Volkswagen Passat – B8 sketches and details revealed

db2014au00409_large

Sketches and first details of the next-generation Volkswagen Passat have been released ahead of its online debut in early July. Codenamed B8, the new D-segment competitor promises to be lighter, faster, more fuel efficient and packed with more technology than ever before.

Although we do sort of know what the next Passat will look like, these sketches do provide us a clearer look at some of the details, including the sleek headlight and grille assembly, a scalloped area under the tail lights and the dual exhaust exits. With such a low-slung roofline, one has to wonder if Volkswagen would still feel the need to make a separate CC model.

Seems like that roofline won’t affect interior space, however – despite the exterior dimensions actually being slightly smaller than the current B7, the cabin will be roomier with more leg- and headroom, as well as a bigger boot.

A total of three optional full LED headlights will be offered as an option to the standard halogen headlights, ranging from a basic reflector unit all the way to full-blown projector headlights with Dynamic Light Assist that controls the high beam through a camera as well as U-shaped daytime running lights with 32 LEDs.

db2014au00408_large

In keeping with the times, the B8 Passat will be up to 85 kg lighter, thanks to a crash diet that includes the use of ultra high-strength steel and aluminium in the construction, lighter turbocharged four-cylinder engines and even optimised wire gauges for the electrical system. Despite this, both the sedan and estate will feature significantly stiffer bodies than before.

Powertrain wise, the B8 Passat will come with a host of engines ranging from 120 PS to 280 PS. A highlight is the recently-announced 2.0 TDI biturbo which develops an impressive 240 PS and 500 Nm while consuming just 5 litres of fuel per 100 km, mated to a seven-speed DSG and 4Motion all-wheel drive.

A plug-in hybrid will also be offered, with a 156 PS 1.4 TSI engine and a 109 PS electric motor combining to provide 211 PS, a 0-100 km/h time of under eight seconds, a 210 km/h top speed, a 50 km all-electric range and a total range of over 1,000 km.

The new Passat will also bring a whole host of new technology – it will be the first Vokswagen to feature an Active Info Display, a configurable 12.3-inch LCD display that replaces the analogue instruments of the current car. It will be augmented by a head-up display – another Volkswagen first – as well as the next generation of Volkswagen’s Modular Infotainment Systems (MIB) that will feature larger, higher-resolution touchscreens, faster processors and MirrorLink smartphone integration.

db2014au00410-large-6472782923164288131

Also new is a tablet-controllable rear-seat entertainment system, 360-degree Area View with a new obstacle detection feature, next-generation Park Assist that can now perform semi-automatic forward parking into perpendicular spaces, Trailer Assist, variable-ratio steering and an Easy Close system for the estate that, when activated, will close the tailgate when the user walks away with the key.

We will also see the beginnings of an automated driving system with the B8 – a new Traffic Assist system uses the adaptive cruise control and Lane Assist function to steer, brake and accelerate the car automatically at speeds under 60 km/h. The system only works with the driver’s hands on the steering wheel – without them, the Emergency Assist will provide an acoustic and visual warning, jolt the driver by braking briefly and hard and, if the driver is still inactive, bring the car to a safe stop in its own lane.

Existing driver assist systems have also been revised. The City Emergency Braking system now reacts to pedestrians instead of just vehicles, while the Side Assist blind-spot monitoring system will now also countersteer if the driver continues to steer into an occupied lane.

GALLERY: B8 Volkswagen Passat leaked

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• carazy on May 26, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Frankly, front looks like Suprima S/Preve..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Because it comes from the same design house: Italdesign

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 4:19 pm

However sexy it may look, the DSG will still breakdown. You will still be standing by your sexy car waiting for the tow truck to come in the hot sun.

