Proton in talks with Japanese carmakers on future collaborations, Mitsubishi unlikely – Dr Mahathir

Suprima-S-launch-00410

Recently-appointed Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has said that the national car company is in talks with several Japanese carmakers regarding future collaborations, according to a Bernama report.

He added that any strategic collaboration is unlikely to include Mitsubishi, which is already manufacturing the ASX at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Segambut plant.

“We are looking at other Japanese automotive makers. Right now we are cooperating with Honda,” Dr Mahathir said. “Proton’s performance can be improved and we will look closely at how we can continue to export our cars.

“We are going to look closely at the countries that we can export our cars (to) so that the production can be increased as we have a big production capacity, which is not utilised,” the former PM said, adding that as the Malaysian car market is small, Proton will have to focus on exports in order to expand.

Dr Mahathir also said that Proton would like to invite Japanese carmakers to come to Malaysia as the national car company had quite a big part of its production plant to offer to any investor who had the desire to produce cars in Malaysia, Bernama reported.

In a keynote address the Proton founder was delivering at a seminar entitled “Investment and Trade Opportunity in Kedah,” he said Japanese carmakers could look at Kedah, where an automotive hub was being planned.

“In Kedah, Japanese investors can benefit from the good labour force and the supply of rubber materials from both Malaysia and (neighbour) Thailand,” he added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sorchai (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Yesterday he said Thailand only assembled vehicles and Malaysia aims to be different. to have our own expertise.

Today, he wants Proton to assemble vehicles for Japanese carmakers.

Aiya…I am confused.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 10
    • John Tan on May 23, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Politician mah. Sure pandai twisting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
      • Rugi Besar on May 24, 2014 at 10:08 am

Betul kah Proton rugi besar sebanyak RM821juta??!!! Macam tipu jer berita nie. Proton tak pernah bagitau rakyat pun!

Analysts neutral to positive on Mahathir’s appointment
        By Kamarul Anwar of theedgemalaysia.com
        Thursday, 22 May 2014 11:50
        http://www.theedgeproperty.com/news-a-views/12602-analysts-neutral-to-positive-on-mahathirs-appointment.html

KUALA LUMPUR: Analysts following DRB-Hicom Bhd were neutral to positive on the appointment of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as non-executive chairman of national carmaker Proton Holdings Bhd, a wholly-owned unit of the diversified group.

Investors appeared indifferent as the counter closed a marginal two sen or 0.82% lower yesterday at RM2.42 per share.

The counter saw 391,500 shares changing hands and was traded to a high of RM2.46. In contrast, DRB-Hicom’s shares closed two sen higher on Tuesday with a lower trading volume of 138,000.

Some analysts, however, were positive about Mahathir’s return to steer the beleaguered carmaker given the various challenges it is facing.

“We view Mahathir’s appointment as chairman of Proton as positive for DRB-Hicom, as we believe his clout within the government and auto industry will be beneficial for the automotive maker,” Public Investment Bank analyst Lee Wee Sieng said in a report yesterday.

The research outfit has retained its “outperform” rating and on DRB-Hicom. It is also maintaining its target price at RM3.40.

“In addition, Proton’s global small car (GSC) which is expected to be launched in the second half of this year (delayed from April 2014) will likely be a game-changer for Proton,” said Lee.

Mahathir, who conceived the concept of the national car in 1979 as part of his administration’s efforts to spur the country’s industrialisation programme, could use his political clout to slow down the liberalisation of Malaysia’s automotive sector and in effect, protect Proton from debilitating blows that other carmakers could bring, said analysts.

Proton was set up in 1983 and through a joint venture with Japanese carmaker Mitsubishi, it launched Proton Saga in 1985.

In the mid-2000s, Proton lost market share amid a competition industry landscape. It was taken over by DRB-Hicom in 2012.

Filings with the Companies Commission of Malaysia showed that Proton’s net loss for its financial year ended March 31, 2013 (FY13) was RM821.4 million, more than 35% higher than the previous year’s net loss of RM606.3 million.

An analyst, who declined to be named, said Mahathir could be the right individual to spur changes in Proton.

“Mahathir is the pioneer in Proton; it was his brainchild. As Proton is going through a restructuring process, Mahathir — who has been with Proton since Day One — could be the right man to call the shots.

“Proton recently named a new chief executive officer as well (Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah). He is seen to be an outsider. The employees might be more willing to listen to someone who is seen as a Proton man through and through,” the analyst said.

Another analyst, however, said that at worst, Mahathir’s emergence could be neutral to Proton.

“Mahathir had already been an adviser to Proton (from 2003). Has there been any improvement in its cars?” asked the analyst. “The chairman does not create the product. Proton’s problem lies with its products.”

Bernama reported yesterday that Proton had appointed Mahathir as its chairman effective May 16. The former prime minister has also been named as chairman of Proton’s subsidiary, Group Lotus plc.

Mahathir will assume the post from Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil who is stepping down as executive chairman, but will remain on the board of directors of the company.

Proton said in a statement that Mahathir’s determination to see the national carmaker succeed made it natural for him to step in as chairman, in what would be a new chapter in the company’s journey.

“Dr Mahathir will now be able to dedicate more of his time to Proton as chairman. This will certainly continue to strengthen the company in its mission to become a globally recognised automotive player,” said Proton chief executive officer Abdul Harith Abdullah.

