawings and design has changed at least. Proton emas is no longer in the roadmap. Now we see VW up n its in the market. Its nothing left for Proton through this arrangemnt n it has to go ahead with different route. Problem is no one clarifies this. And we also dont know proton’s target with this city car.
      My 1 cent

• supriman on May 23, 2014 at 11:48 am

When my little brother will born…

• Payne Harrelson on May 23, 2014 at 12:09 pm

just another tin milo. savvy replacement i think. but by the look, it’s still the old savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
  • policeman on May 23, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Apa ini? Don’t even have the decency to lift the covers and get a proper picture.

Anyway, based on history, with every launch, there has been serious disappointments. Look at spyshots for months and when the car is launched…yuck, geez it looked better all covered up.

What makes you people think it’s gonna be different this time? Neo, Persona, Exora, Saga, Preve, Suprima. Same deal everytime, exception for Inspira which is an OK car, the rest are trash.

No expectations, no disappointments. This is the best practice when it comes to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • cibusat on May 23, 2014 at 5:25 pm

ur comment is an insult to all preve, suprima and exora owners. my car has 90,000km mileage driven for past 2 1/2 years…i dont have a single prob with the car let alone the infamous power window issue. what trash are you talking about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • policeman on May 23, 2014 at 6:18 pm

The cars are trash. Accept the fact. It just has no social value.

People look down on you, you will have no social life, they mock you, they laugh at you, they belittle you, treat you like a piece of trash.

Same thing happened to me. Then I decided to convert my Inspira into a Lancer GT. My whole life changed. People started looking up to me, they worship me, the bring me offerings, they bow down to me and treat me we utmost respect.

I now look down upon Proton owners. They disgust me. Not even an once of respect for them. I view them as weak, incompetent failures.
        If only they worked a little harder.

That’s the power of branding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 41
        • hafizan89 on May 23, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Says the person who bought an inspira and didn’t have money to buy a real mi

• Zapruder on May 23, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Mr policeman, I’m really proud of you. You work a little harder than any proton owners till you have some money to buy.. oops.. sorry i mean convert your inspira to mitsubishi bodykit. Wow. You are truly godly sir! You deserve their praise. All those proton owner should have made you their idol.. A little hard working guy who made it to buy..oops.. I mean convert his inspira to mitsubishi! All hail Mr policeman! I’ll pray that you will have enough dough to buy 2ndhand Japanese car someday.

• vomit blood on May 23, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Kanasai.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Hahaha. . I like your story. . Wise move.. Inspira under the skin is all a Lancer.. good for you save some money from taxes..

Congratulations.

• if we live because of other people perceptions, we will spent unnecessary. Be yourself.

• thebugbud on May 23, 2014 at 7:30 pm

I have to disagree. Within 3 months… dashboard rattles. Been thru countless SC to sort out but no hopeless.

Now less than 2 years and less than 40k millage, my preve sounds like orchestra with a bad conductor.

I was so hopeful and given proton 4 chances but still utter utter disappointed.

Like I always say, business is business. If a company fail to perform, just close it. Don’t let the nation suffer to the sake of one person ego and to keep his buddies (cronies) happy. Even they themselves are not driving proton.

• thebugbud on May 24, 2014 at 10:16 am

When i meant 4 chances.. It mean owning 4 different proton cars in the past.i am even getting more skillful in finding rattle sources and fix myself. It’s a waste of money, time and resources.

• Denaihati on May 23, 2014 at 12:29 pm

someone please remove the cover easy to compare side by side..heee.
    I think Proton Global Small Car (P2-30A) is interesting proton model to know, interested to know inside, engine, transmission etc.

• mmaker on May 23, 2014 at 12:32 pm

this car has more value if proton added moon roof on it

• dewaSemut on May 23, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Saw this 4 cars along with the host of other cars at East Coast Highway, heading to Kuantan on Tuesday morning. The overall shape looks ok.. about Myvi size.

Malaysians love this type of car right? Let see how much Proton can capture the market of these segments from the rest. Good luck, Proton!

• kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 2:02 pm

But Malaysians are getting smarter with more internet. They’ll wait Perodua Ayla rebadge rather than buy Proton GSC.

Two reasons why: 1. Better fuel economy. 2. To piss Dr M boycott Proton cars once and for all.

Proton GSC sure get many bookings when launching but it’s hell 10 times more with Perodua Ayla selling like hot cakes.

That’s only prediction, OK. No coconuts are harmed during the jampi jampi process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
  • Edward on May 23, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Im no pro proton nor proton basher, just sharing based on my experience and honest opinion

As a proton preve iafm owner auto, I’m neither proud nor shame to drive this car. I bought it because I couldn’t afford to buy Japanese or Korean sedan and preve appeals to me the most at that time, C segment, plenty of spaces for my family and safety (5 stars ANCAP and now ASEAN NCAP) I was sold to this, price point, large spaces and exterior looks (thou could be subjective) – the same reason people like me who cannot afford more expensive cars and to choose the best out there based on this price we can afford.

