Ops Cermin Gelap called off, use of tint to be reviewed

cermin gelap

JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad has said that no massive operation against vehicles with dark-tinted glass is being conducted, according to Bernama. However, he said JPJ will continue to carry out operations from time to time.

“Not that we don’t allow vehicles to use tinted glass, but it has to be within the permissible darkness level,” said Ismail. Earlier this month, the police announced June 16 as the commencement date for Ops Cermin Gelap, a nationwide operation against heavily-tinted vehicles and non-regulation number plates.

Permissible tint levels in the existing rules states a minimum of 70% visible light transmission levels for the front windscreen and 50% for the side and rear windows, with those who fell foul set to be fined RM300, it was then reported.

The transport ministry has since agreed to review the use of tint on vehicles, with aspects such as existing regulations, enforcement, security and usability to be looked into. A two-day workshop is set to be held from June 2 at Holiday Inn, Glenmarie for this purpose.

Acting transport minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said the ministry was aware of the views and feedback of the people who think the rules regarding tint use are behind the times.

ops-cermin-gelap-eg 091

“As a result of the feedback, I would like to inform, the ministry is ready to review and amend the existing regulations on the use of tinted glass on vehicles,” he said in a statement last Friday.

“The transparency standards for tinted glasses on vehicles based on existing international standards such as ‘United Nations Vehicle Regulation R43 (Safety Glassing)’ will be looked into, among others.

“This workshop will also be fine-tuning efforts to empower consumers with information and understanding of the use of tinted glass,” Hishammuddin said.

The aforementioned workshop will be split into five sessions. The first will be chaired by JPJ to discuss current regulations, the second by MIROS to study the use of tint in other countries and the third by the police to study tint regulations from a security and crime perspective.

The fourth session will be chaired by the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumer Affairs ministry to discuss sales of tints at car accessory outlets, and finally the fifth by MITI to discuss the import of tinted-glass vehicles through APs.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• frankie on May 26, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Must also consider the UV level we have to those European countries!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 2
    • Pinky on May 26, 2014 at 3:13 pm

They will have to review it quick!! Raya is around the corner!! If they don’t enforce it asap, alot of police will have no extra angpow for Raya!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 15
      • JPJ and Polis Tak Ada Bola on May 26, 2014 at 5:52 pm

All bullshit story. Whether called off or being reviewed, when the new ops come again, it will be same story. Keyword is NO ENFORCEMENT.

This has been going on for years. Every now and then got operasi. But we all know what happens in the real Malaysia. Mr Tinter gets caught, Mr Tinter pays RM50 on the spot. All settled.

That is how Malaysia works. Hello PDRM, sort your corruption first. Even I kena RM300 also, I just go to balai next week, pay RM50 can selesai the saman.

JPJ and Polis, please look into your corruption. Nearly every Malaysian has encountered a police officer or JPJ officer who has taken money to settle a saman on the road and on the spot. No receipt issued.

Somemore, the police officer or JPJ officer also very clever. They always say, when taking the money, “Encik ada bagi ikhlas kan?” Then, we answer, “Ya encik, kami bagi ikhlas”. Then all selesai.

Then the problem and the saman goes away. Polis Trafik and JPJ are famous for this. Nothing in Malaysia can be enforced.
        This tinted glass will have operasi for 1 week. After that, everything is forgotten.

Come on JPJ and Polis, wake up to the real world and see your trafik officers on the road and on the PLUS highways.

Discipline your officers first before an operasi is done. Besides corruption, in the PJ New Town polis station, your officers are even sitting and smoking as there is smoke smell coming from the back rooms behind the counter. Though not visible, still can smell smoke.

Tak payah all this operasi. Sort all the corruption going on in Polis Trafik and JPJ first, then there will be order amongst road users.

Anyway it will be fun to see the officers catch all the tan sri, datuk, ah long, single number plate, menteri menteri and kroni kroni, drug lords and gangster gangster. The bola of the officer also kecut immediately and say “Tuan, sila lalu”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 43
        • ScuderiaVincero on May 26, 2014 at 11:06 pm

I love the irony of your complaint, you complain about corruption and yet, according to what you have said here

“Even I kena RM300 also, I just go to balai next week, pay RM50 can selesai the saman.”

you’re part of the problem. So are you legitimately against corruption, or would you, as one who’s no less guilty, excuse yourself from its consequences? Is Malaysia itself heading into a state of sociel hypocrisy?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 3
          • how to settle RM50 ? I have a red light Summon stated RM300.