Get one thing clear, Malaysia CANNOT use DSG as DSG cannot handle our climate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
        • Bob_B78 on May 26, 2014 at 4:50 pm

R u a genuine VW owner whose DSG kaput or someone just read from online blogs? Or you wan to tell us your frens car or your frens’ frens car DSG kaput.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • Heng Lee on May 26, 2014 at 10:35 pm

At least the brakes or working. Unlike Toyota’s… ;)

DETROIT Thu May 22, 2014 11:43am EDT
          Toyota recalls 466,000 vehicles globally for spare tire, braking issues
          http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/05/22/us-toyota-recall-usa-idUSBREA4L0S020140522

• Pinky on May 26, 2014 at 4:27 pm

but. the. DSG. still. kaput. :o

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • Tow Truck Association of Malaysia on May 26, 2014 at 4:47 pm

We are very happy with this B8 Passat. The last Passat gave all our members lots of wealth. Many of us were able to send our children for foreigh education in UK and Australia solely on VW’s business.

We give our seal of approval to VGM. Please bring in the DSG variant.

We promise to give each VW owner in Malaysia 25% discount on towing charges.

On a personal note, I the President of the Tow Truck Association of Malaysia thank you for all the business you have given us. My son just graduated with MBBS from Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
        • Retard… Since when Royal College of Surgeon gives MBBS degree? Royal colleges only come in after specialisation. Just like your fake post, you sent your son to a fake university dishing out fake MBBS degree is it?

Get a life dude…Don’t become a laughing stock here

• Retards Everywhere on May 27, 2014 at 9:11 am

I think a retard is a person expecting a tow truck driver to know what qualifications come from what university.

Its like asking my Bangla gardener what courses his 3 children are doing in University.

• kzm fanboy on May 26, 2014 at 2:46 pm

You’re looking at the new Proton Perdana…

No it’s not! Boleh mimpi lah VW control Proton. Crony vendors sure mogok lapar in front of Proton factory!

• Jaybond on May 27, 2014 at 8:11 am

Are you joking? Looks a bit like Preve, but only on the outer lines of the front face. This new Passat definitely looks far more sophisticated and avantgarde.

• Jaybond on May 27, 2014 at 8:20 am

Are you joking? It may look a bit like Preve, but only on the outer lines of the front face. This new Passat definitely looks far more sophisticated and avantgarde.

• cendol (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 3:02 pm

with a roof that low, the market is very small. As it is now, we don’t see many CC on the road.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 26, 2014 at 9:40 pm

It’s only a drawing. The real thing will have a higher roof. The sketches are always compressed like that… probably a concept drawing of the Kangoo also makes it look like a Porsche.

• Jimmy on May 26, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Current Passat looks small, looks more like a big C-segment sedan.

• proton-koman on May 26, 2014 at 11:01 pm

NO TALKING ABOUT PREVE OR PLOTONG HERE.. No money go buy plotong lah..haiyaaa.. No money oso want to talk about Passat,where got road?? hehehe..

• There will be a new 10 speed gearbox altogether. Yes the old DSG had problems, hence they need to put in a new gearbox for this new Passat. Best thing to do now is to wait for this new model to come to Malaysia.

• Jaybond on May 27, 2014 at 8:29 am

VW should maintain the sleek 4 door-coupe like look of this concept, for the production version.

• B7 owner on May 27, 2014 at 8:44 am

new car rattle dash, wind noise
    after 1 month, humming noise on fuel pump
    after 4 months, DSG judder

This is people’s car.
    Passat = Pasar?
    Is it german built quality?
    VW malaysia service is poor.
    Wish VW malaysia improve it soon.

• Kenshi on May 30, 2014 at 11:24 am

Agree, I m using passat CKD 2013.
      What you mention are CKD passat common problems some
      even happened while the first day.

For Dash rattle, it happen since B5/B6, which is international issues. Some owner even solve it with own DIY solutions. Quite surprise this problem happen again in Passat B7. VW seems no improvement on this issue within these 10 years.

For others such windnoise, fuel pump humming noise, DSG judder. I found many passat B7 owner share their experience on Forum vwclub Malaysia.

• Mine, so far so good but i am an average driver.