Mohd Khamil who is also DRB-Hicom group managing director, said Proton is honoured by Mahathir’s acceptance to serve as chairman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0r on May 24, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Proton City, Proton Civic, Proton Accord, Proton CRV, Proton Jazz…

Yummy, we can’t wait for these…

Perodua bashers have one less point to bash… Proton is going back its old path – REBADGE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Proton makes toilet cars. This is from 1983, when they started making the junk Saga. Proton management did not care then and still do not care now about quality. Why?
          Because anytime, they can dig into rakyat’s money. Anytime the company needs money, just ask the government. Now, it is even easier with Mahathir as the big boss.
          For years we have been supporting Proton. The Proton management don’t care a damn about quality or whether sales are bad and dwindling. All they know is Proton as a company and as a company with its head as former Prime Minister, they can dig into rakyat’s money anytime.
          /before it was few hundred million but now, Proton is so brave to ask billions. Not as loans or what, just outright as if the LHDN is their personal bank that can give free money to Proton.
          This loss making car company should have been closed down long ago like MAS. It bleeds money. Every year, billions go down the drain supporting these 2 crony companies to survive.
          With the billions, we could have built tens of new hospitals in each state and tens of new schools in each state. And that also, still have excess money to fund those newly built government hospitals and schools every year for life time.
          But No. Government prefer to keep 2 loss making companies just for pride sake. Hello Government of Malaysia, most countries have sold off their airlines and car companies and still did not lose face lah. Look at British Airways for example.

• kzm (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:17 pm

u dont understand wat he meant..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
      • no one understands what he means when he opens his mouth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 8
        • EnergyAnalyst on May 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

What is so hard to understand?
          Masih cerita Lama-Pandang Timur.
          Now only add invest Kedah.My son MB there.

• Vader on May 24, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Haha.. You Win liao lo..
        A statement “you not understand” also can be a excuse.. lol

• GT3 (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Plus, after almost three decades, ONLY NOW that they want to look for export market?
      This should be done a long time ago. Together with exporting their cars to UK, Australia, and few other countries in Middle East and ASEAN. When they have pretty new and variety line-up, they should have looked to expand their export market, not like now when most Proton’s dealer in UK are about to close down, short of model lineup, then now wanna talk about looking another export market.
      Come on la, Proton. You have been in comfort zone way too long.
      Even getting the Suprima S and Preve into the UK took yeaaarrrrsss.
      From what I know, now there’s very few (dying) Proton dealers in the UK having faith and waiting for Suprima, Preve and Exora to arrive at their shores.
      Best of luck, Proton. Malaysians are watching you, and please accept people’s critics.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 4:14 am

The problem is Proton quickly started exporting when they only had a couple of rebadged models from Mitsubishi. So they exported first the Inspira, then the Wira. Back then those cars were a bit dated, but still ok for a low price. But that’s all they kept offering for a very long time, until those cars were so ancient that no one overseas would want them, regardless of how cheap.

Then the Waja… decent first effort perhaps, but nowhere near the levels that overseas customers could want. I think the Preve, Suprima and GSC could actually be sold overseas… there’d be customers. But it’s been 15 years or so since Proton dealerships in Europe have died off.

There is still the UK, and I don’t understand what’s keeping Proton from shipping a few units there. What’s so hard about that?

Btw., is it new (and coincidence) that when I select text on PT.org the selection is in yellow? The same that Renault uses?

• GT3 (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Yea. the Waja (called Impian in the UK), Satria Neo and Gen.2 were accepted quite well by the British. Top Gear’s James May did praised the Gen.2 for having pretty sporty handling and Richard Hammond loves the Waja and Satria GTi. But the problem with Proton in the UK is that the model lineup (Gen.2, Savvy, Persona) are already obsolete. Not to mention the financial constraint in Proton (even other manufacturers have it, Proton needs to refresh their model more frequently, I mean technically, not just cosmetics. Most importantly, having an efficient and Euro-compliance engines.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 8:58 pm

In terms of engines I think Proton would do best to use European engines for their cars in Europe. They are modern, spare parts are easily available, people are trusting them more. Though I guess the expense of doing so may not be worth it.

• alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:17 pm

the situations are difficult in UK for proton as

1. it doesnt have any models with good euro ncap ratings
            2. it doesnt have cars with good CO2 output – cars in UK pay taxes according to emission level.
            3. proton focus on automatic cars more as the biggest supporting market (read Malaysia) has a huge preference on this. ppl in UK and many european contries prefer manual transmission better since it contributes to lower maintenace and cheaper repair costs.
            4. european are mad on diesels with 6 speed transmision since a decade back. proton is nowhere near this aspect.
            5. consumers dont bother much on looks and neither sports cars like handling but rather user friendliness and high relaibilities. they dont fancy on smart alloy wheels and such for example.

gen2, waja, persona, savvy hardly have any of the qualities above.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 7:53 am

@alldisc:
            1. They have the Preve, Suprima and soon GSC. Those are 5 star cars… well, the GSC might not, we’ll have to see, but it will surely have at least 4.