• Mohd Yusoff on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:00 pm

I don’t think its fair to say that all the traffic law enforcers are corrupted.. I have friends in the police force who are ‘tegas’ and well disciplined.

• Same L0r on May 26, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Normally the one “hiding” in the car is the crime VICTIM, JPJ should look into tinted helmet control among the motorcyclist.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
    • kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:29 pm

All the polis and JPJ officers are very sad with this move. Duit Raya tak ada sekarang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
    • Vader (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 8:11 am

I am agree that the glass that totally blackout is not allowed, but the legal light transmission level need to be revise.
      Most of the cases, the robber crash the window then easily rob the hand bag or whatever because they can see and aim it from outside.
      If the glass is a bit dark, it should not be an excuse to disturb the policemen to see any criminals inside the car or not, since the policemen always block all the roads into a single lane then check one by one.

• thebugbud on May 27, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Ops cancel sbb …menteri2 kroni2 semua complain. Their super luxury cars all tint to “no shit” can see thru. Mana boleh kasi remove… no status already.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 29, 2014 at 8:15 am

Cakap dgn LEMBU dgn KELDAI memang tara guna. Pergi overseas trip suruh kau belajar dari negara maju, bukannya pergi shopping. Bodoh punya JPJ Keldai ni…..

Suddenly wants to follow UN standard for safety tinted??? Tapi Education system taknak follow UN standard??? Apsal la KERA JAAN Msia ni setaraf lembu Kondo dan lembu Rayer???? Why why why???

• nabill (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 2:52 pm

More like Ops “we r dumb ass idiots we should have reviewd da damn thing ONLY THEN ANOUNCE DA OPS”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 6
    • Well on a good side, at least they take public’s comment and feedback into account than just ignoring it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • victor tan (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Good comment, big thumb up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Black Dog on May 26, 2014 at 3:06 pm

The use of dark tinted glass for security and sun shielding purposes far outweigh criminals hiding inside.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • security and shielding? why can’t just use tinted which is not dark? there are a lot of not dark tinted which good for security and shielding. If criminal gang in a car armed with machete etc how could you see if dark tinted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 71
      • edgehogr on May 26, 2014 at 7:12 pm

aye brother, if i really want to conceal a weapon
        , it doesnt matter whether my windows are dark tint or not i will still manage to hide it. If i use light tint and keep my machete in the trunk or under my seat, you can see meh? pls use your brain before speaking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
      • blazk on May 26, 2014 at 11:23 pm

have you ever consider that woman driving alone will be much more vulnerable and could be easy target for criminals. just one glance and criminal could easily pick their victim and follow them to their home or until secluded place. I have even seen a robber just shatter the passenger window and took the handbag in the passenger seat at red traffic light(luckily he was caught).
        believe me, dark tint will help the victim much more than the criminal.
        and btw, you dont really need dark tint to hide weapons. that criminal is an idiot if he cant hide machette without dark tint

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • RememberOldTime on May 27, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Remember the case in The Curve last year where the young Lady was assaulted and stowed into her own car (Myvi), what happened if the window was heavily tinted? Nobody will notice anything. And the assailant can casually drive out of the establishment and she’s gone for good. Very dark tints will create an additional way for criminals to work.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 9:16 pm

There is more reason for outlawing dark tinted windows. If you are driving, and in front there is a car with dark tinted windows, you don’t know what is happening in front. If the car in front of the car in front of you brakes, you don’t know. That is dangerous.

Try driving in Europe, where windows aren’t tinted. You already know way ahead of time if your lane is going to slow down. So much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
      • blazk on May 26, 2014 at 11:41 pm

then, just ban all the lorries, busses, and trucks in the world.-sarcasm intended-

but seriously, if you cant see in front of the vehicle -> youre just too close

and if you cant break in time -> youre just too close

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • tokmoh (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 12:26 am

Spent too little time here, and too much in Germany? Perhaps u need to consider the heat in europe is too little compared to here (aircond is still optional for some cars there, just telling how cool the weather there). Plenty of sunlight too accelerates wear of car interior, lest u’re lucky enough to always park under the shades. most aren’t.

