Nissan Skyline 200 GT-t goes on sale in Japan

nissan-skyline-200-gt-t-1

The Skyline GT-T is back! Well, not really – the Nissan Skyline 200 GT-t, which is set to hit Nissan dealerships in Japan next month, is evidently an Infiniti Q50 with the Merc-sourced 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo engine, joining the 3.5 V6 hybrid in the Skyline range there.

Featuring direct injection, variable valve timing and start/stop, the motor produces 211 PS and 350 Nm of torque (seems like a different tune from the 214 PS and 320 Nm we’re familiar with), while making 13.6 km per litre on the JC08 cycle possible for the handsome compact exec.

Electro-hydraulic power steering is standard; the ‘steer-by-wire’ Direct Adaptive Steering is optional. Nissan targets to sell 200 of these a month, starting at 3.83 million yen (RM120,560) a pop, inclusive of tax.

The Infiniti Q50 is expected to launch in Malaysia later this year. Thanks to a recent visit to the Aloft hotel, where the car was on display, we know we’ll be getting the 2.0 litre engine. Word on the wire is we’ll also be getting the 3.5 V6 hybrid, but not the 3.7 V6.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Daaaa on May 27, 2014 at 10:10 am

Not skyline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Same L0r on May 27, 2014 at 11:16 am

nice one! A lot of power, but the fuel consumption is quite bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • AVH (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 10:48 am

The previously, a skyline GT-T was basically a skyline GTR without the ATESSA-ETS 4wd system that made the GTR a Godzilla. So make a two door variant(which is more a less imminent), drop the Eau Rouge powertrain on it, as well as that aggressive bodykit, and voila! A skyline GTR revival!

BTW paultan, are these official press release photo? The badge is still Infiniti. Or is that the plan like how the crown range in Toyota dosent uses the Toyota badge or the GTR dosent use it’s Nissan badge, only the rear.

• Aero Macai on May 27, 2014 at 11:49 am

That car supposed to be new rebadge Proton Perdana last time…

Luckily Nissan is very smart Japanese not easily fooled by Proton and gangs of kronies vendors (unlike Mitsubishi and Honda)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • shawal on May 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Ur talking bout the nissan fuga / infiniti M, not this brand new q50

• Rokuth on May 29, 2014 at 6:56 pm

The picture is apparently of an Infiniti Q50. The article says that the Skyline is a Q50 with the Mercedes Benz sourced 2.0l turbo.

• Rokuth on May 29, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Malaysia will be selling the Skyline as the Infiniti Q50 with the 2.0L engine. The pix would be correct for Malaysia
        And no the GT-R will always be sold as a Nissan, not as an Infiniti…

• gavin on May 27, 2014 at 10:58 am

i’m waiting on this, how much expected it will be?

i’m assuming around the 290-300k to compete with the 328i but more expensive because CBU instead of CKD

• Should be around RM230k~RM260K. Cant be above RM300k as it is cheap 2.0L and not the mighty 3.7litre engine.

• gavin on May 27, 2014 at 1:46 pm

i highly doubt it will be around the 320i competitor, i think 328i is more likely, the 328 is around 290k for a CKD unit this being CBU i’m expecting 10-20k more

• But 328i has much more hp and it is faster.. i think it should be rival to 320i

• I agreed with you if you are talking about all new C-class or Conti cars but this is Japanese brand. No matter how, Japs luxury will always be cheaper than their Euro CKD counterparts. Im aiming to own this once it reaches malaysian shore. Hopefully its well specc’d

• gavin on May 27, 2014 at 4:41 pm

true also, since they are also bringing in the 3.5 V6 hybrid, i think taht will be the 328 fighter

• design inspired by Lexus? Zzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • eVaz88 on May 27, 2014 at 11:18 am

Well~ obviously Lexus design is better than this not so cool infiniti design..dont forget their new IS & incoming RC / RCF. Basically Nissan is a lot cooler than infiniti. I’ll rather take a GTR or 370Z over this vehicle.

• RM120,560 a pop, inclusive of tax.