2. What’s the CFE CO2 output?

3. They are working on a manual 6 speed Preve CFE, and there’s a 5 speed non-turbo Preve anyway.

4. 6 speed will come. Diesel, yeah, that’s a different matter. I guess Proton could/should buy a diesel from Renault. Nissan and even Mercedes use diesel engines from Renault, so…

5. Er. No. Toyota has the image of being reliable, but they are usually ugly and don’t handle so well. Toyota is NOT doing well in Europe, being easily outsold by Renault for example (better handling and great looks). The Clio and Captur are extremely popular these days, despite being just average cars in their segment. Why? Because they are effing supermodels. They look great!

If any region likes good handling and design, it’s Europe. There’s a reason why contis typically look great and handle well, better than Japanese cars for example.

• Aiyo now you talk about market size. Why not the first day when you open kedai 30 years ago. you never but kajian on the first day of opening kedai ah???

• fast5 on May 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

He love talk improvement…
      Easy… lower down all selling price n cut of “excuses duty fee” and stop using excuse like ” “raising cost doing bussiness”

If more people buying cars there manpower need and development improve with new investor improve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Hugo Andore on May 24, 2014 at 9:57 am

It is only a “natural reaction” when one walks with crutches for too long, he will soon lose the ability of his legs. Masih tak sedar lagi.

FACT OF LIFE

• Vader on May 24, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Will it mean more Honda cars will rebadge by potong.. Look at inspira, it is a disaster for Mitsubishi malaysia, I think the Honda malaysia may follow the same step..
      Better don’t buy honda cars now.. Shxt!!!

• salambangi on May 23, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Dear Dr M.

There are so many obstacles that you face and I hope you can overcome these challenges. Improve quality and design of Proton cars so that they can meet world’s standards and demands.
    There are some many people with myopic views about Proton who intend to break Protons back at the slightest mistake.

All the best to you, Dr M and Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 74
    • smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 10:47 pm

All well and good. Problem is, they’ve already been saying “improve quality and design of Proton cars” and export more for nearly 30 years. The myopic ones are in fact the ones who think anything is going to be different moving forward, after such a track record, a record that includes both designing and building our own cars, or just re-branding Honda(pending)/Citroen/Mitsubishi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Aniq_Affandi on May 24, 2014 at 4:41 am

You sir are a respectful person. Not like most of the haters. Let’s hope together :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 51
    • alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:20 pm

and one morning… toyota announces that the cheapest vios is at 99K, instead of 72K.

hehehe… fiesta ecoboost…. hihihihi… 110K.

• thebugbud on May 23, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Talk talk talk…. action tarak.

Better talk to thailand… got ladyboy. MPV Multi Purpose Vacinity. Every part is usable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
    • Gizmo on May 24, 2014 at 1:39 am

Funny how so many are forgetting this is one guy who doesn’t just talk, unless these guys are so used to flying out of KLIA, taking the LRT, and shopping under the twin towers.

• thebugbud on May 24, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Well, he is the guy who never left proton since day one… be it a PM , advisor or whatever…

Still, Proton has been talking and talking and talking till the mother goose go back home.

Whatever outcome, it’s never been good to the rakyat. Unless, u have to agree that high price car is good for you.

• Aniq_Affandi on May 24, 2014 at 4:43 am

If you are trying to state a point try to come clear. I don’t understand one part of your sentence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • thebugbud on May 24, 2014 at 10:10 am

Now u get my point…. all this proton talks are pointless… Just like how i talk pointless. Don’t understand why ppl can’t differentiate

• No more honda more me

• AVH (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:01 pm

FINALLY!!! Some positive news.

they put back all the ‘Malaysian design and engineering are worst than none’ BS and started moving to accept their faults and looking for a way to solve it. And considering Thailand’s current situation, now is one of the best opportunity to lure investor and collaberaters in. Look pass their design, and Japanese cars are actually making rather positive move on the Global automotive industry. And as far as low cost, high production goes, the Japanese are still leading. Please bear in mind that when porsche and Mercedes wanted to up their production scale….they look to the Japanese.

Of course knowing Proton, thats if all works out. I cant think of what Proton can provide to the Japanese maker considering almost all of them have a CKD plant in Malaysia…and all of them have a much more advance Automotive R&D, QC and design centers. unless mahathir throgh connection, appeal the goverment for a lower taxation for Japanese cars and…….
    ……….Hahaha, oh ,Proton(goverment) giving lower taxation, okay, okay, stop joking.

Put it this way, like most of Mahathir’s project, on the get go, it sounds and looks promising, and wgain momentum at the start….but lacks capable people to continue it. Yes I am extremely curious what’s Proton on about. The Honda JV never see much furthur than a Accord-rebedge and based vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Actually I’d say the VW group and Hyundai/Kia are pretty good at keeping production costs low.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:24 pm

it simple.

1. make attractive cars (safety, reliable, cheap to run etc)

2. more ppl buy

3. have economy of scale – reduced production costs.

• AVH (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Its so simple I can actually start a car car company!

but sadly its never that simple….To make attractive cars firstly, you must need above all else, good manager, someone who is willing to lead, make sacrifice and make decission for the benefit of the company….than as Kia & Hyundai proves, in these days, looks count. If you were living back in the 90s than the ‘affordable performance’ was what makes them popular but these days its look [follow up all the comments and the first and probably only thing they will critic is the design], standing your product out above the rest, making it unique like how Kia, Hyundai and Lexus are doing it. Once you get people to be intereted, get their attention, good specs than safety than reliability….the last will be the hardest to achieve.