The vlt rulings just needs to be a bit more lenient. Current 70/50 makes it impossible for all tints to pass. The glass window itself reduces vlt by some percentage, thus failing puspakom test, even when the tint is very light. Then waste money and time to remove and claim from tint shops, redo puspakom blabla

• Sam's doctor on May 27, 2014 at 12:43 am

Ban the blardy Hilux first. Always cut in front of me and block my view. Then i can accept your argument that tinted glass is dangerous. Otherwise get lost and stop spewing shit here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Nick Nack on May 29, 2014 at 11:11 am

one of the lousiest I ever seen. Do you know in europe they allow privacy glass for rear passengers? similar to JDM cars?

shishh

• Mamasan on May 26, 2014 at 3:13 pm

About bloody time this ancient rule is being reviewed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • call off for good la tinted op, but need go after those dudes with 8k hid fitted on non hid headlamps

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • Yes, tats good and its necessary to study all aspects before doing the crackdown on tinted car windows.

• totti on May 26, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Malaysia boleh mah.

When the crime increased they will blame it on the dark tint.

When proton can not sell their car they blame others for taking their share.

They just cannot run away from blaming “culture” adopted by bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Eh? Crime is real in Malaysia? I thought just perception?! *Sarcasm

• turbo_guy on May 26, 2014 at 9:30 pm

welcome to the “blaming-land” aka “boleh-land”.
      if country bankruptcy, they will blame you not paying enough taxes.

• so where’s the budget will come from for this 2 day workshop?

• Jebonr on May 26, 2014 at 3:35 pm

On word to describe this …… “Yahooooooooo…”

• kenix tim mun chong on May 26, 2014 at 3:36 pm

settle down, kasi clear everything then just announce..
    are you testing the market or no enough clue what is going on right now?

• Redline on May 26, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Classic example of left hand didn’t talk to the right hand. Police and JPJ should consult each other before embarking on major nationwide operation like Ops Cermin Gelap.

• vee-oh on May 26, 2014 at 3:45 pm

if you suspect there are some criminals in a car, just freakin stop the car lo..see see like dat can identify criminals meh?

• fairus on May 27, 2014 at 12:04 pm

I do agree with u, if police hv trouble looking through a tinted glass, just stop the car, if the driver is not guilty or whatsoever, they won’t hv a problem stopping.. Vice versa with the clear tinted..
      For someone who are on the road most of the time, dark tint help with the heat and glare..
      Basically the police force have handheld reader to identify the owner of the car.. With or without tinted a criminal is a criminal.. And usually they avoid heavy tinted car to reduce suspicion.. If I’m one.. Won’t u?

• cendol (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Next they should start Ops Roti Canai, flip here and flip there. LIke a roti canai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Yamcake on May 26, 2014 at 3:55 pm

We should standardize our tint regulations with first world countries such as the UK, Japan and Singapore.

• Sadly we cant cause Malaysia isnta first world country. They always managed things like a third world country and sometimes even worst than third world.

• RememberOldTime on May 27, 2014 at 6:27 pm

We can’t emulate first world regulations and benefits in Malaysia because our people is not entirely ready (civilised) enough yet. First world or more specifically liberal & democratic ideology only works when the citizen understand that the government doesn’t owe them a living. That taxes equates to paying their government a rent in exchange for peace. It’s not that their country aren’t corrupted or unfair, they understand that very well and work on the basis of grit.

Examples to that would be inconsiderate drivers; emergency lanes, ignoring road signs (remember the white bmw ignoring the yellow box and berhenti sigh which resulted in an accident with a motorbike?), cutting in front of the line when there are traffic, dangerous modifications, double parkings (remember Kuching incident where the person’s car window got smashed to remove her car?). And those are just casual drivers, when we include the riders along the problem escalates.

Psychological explanation is that behind the wheels, people feel that they are hidden and so they tend to unconsciously let their emotions out. In this case errant driving would increase (think Thailand) in much greater proportion. Although that wouldn’t do any more harm to our country’s image since it’s leveraged at brilliant networks of road but chaotic traffics.

• To begin with, first world countries dont beranak beramai-ramai that congest the whole city like here. so there is no urge to drive on the emergency lane etc. People need to adapt knowledge. Need to take account of the environment. What works in one place works well there. Period. U cannot copy. U need to setup your own rules based on what u have to work with.

• ThePolygon on May 26, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I believe they can just runs the ops from location to location and not announce it nationwide.

Those really dark tinted cars are very noticeable. Just keep pulling them aside for ‘comment’ and on the spot ‘saman’ and they will eventually take take the hint and take it off. We know they are wrong… they know they are wrong…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • RememberOldTime on May 27, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Why not forget about Ops Gelap and popularise ‘Ops Rm1 for every photo/video submitted of somebody’s cars with reg.no. committing crimes’ that’ll really make significant changes to road safety. Streets will then be packed with hounds.