Inclusive of tax in Japan.
    So our tax is aaaaaalotttt more than japan isn’t?

Of kos we cannot do direct comparison, we have cheaper petrol, can do 9 years loan, better road, better everything so we pay tax higher lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Bro, Sorry lah but in Japan its not at RM 120K. it is starts from, as same goes to Euro and American price tag. Add up all the specs that meant for Malaysian market. I am sure this car will cost around RM180K~RM200K. I have one Japanese customer who always visit malaysia and he told me his 350Z is already RM250K brand new. Of coz its cheaper as Nissan and Infiniti is their local brand. If Conti there are not much diff from Malaysian market.

• Ya lor..in America it starts from, means that basic spec is that much.
        3series in UK starts from 24k GBP up to 50kGPB, but u can still opt for least spec at 30k GPB.

Of course it just the car price alone.

• k0kseng on May 27, 2014 at 11:24 am

COOL if it comes at RM120x k

• Sgt Scoop on May 27, 2014 at 11:40 am

Remember when Skylines were cool?

• theanswer on May 27, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Depends. If u’r talking about those godzilla’s skyline..yes it was cool. But nissan been using skyline name for 350gt too. Just google it. Skyline badge not exclusively for rb25/26 car.

• Keris Jawa on May 27, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Murahnya kereta kat Jepun :-(

• Jaybond on May 27, 2014 at 12:28 pm

The most respected version of Nissan Skyline (GTR & GTT) will always be the R32 variant, which has athletic & sharp-looking body design and racing pedigree. And looking at this organic looking Infiniti-based modern day Skyline.., its just very pathetic. How dare Nissan called this a Skyline?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on May 27, 2014 at 12:41 pm

RM120,560!!! Here only basic spec for Civic 1.8 or Altis 1.8E. Please enjoy fellow Jap Nissan fans coz u all r damn lucky to be able to own it. Malaysia just stare/read from our beloved blogs only.

• Read carefully la. Starts from RM120,560.00. I am sure you wont wanna buy with this price as their spec will be bare and simple. Besides,it is also expensive for Japs as they have hidden cost like running cost and also insurance. Dont think this price tag is cheap for local Japanese. I know coz I work for Japanese in a Japanese company and I always travel back and forth.

• Guan Yin Maa on May 27, 2014 at 1:19 pm

You need to know, owning a car is cheap in japan. But the running cost are EXTREMELY HIGH. 1 day parking fee would cost you more then RM 150 in cities. Fuel price RM 4.50 per litre. Imagine that kind of cost in malaysia, you will be crying even you own a viva.

• agreed. Even at RM130K its just starting point.And Im very sure with that price and spec. No Malaysian will buy. On top of that, they will whine why no HID, Comfort access, Simple aircond and etc.

• AVH (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Tokyo to Osaka, a journey that takes 540km, the toll fare is rated at ¥12k…..that’s RM350++ for one journey. 540km is also about the same distance as Ipoh to Johor Bharu, that’s RM71 journey on the NSH.

• Samad Jain on May 29, 2014 at 10:07 am

Could you also compare the gaji of an engineer in Japan and the gaji seciput of a local engineer?

• shawal on May 27, 2014 at 1:21 pm

2.0 turbo
    Japanese reliability
    German engine
    RWD

It will be an instant grey import classic than current batch of slow gas guzzlers..

Hopefully all with come leather seats and english language satnav…
    But no biggie…a short trip to brothers to sort’em out

• Eddie on May 27, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Merc engine…:(

Bring back the RB

• prebet kacang on May 27, 2014 at 4:01 pm

if it only rm25000 with 30 yrs free maintenance i’ll buy.

• Perkasa on May 29, 2014 at 10:21 am

I willburn one for you for just RM250. after i have killed you.

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 5:20 pm

This buzz kill should not hv any skyline in its name..degrading a legend is not cool…

• I guess priced below new Lexus IS250 coz of the tax bracket at 2000cc and below…. But with that price, you could already buy a brand new C-class or a BMW 320i or A4.