Once you get people attention, wheel them in. Kia and Hyundai does crazy amounts of marketing and succesful ones. The Japanese back in the days used the popularity of motorsport to promote their materials. Start with one or two model (Kia: Forte and Sportedge, Hyundai: Elantra and Sonata, probably Tucson as well), to lift the brands image….if all goes to plan, people will buy.

Than having not economy of scale, but reduce cost; So far, Proton only shares its powertrain among each other….teh amount of parts sharing between models and the amount the models Proton has i spainful….there no other car thats using the Saga 1.3l + CVT. Even something minor, almost all Proton cars have different air vents…..it is these that keeps cost down, emmulate VAG…they go as far as platform sharing.

There are probably more but ATM, these are all I of that are the recipe for a great company. Proton is proving difficult to implement this all this years and worst, only in Malaysia, shows how futile that success dream is.

• if u don't have something nice to say. just shut up! on May 29, 2014 at 1:31 pm

It’s so funny when u want the cheap car at the same time u concern more safety on the car…Do u know that making more safety features actually incur more cost???

let me prioritize what is attractive vehicle means:-

1) Safety – Our life absolutely no 1. Without life u won’t be able to enjoy good design of the car.

2) Durable – Good quality of the car. It’s for our long term usage. Because since day 1 we are spending the monthly car installment means we are spending money to the liability which the value of the car will continue to decline.

3) Design (It’s a bonus when cars have all these three). Yet we can’t afford to have everything all in one. Some more if we want cheap car. Ahahaa

My conclusion is in every angle of perspective; we can consider Proton or any other cars that provide Safety as their no 1 feature. Why I said that, just imagine why you want to spend or sacrificing your money to purchase for example car like Perodua produce? Perodua they didn’t concern about.
          1) Safety – Obviously
          2) Quality? Who said they are better than Proton.
          3) Perodua so expensive, just did some interior change than the price walawehh 50k 60k. – Why we wasting our money at the liability thing. Car is liability. Car price won’t increase after u bought the car even at the day 1.

Think wisely guys

• Maserati(Original) on May 23, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Indeed, never a fan of his cronyism during his ruling days but I do have high expectation on his projects. Those mega projects in Malaysia proved his credibility thus far, and successful not to mention. Just hoping his brilliance and big thinking can bring up Proton higher – that we Malaysians can be proud of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • RejimKejamGanas on May 24, 2014 at 2:37 am

What has Proton truly gained with Mitsu and now Honda? Are the Japanese carmakers going to give us special treatment?

Looks like history repeating itself.

• sungai on May 24, 2014 at 4:58 pm

serious are you asking what we have gained from mitsubishi?? duhhh.. we have gained the expertise to manufacture cars lah.. from zero knowledge, now we are able to design and produce our own cars.. ingat senang ker?

• AVH (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Proton gain much from Mitsubishi. Proton started of not much like Perodua, a rebadge CKD manufecturers….from the Saga(Lancer Fiore)to finally the Waja, It was CKD of a 80% local content to down just the powertrain in the Waja…It was all going good, until the Gen-2, QC went down and the Gen-2, the first of the ‘Malaysian’ Malaysian Protons, was where it all started. It went abit more problamatic with the engine as people experiece breakdown more often when CamPro came in…..to add salt into injury, Toyota and Honda launch their low end, cheaper cars, the Vios and the City, on the same year as the Gen 2. By 2004, Perodua lauch their first proper non-Kei car that is not a Kembara, the Myvi. Japanese engine with modern ammenities coupled with Proton-like prices, Proton was digging a grave now.

This is not help by the fact that Perodua kept cost down with until there are only 3-models in its line up today whereas Proton keeps incresing until some products that are 10 yaers ole (the Waja) were selling along side the Preve…

Proton gain from Honda is seriously questionable and as of now, even Honda Tokyo refuse to say anything….which is weird, JV usually results in media release by both company outlining their plans and contribution. Theres lot of partying at Proton’s side, Honda has been too quiet. And aside of a rebadge and remake job of the Accordana….I have not seen much news on this JV. Considering Proton’s move, I dont think Proton wants Honda’s engine. Probably like Porsche and Mercedes with Toyota, they want to try to revamp their production process to that like Honda’s , probably incresing efficiency. But that bags the question….what is Proton offering back to Honda, most of its models are CKD over here, under Honda’s own roof.

• Pity honda

• Here's_a_crazy_idea on May 23, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Why don’t we remove the archaic, inward looking and short sighted tax and excise duty that protects Proton and just let us buy Honda at Proton prices. Brilliant right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 4:19 am

That would be great, except that Proton cars are also taxed highly, there’s not much difference to foreign brands. And that it’s a huge income for the government, which, if removed, would have to be replaced through other means. Lose excise duty, hello 20% GST. Also second hand car dealers will complain, car distributors will complain, AP owners (the worst) will complain, …

What should happen though is remove AP. Why are a few selected ones given the license to print money, without having to do any work? It doesn’t benefit anyone than a few friends of the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:28 pm

how is it then proton waja 1.6MT, ford focus 1.6MT and VW golf 1.6MT at one time all are priced similarly in the UK?

you are made to believe that proton is still cheap even though similarly taxed by the govt.

do you think govt will ever allow toyota to sell vios as persona price??

the answer is NO. because both P1 and P2 will suffer.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 8:01 am

Better QC perhaps? Also, that was long time ago, when there was more protectionism in Malaysia. Maybe the Waja was indeed expensive to produce.