I was neither impressed nor sad as I already expected the quality based on this price point, but this could never be made an indicated to make car inferior. 60 grand is not cheap seriously. Small things start to surface within few months of using, sound from behind, driver seat sound, reverse sensor malfunction, brake noise. But I could live by this small things, sent it back to Proton svc centre, they fixed the problem str away.

Overall, engine noise is pretty loud and coarse, underpower, but once hit the freeway, car is stable and quiet and comfortable. Car handling is better than other sedans I’d test driven before. Overall I wouldn’t give it a high mark, nor would I give it a low mark either.

Maybe its proton… although it has improved a lot from the past, based on this Preve, I believe Proton can make good cars, the only thing they need to focus on is the refinement and quality control. Once they have it, I believe the car is pretty brilliant to drive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
    • gtrnk on May 23, 2014 at 2:39 pm

It’s not enough, you have to say it’s junk then proton bashers will be satisfy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • rewrew on May 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

I second your opinion. I currently own an Exora Bold CFE Premium, so far this car has been very good to me. The only complaints I have are to do with quality control and interior build materials.
      In the aspect of QC, my driver and passenger side seats makes a squeaky sound whenever making hard turns or going over bumps. I plan to send it to the SC to rectify it soon, though.
      In the aspect of interior build materials, I think this speaks for itself as Proton is known to use cheap plastics for their interior. Although I have to say their leather seats are pretty good.
      Overall it’s a very powerful and good handling car, especially when considering it’s a giant MPV.
      Just improve on your QC and interior build quality, Proton. I do believe there’s still hope :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • cibusat on May 23, 2014 at 5:40 pm

same here…exora bold cfe is one value for money MPV. apart from so so FC(i got 450km for my normal drive…550-600km on highway) and interior quality and QC, this mpv is a must try for those vying to buy avanza/livina.

• rewrew on May 24, 2014 at 12:08 am

I didn’t even look at the Exora Bold when I was looking to buy a new MPV. My priority was either the Grand Livina or the Innova. The Innova is an underpowered giant and handles terribly (due to chassis). Grand Livina is a very good close competitor. But the thing that sold me on the Exora was the power and the way it handles.
          In terms of fuel consumption, yes it’s only average at best. But when compared to an Innova (a friend of mine owns a facelift 2.0E model), his fuel consumption averages around 9.5km/L. So I guess the Exora isn’t that bad in terms of fuel consumption after all.

• kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Congratulations for learning the bitter truth about Proton. So next time buy Honda City or Toyota Vios ok!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Sadly. I sold my saga flx se after 14 month. I have trouble witb my disc brake. Go to service center put orders and received it after 3 month. When i complain to the service center after 2 month they say “kalau encik saman lagi baik cepat sikit dapat”. Proton memang kurang ajar. Trade in for jap car. Very proud of it. Service center very good. Shit you proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Mackaroni on May 23, 2014 at 9:16 pm

actually..even my elantra md’s driver seat has squeky sound when going over bumps..lol

• Waja, Iswara, Saga, Inspira and Preve, Civic (2007).
      Waja, Iswara, Inspira and Preve are still driving them.
      Waja (2002)- Upgraded to NGV. very vary satisfied FC (NGV) 42km/l. Using NGV already 7 years. No major overhaul. no major problem at all. Good handling, top speed 170km/h easily with NGV (180km/h patrol). no cracking sound. millage to-date =331000km.

Iswara (2002)- Not happy with Civic (2007), two and half years sold it. bought secondhand Iswara (2002), QC is bad. Make this car as belasahan/test drive for my son. so far no problem at all.

Inspira Premium- Using it more than 3 years. satisfied for comfort family car.

Preve Turbo- Very satisfied with Power, handling, safety features. Easily reach 200km/h and tapau Mazda 3. FC is average. So far no problem at all.

I could manage Proton Car my self, the engineering is easy to understand for me to DIY and spare parts are competitive and available anywhere. Proton is reliable and a waiting acordana my next car.

• De lyon on May 23, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Its challenge not chellenge avh..i like ur comments but sometimes ur spelling is not correct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • wedontblamethem on May 23, 2014 at 1:58 pm

close shop lah proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
  • Guan Yin Maa on May 23, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Proton is a failure. 30 years old experience, and full of government protection, but still cant come out with a new tech. Want to compete with the japs ?? Dream on DR M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Cannot sell.. semua salah Perodua.

Hahah…

• I just test drive it. Good.

• victor tan (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Last they said GSC is based on Brio because they put them to test together.

This time? GSC is rojak of all these cars???

• kctan on May 23, 2014 at 3:12 pm

nice to drive BRIO alone,one in few million people

• In simple, just deliver a decent car for a start.

• Joker on May 23, 2014 at 3:55 pm

I wonder how long it’ll take for Proton to learn if the drive train is indeed 1.3 turbo with CVT…
    Turbo jz wont work with CVT….