1) summon money is used to pay the RM1 to the person who submits
      2) person who submit needs to collect 100 submission to gets his RM100
      3) Needs to have timestamp & date, no need location

• Wonder who are the ppl who dominates the import of tint materials and what is their role in this decision?

• Nozzy on May 26, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Never thought of safety for drivers whom side windscreen being break by thiefs easily!!

• there are a lot of tinted films which are not dark but could filter very good amount of UV, infrared etc. in the market right now, but i don’t understand why people still opt to get the dark tinted. For me only gangsters aka criminal using dark tinted as they want to hide from public. U want privacy? u can install curtain, blinder etc but not dark tinted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
    • Redline on May 26, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Actually the dark tint is actually important for the security of single female drivers, especially when they are driving alone at night. With dark tint, its much more difficult for a would be motorcyclist-thief to identify, target and break the window of the car and snatch the handbag or other belongings of the female driver. We have seen many CCTV videos of men on motorcycles targeting single female drivers for their crime.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 9:19 pm

You shouldn’t block the view through the windows at all. As a driver you need to see what is happening around your car, or do you prefer those drivers oblivious to everything around them, changing lane without noticing there’s already a car coming etc.?

Likewise, it is good if other drivers can see THROUGH your car, as that improves safety on the road. You know what is happening in front of the car that is in front of you, for example.

• Thomas Tingle on May 26, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Dark tinting:
    Cons: Hide criminals behind the wheel. Hide immoral activity of driver/passengers inside the vehicle.

Pros: Protect your belongings etc laptop, bags whenever you park somewhere with potential of theft. Prevent unwanted stare and voyeurism of drive-by motorist/street looker to minimise the risk getting hijack (especially for woman driver).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • steve on May 26, 2014 at 5:33 pm

the police are not stupid, they know who are the criminals with or without tint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 9:21 pm

If I am a thief, I will intentionally smash cars with dark tint. More likely to have something expensive inside. Owners of cars without tint might not be as rich, or they won’t leave valuables in the car since they know others can see.

Also, if you want to hide something, why not in the boot? Or under your seat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Sam's doctor on May 27, 2014 at 12:47 am

spewing shit again. If you are a thief and smash my dark tint. Be ready to face 5 guys that will beat the shit out of you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • guilt79 on May 26, 2014 at 4:33 pm

What about the plate number? Need review?

• RememberOldTime on May 27, 2014 at 6:43 pm

didn’t they received RM290mil for that personalised number plates back in 2012? Maybe I got their definition of ‘personalised’ wrong but it sure would be great if I can have my name on my plate number.

• Ppl owed to PT keyboard warriors, the enforcement withdraw the regulation due to their comments.

• tessiemah on May 26, 2014 at 4:44 pm

worst offenders are those with custome plates AND dumbos with HID/blinding headlights.

no dark tints will be able to filter these dumbos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • I’m with you…100% agreed. Those with dumb ass add-on HID + LED all around the car for sake and noisy muffler yang memalukan Malaysian should be the first to Ops

• JohnnyD on May 26, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Dark tints are only for security and people with valid health reason.
    The best anti-uv and anti-infra red tints are much more transparent than dark coloured tints. As dark coloured tints does not prevent UV or infra red. They are merely coloured and dark.

The issue now is more about the cost, as those anti-uv and anti- infra red tints are very expensive.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Why can’t our PDRM focus on arresting all those burglars, rapists, murderers etc. instead ? Dark window tint is nowhere near life-threatening.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • They say they can’t catch the criminals wor.. cause they can’t see them inside the car with dark tinting….. lol

• old dog on May 26, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Can we discuss before launching any news? it shows that there is no coordination among all parties…everyone just do their own decision, and later “wait”….

• I think those who have “POWER” don’t realize that the millions of Malaysian drivers need a “darker”
    Tint by a margin…. Power people car tint is like black, u know what saying right? So they don’t get the pinch from the sun

• lydia on May 26, 2014 at 5:28 pm

i got sensitive eyes, and i have letters certified by eye specialist kept inside my car, authorized by JPJ. cost me a lot just to get the damn thing authorize by this corrupted JPJ. both of my cars are having 40% VLT (front, side, rear).

• Flip flop.

now you see, now you don’t.

JPJ talks like politician.