The government AFAIK still has to approve the price for every car sold in Malaysia. That way they can fix the price at, say 80k for foreign B segment cars. How it is specced though is up to the importer/distributor to decide. They can decide if they want to make more profit, or if they want to offer a more attractive package. That’s why some cars are very good value for money, while others are overpriced tin kosongs (more profit).

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Ahh.. rebadge? Where’s all the rebadge bashers?
    Please show yourself, idiots. Motorhead is ahead of you.. you lowlife. Pathetic. . If P1 going ro rebadge too.. I ll put my shoes in your butt or bart..

Siapa yg ludah ke langit skrg? Puiih.. yes I ludah.. right on your face..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
    • mim (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Pegi tgk berita la.. Mahathir himself said that it will be only for QC improvement, platform, tech and powertrain sharing, and RnD cooperation..

Not only with Honda, but also with PSA Peugeot Citroen..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Sound like what Perodua is doing?? Same plaform etc… u P1 butthurt used to say P2 no RnD??.. when it comes to you.. u justify and say ok?

Puiihh.. damn…

• motorbart on May 24, 2014 at 3:53 pm

You still can’t differentiate between proton and perodua abilities? Perodua do rebadging many times but at the end it doesn’t come up with full fledge home grown cars but proton.

Is it too difficult for you to understand? Although rebadging can be done for now but when the cost goes high one day the foreign factories will close shops and go to other countries that have cheaper labour resources.

Duh you don’t think long enough to be a leader, the plan is not for only 10 or 20 years. If you think you are matire enough please grow up……kid

• Motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Yeah.. what with Accordana & Inspira?? Kid…

Butt penuh tahi.. x bole pikir..

• motorbart on May 25, 2014 at 10:53 am

Proton will come up with Perdana replacement through accord platform, unlike p2 that only change those bumpers and lights for many years.

Inspira is more like filler for C segment n/a 2.0l car / waja replacement since 1.6l cfe is a turbocharged engine. Please read more, ok?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 2:07 pm

The more you talk.. the more u sound like an idiot..

Many Inspira owners ve to change the front bumper only.. done.. Ask Policeman..

Whereas Myvi is different inside out compare to Passo..

Please read more.. no.. masuk tadikalah..bodo sgt.. or too senile dy.. Hahaha. .

• motorbart on May 26, 2014 at 9:16 am

YOu never understand, other manufacturers also di rebadging, plus making its on home-grown cars, so what?

And it’s their money, they want to change the bumper it’s up to them. But inspira handling is still better than ori lancer GT and the proton improves its air flow. Myvi is different inside out? And that’s after how many years? It’s been downgraded actually, who cares it’s different bit or not if it’s actually becomes a tin milo junk? Plus reduced safety gadget inside. LOL

• Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 10:18 am

u’re right.. those beloved of yours no Passo..different inside out.. its recycled sampah myvi.. motorhead’s coffin

• kadajawi (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Going back to rebadging? I hope not.

Also, why is the rear bumper a different color on that Suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • GT3 (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Because different material.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 4:20 am

Isn’t it painted? With other cars I don’t see different colours…

• GT3 (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm

It is. But it does happens to different cars as well, especially after quite long period of time. In this case, I think it’s because the angle of camera, lighting and glare factor.

• “But it does happens to different cars as well, especially after quite long period of time.”

Hello brader, that Suprima bumper is newly sprayed lah.

Instead of blaming the camera angle lighting, why not blame the Proton factory robot spray…maybe too lazy spray properly or spray thin layer of paint. HA HA HA HA

Stupid loser. Blame Perodua, Blame unsupportive rakyat, Blame camera. HA HA HA HA

• Albert Lee on May 23, 2014 at 8:17 pm

The current PM should have told the former,”Proton in its current format is NOT WORTH SAVING”like MAS which is heading towards BANKRUPTCY.
    Thailand ,alto a GIANT ASSEMBLER,has been a SUCCESS.
    PROTON,supposedly a car manufacturer,has been a FAILURE.
    No point having all the GAYA,POMP and NEWS but LOSSES.
    The Japanese has already said SAYORNARA to Protong long ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Aero (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:18 pm

I still remember that Mitsubishi wanted to rebadge some Proton cars around 2010. Mitsubishi wanted to sell the rebadged Protons in other poorer countries.

Whatever happened to that lah ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • smarttess on May 23, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Like most government propaganda, it came to nothing.

• Only fools like Aero keep on believing in Proton fantasy.

Birds of same feather flocks together. Losers hang out with another losers.

• smarttess on May 24, 2014 at 10:36 am

Same as most political propaganda – nothing came of it.

• turboguy on May 24, 2014 at 11:43 am

yalo… mecerdes and bmw also wanted to rebage proton to sell in other countries too cuz proton is so great!

• alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:30 pm

if not mistaken, Mitsubishi had some interests in the Exora and to rebadge it.

• Good chedet.bite the bullet.do something right.

Take good reliable japanese cars,infuse what proton did best:handling.

In return,use your connection to give them something.lower tax or whatever.

Stop lamenting false pride.we dont need those

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Aniq_Affandi on May 24, 2014 at 4:45 am

You are amazing. Let’s hope together that this could bring some change. :)

• Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Bullseye.. P1 owners get prepared. . Im all 100% for rebadge. .

