Japanese manufacturers collaborate to increase fuel efficiency, aim for 30% improvement by 2020

Mitsubishi Attrage review-19

The eight largest Japanese car manufacturers – Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Suzuki, Mazda, Daihatsu, Subaru and Mitsubishi – have set up a collaborative organisation, Research Association of Automotive Internal Combustion Engines (AICE), with an aim of improving the fuel efficiency of their petrol and diesel internal combustion engines by 30% by the year 2020.

Despite these manufacturers pumping a lot of resources into the development of electric and alternative fuel powertrains, the creation of AICE is an admission that traditionally-powered cars will remain in widespread use for a lot longer, particularly in developing markets.

The new task force will be given a budget of 1 billion yen (RM31.5mil), half of which is provided by the Japanese government, the rest chipped in by the manufacturers. Keji Ohtsu, managing director of Honda R&D, will become the president. Member companies will together conduct basic research on more efficient engines to meet tightening fuel economy and emissions standards while sharing costs among each other.

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test-003

The ultimate goal, said organisers, is to achieve world-leading advancements in combustion engine efficiency in 10 years, with a thermal efficiency target of 50%. Currently, the best figure for a petrol engine is 39%; a diesel engine 42%.

AICE will be working to achieve more complete combustion cycles and better ignition in petrol engines without increasing knock. Diesel engine research, on the other hand, will focus on reducing particulate matter and nitrogen oxide emissions, partly through better particulate filters and exhaust gas recirculation systems.

It is hoped that the fruits of this partnership will eventually make it to production vehicles, though no timeline has been set.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• hanssen on May 27, 2014 at 1:15 pm

I AM STILL MY 1992 SUNNY,,,USE ONLY A DROP FUEL TO REACH MY NEARBY TAMAN SHOPS. VERY SAVE. IN 2020 I AM USING 30% LESS MEANING ALMOST QUARTER A DROP!!! THANK GOD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • policeman on May 27, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Come head on crash test with my 5 star car at 30kmh. I’ll walk out injury free. You, gotta get crutches and lie in bed till u pop out of your little coma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0r on May 27, 2014 at 5:09 pm

1992 car (22 years old) definitely not safe compared to today’s standard.

Your 5 star car will become 0.5 star in 2036 when it turns 22 years old too.

However, 22 years old Sunny is fuel saving. How about 22 years old Proton Saga? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Proud of you.. proud of owner value his cars.

Unfortunately. . Some bunch of idiots will say your car is not safe.. no vsc.. no this.. no that.. bla bla..

Fortunately u live.. & some people died anyway in modern cars.

• Exactly.got 10 airbags oso no use if drive without ethics

Turning without signal,beating the traffic light,tail gating,on the phone while driving all this can lead to fatal accidents

No amount of safety measure can save lifes then

• Low Budget on May 28, 2014 at 1:16 pm

What ever safety features there are of no blardy use if collide at high speed. Some high power BMW and Merc drivers already reported to heaven when crashed at NS highway, one of the VIP’s kid also crashed his high end MPV at Kesas a few years back and is now also in Heaven.

• wiralution on May 27, 2014 at 1:22 pm

I reckon that we can achieve good fuel efficiency by upgrading current Euro 2 to Euro 5. Who’s with me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 1:53 pm

The biggest benefit of the upgrade might actually be cleaner emissions and perhaps longer engine life, rather than increased mileage per liter. I think there won’t be huge improvements in fuel-efficiency.

• Aero Macai on May 27, 2014 at 2:48 pm

There won’t be huge improvements in fuel-efficiency?

Just admit that Proton Campro can’t compete with even old Vios engine lah, what more to say compete fully on fuel mileage based car tax system.

A Loser with 1 million excuses. Ha ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
        • Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Thumbs up macai..

HAHAHA. .

• Obviously (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 9:53 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_emission_standards

If you bothered trying to read up on what Euro2-Euro5 means, you’ll understand that they are only concerned about the toxicity of the exhaust gases. If you pump Euro5 into a Campro engine, you probably won’t get much of an improvement to fuel efficiency, if any at all. Euro5 doesn’t mean that it’s more fuel efficient than Euro2. It just means that it’s cleaner burning. By a wide margin.

This will indirectly affect fuel economy for the more advanced engines only, like the Mazda Skyactiv engines because they’re actually detuned for our low grade fuel. By switching to Euro5, Mazda can ship cars with standard Skyactiv engine configurations to our country. For Campro, there will be not much difference. Currently it’s just an inefficient engine.

Modern diesel engines here are the most affected by the low grade fuel since they need to have a particulate filter removed to actually burn our grade of diesel.

So I guess the biggest benefit would be prolonged engine life since a cleaner burn would mean less deposits on the engine components.

• Same L0r on May 27, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Yes, euro 5 for Malaysian cars.

Proton should join the collaboration, through Dr M’s plan “Proton will talk with Japanese manufacturers in collaboration” 4 days ago.

Don’t waste our tax payer money developing another engines. It will be just another “Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok” engine. Look at current Campro engine, low power, fuel hunger and noisy. 10 years old Vios engine is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • thebugbud on May 27, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Proton talk only… 3mil years later… proton is still talking only

• yihang (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 4:10 pm

That is just a standard to measure the sulfur content in the fuel…nothing to do with the gas mileage…and if we upgrade the fuel to lesser the emission,I think we will using ethanol blend like other country do..E20,E25…E85,depending the ratio of petrol and ethanol…we already using E5 blend for diesel in malaysia..in general,ethanol is about 22% lesser energy density compare to petrol..mean u need to burn more fuel to get the same power..although it got higher octane rating which able to run on higher compression ratio to increase thermal efficiency,but still fuel consumption will be compromise for a cleaner emission,so assume that the petrol price don’t change..and upgrade to E10 blend,consumer will experience decrease in gas mileage compare to before..so I guess the public will complained again…to be honest. In Malaysia,who care about emissions??people only care their own benefits,anyway,if talk about euro standard alot of Toyota car today still is euro 2 standard,latest might be euro4 like the new avanza,which compromise some power compare to the euro2 model,again,is Malaysia..no one willing to sacrifice power to help the environment…we just care how much the engine will hurt our wallet in fuel bill..kia forte is still euro3…but preve is euro5…haha..