• irwan on May 26, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Kudos to the transport ministry for taking the first step in the right direction, better late than never. Hope they can focus on the follow through and execution. And prepare for the next step which is a review on the road tax based on emissions rather than engine capacity.

• Simon Ng on May 26, 2014 at 6:10 pm

If they really want to do this operasi. I dare them to set up block right outside of any international or private schools. Let’s see whether they dare to stop any of the tinted cars.

• Darren on May 26, 2014 at 6:12 pm

if the tint that is exceeding permissible is illegal, then why are they sold legally in car accessories shop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • RememberOldTime on May 27, 2014 at 6:49 pm

0 communications, 0 collaborations and 0 implementations…

• loose (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 6:26 pm

please make it happen. i feel tired with people who think they r too clever. do or not they still said that gov are wrong.

• Albert Lee on May 26, 2014 at 6:31 pm

The most CONFUSING dept is for everyone to criticise now.
    You should do all your homework(all the RAKYAT funded seminars/feedback,) first BEFORE announcements for the OPERASI.
    STUPID and SILLY,RECALCITRANT …..not enough English vocab to denounce these people.

• kimi's fan on May 26, 2014 at 6:56 pm

after made hu-ha and now called-off ?
    ish..

• Anthony on May 26, 2014 at 7:01 pm

JPJ win liao loh,near hari raya:say 70%tinted, HID,number plate,,,later then christmas say no money buy present than ask again money for buying present n say no body kits,no spoiler,no GT wings,need original.then chinese new year,somemore say no sport rims,no LED lights,no sticker,no woofer n no big exhaust blah blah blah ,god is u evil also u,u all win liao,tayar shop can tutup liao,accessories shop oso can tutup liao

• andy diesl on May 26, 2014 at 9:21 pm

add on..no ROTA, wide offset, or negative chamber wheel on rear ..

• Asad (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 7:38 pm

UNECE R43 Specs:
    http://www.unece.org/fileadmin/DAM/trans/main/wp29/wp29wgs/wp29grsg/grsginf/81/grsg81_inf07.doc
    Front: 70% VLT
    Rear: >70% VLT only with external side mirrors.

OEM Front Windscreen (without tinting) already only allows 65-80% VLT. This means that the current regulation implies no tinting allowed on front windscreen.

Apa kes?

• pdclassic on May 26, 2014 at 9:23 pm

If Police/JPJ would like to enforce this law, they should stop the tinted/accessory shop to sell first.
    For example : In Europe, only one standard number plate sold to the user.

• Denaihati on May 26, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Is unfair if tinted glass for import/re-cond car get summon. it the glass itself is tinted.
    hope the review done as soon as possible.

• They definitely need to review the tinting regulation.. I hope they can allow darker tint, but not TOO dark until u can’t see anyone inside.. To me, they should allow darker level similar too JDM spec recond car.. anything darker than that is a no-no.

• awan nano on May 26, 2014 at 10:30 pm

A bit off topic. I think the operation that they really should do now is against illegal police strobe lights. How many times have you driven on the highway and suddenly see the police strobe lights in your rear view mirror? Only to see that it’s not the real police but just some asshole who want everyone to give him way.

• unforgiven on May 26, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Once trying to prove innocent, ended up at JPJ for inspection. Wasted a day, applied for leave just for the inspection. Guess what, only 1 side (front passenger) was over the limit. The other 3 and back all ok. Ended up teared off the front passenger side to avoid the summon. Then retint back FOC. 1 whole day gone for corruption free process, LoL

• Mansur on May 26, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I hope the gov would really come up with measures to change the existing tint rules which has caused lots of hassles to Malaysian car owners. Come to think of it, it is really absurd to allow the sale of JDM recon cars which come with rear dark tints but fine the drivers when they use such cars on the road.

Other than the tinting rule, I would also like to see the transport ministry make a study on the banning on aftermarket HIDs. The Govn should realize it is not the type of bulb that causes a blinding effect on oncoming drivers but the angle which the light is aimed at is the cause of the glare. Even on standard yellowish halogen bulbs, if the angle is set to focus on the drivers eye rather than the road, his too would cause a blinding effect.

To tackle this issue, I think the gov should set up checks on vehicles to make sure their headlight angles are set correctly as this would solve the problem.

• Richard on May 27, 2014 at 1:09 am

First of all, do JPJ & Police must know why car owners want to tint their cermin gelap (CG)?
    Then, use their statistics available to support why they want to restrict people to tint their CG.