Your Suprima, Preve etc.. can share the same fate like Tiara, Juara, Waja, Gen 2 etc etc.. tapau saje lah…

Honda.. come to papa..

Hahaha. . I like this news!!!

• Please rebadge.
    As long as it is cheap, I’ll buy.
    Rebadge is the way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • spongewai on May 23, 2014 at 8:34 pm

so what about Honda and Proton??

any news??!

• Dr M and Proton at the edge of six feet under…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • mmaker on May 23, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Mahathir:Saya mahu kita collaborate dengan itu company…apa nama….apa nama….saya lupa dah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • farhan on May 23, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Actually proton is a good car, i have own persona… So far performance ok, but the quality control still worse, for proton need to improve quality control then should be ok… Market segment please focus on 1.5 segment… Ppl buy myvi alot because of fuel price increased and the quality it is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Murderer on May 23, 2014 at 9:11 pm

This old hag never rest

• shawal on May 23, 2014 at 9:24 pm

Daihatsu owns 40% of perodua..
    Perodua builds and exports myvis to indonesia as daihatsu…

Proton would have had similar success if vw was allowed to own 51% of proton…
    We will either end up like skoda….or seat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Your are much smarter than my butt or bart kissers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Aniq_Affandi on May 24, 2014 at 4:47 am

I guess so. I mean if our cars are being posted to other companies, it still turns back revenue to our country. Well said.

• motorbart on May 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

Smart? If VW owns proton more money goes oversea

Puih.

• smarttess on May 26, 2014 at 11:15 am

I think it’s the opposite. Proton’s cronies are the ones who are probably the ones sending money overseas to buy penthouse apartments in Sydney, London, New York, etc.

• Same l0r on May 24, 2014 at 4:14 pm

If VW allowed to own 51% of Proton share, the cronies going to eat grass due to tighten qc on the spare parts they supplied.

Dr M view proton of his own pride, the cronies view proton as atm machines. Who really view Proton as the pioneer to bring Malaysia into advance country and benefits Malaysians?

No one!

• Motorbuttt on May 26, 2014 at 10:37 am

what QC same lor..?
        VW..? they havent escape from DSG failure ..etc..

i bet UMW people are more fatter than cronies .. by selling those old junk..same lor..

stop helping proton same lor.. let them alone.., u juz focus selling toyota.. u get bentley ..so did i.. we’re both happy..okay

• alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:32 pm

toyota owns daihatsu.

enuf said.

• Vincent Cheng on May 23, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Watch up Tan Chong… I guess ur nissan gone soon… by looking at how slow nissan new model roll into MY market, I guess u have yet to get right click… soon, Nissan might be tap on Proton assembly plant which is bigger, more flexible for multi model, and of course, the old horse big cable.

• mmaker on May 24, 2014 at 9:59 am

TC dont have any financial problem. If Nissan sales is slow, they still can make money by operating CKD Subaru, Mitsubishi and renault.

• Vincent Cheng on May 24, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Tan Chong is steady un financial. … but Nissan Japan wanted more sales…. If Proton take Nissan, will Tan Chong just happily give a way? No right? But what choise they have? How to turn back nissan 80’s golly?

• Well, he is almost 90, he tends to forget what he said before. What you are going to hear is “That was a long time ago, I can’t REMEMBER”

• BeemerFreak on May 23, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Was thinking about a Suprima prior to this. With the installation of the old fool at place, i lost interest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • semi super value on May 23, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Apa nama, apa nama….

Itu buhung

• Guan Yin Maa on May 23, 2014 at 10:10 pm

After the experience with mitsu, i doubt any japs car maker will want to collaborate with proton. Only if the $$$$$$$ offered by proton is huge. Etc: HONDA.

• transformer on May 23, 2014 at 10:12 pm

Its doesn’t matter who take helm Proton, 95% Malaysia population still going to suffers bcoz of high car price causing many are still using their current junk that’s not safe in term of design, wear & tear which not only put themselves at risk but also to others road user.

This make Raykat wonder Proton existence benefit Rakyat or just benefit cronies themselves????
    not forgetting PUKIMA(AP King)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 4:22 am

The real deathtraps are made by Toyota and Perodua, not by Proton (anymore).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • hippo on May 23, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Oh dear, they r going to rebadge all Honda car.
    There goes your Honda resale value. Perhaps Honda Siti is coming.

• Henry on May 23, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Please rebadge a Toyota GT86 for me.

• Car_fan on May 23, 2014 at 11:29 pm

I see, so it’s plainly obvious that Proton is using the Honda Brio platform for their new global small hatchback, which has been a failure in ASEAN, so I guess Honda won’t mind that too much. It also explains why there’s always a Brio tagging along whenever the P2-30A goes testing. For national pride, Proton will somehow put their own ancient engine in there. For the sake of Honda customers, I hope the collaboration stops there…

• “Right now we are cooperating with Honda” more like right now we are rebadging Honda’s old Accord and market them as our new Proton Accord.
    We already done that with Mitsubishi Lancer in Inspira… Do not write us off yet as we have Proton Preve as our new designed…
    After 30 years… they are still on the same spot, lazy and reluctant to change. From the way i read, the future is another rebadging journey

• Ini Kedah, Cronies & Mukri boleh untung besar-besar!!
    Harap betul,Dr.M ni..!!! Baik bankrupkan 1 Malaysia sekali gus..!!!