• blackbox on May 27, 2014 at 1:31 pm

At the end will be like one engine for all car type. Cheaper, moremore efficient, but boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • GTR 2.0 on May 27, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Proton should join this.

• fast5 on May 27, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Under DrM it will never… His main source r from petroleum…
      He will tell us to use more more petrol to add his hunger for $$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Lol..the first country he say will always Japan..Dasar Pandang Ke Timur is Japan, ERL to emulate japan shinkansen, first p1 partner is Japan car, first thing he do when he become p1 chairman is japs car..Most boleh policy he make try to imitate Japan without much success..

• mr. anon on May 29, 2014 at 7:55 am

I think it’s because Malaysian are not like Japanese at all. Think about it, being lazy, all day complaint about quality of life and blame it on gov or opposition, stuck in stone age mentality, enjoy & enjoy all the time, unresponsible and lazy, you’re plan to doom anyway no matter what plan the gov or opposition implemented. Malaysian should find a unique solution/policy that caters to these attributes I think.

• Low Budget on May 28, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Don’t ever say never, Proton will join ‘indirectly’ through Japanese partners.

• Good move by the Japanese!
    They should look into recovering of heat energy from engine block itself to increase the thermal efficiency. This is where the energy is mainly wasted as!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 1:51 pm

That’s why they’re doing this research. By increasing the thermal efficiency, there’s less waste in the first place. Heat is largely considered to be a waste energy. It isn’t readily recoverable, if you think about it.

• Aero Macai on May 27, 2014 at 1:53 pm

The car excise duty structure by MITI here is very unfair and outdated. It should be rated according to fuel economy, for example:

Mitsubishi Mirage 20km per liter = 7.5% excise duty. (Efficiency rewarded)

Proton Suprima 10km per Liter = 750% excise duty. (Inefficiency punished)

Note: Currently any car below 1800cc whether fuel efficient or not still fixed with same 75% excise duty. Craziest tax system in automotive industry ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
  • 30% improvement of fuel efficiency meant more thin of steel plate to get more light weight of car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • slk3879 on May 27, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Read carefully before you post, they are saying 30% improvement just on the engine itself, not the car as a whole. You know the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • slk3879 on May 27, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Improvement on the ICE to be more specific, not any hybrid system

• toyota fan on May 27, 2014 at 2:12 pm

This objectives of this association sounds like what Mazda is doing with their 2020 target. Petrol engines running at 18 to 1 ratio and on Self combustion?

• TheRealMaserati on May 27, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Thats y the Koreans dont stand a chance in the long run. By 2018, korean car sales will be at its lowest point I predict.

• Low Budget on May 28, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Don’t ever say no chance, things might change quickly in a few years, even Proton also has a chance if they are determined.

• 4G63T DSM on May 27, 2014 at 2:29 pm

The technologies to hit those targets are already here.

What these guys are doing are basically figuring out how to work together and employ these technologies with greater volume to bring unit costs down.

They already have composites and high strength steel to lower an average car weight by 25% without compromising safety. They already have high compression or variable compression turbo direct injection engines for high efficiency, they they already have hybrid systems running on new-high performance and lightweight batteries.

They just need to make enough of them to make it profitable.

2020 is not that far ahead. Its the next model change. Interesting. Imagine your next new Honda City is 30% more efficient.

• Rokuth on May 29, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Many manufacturers are looking to save weight by switching to lighter weight Aluminum alloys. For example, Nissan in the USA have been using aluminum hoods/bonnets fo their Nissan Altimas since 2002.

• TeslaRocks on May 27, 2014 at 2:53 pm

so tesla not going to bring their technology to the world ?

• Sperm Whale on May 27, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Petrol engine shoud go for self ignite as increase thermal ratio…
    but it’s impossible…unless superb high compression ratio

• Carnut on May 27, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Even giant companies need to collaborate to stay competitive in the future. What kind of future does Proton have going it alone when after 30 years Dr M is still asking for protection? Protection means we continue to overpay for decent cars and tax money wasted to fund Proton’s R&D. Hyundai and KIA started much later but see how far they have come. Should Proton even continue as is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Please check Google when Hyundai and Kia started

• victor tan (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 1:07 am

Obviously you know nothing about Kia and Hyundai. Try google b4 you talk.

• Low Budget on May 28, 2014 at 1:28 pm

OOPs! Hyundai started earlier than Proton, initially also used Enjin Jepun.

• powershot on May 27, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Meanwhile in Malaysia:
    The two largest Malaysian car manufacturers – Proton and Perodua – have set up a collaborative organisation, Association of Automotive Pricing Enforcement (RAPE), with an aim of increasing the price of their cars by 30% by the year 2020

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Bad news…means more hybris n cvt r coming….bye bye fun!

• emm, U have not drive a Hybrid.

Toyota Hybrid give big Electric Engine that allow u to feel so much of torque available for you to climb the hill.

I prefer Honda CR-Z hybrid over VW Golf TSI, anytime.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Toyota, Nissan, Honda, Suzuki, Mazda, Daihatsu, Subaru and Mitsubishi…

Unfortunately no Protong here.. fortunately Daihatsu is here.. in Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • BLUR SOTONG on May 28, 2014 at 12:34 am

Proton Kampung king , outside SINK =*(