On the other hand, car owners must list down the reasons why they must tint their CG until no one can see thru.

We must not blame that JPJ & Police are unreasonable or Authorities can not said that car owners always “salah” without valid reasons.

For me I like clearer view even though I sit at the rear seat. I feel uncomfortable if I can’t get a clear view. But I do respect those who had tinted their CG. One of the reason I learned is that their cars always have something valuable (to other ppl) inside their car. So it is safe not to let other see thru the cermin.

For convenient reason, I always carry the necessary things in my car. So that I need it I can just extend my arm to get it. It is not convenient if I put it in the car boot.

If the reason given by JPJ & Police is – there is a possibility that criminal hide behind CG car, and just restrict ppl to tint CG.

Then, if they feel that the main cause for the car accident is speed – they will restrict the car limit to only 30 to 60 KM/J or just restrict ppl to drive a car to avoid car accident. May be this is the way our authorities do solve problem.

• Get used to it! sekejap nak buat, sekejap malas nak buat!

• guest on May 27, 2014 at 9:31 am

No one spotted the main reason jpj doing this event? Read carefully… impose APs for importing tint into Malaysia!!

Some datok want to put their hand to filter $$ via AP. Good luck to Malaysian! You think they really care about how many % your tint. Wake up everyone!

• Biasolah tu.. JPJ and PDRM….. Good that they called it off. Waste of human resources. Crime rate will rise during Raya. Why not PDRM go and patrol at crime hotspot?

• Johnny on May 27, 2014 at 1:41 pm

I feel sad that when I want to say “Hi” to the driver next to me but can’t because all I see is a black window (at most just a silhouette).

:'(

• JonJenine on May 27, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Please ban all kind of ‘Cermin Gelap’ now. Majority driver of heavily tinted car are super idiots on the road. Sometimes I want to look straight to their eyes and show them my middle finger. Do your job PDRM, JPJ!

• bootupjoe on May 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

After this ,what next ? “Cermin Mata Gelap” also kena Saman…..tinted because of hot sun weather and crime does not increase because of that , what a stupid reason given by JPJ/Police.

• Jerome on May 27, 2014 at 6:11 pm

I wonder which products are satisfy the JPJ windscreen regulation. Even my V-cool elite was peeled off at Puspakom.

• disgruntledBMWowner on May 28, 2014 at 9:57 am

Who uses black tint anymore? Only those stuck in the past and pure chepo will continue to use black tint and try to get doctor’s letter to justify them using black tint. Hahaha lol. Losers. The in thing is to use good effective tint. Cannot afford good tint then dont put any tint la.

• momotarojaroo on May 28, 2014 at 10:58 am

1. we want dark tinted kerana kereta nampak smart
    2. we want dark tinted kerana tak mahu org jeling2, mengintai kita dan barang dalam kereta
    3. we want dark tinted kerana cahaya matahari yang silau ganggu anak2 yang tidor di belakang
    4. we want dark tinted kerana nak buat maksiat,raba2,cium2,lebih2 dalam kereta? up to you tapi kalau you accident, mesti malu besar kalau kantoi.semua org ambil gambar post internet.
    5. we want dark tinted sebab nak buat crime? polis mahu nombor plat kereta ajer untuk tracking.masa roadblock kena turun tingkap. mesti kantoi juga.

• disgrutledBMWowner on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Nampak smart for people with cheap taste. Nak buat maksiat jangan jadi chepo, sewa hotel 5 star terus. Kalau u chepo, xde orang akan jeling jeling kat u punya. Good tint mcm vkool atau llumnar xde silau silau punya tapi harga rm 2000 ke atas, kalau x mampu chepo la tu.

• TheREalMaserati on May 28, 2014 at 11:16 am

Nothing will ever get enforced because In Malaysia, everything can be settled if you offer abit of money and make friends with the cops or whoever that is enforcing it.

This is Malaysia, and this is how Msia works! Corruption at its best!

• Samad Jain on May 29, 2014 at 9:48 am

JPJ work with trade ministry, go raid the tint shop selling illegal dark tints also….
    There are so many shops in KL selling dark tints sooooo openly.

JPJ always prefer to victimize car owners….for easy coffee money??

• All these problems might be solved (with the exception of corruption) by doing as they do in the UK, and have yearly inspections for cars older than 3 years. Any violation of car standards or safety and you can’t get road tax, and your details are logged. Of course you could pull your tint off, remove your HID and your strobe before the test…..