• alldisc on May 24, 2014 at 9:36 pm

from a diferent point… why not ask tun M to head MAS?? to steer out of bankruptcy.

lets see then how good the outcome will be.

• Not to condem proton but something need to be done asap. I think this could be a good idea as a last chance to save our people in automotive industry. Dont look back our past mistake. They is a lot more important thing need to do. If proton died….thousand of people will lost their job include vendors. Just imagine they are part of your family or friend. Don’t give up proton but make sure you learn something today. Depreciation, no sale will kill you very fast. But any how we are malaysian. The final product that we produce is image of our country. Yes thailand and indonesia are success in their automotive but remember they has nothing to be proud of. If the investor move they wont be able to do anything. If we

• Not to condem proton but something need to be done asap. I think this could be a good idea as a last chance to save our people in automotive industry. Dont look back our past mistake. They is a lot more important thing need to do. If proton died….thousand of people will lost their job include vendors. Just imagine they are part of your family or friend. Don’t give up proton but make sure you learn something today. Depreciation, no sale will kill you very fast. But any how we are malaysian. The final product that we produce is image of our country. Yes thailand and indonesia are success in their automotive but remember they has nothing to be proud of. If the investor move they wont be able to do anything. So merge again with big players get some profit again…build up our capability and create our own technology. Dont give up. Try again and again is better than surrender.

• motorbart on May 24, 2014 at 4:00 pm

You are a fighter
      motorhead is a loser!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Market down from 80% to 20%..

Making lost.. pay Bahar outside court.. bkame P2 for low sales.. Can’t sell in Asean. .

Meanwhile. . I never own a Protong sampah.. Cars all fine.. loan free.. making money every month. .

Who’s the looser? Are you retarded?

Haha.. life is good.. no P1 in my life..

• motorbart on May 25, 2014 at 10:34 am

If no proton your life is loan free?
          As if there is no cheaper reliable cars than myvi and you say p2 and Toyota are all problem free?

What about huge recalls all over the world bu Toyota and that involved safety parts?

I dun want to die in those tin milo coffins.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Oh.. you die anyway. . Trust me..

Soon..

drive to die eh??

• youidiot on May 25, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Loser in life, afraid to fight

• Motorhead (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Youcilake

Whose fight? Rakyat? Me?

Bullsheet u.. nak fight pon.. jgn menyusahkan org lain..

Scrap la NAP.. lift the protection & fight la.. wa support u..

Ada berani?

Cowards? Who the looser?

Go to hel..

• youidiot on May 25, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Why susah, you dun buy proton pun.
            SInce when you supportproton, you just want it close shop. Coward to admit, damn it.

• Motorbuttt on May 25, 2014 at 5:09 pm

U sound like pathetic for middle aged man..

Those p2 only u can afford plus junk vios .. u better stop underestimate other people…
          They beat u at life.. they beat u at road too.. what achievement u have beside those 6k n 4 month bonuses.. going around like maniac in paultan.. ??

• Motorhead (Member) on May 25, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Yeah.. u beat my ass.. look at your name.. Motorhead’s butt?

Go clean your butt lah.. penuh tahi…

Hahaha. .

• Motorbuttt on May 25, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Nothing much we can say to motorhead..
          he loves moving around in those coffin..

Let us pray for him…

• Motorhead (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 7:35 am

May u die faster too..

Pray back to you.. Ameen..

Butthurt.. sales looser.. ppl died in P1 anyway. . Mostly badly equipped Saga.

Meanwhile Suprima S x bole jual..

• Nicholas on May 24, 2014 at 1:16 am

Can you rebadge the new accord and sell it at rm90k? The buyer will line up from Johor to Penang

• Mamatwhyla on May 24, 2014 at 1:25 am

This is the fella that influence what is Proton today. Whoever think Proton will improve under his supervision, pls wake up. More protection will come and fatter cronies.

• syahif on May 24, 2014 at 1:33 am

As long as it’ll have positive impact on our economy generally, I’m up for it.

• Peter on May 24, 2014 at 1:36 am

Having cheap car in Malaysia in future is … unlikely

• RejimKejamGanas on May 24, 2014 at 2:31 am

“We are going to look closely at the countries that we can export our cars (to) so that the production can be increased as we have a big production capacity, which is not utilised,” the former PM said, adding that as the Malaysian car market is small, Proton will have to focus on exports in order to expand.

Dr Mahathir also said that Proton would like to invite Japanese carmakers to come to Malaysia as the national car company had quite a big part of its production plant to offer to any investor who had the desire to produce cars in Malaysia, Bernama reported.

Why waste time and money to set up another place when we have Tanjung Malim dear Tun? Shouldn’t Proton open up this site for collaboration and make this existing investment a hub?

• Vanhoe on May 24, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Kedah is more strategic place to build cars if you want to send it to Thailand. It is very close to the border, also near the Penang port.

• Steve Kok on May 24, 2014 at 3:12 am

The old man can only tok kok lah…

If CEO’s job is only tok kok.. then Steve Kok talks better kok!

• Spirior on May 24, 2014 at 8:11 am

Ingat Honda akan set up kilang suka2 hati dia? Sebelum invest site baru mesti ada solid business case. Domestik volume, export market, tax holiday, logistics, manpower, supply chain, talent pool dsb. Kalau aku Honda, baik aku expand Pegoh. Buat apa nak pening2.