• Honestly, I’m sick all of these news on the GSC. They’ve been testing it for ages with a whole bunch of spyshots online and yet there’s not a single clue of the launch date. If that’s so, then I’m expecting Proton to come up with a great model with excellent build quality and refinement (which I doubt so, Proton’s weakest point duh).

• focusing22 on May 23, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Hoping to be a good car

• samlok on May 23, 2014 at 4:08 pm

it must be good to benchmarked against Ford fiesta and VW polo. i have high expection on it.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Name it Proton Snile.. or snail.. (keluar pon lambat)

I hope I can win…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Proton Senile? Kereta untuk orang tua nyanyuk.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 9:32 pm

I spelt it wrongly. . You still get the word.. hahaha. .

Congratulations. .

• i think the only way people at this board will buy GSC if these are offered:

-price under 10k
    -200 HP power, 500 Nm torque
    – 0-100 kmh in 6.0s
    -100km/l FC
    -200,000 km warranty
    -service interval every General Election
    -seats made with goose feather, 28 airbags, 7 speaker and subwoofer, auto side parking, self driving capability
    -and finally, a kick ass spoiler like myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • kzm fanboy on May 23, 2014 at 5:56 pm

I will buy Proton GSC if they give me 30 years warranty whole car + 30 years free service (parts & labour costs).

Kepala tidak pening, hidup lagi senang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • motorbart on May 23, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Yes, even motorhead will buy

• Protiga on May 23, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Gone were the days when buyers were willing to wait. These days the faster the new model is released the better otherwise they will put their money on other makes.

• vee-oh on May 23, 2014 at 5:04 pm

test drove Suprima S just for fun yesterday…I think it is a very good & stable car.power also nice..don’t know bout FC though but for sure cannot fight my Attrage FC..overall much better car than Vios, City,Almera (maybe new City much better already)

• shawal on May 23, 2014 at 5:12 pm

It looks messy
    But i wish proton success either way as a fellow malaysian

• tikus on May 23, 2014 at 5:37 pm

I teat drive a Preve and found out that WHY IS THE KEYLESS ENTRY AND PUSH START BUTTON NEED TO CUCUK THE KEY INTO THE DASHBOARD TO START THE CAR??? My friend Nissan Latio key just put inside the packet and can start the car camry also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • azlan on May 23, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Volvo also like that. Need to put key in then press start..

• kadajawi (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Yeah, that’s convenient. But it also makes it very easy to steal the car, if no key needs to be inserted. Two modified walkie talkies and a colleague is all you need to drive away a car like that.

• ruffstuff on May 23, 2014 at 9:17 pm

That is why it was never called ‘keyless’ entry in the first place. Look at their brochure. Did they say ‘keyless’ entry? None.

• beemerdrv on May 23, 2014 at 10:18 pm

BMW also like that, why noone asks?

• mizzuddin on May 24, 2014 at 3:28 pm

because you are so pathetic never seen those on other much reputable marque

• Neelofa Che' Wan on May 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

I think better put Proton ApaNama….. At least they can try to sell it at Panama or maybe Manama, Bahrain. :-P

• Another worse car of the year! Proton ‘Boleh’!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • deaftek on May 23, 2014 at 9:33 pm

errr…apa namaaa….ini kereta ..proton sodoma? papagoma?, khamila? umna?? mokhtara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • old dog on May 25, 2014 at 12:54 am

now with Honda at the sight, Jazz will probably replace this car, and whoever buy this car will be damn stupid..

• When I read some of the comments here, sounded more like politics blog rather than a car site. So I wonder if one doesn’t know what to comment at the proper avenue, should his or her comments be valid?

• panjang on May 26, 2014 at 6:53 am

interesting to see what improvement they made to the existing 1.3 engine as a reliable source said that engine will be an improved version of current one.
    even hav a catchy new engine family name which stress on fuel efficient.
    i doubt it will be a turbo unit as that will be costly.

• dimplex on May 26, 2014 at 11:27 am

not showing interest with the proton.
    Perhaps Honda BRIO is likely to consider for a car to get groceries.
    Any idea from you guys whether when will the BRIO launched in Malaysia and what is the pricing like?

• digiboy on May 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

front looks like preve.. rear looks like current myvi

• Flat Black on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:50 am

Just another spy-shot… When will the technical spec reveal?

• apek longsi xdak isi on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:26 pm

typical ‘malaysian kononnya’ vocab:
    – pig
    – dap
    – anti proton / malay
    – balik
    – bumi
    – merit
    – istimewa
    – halau keluar
    – bodoh
    – 13 may
    – kuat bjudi dan pusing2
    – apek x boleh pecaya punya

• I recently drove a MyVi and I must say there isn’t a lot of improvement you can make to it for a car of that level. You can improve the sound proofing but once you put in good seats, etc you will start to compete with the imported compact cars rather than MyVi. I think Dr M may be off here. The reason MyVi sell so well is because of its price so by setting the price differential “because its worth more” might not find any buyers