Lamborghini Huracan LP610-4 Polizia in hot pursuit

Huracan Polizia 01

The Italian Polizia must be rubbing their hands with glee, after Lamborghini donated the Huracan LP 610-4 to the force. The Huracans will replace the Gallardos used by the Italian police since 2004 and 2008, and will begin service by the end of this year.

Since 2004, Rome’s police force has operated the first-gen Gallardo, with a further Gallardo run by Bologna police since 2005. Both were replaced in 2008 by second-gen cars. In the hands of Rome police, the Lambo clocked over 140,000 km up until 2008, and more than 110,000 km between 2009 and 2014 for patrol duty on central and southern Italian motorways, as well as on emergency medical transport detail. Aside from regular servicing, neither of the cars required major repairs.

In addition to being an effective deterrent (do you really want to try outrun a police Lambo?), the equipment on board these fast patrol cars include automatic number plate recognition and tracking, and real-time transmission of images to control rooms.

Huracan Polizia 02

A video system is positioned in the centre of the cabin with a camera fitted next to the rear view mirror, plus a computer and recording equipment behind the seats. As soon as officers are alerted to a suspicious driver, they activate a “Proof Video Data System” that can accurately determine the speed of the car being pursued.

The Huracan Polizia is also fitted with a classic array of police kit, such as a gun holster, radio equipment and the “Paletta”, the traditional hand-held stop sign used to advise traffic offenders to pull over. Officers can then use a removable screen to show motorists their misdeeds immediately, with all the associated data. An aero-optimised police beacon and four sirens announce its arrival.

Interestingly, the Lambo’s front luggage compartment is equipped with a refrigeration system for safe transportation of donor organs. For extreme emergencies, there is also a life-saving defibrillator on board.

So if you ever see one of these Lambos on the autostrade when on holiday, stay clear. The Huracan you can buy made its debut in March at the Geneva show – click here for more on the 610 hp V10-powered beast.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• i want to apply for italian policeman job ^^

• Protonist on May 26, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Apply for policeman in Malaysia, you can get a Huracan yourself and for your wife also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Yes, apply to be policeman here, you will be multi millionaire very fast.

• Vader (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 10:05 am

Wau, the policemen definitely enjoy their job when drive this beast to patrol on the street.. =)
    But not in bolehland, or else the car and stuck on the bump and hole on the road.. hehehe

• kcng (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 10:17 am

just some propaganda from italian armed force…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • heybadigol on May 26, 2014 at 10:19 am

If they needed fast transportation of organs, why not use a helicopter or a fast motorcycle? As fast as the Lambo is, it cant move much in heavy traffic, no?

Nonetheless, who wouldnt want to drive and speed in this, on duty and getting paid doing it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Hadi75 on May 26, 2014 at 10:39 am

These are police cars….they have sirens….when you hear the sirens what did you do???you give way…..
      And there are times when a helicopter are not practical but a bike…maybe but the risk of crashing are probably higher on a bike……but who knows….maybe it is just lambo way of csr cum marketing…..

• How many motorcycles have a ‘refrigeration system for safe transportation of donor organs’? ;)

• flat_tire on May 26, 2014 at 5:47 pm

ehh we got PosLaju what.. just put a Samsung fridge inside and you’re good to go..

• lamboOwner on May 26, 2014 at 12:33 pm

U people no money,no talking talking lah..u better go and buy that shit plotong..give me free plotong oso i dont want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Black Dog on May 26, 2014 at 12:57 pm

we will have this in 2020

• italiano on May 26, 2014 at 1:33 pm

in 2020 the slogan is “now every1 can drive a lambo..”

• Low Budget on May 26, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Now that the Italian Police got this type of car, our PDRM can also beg Najib to allow them to have it too, if cannot, a Lotus sport cars will do.

• and meanwhile we have our evo police. although evo x is fast, it can’t outrun a modded evo 8/9 or evo

• guan eng jr. on May 26, 2014 at 7:24 pm

owner of supercar who commits traffic offence should be fined at least RM10000.

• In Switzerland, you can be fined based on your estimated wealth;

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/8446545.stm

• Big deal. I’ve outrun police in Lambos many times.

In Need for Speed.

• niterunner99 on May 30, 2014 at 1:51 pm

those Italian guys who mod their cars can challenge this Lambo lah!