Kedua, kalau tun M bagi arahan, siapa dalam drb/Proton akan berani kata tapi/no/need review/subject to busines case? Tak ada punya.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 8:22 am

>>>>> i just wanna say all the best to Proton n TDM.. coz deep in my heart, i wanna see Proton b a success global player.. i wanna see people buy Proton when the price is the same with toyota.. can aaaa????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Proton export quality are better and more spec also cheaper while the local market are more expensive and less spec in the 80s if you remember.
    Proton make the fool of the Malaysian with lousy power window and safety fetures just because he make our car more affordable by heavy tax import cars. He implement protections for
    He master with monopoly the proton sales with less tax and he tailor make proton the way which people have no alternative but to buy for the reasons is cheap with screw up quality which is hidden.
    Ask people around do they or will they buy a second proton car.

• It is history, proton is heading towards ncap safety ratings. Just look at 5 star preve and suprima. The GSC is coming too

• kesian rayat on May 24, 2014 at 8:50 am

Xample://
    2014 Current protun 10 emplyee @ slow production.
    bring in euro investor n bring down TAX.
    After 2015 protun increase 20 emplyee @ high production. ..waiting list lok like mcdonld selling HELLO KITTY.
    let the whole world see Rakyat msia all drive continental car baru cun.

• Waiting to see Honda engine powered Proton.

• KangKungMan on May 24, 2014 at 10:45 am

Tun oh Tun ! Pls re-badge new 2014 Honda Jazz with selling price of RM70K – We Malaysia will happy with this project ! Ke!Ke!Ke!

• Please..someone bury proton. Honda?..why cause of his son?….Kedah?…his son?…fark sake la….every thing they do have self interest.

• vee-oh on May 24, 2014 at 12:23 pm

kalau tarak suka, kita bina suka – just quoting on behalf sammyvellue

• unforgiven on May 24, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Again, at your age, please start doing charity, stop doing the protectionism and cronyism, especially before you die. Look at Bill G and Warrant B pls…

• Bottom line, people have lost their trust and faith in your brand. That is why your sales are dropping year by year no matter what Proton does now will never get results…..

• Proton insider on May 24, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Cheapest accordana 2.0 will start selling next year at around 113k

• Lane tamer on May 24, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Dear Proton, please just close shop, it will make everyone happy. Many thaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • deiii on May 24, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Plus don’t close shop.
      I want cheap rebadge car
      Without proton other brand will increase their price.

• Sunday on May 25, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Anyone know is all those high taxes existed before Proton started their business or after? I like to know those taxes simply for country’s sake or someone else.

• If for country so what? You only work for your own life then. If anyone attacks you are the first who fly out from bolehland lol

• deaftek on May 24, 2014 at 3:01 pm

As long as proton is under DRB and Khamil, it will sink deeper and deeper. DRB management is just rubbish. Sack Khamil, remove DRB, that’s what proton needs. DRB- Dah Ramai Berhenti

• Proton Brio, city, civic, crv, HRV, legend, jazz, NSX, Logo,
    K-car: proton life, N-wagon, N-Box….

If you think it cannot happen, then look at the “NEW”, Proton perdana(aka previous generation accord)

Let’s “wait and see”….. Maybe will be like perodua where they offer the viva/ Mira AVY

• Aaron RoGz GTR (Member) on May 24, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Srsly just close shop Proton for goodness sake.
    It’s for everyone’s good,just enough with the excised duty and enough with all Ur lousy cars,it’s time we all use quality reliable Japanese cars and modernise ourselves better
    Our own national cars will never survive or grow to meet international standards.admit it
    Just please,stop it and shutdown and cease operations and production ==

• Most toyota engines in cars sold here not even meet euro 4 emmission standard while cfe ia already metts euro 5/6 standards. How can you proton didn’tmeet intwrnational standard. Plus preve and suprima meet 5 star australasia ncap safety rating, please get out from cav

You are still living in year 2000

• What international standards?
      Emmission standards? Already Euro 5
      Safety rating? 5 Star Australia NCAP

• One does not judge car solely based on their engine and safety rating. It has to be all rounder. The look, the technology, the pricing, the build quality, also play an important role. You might disagree with this but you can watch back paultan video that comparing suprima s, vios and jazz. The obvious better value to buy is suprima s but why vios win the comparison? And i hardly see any suprima s on the road since launch in Penang. Like seriously, there is more new Honda City and T.Vios on the road than the preve and suprima s.

• old dog on May 25, 2014 at 12:50 am

The crony Honda la, what else…

now all Honda buyers must be shaking…damn..

• Cut the leash on politically connected vendors..they are the ones driving up the cost of the cars while providing shoddy products..take the case of the power windows..Proton realised they have a public relation nightmare but they do not have the balls to cut the vendor out…rather they simply offered “lifetime” warranty on power window…while other manufacturers are willing to give lifetime warranty on power train Proton can only give on power window..perhaps TDM can lend his expertise in getting a better power window…

• skyjuice on May 26, 2014 at 5:08 pm

please be subaru.. i want proton impreza.. smart guy get it…

• Car makers that want to collaborate with Proton is really stupid!

1) Proton “Good” reputation
    2) Malaysia “Big” market